Why we are this bad

• Thread starter Thread starter hedgehog

Everytime I'm talking football with a random person the convo starts something like this

Random: So who do you barrack for in football?
Me: Freo
Random: Were you born over there?
Me: Nah, I was born and raised here in Melbourne
Random: So why the hell do you go for Freo then?

I have this convo, a hell of a lot during a footy season and it wears thin after a while.

They are always fun conversations. Whenever somebody finds out I go for Fremantle, I always get the "Oh, so you go for them because Tony Modra moved to Fremantle".

Being away from Perth, in a lot of ways, is probably easier to cope with being a supporter in bad times. You don't have to cope with the constant negativity that the club brings. You can choose not to come on here and you wouldn't know anything. Sounds ideal to me right at the moment.

As for the whole avoiding constant negativity by not living in Perth, do you think we ever get to hear positive news pieces on Fremantle living interstate? The only time they are ever mentioned on tv or in the newspapers is in a purely negative fashion. Granted, I have never been to Perth but I daresay there are the occasional positive pieces on them in the media.

No doubt it can be difficult being a Fremantle fan in Perth, particularly when the Eagles are doing well. But I would say it's harder being one interstate, as negativity is all we get and as afl08 said finding another Fremantle supporter is a rarity.

No way do you need to contribute $1,000 a year to be a triue supporter. Heck, some of the most passionate Freo fans I know are old age pensioners who can only afford to buy a single game ticket every year. Don't seriously try to say money is the reason you are jumping ship like the pathetic flog you are.Bugger off bandwaqgon flog.

No , sir, you are soft. F*cking mushroom man troll.

Hey **** knuckle you dont know my situation so I suggest you shut your ****en mouth.....and not comment on it.

Only soft ***** put up with those performances and keep their mouth shut. I, sir, am gonna make sure the club heres about it, because, unlike you, obviously, I want it to be a success, but you can continue to try and stand up while sitting on your hands.Keep putting up with the shit like they dished last week. But dont come on here and complain. Yes be very ****en careful not to say anything out of line...I will remember. And you can honestly say you enjoyed last weeks thrashing??

No way do you need to contribute $1,000 a year to be a triue supporter. Heck, some of the most passionate Freo fans I know are old age pensioners who can only afford to buy a single game ticket every year. Don't seriously try to say money is the reason you are jumping ship like the pathetic flog you are.Bugger off bandwaqgon flog.

No , sir, you are soft. F*cking mushroom man troll.

Hey **** knuckle you dont know my situation so I suggest you shut your ****en mouth.....and not comment on it.

Only soft ***** put up with those performances and keep their mouth shut. I, sir, am gonna make sure the club heres about it, because, unlike you, obviously, I want it to be a success, but you can continue to try and stand up while sitting on your hands.Keep putting up with the shit like they dished last week. But dont come on here and complain. Yes be very ****en careful not to say anything out of line...I will remember. And you can honestly say you enjoyed last weeks thrashing??

Anyone else shitting themselves? I know bolded text makes me quiver. I think I'll leave you be Terry.

It's hot in here. ;)

I'm not a member because I can really get to one, maybe two games in a year because I work weekends. I can't afford a full membership just to see 2 games. However I'm still as big a fan of Freo as anyone here.

I bought a LG fridge at Rick Hart's, do I qualify as a supporter? ;)

All this talk about who is a bandwagoner and who has supported us for longer and who is no longer as passionate or no longer wants to be a member/supporter is a symptom of everyones frustration.

I am just as dissapointed as anyone over how our season has gone and last weeks effort ranks with our worst of all time, and that's saying something.

Opposition supporters and the media do a good enough job of putting the boot in without us turning on our own. We are the laughing stock of the comp and subjected to derision from everywhere.

One thing I do know is that this will continue until we start winning consistently and finaly win a flag. Don't forget that we were one game away from a Grand Final in 2006.

I remember walking in the rain with lot's of Freo faithful at the keep Freo in Freo rally. The atmosphere was fantastic as we all got together to show the establishment that we were different and would fight for our identity.

We now needs to unite to ride out yet another trough, not an abyss as some people see it.

We have been devasted by injuries and are suffering from past mistakes in list management.

However I firmly believe we are finaly heading in the right direction. We have a coach who whatever else you say about him has made the hard descisions with cleaning out the list and enforcing discipline.

We have the best crop of young players in the comp with some more to come. If we can keep our best players on the ground and with further improvement in our young players we will have success in the future.

We all have a choice and react differentley to bad losses but apart from the obvious trolls I think we all want the best for our club.

I am not making excuses for our team just expressing an opinion on how I feel about our club. We all need to get back to how we used to feel about supporting Freo and not turn on each other.

This is good to see some fire on this board. Dare i say passion?

Everyone here is standing their ground and barking their own creed. I like it!

Funnily enough this squabbling and arguing will only galvanise the supporters as a whole because everyone genuinely cares about the club and the team. That much is obvious. It's no secret that our fans are some of the most loyal in the competition.

Our day will come. With Palmer and the coach holding the cup up. (sorry harves, sadly coaches are often the scapegoat in transitional periods)

I don't see why people should be criticised for deciding not to go to games.

Because it's a very weagle thing to do. It's one thing we've always given the mob down the road shit about and it's one of the (many, many, many...) reasons we pride ourselves on being better than them.

There's not much to be proud of as a Freo supporter but one thing I've alway been proud of is the loyalty of our fans.

The Mum is in the same position as you. I think the only win she has seen this decade, despite being a member, is a game against the Bulldogs in 04 at Jihad where we sat on the fence and sledged Darcy as he kicked the ground from an out on the full from the back pocket which trickled the ball to Jeff 5 metres out. But she admits, it's easier for her being away from this. No-one knows anything in Canberra, so no-one gives a toss to get into her.

Supporting Fremantle is extremely hard work, even though it comes naturally. Psychologically and emotionally, it is hard work.

I wonder what the life span of a Fremantle fan is like compared to the norm. I'm sure more than a few fans have been killed off by this club...

Yes Chops, I'm just like your Mum. (In fact, how do you know I'm not her??!!!????:eek::eek: Have you been eating properly little man??)

Actually, despite what your Ma tells ya, Canberra has heaps of knowledgeable AFL fanatics - and even the casual observer of sports over here feels free to dump on us Freo fans. As afl08 has so aptly described, the worst part is having so few fellow Freo supporters to be able to catch up with after every loss...

Ooooh I'm so scared. Or I would be if you could use the quote function properly.

And I'll keep saying whatever I want, moron. I doubt you'll be able to read or understand much of it, but if you do, and you want to hunt me down, go for it. I've never had the privilege of being Internet stalked before, especially by someone of your stature and wisdom...

Being such a tough guy I'd have thought you could put up with watching a few painful losses before you threw a child-like tanty and walked away from our team. If one painful game is enough to make you "take action" and "walk away" by jumping ship, then bye-bye. Enjoy life.

Anyone else shitting themselves? I know bolded text makes me quiver. I think I'll leave you be Terry.

:D:D:D

Ooooh I'm so scared. Or I would be if you could use the quote function properly.

And I'll keep saying whatever I want, moron. I doubt you'll be able to read or understand much of it, but if you do, and you want to hunt me down, go for it. I've never had the privilege of being Internet stalked before, especially by someone of your stature and wisdom...
Being such a tough guy I'd have thought you could put up with watching a few painful losses before you threw a child-like tanty and walked away from our team. If one painful game is enough to make you "take action" and "walk away" by jumping ship, then bye-bye. Enjoy life.
:D:D:D

Trust me you're not worth the effort.

If you think there has been 1 painful game in 15 years then you dont watch a lot of Freo games....either that or you are too young to remember any. School is back next week anyhow so run along. And I never said I was jumping ship FYI :thumbsu:

Fourthly, no I am not a member. It's not because I refuse to put money into the club, but simply because I cannot afford it. I still make it to every game we play in Melbourne though and I cop a lot of abuse for it. Example in point is the Collingwood game. I had the nerve to rip apart the umpire for something and then I had what felt like 20-30 supporters giving me the mandatory "Scoreboard, Scoreboard" crap and telling me to "go back home to Perth."

Dont say that around here. I said the same thing and got shot down in flames.

Me three. I was a member in 2007 and 2008 but lack of money/long travel distance/shitty stadium/lack of wins was enough to keep me away in 2009. Frankly I'm glad I did. I was saying before that I wouldn't be a member again until the new stadium was built...hang on, when will that new stadium be built now? :o

Yes Freo are not putting great results on the board at the moment, but you must be Blind Freddy if you can't see the changes that have been made to push Freo back up the ladder.

I would be hopping mad if the youngsters we had introduced were not giving 100%, they are beauty's and more than pulling their weight. They are the future.

In the cold light of day, we are having a bad run of injuries which includes our top 2 players, middle range players are sometimes so so and our youngsters are trying to find their legs and carry the team at the same time !!!!. All teams have injuries, that is life, we have to just take the injuries as a way of giving youngsters a go.

I went to the game last night, got very wet, but I was happy with what I saw. If you want to dwell on the negatives ( any last night ? ), go for it, but I saw a hellva lot of positives.

I say it because I can admit it. Anyone could give me shit for it but I've supported the team from Melbourne all my life.

I'm not your typical Freo based Melbourne supporter that was born in Perth and moved to Melbourne. I was born in Melbourne, raised in Melbourne and I'm proud of that fact.

And no, I actually cannot afford even a Victorian Membership. Doesn't mean that I'm any less a supporter.

I say it because I can admit it. Anyone could give me shit for it but I've supported the team from Melbourne all my life.

I'm not your typical Freo based Melbourne supporter that was born in Perth and moved to Melbourne. I was born in Melbourne, raised in Melbourne and I'm proud of that fact.

And no, I actually cannot afford even a Victorian Membership. Doesn't mean that I'm any less a supporter.

Well done AFL08,we need more like you to support us from Melbourne.I am not sure there would be many Melbourne born and bred supporters among us.Keep bleeding purple.
As has been stated before,not all can afford to be ticket holders of the FFC,but we do need the real supporters to maintain the faith.Those who like to spit the dummy about some of our performances,and leave,well good bye.People like you are a cent a dozen.Most are more than likely WCE rejects any way.
One bad performance!!!I sat through the full game against Melbourne last year among a throng of Melbourne supporters.How bad do you think that was!!!The port game was a doddle compared to that.Almost ten goals in front at half time and get beaten,with them running away from us.Now that was devastating.

Poor management of the club for 15 years including coaching selections, drafting, list management and culture.

Its very sad considering how successful east/south Fremantle are in the WAFL and how many great talented players keep coming out of those clubs.

I had been a member for 12 years and just couldn't stand it anymore!