Woewodin = soft

kaka

Jul 10, 2004
Does anyone else agree that Shane Woewodin is soft and the worst Brownlow Medalist ever. I am a Collingwood supporter but I am fed up with his soft performances considering how much money he's on. Damn Melbourne must be laughing at us now :confused: :mad:

Nothing wrong with Woewodin - Slow but Steady, He tackles hard, finds the ball, a good mark.

Imagine if he didn't win that Brownlow Medal!!!! - some people owuld be saying he is a good player - FFS

not as soft as Lonie i would say

i thought he played alright against the crows from my spot in the stand...admittedly i havent seen any of it fron TV perspective which is always different

Lonie_from_50 said:
Nothing wrong with Woewodin - Slow but Steady, He tackles hard, finds the ball, a good mark.

Imagine if he didn't win that Brownlow Medal!!!! - some people owuld be saying he is a good player - FFS

i agree with that

kaka said:
Does anyone else agree that Shane Woewodin is soft and the worst Brownlow Medalist ever. I am a Collingwood supporter but I am fed up with his soft performances considering how much money he's on. Damn Melbourne must be laughing at us now :confused: :mad:

I agree with this.

The biggest load of rubbish I've heard in my life, kaka. And why did you post on the anit-Collingwood forum, aka AFL forum? People who say Woey is soft wouldn't even notice the work he does around the packs.

Lonie_from_50 said:
Of course you would, you got nothing better to say about Collingwood except that player is ******** etc. :rolleyes:

Sorry for having an opinion you ********en ****************.

I think the majority of people would agree with me in saying woey is a soft, slow hack.

If i reckon a collingwood player is crap ill say he is crap whether you like it or not and conversely ill say one is good when he is good.

Stan. said:
Sorry for having an opinion you ********en ****************.

I think the majority of people would agree with me in saying woey is a soft, slow hack.

If i reckon a collingwood player is crap ill say he is crap whether you like it or not and conversely ill say one is good when he is good.

I only criticised your opinion(s), didn't say you can't have one.

Anyway - I see this thread as the fact of agreeance - and so far

Woewodin Soft
No - 6
Yes - 2 (One was the threads starter, the other was that **************** with the name 'Stan')

he showed he was soft last year when he was chasing shaun burgoyne on the wink to the half flank last year and he looked like he gave up as soon as he started

grayza said:
not as soft as Lonie i would say

i thought he played alright against the crows from my spot in the stand...admittedly i havent seen any of it fron TV perspective which is always different

Agreed, Woewodin may be soft but not as soft as Ryan Lonie. Personally, I hate the Lonie brothers as AFL footballers, yes they may have good foot skills, I wouldn't go as far as saying GREAT skills, but they are as weak as Bentleigh's grandmother. You can't have that at a footy club and I'm glad that both Ryan and Nathan have be 'promoted down' to VFL level, it's where they belong.

almost_04 said:
he showed he was soft last year when he was chasing shaun burgoyne on the wink to the half flank last year and he looked like he gave up as soon as he started

How the Hell does that make Shane Woewodin Soft ?????? :confused:

It may make him slow - but I am sure some fellas can't keep up with the quality speed of the Port class aboriginal player.

keke , you have no idea about football if you call him soft. he is a go to player , who can kick the ball from defence to players further upfield : and hit the target. but when required woey puts his body on the line . :mad:

S.Woewoedin gives it his best shot playing for the Magpies & to call him soft is all to easy.

He was at his best as an outside midfielder but his lack of pace prevents him stinging opposition teams.Woewoedin has never been noted as a clearance specialist.Now his best role is as a run with player & he does his job well while usually picking up good stats.Problem is his opponent also collects good stats & usually stings more with pace &/or clearances won.

The problem was recruiting Woewoedin for a 1st round draft selection when his performance level was declining.Sucked in.

Now who was responsible for that short sighted decision :eek:

Now, you can target me for this comment, but......Shane Woewodin has been really hard this year. His tackling is more aggressive and has provided a go to option from the kick in, or second kick. I think he can be damaging in the middle with his clearances - but his lack of speed is why he isn't there.

Woewodin might not be as tough as other brownlow medallists in Voss and Hird, but he is a footballer, and a good one at that - and to play AFL Football, you are far from soft, there are just some tougher than others. Woewodin gets the flack for being slow, and now because he is effective out of the packs, well....that is where he is most damaging - like Rob Harvey....he isn't a tough midfielder, but he has a huge work rate and has the skills to get 25 touches a week. Woewodin might not get 25 touches a week, but he gets 21 touches, 6 marks and 3 tackles a week. If your not happy with his work rate, fine....but he is not soft, and not a bad player.

Lonie_from_50 said:
I only criticised your opinion(s), didn't say you can't have one.

Anyway - I see this thread as the fact of agreeance - and so far

Woewodin Soft
No - 6
Yes - 2 (One was the threads starter, the other was that **************** with the name 'Stan')
I was calling him soft in a roundabout way.

After todays match - ANybody that Woewodin is soft shot be.......well, they can have there opinion, but he was fantastic. He tackled hard, put his head over the ball and was quite courageous in a couple contests.

Woewodin Soft - The answer is NO.

kaka, your a fair dinkum idiot. get out there and do better if you think you can. i'm so tired of you imbecil 'collingwood supporters' bagging the hell out of the players cos you don't like them. so if you wanna bag the players, don't barrack for collingwood, go barrack for richmond or something, where they tolerate that kind of stuff.

Woewodin = soft