5 v ENG (A)

2 V PAK (H)
3 V NZ (H)

2 V BANG (A)

1 V AFG (H)
4 V IND (H)

3 V SA (A)

WORLD TEST CHAMPIONSHIP FINAL

Ok, so it comprises of 20 tests, 10 home and away.
My understanding was that there are 9 teams competing in this, which is silly in itself as Zimbabwe, Afghanistan & Ireland have now been given test status.
The fixture itself seems unfair as we don't play SL or WI in this cycle.
I'm not sold on this and I know we will never play everyone evenly, not sure what the answer is.
Crowds are another issue. Not sure how many will go, if the host team England don't make the final.
That was one of the reasons the old odi tri-series fell away, with poor crowds at the neutral games.

Then follows:

5 V ENG (H)

2 V SL (A)
1 V AFG (A)
4 V IND (A)

2 V WI (H)
3 V SA (H)

So over the next 4 years we play :
37 tests
20 @ home
17 @ away
7 series @ home
6 series @ away
Of the 37 tests we play ENG (10), IND (8), SA (6) - 24.
We don't play @ home v. SL, BANG, [ZIM, IRE]
We don't play @ away v. NZ, PAK, WI, [ZIM, IRE]

It's the same old pattern with the big 4 - AUS/ENG/IND/SA

In a 4 year cycle we play the above in both home and away. Eg. next summer is the year where none of the other big 3 tour for a test series, and the following winter where we don't tour the other big 3 for a test series. It seems all the rest of the tours revolve around this.

Any thoughts how to best tackle this ?

Not sure a world test championship can run over anything more than 4 years , but even then it's difficult.

Is it easy just to include the big 4 who only want to really play test cricket and use the other series as lead up games etc (still count as legimate tests etc eg. trans tasman trophy etc). End of the day the big 4 only play these countries in a 1, 2 or 3 test series at best.

I'm no fan of the structure, which again leaves the smaller nations in the lurch.
I guess it is better than the current lack of system, and the points are far simpler to understand the current rankings.
And a single match final played at a potentially neutral venue seems an underwhelming climax to supposedly the pinnacle of the sport. It works for footy, but that isn't played in multi-match series the rest of the time.

To say nothing of the fact that as of 2019/20 there will be only 5 Tests a summer, every summer, rather than 5 when England come here and 6 most others. But that is CA and the FTP rather than a result of the championship.

Also just checked in that time we only play:
53 odi's (16 x 3 series & 1 x 5 series) + WC
45 T20I's (15 x 3 series) + WC

All the focus has clearly gone to domestic T20.

In the long term the best thing would actually be for it to be tiers of six, but at the moment there's no way the bigger nations would agree to the idea of dropping a tier potentially, and the smaller nations would be fearful of losing income.

Of course, if the income distribution was changed that wouldn't be a problem.

I think for a starting point it's not bad. The thing is we would have the same schedule anyway, but now it gives slightly more relevance to matches v 'easier' teams. Series against India/England/RSA and probably NZ/Pakistan will always hold relevance (although 2 match series are a waste), but test cricket needs something to encourage the smaller teams matches to be a big deal.

I think over the next 5-10 years the championship will be refined. Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, and Ireland will hopefully do enough to show that they are deserving of extra attention from the ICC.

Tier system is nice but 6 is too small a tier. I love the match ups between Australia, England, South Africa, etc., but it would get boring pretty quickly and also I would be a bit sad if we can't play West Indies or Sri Lanka for years together, as weak as they might seem currently.

Depends on how long the cycles are, I reckon.

so we still won't have played Zimbabwe since 2004, meaning still only having played them in 3 tests in 33 years

Bangladesh still won't have visited our shores since 2003, after being a test nation for 23 years, even then it was a winter series in the top end.

so we still won't have played Zimbabwe since 2004, meaning still only having played them in 3 tests in 33 years

Bangladesh still won't have visited our shores since 2003, after being a test nation for 23 years, even then it was a winter series in the top end.

bangas were scheduled in for this year but was unfortunately kiboshed by the CA ****wits.

we definitely don't play the minnows enough and our test schedule seems really light - only 37 tests in 4 years is too light. We should be playing 12-14 tests a year.

We should be throwing in 2-3 tests a year against weaker opposition to build the game. CA are just unwilling to do so.

bangas were scheduled in for this year but was unfortunately kiboshed by the CA *******s.

we definitely don't play the minnows enough and our test schedule seems really light - only 37 tests in 4 years is too light. We should be playing 12-14 tests a year.

We should be throwing in 2-3 tests a year against weaker opposition to build the game. CA are just unwilling to do so.

Why are we playing less tests? Seems oddly counter productive.

How do the windies get to play so many tests? They are absolutely useless at that format. Sri Lanka as well. They shouldn't get to play the amount of tests they do. Give the kiwis a few more and the saffers too

Bit of a bump this but this has the ability to be an incredibly exciting competition in the sense that I'm not sure there has ever been a time when the top 9 nations have been as close in ability as they are right now. India and South Africa at home will obviously be pretty difficult to beat however during the championship India have to play Australia and New Zealand away as 2 of their 6 series and you would probably only have them as 50/50 shots to win those.

Same with South Africa they have to play India away and Pakistan away for 2 of their 6 and you'd have them as fairly big outsiders in both of those judging by how they've performed in the subcontinent recently.

There are some obvious flaws in that the fixture is uneven and the final is only 1 match at a neutral venue however I feel like it could really give some context to international test cricket especially to semi-casual fans.

I don't necessarily want a test championship as such, what I do want is to be playing all test nations evenly.

I've always though a 7 test summer - hosting 2 countries. They can then negotiate who gets the 3 and who gets the 4 test series. (and yes it'd mean the death of a 5 test ashes series, but also the death of the mickey mouse 1 & 2 test series). This would mean 2 tours in the winter.
Not fussed if the odi and 20/20 component was added to this.
So effectively all countries would have a 7 test home summer (3/4) and 6 (3/3) odi's and 20/20's.

eg.
year 1 - host eng (4/3/3) wi (3/3/3)
year 2 - host sa (4/3/3) afg (3/3/3)
year 3 - host ind (4/3/3) ire (3/3/3)
year 4 - host pak (4/3/3) wi (3/3/3)
year 5 - host nz (4/3/3) bang (3/3/3)
year 6 - host ?????? zim (3/3/3) - start the new cycle with eng sa or ind or grant another country test status.

Maybe you could get rid of odi's and international 20/20's.
That way it'd only be test cricket for your country or franchise 20/20 (maybe just a world cup - that'd be interesting getting them together just for that).

It'd be quite easy to fixture if all countries were given a chunk of the calendar each.

If we've given Ireland & Afghanistan test status then they should be treated as such.

I'm over playing india, sure I enjoy the rivalry, but we are playing them in an odi series in a few weeks again.

I don't necessarily want a test championship as such, what I do want is to be playing all test nations evenly.

I've always though a 7 test summer - hosting 2 countries. They can then negotiate who gets the 3 and who gets the 4 test series. (and yes it'd mean the death of a 5 test ashes series, but also the death of the mickey mouse 1 & 2 test series). This would mean 2 tours in the winter.
So effectively all countries would have a 7 test home summer (3/4) and 6 (3/3) odi's and 20/20's.

eg.
year 6 - host ?????? zim (3/3/3) - start the new cycle with eng sa or ind or grant another country test status.

That way it'd only be test cricket for your country or franchise 20/20 (maybe just a world cup - that'd be interesting getting them together just for that).

It'd be quite easy to fixture if all countries were given a chunk of the calendar each.

If we've given Ireland & Afghanistan test status then they should be treated as such.

I'm over playing india, sure I enjoy the rivalry, but we are playing them in an odi series in a few weeks again.
Having just opened up T20Is to all-comers, I doubt they'll go back to tests only.

Personally I think you solve the white-ball dilemma by eliminating bilateral series and moving to a system of regional championships and world cup qualifiers, in the same way as soccer. T20 WC in 2020, 2024, 2028, etc and ODI WC in 2022, 2026, 2030, etc. Fit in the regional championships in there somehwere (Europe, Africa/Middle East, South Asia, East Asia/Pacific, Americas, for example).

I agree with the 7 test format, if possible, but having but all international red-ball cricket in divisions, probably of seven teams each, with promotion/relegation. Top two divisions are tests, others just FC, so there is a clear pathway to test status, and that status can be lost.

If you did it now, for instance:

Div 1
India
South Africa
England
NZ
Australia
Sri Lanka
Pakistan

Div 2
West Indies
Bangladesh
Zimbabwe
Ireland
Afghanistan
Netherlands (based on Intercontinental Cup 2017)
Hong Kong (based on Intercontinental Cup 2017)

Div 3 (FC only)
UAE
Scotland
PNG
Namibia
Nepal
Canada
Oman

Anyway, just a crazy thought.

Not that crazy. I think 7 team, three tiers would be much better in the long run, assuming the big boys are willing to risk relegation (which they shouldn't really be at risk of, given that 7 teams is just enough of a barrier). But Scotland would be in Div 2, they're next in line for full membership.

Yeah, it was just as an example really.

The main problem with that structure - assuming two up, two down each cycle - is that probably Australia, England, India and South Africa will be in Div 1 for the foreseeable future. But the aim of it is to give more countries a chance to play test cricket, in the hope that it will stop being so bloody in-bred.

what about just have a test championship for the big 4 - aust/eng/ind/sa

it appears the other countries are primarily focused on short form cricket.
could always revisit it, in the future

you could still have the other countries playing (and counted as tests) as a warm up series.

play it over 3 years and then maybe a final

eg. aussies could host:
year 1 - nz (2) eng (5) , winter (away) zim (2) sa (5)
year 2 - wi (2) ind (5), winter (away) ire (2) eng (5)
year 3 - sl (2) sa (5), winter (away) pak (2) ind (5)

and we would still host a big gun every summer.

we could still play melb/syd/bris/adel/perth and the other series at other grounds eg. canb/hob

you could still have the other countries playing (and counted as tests) as a warm up series.

eg. aussies could host:

we could still play melb/syd/bris/adel/perth and the other series at other grounds eg. canb/hob
Sounds like a great idea. While we're at it lets shrink the AFL down to just Richmond, Collingwood, Hawthorn and West Coast.

eg.

Ashes should remain 5 tests, if anything id like India and South Africa series to all be 5 tests as well.

Seems CA is on a quest to have us playing less test cricket.

eg. aussies could host:

Why would the other countries bother focusing on test cricket when they're not invited to the big dance... Why bother investing money in? The only thing that'll do is kill off every other test nation until only 4 teams remain competitive.

Sounds like a great idea. While we're at it lets shrink the AFL down to just Richmond, Collingwood, Hawthorn and West Coast.

may as well - coz they get looked after and it's all about them.

eg. can't remember last time collingwood played at geelong, tassie, darwin, canberra, ballarat etc. :-)