Universal Love Wingard

No point dropping Wingard to the Shitful only to be maddogged by 30 year old plus campaigners. Note to the Coach’s, please stop playing him in the midfield, he’s only a forward 50 type.

People say Chad was crucified for being too hungry in front of goal.

It was probably that he was too selfish and didn't pass off to a teammate who was in a better position in the open, so now he's being ****ing petulant and always looking to pass, even if the decision is a poor one.

He's a glory hound that wants to be the star player but he doesn't have the dedication or work rate to be a star. Guys like LeBron work their asses off every ****ing week to be the best player they can be and want to bring their teammates into the game so they can be the best players that they can be, because they want to win a championship.

Wingard doesn't want that. You want to be like LeBron, ****ing be like LeBron and show some ****ing heart.

It was probably that he was too selfish and didn't pass off to a teammate who was in a better position in the open, so now he's being ******* petulant and always looking to pass, even if the decision is a poor one.

He's a glory hound that wants to be the star player but he doesn't have the dedication or work rate to be a star. Guys like LeBron work their asses off every ******* week to be the best player they can be and want to bring their teammates into the game so they can be the best players that they can be, because they want to win a championship.

Wingard doesn't want that. You want to be like LeBron, ******* be like LeBron and show some ******* heart.

Id love to see Chocco mentor him like he did Dusty, he is a brilliant teacher and helped Dusty go to the level he is now at. Wingard easily could do the same given the right coaches.

It was probably that he was too selfish and didn't pass off to a teammate who was in a better position in the open, so now he's being ******* petulant and always looking to pass, even if the decision is a poor one.

He's a glory hound that wants to be the star player but he doesn't have the dedication or work rate to be a star. Guys like LeBron work their asses off every ******* week to be the best player they can be and want to bring their teammates into the game so they can be the best players that they can be, because they want to win a championship.

Wingard doesn't want that. You want to be like LeBron, ******* be like LeBron and show some ******* heart.
I don’t always agree with you Janus, but this is spot on.

Yea I don't buy that bullshit he's down on confidence he's making strange decisions because of it he's not actively sabotaging himself or the team because he's a glory hound.. get a grip

Probably the most misunderstood player there is comes from a pretty down to earth family and cares about his mates.

Yea I don't buy that bullshit he's down on confidence he's making strange decisions because of it he's not actively sabotaging himself or the team because he's a glory hound.. get a grip

Probably the most misunderstood player there is comes from a pretty down to earth family and cares about his mates.

He's poorly coached, needs to back himself in more and trust his instincts and talent. Thats what got him his two AA selections and made him a star.

I have it on very good authority he had strips torn off him by the coach in front of the entire group immediately after the Geelong loss for being too hungry in front of goal.
If that is true, that's a scandal. You don't do that in front of others. No names when criticising while addressing the team; and you don't let the players point fingers to each other either. The team is ONE.

Personal complains must be addressed with each player alone.

So either he’s confused in his role or he’s sulking?

If that is true, that's a scandal. You don't do that in front of others. No names when criticising while addressing the team; and you don't let the players point fingers to each other either. The team is ONE.

Personal complains must be addressed with each player alone.
It's not an unusual thing to happen in Australian football culture some of the games greatest coaches were known to tear players to shreds in front of everyone I will balance it by saying it probably happens less with people being a lot softer and sensitive by the day now.. I had junior coaches that would rip in hard, some players respond well others sook.

I thought he was really giving it a go yesterday, but dogged by constantly taking the wrong option. Like he was trying too hard. The suggestion that this is because he's been told to curb his natural game makes sense.

There's some of the same in a lot of the guys I feel, Charlie in particular never stops trying. If he were allowed to play like Schulz did, he'd be a far more reliable goalkicker.

I want freak-Chad back. I don't think that's gone, it's just been coached out of him. If he played for the other lot we'd say he's become one of their crow-bots. What a waste.

It's not an unusual thing to happen in Australian football culture some of the games greatest coaches were known to tear players to shreds in front of everyone I will balance it by saying it probably happens less with people being a lot softer and sensitive by the day now.. I had junior coaches that would rip in hard, some players respond well others sook.

Shit yeah. Seriously if every player who copped a dressing down in front of team mates threw in the towel I would be getting a game now. Mick Malthouse was legendary for it.

Chad is definitely playing like he is out of sorts. No one knows why and the trouble is it leads to more and more outlandish speculation that makes him or another party look bad.

He doesn't look fit to me. His body is bulky not like early days whippet Chad and he has looked out of sorts since the last hamstring complaint. He definitely isn't comfortable kicking over distance. Like AJ last week who is now out with an adductor strain.

Shit yeah. Seriously if every player who copped a dressing down in front of team mates threw in the towel I would be getting a game now. Mick Malthouse was legendary for it.

Chad is definitely playing like he is out of sorts. No one knows why and the trouble is it leads to more and more outlandish speculation that makes him or another party look bad.
It's a combination of his confidence being down and playing in a non functioning forward line for mine, the only player who can overcome our current forward issues is Robbie but he's not human.. Throw Wingard in Melbourne's forward line at present (yuck) he'd be kicking them from everywhere.

I am all in to tear players to shreds whenever deserved. My point was not on the well-being of the players, but on the notion that the team is one thing; and the players, another entirely different. When addressing to the team, even if talking about one player, you don't say names — everybody probably already knows who he is anyway — because the team is one. If a part is not working properly, the entire team is not working properly. You tear the team to shreds, when all together.

Now, when addressing a player in particular (could be in front of the capitain), then you tear him specifically to shreds. The effect on the player will be the same, but the integrality of the team is preserved.

Does it make sense?

I am all in to tear players to shreds whenever deserved. My point was not on the well-being of the players, but on the notion that the team is one thing; and the players, another entirely different. When addressing to the team, even if talking about one player, you don't say names — everybody probably already knows who he is anyway — because the team is one. If a part is not working properly, the entire team is not working properly. You tear the team to shreds, when all together.

Now, when addressing a player in particular (could be in front of the capitain), then you tear him specifically to shreds. The effect on the player will be the same, but the integrality of the team is preserved.

Does it make sense?

What you say makes sense but what Jimmy said is true. It is such a commonplace response by coaches that it is an accepted football cultural norm rightly or wrongly. And the intensity would have been scaled down over the years.

I still think a good rip to the right player in front of the group can work, good coaches know the mentality of their men and pick the right target.

I've seen Ron Barassi almost come to blows with players. You might want to rip off the coach's head and shit down his neck but you would do everything to support your teammates.

Even Blighty's Pathetic Pittman comment comes to mind. Or Alex Ferguson's famous hair dryer blasts.

And the coaches always have a one on one with players during the week where issues would be talked through in a calm way after the heat of the moment.

I've seen Ron Barassi almost come to blows with players. You might want to rip off the coach's head and shutdown his neck but you would do everything to support your teammates.

Even Blighty's Pathetic Pittman comment comes to mind.
Blighty would struggle with the softer approach now but boy he got results Barassi would no doubt have been a big influence.
Pretty sure he got up a few players skirts at half-time in the 98 GF he picked the right targets M. Robran was one I believe.

Sooking sulking petulant or hamstrung (geddit) with injuries or too many head knocks it all boils down, like our game style
to how he's coached/coaxed. Whichever way you look at it the answer has to be how he's managed and that ultimately
ends up in Ken's lap.

11 inside 50's in the 2nd qtr for 1 stinking point :mad: ... was it all because Clarko changed things up? If that's true how did we react,
we piled on 1 goal 3pts in the 3rd qtr from 8 inside 50's. So for 1/2 the game we went 19x into our fwd 50 for 1 goal 4 behinds!
Highlighted coz imo that sort of footy is the sort you can stick up your arse and let's be honest, it was ugly watching us
even getting it there.

Yeah the umpiring was biased. Sheesh even in today's paper Jesper Fjeldstad (hardly a Port hugger) said of the record 11, 50m penalties
"the Power was at the bad end of the stick with 8 of them". Bad luck,cheating umps or bad footy? Well whatever you reckon
here is a FACT 38 inside 50's on a perfect day for footy. This fact I do put in Ken's lap because the buck stops at the top.
Like Ken's lap top it was on screen saver mode and Ken rightly called the game ugly. It was ugly on my screen and from what I saw
we aint going top, jeez we'll be lucky to make finals.

If Wingard is any Eddie Murphy, right now it is Another 48 Hours Eddie Murphy

62cd77a9427b309a72ccabf014394f14.jpg

Yesterday he was Norbit.

Give him a month off to go fishing or see Trayvon play NBA, come back hopefully his legs are good and ken is gone

Effing stupid tattoos too but that's irrelevant

What you say makes sense but what Jimmy said is true. It is such a commonplace response by coaches that it is an accepted football cultural norm rightly or wrongly. And the intensity would have been scaled down over the years.
Playing at school as a 17yr old our coach 'Bodge' Webber would move amongst the players giving his message as we stood there.
We had a good team so he wasn't angry very often but even when in front he could single a player out for something.
It was when we were getting beaten that you had to be careful. I'll never forget being punched in the arm by him one time.
Bodge was a solid unit and I was sporting arms as thick as linguini. His punch was so hard it took hours for the bruise to show
and days for it to go. Didn't see it coming either. He was ranting while weaving between us and when alongside me he let fly.
Different times.

If I was a coach of Chad, I would make improving his on-field demeanor a primary goal. He's getting royally screwed by the umpiring and his skill execution is off at the moment but I reckon the biggest barrier to Chad being the successful AA player that he should be is perception. It doesn't do him any favors coming across as a sook. Don't let them see that they're getting to you. Right now, every free paid against Chad or non-free paid for Chad is met with a woe is me victim mentality response. It doesn't work. In fact, it is more likely to result is worse decisions paid against you than better decisions paid for you.

Our players in general need to get better in dealing with umpires. The emotion needs to be funneled where it will have the greatest impact for the team, in the contest, not in outbursts or arm waves.

If I was a coach of Chad, I would make improving his on-field demeanor a primary goal. He's getting royally screwed by the umpiring and his skill execution is off at the moment but I reckon the biggest barrier to Chad being the successful AA player that he should be is perception. It doesn't do him any favors coming across as a sook. Don't let them see that they're getting to you. Right now, every free paid against Chad or non-free paid for Chad is met with a woe is me victim mentality response. It doesn't work. In fact, it is more likely to result is worse decisions paid against you than better decisions paid for you.

Our players in general need to get better in dealing with umpires. The emotion needs to be funneled where it will have the greatest impact for the team, in the contest, not in outbursts or arm waves.

aa5639985956cbd927d207864058387a.png

"If we could somehow...harness this emotion...channel it...into the contest...it might just work.

Next Friday night, we're sending you Back to the Grand Final!"