Universal Love Wingard

If I was a coach of Chad, I would make improving his on-field demeanor a primary goal. He's getting royally screwed by the umpiring and his skill execution is off at the moment but I reckon the biggest barrier to Chad being the successful AA player that he should be is perception. It doesn't do him any favors coming across as a sook. Don't let them see that they're getting to you. Right now, every free paid against Chad or non-free paid for Chad is met with a woe is me victim mentality response. It doesn't work. In fact, it is more likely to result is worse decisions paid against you than better decisions paid for you.

Our players in general need to get better in dealing with umpires. The emotion needs to be funneled where it will have the greatest impact for the team, in the contest, not in outbursts or arm waves.
Good post, but I also think back to watching Tredders. Never once did I see him remonstrate with an umpire, but he still got regularly scragged, hung on to etc. without getting awarded free kicks. Luckily he was just too good anyway.

It appears to me that a sense of entitlement has snuck into Wingard's game. If remonstrating with the umpire was a good stat he would be having a bumper season.

His decision making nearly cost us the showdown and possibly cost us yesterday's game. I know it's not really kosher to dump a loss on a player, but that decision not to kick for goal was diabolical from someone who is traditionally goal-hungry.

He seems to be marching to the beat of his own drum atm and it ain't a sweet beat.

Maybe I'm being harsh.

Yea I don't buy that bullshit he's down on confidence he's making strange decisions because of it he's not actively sabotaging himself or the team because he's a glory hound.. get a grip

Probably the most misunderstood player there is comes from a pretty down to earth family and cares about his mates.
Completely agree with this. I find some of the overly personal insults flying round about him here pretty disconcerting; football is an emotional game, but we can only see a small part of the picture, and have no idea what is going on in their lives or if they'll read whats been said about them here.

I think he's clearly out of form and frustrated because of this, and it wouldn't surprise me if his injuries have a big role in this. I think trying to get enjoyment back from playing, and playing on instincts will go a long way in helping his form, so I'd back him in for a few weeks yet.

It appears to me that a sense of entitlement has snuck into Wingard's game. If remonstrating with the umpire was a good stat he would be having a bumper season.

His decision making nearly cost us the showdown and possibly cost us yesterday's game. I know it's not really kosher to dump a loss on a player, but that decision not to kick for goal was diabolical from someone who is traditionally goal-hungry.

He seems to be marching to the beat of his own drum atm and it ain't a sweet beat.

Maybe I'm being harsh.

He basically cost us the elimination final last year as well. That out on the full in the last minute. He's off mentally.

Agree. He had a couple of kicks along the wing late in that game when we were defending the lead that missed their targets.

Has been off for some time now.

Agree. He had a couple of kicks along the wing late in that game when we were defending the lead that missed their targets.

Has been off for some time now.

Reminded me when he had that brain fade vs Adelaide . Exact same shit.. as well as the poor kick inside 50 when we were 4 points up with a few minutes left on the weekend. He's costing us games.

his form is down yes, but still out performed sam gray and neade in the small forward department this weekend. All this talk is a bit overblown. He didnt have a full pre-season again this year (makes it 2 or 3 years in a row). Judging by what every coach and player says, not having a full preseason can cause all kinds of problems for in-season form. Just needs a long, uninterrupted run at it and to get full confidence in his body again. Wouldn't surprise me if he is still carrying something at the moment.

Chad will be fine, these form slumps happen.

his form is down yes, but still out performed sam gray and neade in the small forward department this weekend. All this talk is a bit overblown. He didnt have a full pre-season again this year (makes it 2 or 3 years in a row). Judging by what every coach and player says, not having a full preseason can cause all kinds of problems for in-season form. Just needs a long, uninterrupted run at it and to get full confidence in his body again. Wouldn't surprise me if he is still carrying something at the moment.

Chad will be fine, these form slumps happen.
Unfortunately, we can’t be the team we want to be with Dixon and Wingard not playing at their best.

It all depends on what your philosophy is regarding team standards vs individual standards, players playing their role vs players playing to their capability.

I think we do not keep somebody playing well beneath themselves in the team because their net return is still slightly higher than the 20th guy picked weekly. We need to set a standard that everybody has a responsibility to get the best out of themselves.

I can see the other POV though. It's just we've done that time and time again, now we have to mix it up. Remember Ken's story about Malcolm Blight dropping him? The biggest lesson he took out of it is he never wanted to play reserves again? Why doesn't he, you know, demonstrate it?

Sent from mTalk

Unfortunately, we can’t be the team we want to be with Dixon and Wingard not playing at their best.
true, and ryder wont be at his best all season with the ankle not healing 100%.

but my point was more towards the people wanting wingard to be dropped and traded.

Completely agree with this. I find some of the overly personal insults flying round about him here pretty disconcerting; football is an emotional game, but we can only see a small part of the picture, and have no idea what is going on in their lives or if they'll read whats been said about them here.

I think he's clearly out of form and frustrated because of this, and it wouldn't surprise me if his injuries have a big role in this. I think trying to get enjoyment back from playing, and playing on instincts will go a long way in helping his form, so I'd back him in for a few weeks yet.
Yep this thread sucks , thought as a whole we where better than this.

Guess not.

Reminded me when he had that brain fade vs Adelaide . Exact same shit.. as well as the poor kick inside 50 when we were 4 points up with a few minutes left on the weekend. He's costing us games.
How does Wingard cost us games when Ebert, Boak, SPP, Wines and Rockliff by foot over 4 quarters butcher the ball more then anyone else in the entire side consistently? There was a good article with that groups kicking efficiency % from the Hawthorn game and it's downright embarrassing from players of their ilk or status.

I get it Chad is down on form, and people are after him for it, it's been a constant this year that it seems it's Chad's turn to be the whipping boy. Chad is down and a couple of kicks he may have missed, but put the same lofty standards some posters hold Chad to to the others who do the same as Chad, more often.

How does Wingard cost us games when Ebert, Boak, SPP, Wines and Rockliff by foot over 4 quarters butcher the ball more then anyone else in the entire side consistently? There was a good article with that groups kicking efficiency % from the Hawthorn game and it's downright embarrassing from players of their ilk or status.

I get it Chad is down on form, and people are after him for it, it's been a constant this year that it seems it's Chad's turn to be the whipping boy. Chad is down and a couple of kicks he may have missed, but put the same lofty standards some posters hold Chad to to the others who do the same as Chad, more often.

Chad should be Top 5 in the league. Currently he's not Top 5 from Murray Bridge.

It’s just happened in critical moments is why it sticks out. Elim final “Wet Toast” & recently against the Franchise.

Wingard is a class act who is unfairly criticised because (a) people have such high expectations of him and (b) the way he plays- always trying to be creative means sometimes he misses doing the simple.

We don't want to make a Watts/Melbourne thing out of this where expectation and an appearance of not being intense at times ends up in supporter criticism and a very good player leaving the club for moderate return.

We re a better club than that. Back Chad. If we are to elevate ourselves from top 8 contenders to flag contenders, it will be on the back of Chad's creativity and big game performances.

Yeah Wingard is bad... But we won't be winning flags with Sam Gray and Neade in the side. I thought we'd stop seeing them both in the side years a go. You don't have to have all the talent in the world but they don't go hard enough all day, never have. Great when the sides firing and they've got space but compare them to Richmond's smalls they're not even reserve standard. Never able to lock the ball in. Also the games changed and Chad hasnt adapted.. the rolling mail and lack of space and extra attention hasnt suited him. If we moved the ball quicker he'd be benefiting.

Biggest laugh is when BF posters think Wingard is not trying...his hearts not in it etc.... And start over analysing where he wants to play etc etc..

Then he has a blinder and its all ok again....

Reminds me that just like commentators us spectators just follow the game and have zero influence on it....zero..

but jeez these lazy players should listen to us more

Biggest laugh is when BF posters think Wingard is not trying...his hearts not in it etc.... And start over analysing where he wants to play etc etc..

Then he has a blinder and its all ok again....

Reminds me that just like commentators us spectators just follow the game and have zero influence on it....zero..

but jeez these lazy players should listen to us more

Yeah true except he hasn't had a blinder since 2015/2016.

Yeah Wingard is bad... But we won't be winning flags with Sam Gray and Neade in the side. I thought we'd stop seeing them both in the side years a go. You don't have to have all the talent in the world but they don't go hard enough all day, never have. Great when the sides firing and they've got space but compare them to Richmond's smalls they're not even reserve standard. Never able to lock the ball in. Also the games changed and Chad hasnt adapted.. the rolling mail and lack of space and extra attention hasnt suited him. If we moved the ball quicker he'd be benefiting.
I agree about Neade but S.gray is a good player. He isn't a game changer but he is good. If look at all the so called stars doing sweet fa before s.gray.

As for wingard I think it might be time to just drop him to the Sanfl and say have a run through the middle and enjoy your footy for a bit.

Cannot hurt and may get him back in track.