hoshmen1985

Sep 29, 2004
Melbourne Tigers
Will TW and Chocco Royal take us to the finals in 2005 just like they did to the Bullies? Or are we going to take a few years??

Just want to know everybody elses opinion??

Very unlikely. It sounds corny, but it's not so much how many games we win, it's how we play (skill level, gameplan, fitness, overall competitiveness).

It's going to take a few years mate.We have gapping holes in our team list.

-We have no chb

- a very subpar fb in Gaspar

-some of our midfielders like Flemming,Hyde,Rodan and Fiora have limited skills

-we have an aging ruckman in Stafford who will be lucky to get more than 15 games out of,hopefully we can secure a back up during next week.

-some of the players we will rely on to play in the backline are very inexperienced in Jackson Hartigan and possibly Moore.

-we've had to make cuts in coaching support staff at this stage Wallace only has one assistant.

-Richo isn't getting any younger and there are still question marks over Schultz (IMO

-Under Frawley we developed a losing culture.

OK now that your sufficiently depressed.On the plus side.

-We have Wallace. Don't believe the spite of opposition supporters.Wallace is a very astute coach and he can get the absolute best out of most players.I beleive a few guys who's careers were decimated by Frawley's incompetence may well flourish.Guys like Pettifer,Fiora(maybe),Rodan Krakouer,Chaffey .All of the these guys probably wont improve but I reckon at least 1 or 2 will.Don't ask me which ones.

-We're going to pick up some quality lads in the draft.Guys like Deledio and Griffen could be playing pretty good football as early as the middle of next season.If Hartigan could play almost every game this season there's no reason these 2 couldn't.Griffen plays in the SANFL already.

-Jackson,Moore and Hartigan showed good promise.I expect all 3 to play good footy next season.

-Archibald looked quite good to me late in the Coburg season.He certainly has the right attitude.Hopefully he may step up next season.Gilmour may push for a senior spot.And hopefully Tuck starts getting a regular berth,I think he has alot to offer.

-Schulz could really come on and either be groomed as our new FB or possibly Wallace, for the first time in Richo's careeer ,work out how to use two large forwards effectively.

-Coughlan is like a new marquee signing.

-Wallaces game plan.He developed a running game at the Dogs,as we all know Frawleys game plans were attrocious.I reckon this factor alone will win us 3 or 4 more games next season.

It's hard to know exactly how much positive immediate impact Wallace will have but it could possibly be substantial.Most players were going through the motions in 2004.In 2005 the will be a feeling of vibrancy at the RFC.Almost all new coaches bring this at least in the 1st year.

I can see us winning about 7 or 8 games in 2005

and hopefully 12 or 13 in 2006

We played defeatist football all year... in fact for all of Spud's tenure, given the amount of times we cracked the 100 points!

With our list, we are a long, long way from challenging for a premiership but with a decent run next year, somewhere around 7 - 8 would not be out of the question.

no....

i want us to rape the draft period this year and next .....

wallet has 5 years no need to bust a gut next year....

play youth.....

2 solid years of good young draft picks then we strike....

by the 3rd year finals appearance....

4th and 5th gold....

fingers crossed...

as a young richmond supporter , who has sort of grown up always seeing us losing, bar 2 seasons in which we excelled i would put foward the proposition that as someone above mentioned that we build slowly like st.kilda after all terry wallace is an excellent coach and is well worth the 5 year contract, but i think next year it would be important to give all tiger fans alike a morale boost, i think this would be done if we won about 8 games perhaps as that seems about a par mark for me. But i think it's important we don't do want carlton did and just miss the eight, having some upset wins against finals teams in the later stages of the year, because carlton overachieved last season, which when this season in my personal opinion anyways will possibly have a better season than last year but could win less games or finish slighty lower on the ladder, because their development is slower due to not milking the draft as st.kilda did for many a year, basically the richmond football club showing me they are improving as a team, this will in-turn give our supporters a reason to cheer for the yellow and black and make them proud to watch their heros week-in, week-out.

Expect us 14th - 16th next year. Don't matter, more top draft picks, kids getting a few seasons under their belt, skills, size and confidence building over a few years. Hopefully top 4 within 5 years (ala Geelong and St Kilda).

If we still had Otto and Zantuck I think we could finish with 10 or 11 wins with competitive losses and a decent percentage. But we look like picking up a new ruckman etc, so we may win about 9 games. Our list was always good enough to finish 6-10 position, but Frawley turned the club upside down.

Will TW take us to the finals in 2005