Will Williams ever stop whinging?

Probably the fact that we're the only finalist playing in Darwin in the last three rounds?

...and of course the AFL was to foresee that Port will make the finals. It's a draw, not a construction of games that will make it an easy transition into the finals, get over it. Probably the easiest 4 points you'll get this year.

Swifty4 said:
...and of course the AFL was to foresee that Port will make the finals.

#1 - It was a reasonable assumption.
#2 - It is always best to err on the side of safety.

There is an obvious reason why not to schedule it this late. So far there have been precisely zero reasons given in favour of scheduling it late in the season. Can you perhaps provide one?

It's a draw, not a construction of games
Wrong. It was a draw in 1997. Then Collo took over and chose the matchups, and this is how it has continued.

tigerdan said:
I don't see what the big deal is. The plane trip is no longer than (for example) Melbourne to Perth and the weather is no different to playing Brisbane in the heat.

Brisbane's climate and Darwin's climate are very different. They may both be north of the Murray and thus out of knowledgeable range, but thats about where it ends. Darwin will be 4-5 degrees warmer than Brisbane.

Porthos said:
There is an obvious reason why not to schedule it this late. So far there have been precisely zero reasons given in favour of scheduling it late in the season. Can you perhaps provide one?
the dogs wanted a kick back from the afl, how is that?

feher said:

step 1. read question
step 2. ?
step 3. profit

Start with step 1 I suggest. What does that have to do with scheduling it so late in the season?

feher said:

Look you idiot, no one is complaining about playing the Dogs or in Darwin! This is about the AFL having scheduled this game to be so late in the season!

Porthos said:
Look you idiot, no one is complaining about playing the Dogs or in Darwin! This is about the AFL having scheduled this game to be so late in the season!
whatever. when did the afl schedule this game?

feher said:
point 1: no but the dogs have a say in it, i am sure they get a bit of money out of playing it up their. You are only travel to darwin, not south africa, you would think this is the end of the world or something, hell why doesn't william use this as a test of strengthing his sides mentallity????

The point is the timing. Of course the dogs can play up there, and Port were happy to be the opponent. But they wanted it structured in a way that would benefit both teams as well as the AFL. Nobody has a problem with the Dogs playing up there, but with the typical slapdash AFL response. As far as it being a test, well we haven't forfeited the game, just complained about the timing, which I reckon is fair enough.

point 2: nothing, raise it all you want, i just fail to see the big deal, when its the dogs home game, what does port want? the game at footy park?

see above.

feher said:
whatever. when did the afl schedule this game?

When they scheduled the rest of the draw.

You should run for the Hawks board.

In other words, you just earnt not being worth a straight answer.

You and suzi olsen make an interesting pair of Hawks fans.

just something i found on the afl site, it might even be earlier: 3:01:19 PM Thu 24 June, 2004

The Dogs host Fremantle at Telstra Dome in round 14, then travel to Brisbane to meet the Lions. They will meet Melbourne, Collingwood, Hawthorn, the Kangaroos and Essendon at Telstra Dome and also play the West Coast Eagles in Perth and play Port Adelaide at Darwin's Marrara Oval.
link

Porthos said:
In other words, you just earnt not being worth a straight answer.

You and suzi olsen make an interesting pair of Hawks fans.
whatever, you just don't know, but i did some searching see above

I didn't know, as it didn't matter. It was well before the season started, and thus was clearly bad scheduling by the AFL.

Port01 said:
Brisbane's climate and Darwin's climate are very different. They may both be north of the Murray and thus out of knowledgeable range, but thats about where it ends. Darwin will be 4-5 degrees warmer than Brisbane.

Out of knowledgeable range? I go to Darwin every 3 weeks for work and I know what the climate is like buddy. Sure it's gonna be warmer than Adelaide, but it is not that different to one of those hot days in Brisbane at the end of the season.

and another nice quote:
The Western Bulldogs have reached an agreement with the AFL and Northern Territory Government to play a match for premiership points in Darwin for the next three seasons.
The Bulldogs will host Port Adelaide at Marrara Oval on August 14, 2004 - a Saturday night in round 20 – in an initiative which the club hopes will be worth in excess of $400,000 in additional revenue.
link and date 12:58:17 PM Mon 6 October, 2003

chooco had plenty of time to move it, not that he could or have any right to

quote one is your reason why its scheduled their, as i don't believe the dogs have played up their yet for premiership points yet

Porthos said:
I didn't know, as it didn't matter. It was well before the season started, and thus was clearly bad scheduling by the AFL.
garabage, it was stated in oct. williams knew about it well ahead of time, it was the dogs home game, and they choose to play it up their as they had that arrangement, satisified????!!? why it was scheduled in rd 20 is not the issue, port were happy to go along, maybe not that late, but hey what do you expect? should the afl just give the trophy to them and not even play a finals game? The arrangement was their, port said yes, afl scheduled, the game goes on, and the world move's on ... well for most of us.

tigerdan said:
I don't see what the big deal is. The plane trip is no longer than (for example) Melbourne to Perth and the weather is no different to playing Brisbane in the heat.
I find that very hard to believe, seeing as when you look at an atlas, Darwin is far further north, and therefore much more tropical. The heat and humidity in Darwin during this game will be very intense. And the boys arent just going for a quick morning stroll. It's 2 hours of running. Can't be good for the condition 3 weeks out from the finals.

I don't believe the travel actually has anything to do with it - thats just a red herring.

Pred said:
I find that very hard to believe, seeing as when you look at an atlas, Darwin is far further north, and therefore much more tropical. The heat and humidity in Darwin during this game will be very intense. QUOTE]

Yeah, but it is the dry season this time of the year. Not too humid. True, it is going to be hot and would take more stuffing out of both teams more than normal.

I just don't think it is that much different to Brisbane in the heat. And since the AFL like to schedule lots of home games for the Lions at the end of the season, you'd think there'd be similar whinges from teams that play Brisbane late in the year (maybe there are?)

feher said:
why it was scheduled in rd 20 is not the issue
Yes, it bloody is. It is the entire ********ing issue.

port were happy to go along, maybe not that late, but hey what do you expect?
The AFL to use common sense and schedule such a game earlier, which would be to the detriment of no other side.

The arrangement was their, port said yes, afl scheduled, the game goes on, and the world move's on ... well for most of us.
Wrong.

This thread is quite amazing. I've never before had to lower my opinion of someone's intelligence so many times in such a short time.

Porthos said:
and i agree with the afl on this one, either all teams get the extended bench or no-one does. Thier is airconditioning for the players, and ice-baths and all.

the saints play lions on a sunday afternoon next week, shouldn't they have a bitch to the afl as well? its likely to be more hotter sunday arvo in brisbane then a night match in darwin imo

Porthos said:
Yes, it bloody is. It is the entire ********ing issue.

The AFL to use common sense and schedule such a game earlier, which would be to the detriment of no other side.
you are playing the 14th side, how is that a detriment? you are playing in darwin how is that a detriment? its in round 20 how is that a detriment?

these guys are pro athletes, just use your interchange more, the dogs are in the same position.

tell me why the saints have to play brisbane in brisbane in rd 21? its probably the same reason why port got to play dogs in darwin, cos it just happened that way.

Porthos said:
fine, its oct 2003, the dogs say we want a game in darwin, the afl and darwinineens say yes, the afl does its job and schedules a game, port where the one that got picked, it could have being anyone, satisified?

Porthos said:
This thread is quite amazing. I've never before had to lower my opinion of someone's intelligence so many times in such a short time.
i won't even bother repling to this cos all you do is insult someone that disagree with you

Will Williams ever stop whinging?