dee_123

This is going to sound stupid, but, i think that Melbourne could and should pressure Woewodin coming back to Melbourne where he belongs.

e.g. Collingwood delists him at the end of the season or doesn't agree to a new contract, and Melbourne drafts him via the pre-season or national draft.

What do u think?

He deserves to win a flag with us in 06. :)

dee_123 said:
This is going to sound stupid, but, i think that Melbourne could and should pressure Woewodin coming back to Melbourne where he belongs.

e.g. Collingwood delists him at the end of the season or doesn't agree to a new contract, and Melbourne drafts him via the pre-season or national draft.

What do u think?

Yes and no, after watching today i reckon he still hasnt gotten over leaving the dees. When u buggered up and i think bruce got a goal out of it, Miller goes to woey cop that mate, and woey woey replies heck off ****************.
We got syliva and brocka so we dont have room for him.

Sylvia Saint said:
No way. Even Heffernan would be better value than a washed up, slow 30 year old!

But.....how good would it be... Woewodin...back at the dees... (i think it would be great)...back in the red and blue...the way it should...

He wouldn't get a game unfortunately. Our midfield is chockers now, but I must admit, I would love to see him in the red and blue.
I felt really sorry for him when he started to drop his head after stuffing up that resulted in a Bruce goal, i think it was.
He's a better footballer than some idiots make him out to be, just not having the best season. He was unfortunate to leave the Dees I reckon, simply because he only had the one bad season in which he had a bad back. Ever since he's gone to Collingwood its been downhill unfortunately. I'd love to see him start racking up some 30 touch games in the next few weeks just to show the non-believers.

I could see it happening, he's experienced, quality skills and we be a good addition via the draft on lowish wage. Essentially he would be a depth player as Heffernan, Godfrey and Rigoni are. I would go for it in the right situation.

aslong as it didnt cost us much...yes (salary and trade wise)

if he went PSD carlton would snap him up in a second.

i wouldnt mind seeing him come back. he may turn it around but he would look at us and know he wouldnt be a regular 22 player. but then again he aint gunna be at the pies either. carlton would be the best bet

Won't happen. Shouldn't happen...

And if it DID happen, he'd be on the minimum wage and quite rightly, wouldn't get a regular game, if at all.

His career is basically over.

I think woey's getting too much of a bagging for a drop off in form. But you have to expect criticism if you've won a brownlow and your expectations are unrealistic. When he won that medal he had a great year but really he played above himself and it put him in a league that he doesn't belong, as far as being compared with other champions of the game.
He is down of form similar to his 2001 season with the demons when he had alot of extra attention. He is getting killed in a lot of 1 on 1's at the moment and is incredibly low on confidence. He'll come good again, and when he is in form he's a smart handy player, no more. The pies should hold on to him (but for much less of a pay packet).

i don't think he'd come back to the dees under any circumstances after the way he got treated, would you?

I thought Woewodin played well early before dropping away in the second half (like a lot of his teammates) and getting thrashed by Bruce. I think it would be a waste of time for Melbourne to pick him up now even at a reduced rate. Midfielders are not something we have a shortage on, even experienced ones and unless a "mature" recruit has scope to give us at least 4-5 years service then we are better off developing a kid.

if he was cheap, and through the PSD or a low national draft pick i think it could happen... the fact is even though he's bitter with the club, shane still has alot of good friends at melbourne... how many melbourne players were in his wedding party?? do you think if melbourne offered him a lifeline after being delisted from collingwood he would refuse? i doubt it... so under the right circumstances the history of when he left won't make much of a difference...

coming into our side he would be a depth player... we are going to be reasonably successfull over the next couple of years, so i wouldn't be disapointed if we saw us getting a couple of mature players instead of draftees, to have a crack @ winning the flag...

dee_123 said:

What do u think?

sounds like you want melbourne to do what the hawks did with croady :D