Wisdom teeth

• Thread starter Thread starter Casey

About 10years I was due to have a couple of teeth out and because I am a bleeder I had to be knocked out, while I was under they decided instead of just taking 2 normal teeth out we will get my wisdom teeth as well.

I bleed for over 24hrs, swallowed then spewed up blood:eek: and was in hospital for 3 days and 2 nights.

geez, everyone has so many horror stories.

i had 4 pulled out under a general.

woke up and 30 minutes later was eating the sandwiches the kind nurses dropped off. my ex visited soon after and she brought nando's so i snuck in a few chips as well. got pretty peeved off that the nurses kept waking me every couple of hours for a check-up too throughout the night.

stopped taking the anti-inflammatory's and painkillers after 2 days as wasnt needing them. had them out at 23 when they were exposed too, they werent just little bulbs. my mate had his at at 16 and looked like the cabbage patch kid. we laughed so hard at him that he couldnt wait to come around and rain crap down on me but was sorely disappointed to find me eating normally.

everyone is just different i guess. either that our the surgeons just dont like the face of some and give em a couple of smacks too.

Dentists are about the only thing I am really actually scared of. :o Ive had 5 teeth out (2 baby ones), my two front adult teeth on top and bottom 'exposed' because they wouldnt come down naturally (i was about 7), and then I have had braces. I offically am the dentists biggest despiser. :p

As for wisdom teeth, I have them (i think) but was told when i had braces by the orthodontist that having braces greatly reduced the chances of having to have thm out. That is good news for me. :thumbsu:

I'm getting all four removed in two weeks, and I'm wishing I hadn't stumbled on this thread. :o

Well... im fine (and still alive)

Woke up and was just numb around my face, that continued till I woke up today. Only slight pain really.. nothing too bad. Only thing I miss is eating normally and good food.

But yeah it wasn't too bad in the end. Although everyone is different, another guy who had his out while I was there felt pretty crook afterwards... I was just hungry after not eating all morning and then only being able to eat crappy stuff.

Lowie01, you'll be right mate :)

Well... im fine (and still alive)

Woke up and was just numb around my face, that continued till I woke up today. Only slight pain really.. nothing too bad. Only thing I miss is eating normally and good food.

But yeah it wasn't too bad in the end. Although everyone is different, another guy who had his out while I was there felt pretty crook afterwards... I was just hungry after not eating all morning and then only being able to eat crappy stuff.

Lowie01, you'll be right mate :)

Cheers - the hardest part won't be the operation, but waiting from 7.30am in the morning until the operation in the afternoon without eating or drinking. ;)

Yeah that sucks, luckily mine was in the morning so I just went the night and morning without food.

The worst part is now, not being able to eat anything unless its soft or liquid.

Oh and I cant have any grog - worst part of all ;)

the lesson is pretty much not to put em off if u need to have em out!... the younger u are when u have em out,.. (17-21 is a good range).. the less trouble they generally cause. you'll all be fine ;)

LOL, surely the pain you feel would put you off smoking just for a few days? Might be a good way to help you quit...
My mum had a cigarrette 5 minutes after she had half her lip ripped open with blood pouring out...

Btw, where are your wisdom teeth?

And are yo able to be put to sleep during getting them out?

Just searched my mouth, and it seems there are only 2 molars at the back of my mouth on each side and top and bottom. Seems like there is absolutely no room on the top of my mouth, and not much room at the bottom. :( Not looking good for when I'm around 16 or whatever age you are when you get them. :(

I had one of my wisdom teeth removed two years ago. I was given a local anaesthetic and was awake during the whole procedure. It was a very tough bugger to get out, though. My jaw was quite painful for a few days afterwards but I eventually made a full recovery.

I've had 4 come throug and haven't had any pulled as they are all in ok spots.

I have had 'cracking" I've seen doctors and dentists about that and they said that they can come out if I want them out, but there is no need.

I only grew three, and all of them were impacted. Had them all removed at the same time. After the surgery I had no swelling or bruising and very little pain. So little pain that we left the surgeons office and went home so I could change and went out for supper.

All you have to do is make sure you keep the areas clean!
Avoid smoking if you can but if not then don't drag on it too hard and rinse with salt water after.
Eat foods that are soft and easy to chew.
*NOTE* DO NOT eat food with seeds ie. stuff like strawberries or raspberries. sesame seed buns are another one. The seeds get stuck back there. OUCH!! (trust me ... it's from personal experience!)
Everyone reacts differently so you never know what to expect.

I reckon I've got crowding happening in my mouth. The last 2 - 3 days my front tooth and one next to its been hurting. Nurve pulsating stype thing. Now the ones of the side are starting to hurt with a sharp pain.

Not sure whats going on. I might have to see the dentist tomorrow because 2 x Panadol at once isnt working anymore.

Could be wisdom teeth creating this, I guess. Anyone else had a similar experience?

I hope they rip them out at the moment, this is some serious annoyance.

Woke up this morning 2AM in an amazing amount of pain.

Went today. Root Canal done on one of my teeth. Let me tell you, good fun, good fun.

Root canal work does not hurt that much. The pain I had beofre hand was unbearable. I had 2 teeth done recently and there was a little bit of discomfort and that was all. The cost of the work hurt more!

Had three out, all in the chair.

Last one was only last week. I saw a surgeon/butcher i hadnt been to before.

They put a little numbing paste on your gum to soften to blow of the needles but this prick didnt even let the paste take effect before stabbing me.
He didnt use enough initially and i actually felt the scalpel cutting my gum, not full blown pain as there was obviously some effect from the needle but it still felt horrible feeling the cutting. He then put a little more anaesthetic in.

10 days later and im still feeling the discomfort, found a great mouthwash called Cepacaine that helps with the pain.
I'm dying for a good feed, hoping to have a steak by the weekend !

The previous 2 teeth removed were fine so it comes down to each case.

My wisdom teeth have not come through yet, i still have a few baby teeth in which my adult teeth have not broken through. When i was 16 my dentist pulled out a few of my baby teeth so that the adult teeth could grow through, but left the others as he's not entirely sure that the others would in fact grow.