Worst Player?

• Thread starter Thread starter The Hitman

WHo is the worst player playing senior footy?

• Judd Lalich

Votes: 5 12.2%
  • Matthew Young

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Tim Elliott

Votes: 7 17.1%
  • Steve McKee

Votes: 4 9.8%
  • David Mensch

Votes: 3 7.3%
  • David Calthorpe

Votes: 7 17.1%
  • David Bourke

Votes: 8 19.5%
  • Ben Cunningham

Votes: 1 2.4%
  • Troy Wilson

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other

Votes: 6 14.6%

Re: Re: Re: an admission of guilt?

Originally posted by kuepper

I'm not sure I want to ask this - but hey, I am feeling lucky ... right about what exactly?

You remember my original statements on the Freo board?

The Hitman

I haven't voted and won't be doing so. They're all good players. They're all better than me. As Sheedy said, even playing one game of AFL footy is a big achievement for the player, his family, his junior coaches etc etc.

Some of the individual players mentioned -
Cunnigham's young and goes all right in the WAFL, may develop in AFL,
Fewster is probably the equal of any other WA-born centre half forward around (yeah, I know he tries to do too much...),
try saying this sort of crap to Wilson's face - he scares every player playing and kicked 7 goals in one game,
Bourke (much as we all hate him) has taken two of the marks of the week this year, and
wasn't Calthorpe best on ground in a State of Origin v. South Australia one year (can't remember if he was in the Essendon 93 Premiership).

So, I think, in summary, you should shove your poll where the sun don't shine.

I don't think Freo should have been let into the league...and I think they are a liability to the league...not an asset.

The Hitman

Thankyou Voice Of Reason & Chris23. (and anyone else i've missed that isn't slagging off footballers who, for all they know, could turn out to be champions. WHO KNOWS. Certainly not most of the people here.)

It makes me feel better that there's at least a few people here who have a bit of perspective.

Originally posted by The Hitman
I don't think Freo should have been let into the league...and I think they are a liability to the league...not an asset.

The Hitman

ahahah oh yes, I thought I would remember a blatant troll like that too - alas there are so many these days, they all just blend into one. ;)

Originally posted by Westy Boy

He'll be 26 by season's end. Will be very suprised if he's still on your list by then.

hahahahaha well done mate...

wrong again walshy...

The Hitman

now now.. bit harsh...

they will improve.. your still bitter cos they beat yas!! dont worry, your in the finals, that loss will give you blokes a good kick in the pants, and you will bounce back!!

good sides bounce back.. so we'll see

Hitman I ignored your listing of Ben Cunningham because it's odvious you have no idea what you are on about, but saying that Freo are a liability to the league??

Before you start slagging off other clubs just take a few seconds to think about how close your club came to extinction!

Originally posted by windyhill
where`s captain kickless, aless ?

Cmon windy, call it. GF day and you gotta take in Judd or Cess, waddayado!?!?!?!?!?!

ps, no bringing in Robram instead either! :p

oh, for worst going round now (thats getting a regular game) Tim Elliott, the guy busts a gut trying but simply isnt up to it. Agree with whoever mentioned Bartlett too, why are they persisiting with him at Doggieland when Bowden looks a natural forward? :confused:

Re: David Bourke

Originally posted by hawkfan5
. Also one more dud, Josh Wooden. He is terrible, I have never seen an effective possesion from him. Gee, there are a lot of idiots in the AFL.

Rob

Rob's Hawthorn Hawks

Yep, and there are a lot on bigfooty too.

Josh Wooden was a dud last year but since getting back into the team after a shoulder injury has been excellent. His hardness at the ball, speed and excellent fast disposal is all quality.

The Hitman

WA can certainly support two sides so letting Freo into the competition was correct.
The problem is what happened after. Their management team showed such a lack of marketing skills from the beginning. Firstly they gave them the name 'Dockers'. This was seen as a direct pitch at the strong union and socialist minded minority of WA. Unfortunately the majority of sponsors and many potential supporters south of the river were turned off by the name alone. They then sought to identify with the large iItalian community in Fremantle by adopting Italian colours. People saw this as un-Australian. The final mistake was the anchor which clearly tarred any supporter with a big W being put in front of it, and also the heave-ho song that haunts them as they are given the heave-ho so regularly.
The result is a much smaller membership base than could have been envisaged. It must be remembered that Fremantle was the stronghold of the WAFL. The Freo derby still is a big match. many Eagles players came from Freo teams in the WAFL so the potential was there.
The same management team went on to greater and greater mistakes and continual failure on the field resulting.
Now the AFL has stepped in and there may be hope of change. I doubt it because the troublemakers are still there in the background. What is needed is a complete clearout of all but the players and new coach. Then a relaunching of Freo with new name (eg Fremantle Sharks), new colours and a new song. Put the last years behind them and start again fresh.

Hello Brett

And hello kuepper.

My you guys do get around, don't you?

I was mildly surprised to see Ben Cunningham on the list, but hey, we are last so I would think we would get some representation here.

Probably can't disagree with Cunningham as someone to put forward from the Dockers who may not make it, I think he is too small and importantly lacks the lower body size and strength for AFL. I think he has a go, though.

A few points:

1. Can't believe Brett didn't take a free shot a McManus here.

2. If I went through our list on the basis of AFL performance only, the automatic selection from the Dockers would be Schell.

I think you are being a bit harsh on a few of your selections. A few triers, and quite a few "colts". And Wilson can play a bit.

Long time no see Blockerhall.

Now Kuep, my opinion before wasn't a troll, but an opinion. Whether it is believed to be right or wrong by you, or every other person on the planet...it doesn't matter.

PP, I voiced my opinion at the start of the season (at the Freo rivals site), and i copped heaps. I know they beat my mob on Saturday, but that is only one win..fact is, they had to beat somebody, so why not an injury ravaged and tired Hawthoorn team?

Frodo, I believe that Tassie should have a team before there was a second team in WA. I am sure there is enough support there somewhere, but looking at the crowds, looking at the enormous debt of the WA Football Commision, and looking at how Freo and West Coast are ruled by the Commision...it just is wrong.

Anyway, I'll get off my soapbox right now.

Oh, and Blockerhall, McManus isn't as bad as you think he is...and keep posting.

The Hitman

Originally posted by Frodo

WA can certainly support two sides so letting Freo into the competition was correct.
The problem is what happened after. Their management team showed such a lack of marketing skills from the beginning. Firstly they gave them the name 'Dockers'. This was seen as a direct pitch at the strong union and socialist minded minority of WA. Unfortunately the majority of sponsors and many potential supporters south of the river were turned off by the name alone. They then sought to identify with the large iItalian community in Fremantle by adopting Italian colours. People saw this as un-Australian. The final mistake was the anchor which clearly tarred any supporter with a big W being put in front of it, and also the heave-ho song that haunts them as they are given the heave-ho so regularly.
The result is a much smaller membership base than could have been envisaged. It must be remembered that Fremantle was the stronghold of the WAFL. The Freo derby still is a big match. many Eagles players came from Freo teams in the WAFL so the potential was there.
The same management team went on to greater and greater mistakes and continual failure on the field resulting.
Now the AFL has stepped in and there may be hope of change. I doubt it because the troublemakers are still there in the background. What is needed is a complete clearout of all but the players and new coach. Then a relaunching of Freo with new name (eg Fremantle Sharks), new colours and a new song. Put the last years behind them and start again fresh.

Some very very good points there , Frodo. I've never been totally happy with the name 'Dockers', although it is a refelction of the area the team comes from. The anchor isn't great either, we all know anchors drag along the bottom. I thought that the team WERE going to be called the Sharks. When the Crows were formed, there was talk of Adelaide being called the Sharks but the name Fremantle Sharks had already been registered. Perhaps the team needed to be a joint venture of South and Easts. If there was only one team in the Freo area, they'd be much more like Port Adelaide are now.

Freo have great pontential, shame it has been wasted by previous management and the bloody shameful WAFC, which IMO should be disbanded ASAP and let the WAFL run things like the SANFL do with the Power and the Crows.

At least that lousy theme song will get the heave-ho next year.

Freo can (and WILL) be a great club.

I'm going to ignore the other stuff in between (not yours Brett), but

<<McManus isn't as bad as you think he is...>>

... didn't say I think he is bad. He goes OK, considering 2 knee reconstructions have come his way. Tough at the ball, good overhead, gets a lot of it, gets tackled too much, and disposal is often woeful. But I cannot fault his endeavour.

My point was how surprised I was that he didn't crack a mention, after the bagging he gets from our side, let alone everyone else. I had a mate posting under the nick "Delist McManus" for a while!

Anyway, glad to hear you perhaps rate him. I think he is a good list player, and very very passionately Fremantle.

And I can't help myself, but Tassie haven't even got a state league any more, so how far an AFL side based there? I reckon the Tiwi Islands have probably got their noses in front of Tassie at the moment.

Now Kuep, my opinion before wasn't a troll, but an opinion. Whether it is believed to be right or wrong by you, or every other person on the planet...it doesn't matter.

Yes - I do understand it is your opinion, and I do begrudgingly except it - but to come and post on the freo team's site, that you think they shouldn't be in the AFL etc etc - well that is a troll - did you expect the passionate Freo supporters to nod sagely and agree perhaps?

but looking at the crowds

All things being equal, Freo gets pretty decent crowds - if the hawks were 0-16 how many would you get to a game do you think - the fact that 20,000 die hard supporters are there to see their team probably get beaten, is a testament to the support they have - just wait until a winning season occurs, and there will be double that, and then some. (come to think of it didnt your 12-5 side only draw 16,000 on the weekend anyway?)

looking at the enormous debt of the WA Football Commision

The entireity of the debt is based around a massive redevelopment of Subi oval which did have to happen - it isnt just frittered away - but you have a valid point.

and looking at how Freo and West Coast are ruled by the Commision...it just is wrong.

Agreed there - but that system didn't stop the wet toast winning 2 flags tho did it?

fact is, they had to beat somebody, so why not an injury ravaged and tired Hawthoorn team?

Well they didnt have to beat anyone really - and while we are all stoked we did, please don't wheel out excuses, especially after you predicted such a major belting before the gamne - yes you did have some in-game injuries that didn't help, you also had a 7 goal lead 5 mins bbefore 1/2 time!

On the DAY, you losst to a better side ... and with your attitude re: Freo, perhaps we can chalk one up to karma? ;)

The Hitman

Bit rough....as much as I despise the Dockers and do say some things tounge in cheek to some Freo supporters, i would not like to see the club fold or get tossed out. That is totally unfair. Fremantle are here to stay in the national competition. I agree with many of these posts about the Dockers marketing and jumpers. I think the anchor is a sign of staying on the bottom, the colours are rough, and I think the Fremantle Sharks would have been a better name. Also as the club started out, it really was the Claremont Dockers at the time with Neesham who had a lot of his former Claremont players in the side, many Fremantle players were overlooked. I would change thier name, jumpers and had a lot more of both the SF and EF WAFL clubs involved. East Fremantle felt rejected at the beginning of the Dockers and did not get involved with the new club, that was a big mistake. East Fremantle are the WAFLs most successful club with a lot of tradition, tradition which I think the Dockers are missing.

As much as I burn with hatred for Freo when the WCE play them, I will always hope the Dockers become sucessful for the good of the national competition.

I'm not saying I want them kicked out, but I don't think they should have been admitted in the first place.

Also, Tassie have the base. The fans, a ground in which if they upgraded the capacity, would be good.

The Hitman