Worst Win Ever

• Thread starter Thread starter Kapow!!!

RIPPER_46 said:
Lol , right on cue. Fact is you don't know how hard they have been training or what is going on.

I will bet you a carton right now that we will be at least 4-3 in five weeks time.
I have read most of your posts and i understand you would stay positive no matter what This guy has been coaching us for years and it is pretty plain to see he does not have the goods.There would be nothing better for me than to see freo win a couple of flags that they are capable of winning with there current list.Mark my words things at freo are about to get ugly over the next few weeks connelly is not only a lame duck at coaching he is a dead duck as well and hopefully Harvey learnt something from the master after all those years that he can teach the freo boys

I didnt really see much of the second half so I thought it was a great game

when I cam home this morning I expected too see a greater winning margin thoguh

having said that at the start of this week this is the sort of victory I was expecting.........hollow

Freo Big Fella said:
Oh FFS.

It's a win, it's four points. Yes it was a crap half of football, but I'd wather we win ugly then lose pretty.

No need to start slitting our wrists yet.

Temporary insanity from the match has subsided yet still it feels hollow and very concerning that we only beat a p!$$ weak Carlton side by 15 points. 4 points is 4 points but if you're looking at it like that then obviously you're stuck in 2003 when any win would've been accepted as a good win against any side.

Fact is we need to start playing some good football and shortly. That first quarter was indeed some of the best football I've seen in a long while but the fact we couldn't keep it up after half time and got complacent and in general ugly showed that the inconsistency that seems to shadow us is still very much there.

Like I've said in the past I'll always love Freo but lately it's that feeling of 'I've seen this before and I know where it's headed'. I dunno, maybe they'll pull out something good against Port and Adelaide and it will be all aboard the Freo juggernaut.

To all those who think along the lines of "4 points is 4 points, I don't care how we won ...", I don't think you are seeing the bigger picture. Seems some things haven't changed. Soft bellied, take the foot off the pedal, over-use the ball and turn it over with fundamental skill errors and poor decision making. Players still don't seem interested in applying themselves fully, and it is clear in my mind that CC has lost the playing group (a long time ago). He simply has to go.

I don't even feel like we won, it was that bad. Atrocious. We may as well have lost to turn the heat up on CC past breaking point. Possibly the worst half of AFL football I can remember in the second half. I think if we were playing South Freo we would have lost. Certainly anybody other than Carlton would have belted us. We have to improve out of sight to even entertain the idea of winning one of the next 4 games.

wizard_9 said:
Honestly the second half was terrible but i think most of us know part of the reason.
6 day break on the back of a trip to Tasmania pretty much explaisn it. The same thing happened last year in the Derby we were all but home than faded out severly.

I think the next time we go to Tassie a very easy week on the track is on the cards for the next week.

Good point. Something I hadnt considered.

We did look sharp in the first qtr and then it dropped off. If nothing else it shows the importance of early scoreboard pressure. To quote who I was at the game with last night he said " it might not be a bad thing the fade out in the 2nd half. It ensures we dont get any swollen heads "
Going into next weeks game the team should be rested and spitting after that p.poor effort in the 2nd half last night.

Connelly's percentage over Pagan since he's been at the Bloos still 100.:)

The doomsayers may want to consider that Carlton have actually improved. We fight games out now and some of our younger guys have stepped up while Fevola has his head on straight (at the moment). So either Carlton are still a four win per season wooden spoon side and Freo are average OR Carlton are a team on the rise and Freo still have plenty to look forward to.

We certainly didn't fluke that win over Melbourne last week.

If the game happened in reverse we would all be excited, it is easy to forget a crap first half when your team comes home with a 7 goal last quarter.

In the end no ne left the game happy. We got the 4 points, but looked pretty average from 2nd quarter onwards. Carlton were coming back, but never fast enough to get back into the game, so the blues fans were dirty too.

I'm still trying to look at what changed half way thru the second, from then on we were comprehensively beaten by the blues. It was also the point where the game became very ugly, skill levels dropped and our guys decided to start handballing sideways to players under the pump. Apart from Fev there wasn't a lot of excitement out there.

Maybe it was blues that changed the game by putting more pressure on our runners. Once they started second guessing where they would deliver the ball (particularly Dodd & Carr) everything went downhill fast.

When a midfielder handballs backwards it appears to me that you concede an advantageous attacking position to protect possession. When I say advantageous I mean that the defence is off balance and you can find open men/leads up forward, but you are likely to be under the pump. Once the ball goes back you temporarily lose pressure, but you also lose momentum and the defence regathers.

The Old Dark Navy's said:
The doomsayers may want to consider that Carlton have actually improved. We fight games out now and some of our younger guys have stepped up while Fevola has his head on straight (at the moment). So either Carlton are still a four win per season wooden spoon side and Freo are average OR Carlton are a team on the rise and Freo still have plenty to look forward to.

Fev was great to watch last night and gave me some entertainment thru the second half. He has certainly hit some good form.

On your closing point, no offence but our concern is that Carlton is still a bottom 4 side. Hopefully, with Fev firing you guys are pushing 8 to 12 which would appear to put us somewhere similar.

1 quarter of fantastic hard at it footy.
1 & 1/2 quarters of average to good footy
1 & 1/2 quarters of below average carp = they were very, very tired and made lots of skill errors.
Take the win and see what next week brings, like everyone else I walked away from the ground somewhat stunned, disappointed but relieved we got the 4 points.

I'm only guessing here but I think you will find that this is the effect of taking caffeine tablets. The Dockers will completely dominate the early parts of games in a drug-inspired frenzy before being over-run by the opposition because caffeine causes dehydration (its a diuretic). Its not the first time that this has happened EG first derby last year - although you ended up losing that game but it was the same pattern.

Short Kicks replaced by a sh1tload of handball...
The endeavour was better but not really much change to the pattern.
The first thing they do is look for the short option.
Soul destoying to see Josh Carr take a mark forward of the centre circle with noone within 10m and his first look is sideways...guys we have the technology up front...FFS use it...
On a postive note, Black was ok, Hayden's back, Crowley played well and more kudos to Macca, he's really impressing me...
Pav still looks short of a gallop, dropping marks he would normally take and missing easy shots.
Also, Headland was good cos he looked long and straight...

Freo Big Fella said:
Oh FFS.

It's a win, it's four points. Yes it was a crap half of football, but I'd wather we win ugly then lose pretty.

No need to start slitting our wrists yet.
Exactly.

Anyone know any news on Schammer's knee/back? injury?

Cassius_Clay said:
Exactly.

Anyone know any news on Schammer's knee/back? injury?

Is that the one he got chasing after that hospital pass on the defensive fifty?

Pretty gutsy effort.

coasting said:
I'm only guessing here but I think you will find that this is the effect of taking caffeine tablets. The Dockers will completely dominate the early parts of games in a drug-inspired frenzy before being over-run by the opposition because caffeine causes dehydration (its a diuretic). Its not the first time that this has happened EG first derby last year - although you ended up losing that game but it was the same pattern.

Hmm, interesting, I hadn't considered that.

I'm still dirty on them though, left the ground feeling very very hollow last night. That was a very ordinary 2nd half.

The Old Dark Navy's said:

That thought occurred to me as well, and I think some of my colleagues are underrating Carlton. They definitely listed their intensity in the second half and put the Dockers under a fair bit of pressure.

Even so 20,000 people and Peter Bell can't be wrong. I've never heard so many groans as we started to go handball happy or Josh Carr yet again wheeling onto his left foot to go out wide. We were carp.

I think its the coach because we still haven't learn how to run and create space. We are so damn mechanical and predictable we just don't exert any pressure on the opposition. At times we just don't look like a football team.

I though individual players were hard at it last night, showing plenty of intensity at the coal face but its our team work that falls apart so easily.

And I just want to say that I love Peter Bell. I just love the way he goes about it. I love the way that he can take on players 20cm taller than himself and rarely do worse than break even. He is a dead-set legend. As far as I'm concerned, in terms of leadership at the Dockers, there is Peter Bell and then a hell of a lot of daylight.

RIPPER_46 said:
Does anyone honestly believe that we won't get better with Pav , Roger better for the run and Hase to come back?

Do you honestly think that we definitely will?

One thing is clear - our game plan is heavily flawed. All well and good getting numbers behind the ball, but its a bit f**king useless if theres no-one up the ground to kick it to. In 2 games against shizenhousen opposition we've looked like a bunch of ******s stuffing around with the ball on half back because there's nothing but a wall of opposition players 50m up the ground.

Saying it's going to get better is based on blind optimism than any actual positive signs.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
I think its the coach because we still haven't learn how to run and create space. We are so damn mechanical and predictable we just don't exert any pressure on the opposition. At times we just don't look like a football team.

And I just want to say that I love Peter Bell. I just love the way he goes about it. I love the way that he can take on players 20cm taller than himself and rarely do worse than break even. He is a dead-set legend. As far as I'm concerned, in terms of leadership at the Dockers, there is Peter Bell and then a hell of a lot of daylight.

If players could only take an ounce of what Belly is - gutsy to the point of recklessness, putting the body in danger to get the ball. We'd be alot better.

I dont believe its the gameplan (i cant believe it can be) - its the players continually looking to the wings and flanks instead of kicking it up the guts. Looking to handpass instead of kicking it to a player thats more direct to their goals. Their overuse reduces the gameplan to a amateurish display of piggy in the middle.

In my view nothing has changed, The rhetoric has but nothing more. On last nights 2nd half performance a top 8 finish is a dream.

Rob said:
One thing is clear - our game plan is heavily flawed. All well and good getting numbers behind the ball, but its a bit f**king useless if theres no-one up the ground to kick it to. In 2 games against shizenhousen opposition we've looked like a bunch of ******s stuffing around with the ball on half back because there's nothing but a wall of opposition players 50m up the ground.

Look at the forst quarter and a half when players did kick quickly, decisively down the middle, we got the opportunities to have man-on-man contests not a flood - then we were able to kick the goals. Its when they stuff around and freeze that the options freeze up.

What is it with this pre-occupation of ALWAYS going around the the scoreboard side of the ground. The fact that i sit at the other end and have trouble seeing what's happening doesn't help but we have been using that side of the ground for a long time. I noticed carlton switched it to the middle and go down the centre corridor which we MUST do more often. When we do ( as in the 1st quarter ) ,we will kick more goals and also take less time and use up less energy.

fremantle were lucky they didn't get punished for that performance , like last year when we played Melbourne when the dees let us get witin striking distance they wern;t allowed to sing their club song i think for Punishment ;)

Redgum said:
What is it with this pre-occupation of ALWAYS going around the the scoreboard side of the ground. The fact that i sit at the other end and have trouble seeing what's happening doesn't help but we have been using that side of the ground for a long time. I noticed carlton switched it to the middle and go down the centre corridor which we MUST do more often. When we do ( as in the 1st quarter ) ,we will kick more goals and also take less time and use up less energy.
You're just saying that because you want a better view.

Josh Carr is like that shopping trolley you always get at a supermarket,you want it to go forward but it just keeps veering off to the side

What is wrong with you lot.

Objective is to win the game and that we did. Four premiership points in the bag. Who gives a toss how we do it, as long as we win.

And for the clowns who want CC out - again a total misguided lot.
He has got this team winning more games than they loose and we will be playing finals footy this year and having a major influence.

A win next week will all have you lot singing a different song.

Dwayo said:
What is wrong with you lot.

Objective is to win the game and that we did. Four premiership points in the bag. Who gives a toss how we do it, as long as we win.

And for the clowns who want CC out - again a total misguided lot.
He has got this team winning more games than they loose and we will be playing finals footy this year and having a major influence.

A win next week will all have you lot singing a different song.
Dwayo US clowns dont believe a little fairy is going to come along wave her little wand and all will be well.I would rather go with the facts and results and the truth is he has been there for 4 years and sorry i could not get excited about that pathetic win against carlton.I like your never say die attitude but he is history so jump on the band wagon