Wizard Cup: Melbourne - Geelong

• Thread starter Thread starter The Shev

Originally posted by lamby29

I think we'll win this one. Too much pace. Flash, Ward, Williams, Whelan, Heffernan and Johnstone all burn the grass... Geelong aren't known for their pace.

Would you really consider Heff and Travis to be quick? Heffernan seems to be of average pace to me while Johnstone is a bit of a loaper

Like to say congradulations on a well played match. Your boys performed well tonight and the match could have gone either way. Good luck in the season proper.

Originally posted by GeeCat
Like to say congradulations on a well played match. Your boys performed well tonight and the match could have gone either way. Good luck in the season proper.

Cheers mate the Catters were pretty sharp. Melbourne are a bit unlucky in that we're the first team to ever lose a Wizard cup match because of the scoring system.

It would've been

Geelong 10.9.69

Melbourne 10.10.70

Had it been a regular season game.

We have benefitted from the scoring system as much as any other team though, especially the Supergoals (we jagged 4 of those vs North). We can't complain, we've had 3 solid hitouts & now get the chance to play some kids vs The Wobbles on Friday.

Here's hoping Geelong belt whoever they play in the granny!

And thus the trend of folding faster than superman on laundry day when the pressure comes on in the last quarter continues. There we good signs - in fact there were excellent signs - but I would like to see them go in with it in a last quarter once in a while.

Meanwhile I seriously doubt we would have gotten up if it had gone to extra-time.

And it was the least violent reaction I've had to a 1pt loss at Docklands. When North did us by a point there in 2000 i punched the living ****e out of one of the seats on level 3 and my hand was cut up for a week :D I love footy.

Originally posted by Supermercado
And thus the trend of folding faster than superman on laundry day when the pressure comes on in the last quarter continues. There we good signs - in fact there were excellent signs - but I would like to see them go in with it in a last quarter once in a while.

Meanwhile I seriously doubt we would have gotten up if it had gone to extra-time.

And it was the least violent reaction I've had to a 1pt loss at Docklands. When North did us by a point there in 2000 i punched the living ****e out of one of the seats on level 3 and my hand was cut up for a week :D I love footy.

I reckon ND was saving Carroll for overtime, why else would you pick him?