Would it hurt...

Genève-Servette HC, Pittsburgh Pens
...for Liam Jurrah to put in some effort?

I am rarely someone who creates threads to pot individual players. I have posted here many thousands of times and it is simply not my style. And of course, like all other Melbourne players, I love watching Liam Jurrah.

He is, however, the laziest player on our team. Forget Morton, forget Bennell and forget Davey. Liam Jurrah is currently doing the bare minimum. It is only that he is so freakin' talented that his bare minimum still lets him average 2.5 goals a game.

He isn't going for marks in a lot of packs. Instead, he roves for the crumbs but not at the fall of the ball. He is normally lurking around several metres away so that he is in the clear if he, on the odd chance, gets a nice cheapy.

He makes one lead and if that fails, there isn't anything else. There was a prime example where he lead to half forward. Howe was nearby and was kicked to instead. Howe then had no one to kick to because our forward line is rather short and Collingwood had pushed back. And where was Liam? Standing 15 metres from Howe spectating. He wasn't huffing and puffing. You'll rarely see that. He just couldn't be arsed.

There was another one earlier where the ball was kicked long to Watts near the goal square in a one on one. The Melbourne kicker was about 60m out and waited a long time to kick it to Watts. During that time Jurrah just stood on the 50 arc and watched. It turned out that the kick was poor and fell short. Jurrah COULD have been in prime crumbing position.

Not only does he not do leads but he provides very little forward pressure. He's lightning fast and has a good tackling technique. Would it kill him to lay the odd one occasionally? In the third quarter it was said on the radio that we did not have a single tackle inside forward 50. I can barely think of a more disgraceful statistic. Jurrah finished the game with a measly 1, and I can't remember where it was.

Jeremy Howe has come in and in two games has already shown himself to be a much harder worker than Jurrah. Against Essendon he took two marks directly from kick outs and contested many others. He was up there again today. His work ethic is superb. Whilst he is a talented kid, he does not have half the talent Liam does.

Is Liam injured? I was told today that he has had a bit of a niggle in his calf. If that's the case, the bye can't come quickly enough. Jurrah is our best forward and if he is playing injured then I take back some of the harshness of my post but the points still stand. In fact, it really pains me to post something like this, but for too long Melbourne supporters have accepted mediocrity and have turned a blind eye when our favourites don't put in effort.

melbournemartin out

:(

Nice detailed post. I can't be bothered with a long post, but a few of us said he should have been dropped weeks ago and I've seen nothing to change my mind since.

In: Petterd
Out: Jurrah

as much as I hate to say it, Jurrah needs to spend a couple of weeks in the VFL till he can prove he's ready to work for this football club. At his best he used to lead hard, he used to chase and he used to tackle. He no longer does any of those things. Brad Green was also horrible today, I can't vault his effort, he tried hard. But in all honesty he was nothing short of pathetic. I expected to lose, but today was very dissapointing.

It hurts to say it, but you're dead right. He needs a spell to get his head in order. If he gets an effective rocket he could come back in a few weeks and tear it apart.

Great post MM.

I find it hard to get stuck in to our forwards as, when you watch the way we play, you realise that they basically don't stand a chance of winning the footy and are always fighting against loose men in the backline. That would frustrate and annoy ANY forward.

But in some respects you are right - where guys like Howe have a real crack, Jurrah doesn't work hard enough. I think he is getting by simply because of the reputation he has built up and if the club is serious going forward then he should either be told he is on the block or being dropped. Let's see how he responds.

And I reckon he is playing injured this year but that's more a gut feeling than anything else.

Great post MM.

I find it hard to get stuck in to our forwards as, when you watch the way we play, you realise that they basically don't stand a chance of winning the footy and are always fighting against loose men in the backline. That would frustrate and annoy ANY forward.

But in some respects you are right - where guys like Howe have a real crack, Jurrah doesn't work hard enough. I think he is getting by simply because of the reputation he has built up and if the club is serious going forward then he should either be told he is on the block or being dropped. Let's see how he responds.

And I reckon he is playing injured this year but that's more a gut feeling than anything else.

Cheers.

Oh don't worry, if I were to make a post on our defensive strategies, particularly the one where we try fruitlessly to get the ball out of there, my fingers would bleed from over-typing. Being a Melbourne forward would definitely be a frustrating job. But what are you going to do? Are you going to sit in the forward 50 and cop flack from the opposition cheer squad or are you going to say "Hang on, I'm playing the best ****ing game in the world for the team that ****ing invented it. I'm proud to be a Demon and I'm going to go and get that ball, help out a mate who has it or at least get into a good position to receive it".

Cheers.

Oh don't worry, if I were to make a post on our defensive strategies, particularly the one where we try fruitlessly to get the ball out of there, my fingers would bleed from over-typing. Being a Melbourne forward would definitely be a frustrating job. But what are you going to do? Are you going to sit in the forward 50 and cop flack from the opposition cheer squad or are you going to say "Hang on, I'm playing the best ****ing game in the world for the team that ****ing invented it. I'm proud to be a Demon and I'm going to go and get that ball, help out a mate who has it or at least get into a good position to receive it".

I think part of the problem is that we spread out too much in some respects and we lack that crumbing forward. At one stage we had Watts, Gawn, Jurrah, Green and Sylvia as our forwards and once that ball hits the deck it's all over. Not enough pressure.

But you're right, our forwards could work harder and Jurrah just seems to coast. He has the pace to run people down and the athleticism to go with the best so why doesn't he use it? Needs a rocket, for sure.

We have, in my opinion, four legitimate small forwards.

Wona
Maric
Jetta
Bennell

Jetta is the best tackler but is instead used more on the ball where he doesn't exactly do a hell of a lot. Get Jetta to watch tapes of the Carlton small forwards and tell him to copy them.

I would not object to bringing Maric (or Dunn) in, plonking them in the fwd pocket and saying: Do not lead, just wait for the ball to get to ground and kick a chance goal (What Dunn relishes). I did watch the third quarter (best for us, after looking at the reviews) and too many times was Green leading well, spoiled by Tarrant and the ball was just ran out of our 50.

Jeremy Howe has come in and in two games has already shown himself to be a much harder worker than Jurrah. Against Essendon he took two marks directly from kick outs and contested many others. He was up there again today. His work ethic is superb. Whilst he is a talented kid, he does not have half the talent Liam does.

Sorry to butt-in Martin.

I saw Howe for the first time today and live, and I must say I thought he presented extremely well, held marks and hit packs hard. His work-rate was excellent and he looks hungry.

Definitely something to work with there. Hope the boy from Tassie makes it. He looks good.

Nice detailed post. I can't be bothered with a long post, but a few of us said he should have been dropped weeks ago and I've seen nothing to change my mind since.

In: Petterd
Out: Jurrah
Jurrah should be dropped, 1 tackle is not good enough! He should look to our great leader for inspiration. 2 massive tackles to go with his 0 a couple of weeks ago. What a leader of men Brad Green truely is!

Doesnt look good in a losing side Jurrah.

I would throw him up the ground at some stage - play him on a wing or across half back just for some experience and to get him involved in the play.

Funny I'm watching good/call bad call right now:

GOOD CALL

How bloody bad was that effort when he was right in front, but rather then converting for the scoreboard; he turned, banana'd and put it on the full. Typical Jurrah, does he reckon that by kicking a goal from there, he'd make us forget about or turn a blind eye to his half efforts?

Sorry, Liam. Casey beckons.

Jurrah should be dropped, 1 tackle is not good enough! He should look to our great leader for inspiration. 2 massive tackles to go with his 0 a couple of weeks ago. What a leader of men Brad Green truely is!

I ripped into Green's 'captains effort' from behind our cheersquad when he was in the square in the last quarter, being SMASHED by Tarrant.

Timely thread MM.

It's been the unspoken truth for a few weeks now but naturally our pro-LJ bias generally has prevented it from being raised. I wouldn't be surprised nor disappointed to see him being given a spell in the 2s.

I dont reckon he needs Casey yet - hes sill probably our best forward.

But we should coach him hard - rough him up and taunt him in training, like you would train a fighting dog. Make him angry and hungry. A few of our guys are in need of this - Morton, Bennell, Watts (getting there).

We have, in my opinion, four legitimate small forwards.

Wona
Maric
Jetta
Bennell

Jetta is the best tackler but is instead used more on the ball where he doesn't exactly do a hell of a lot. Get Jetta to watch tapes of the Carlton small forwards and tell him to copy them.

Completely agree about dropping Jurrah, he's been playing half-hearted football most of the season.

With regard to our small forward stocks, I think the cupboard is bare. Maric is slow and puts no defensive pressure on, Jetta is slow and is not a natural forward (does have a crack though), Wona is fat and slow and Bennell is bipolar. If Bennell consistently gives 100% he will be a gun, either forward or half back, but that's a big if.

I was at the game yesterday and our forward line really stuck out as lazy and incapable of taking a mark (save for Sylvia who was needed in the middle anyway). Full credit to Howe for having a red hot crack and I can't knock Watts as he was being thrown all over the ground. I'm thinking our forward line should look like this against Freo.

HF: Howe MacDonald Petterd
FF: Watts Green Bennell/Jetta

We are really short on small forwards so Bennell and/or Jetta need to be down there in my opinion. With Garland coming back in I would honestly back MacDonald to take more marks and give more effort and grunt than Greeny or Jurrah. Of course if Green doesn't play forward I don't know where else to put him, useless everywhere at the moment.