tayls

Unreal we have got a "HOME FINAL" what a bonus for us, we have earnt the right for it.

The only problem with it is that IT IS PLAYED ON OUR OPPONENTS HOME GROUND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

We deserve it to be at KP but i know it wont happen.

Wouldn't more of a home ground advantage be at the Dome fo rus, considering WE PLAY HOME GAMES THERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Is this just me or do i have a point here?

PS I'm fired up today.

Have you forgotten last years away prelim final against the lions allready.

The GF is there so lets play there as much as we can.

Fair has nothing to do with it. We are the only club in the League that doesn't play on its own ground when they earned a 'Home" final but would your prefer that all our games be at the G or the Dome. Its the price we pay for our Home Ground advantage thru the year. The thing is, rarely does the G or the Dome have the real one sided feel of an interstate venue when two Vic sides play, its basically neutral venue. What would you do if we played Melbourne in a GF want that at the Dome. If we are good enough we will win at the home of footy.

Turbocat said:
Fair has nothing to do with it. We are the only club in the League that doesn't play on its own ground when they earned a 'Home" final but would your prefer that all our games be at the G or the Dome. Its the price we pay for our Home Ground advantage thru the year. The thing is, rarely does the G or the Dome have the real one sided feel of an interstate venue when two Vic sides play, its basically neutral venue. What would you do if we played Melbourne in a GF want that at the Dome. If we are good enough we will win at the home of footy.
You make a fair point, but Melbourne do play better at the G than anywhere else.
I also nver said it was unfair.
Question is Norths home ground the G or the Dome. If it the G why arent they playing there. If its the Dome forget i said anything.

tayls said:
Unreal we have got a "HOME FINAL" what a bonus for us, we have earnt the right for it.

The only problem with it is that IT IS PLAYED ON OUR OPPONENTS HOME GROUND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

We deserve it to be at KP but i know it wont happen.

Wouldn't more of a home ground advantage be at the Dome fo rus, considering WE PLAY HOME GAMES THERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Is this just me or do i have a point here?

PS I'm fired up today.

At last I have found my long lost soul mate. This has been real contentious issue with me since the introduction of the national competition. I have had so many 'one sided' arguments at work and with mates about Geelongs 'Home Final' What a joke - Let me tell you now this would never happen to Collingwood/Essendon or to a lesser extent Carlton, the so called super clubs just say what they want and the AFL bend over to accomodate them :mad: .

You are not alone! ;)

tayls said:
You make a fair point, but Melbourne do play better at the G than anywhere else.
I also nver said it was unfair.
Question is Norths home ground the G or the Dome. If it the G why arent they playing there. If its the Dome forget i said anything.
2 Vic teams = G
1 Vic team = Dome

We're talking about money , money....

jacmitgee said:
At last I have found my long lost soul mate. This has been real contentious issue with me since the introduction of the national competition. I have had so many 'one sided' arguments at work and with mates about Geelongs 'Home Final' What a joke - Let me tell you now this would never happen to Collingwood/Essendon or to a lesser extent Carlton, the so called super clubs just say what they want and the AFL bend over to accomodate them :mad: .

You are not alone! ;)
I'm hearing you brother, i long for the day of a final at KP. Doubt it will happen unfortunatelt. It's all about the $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

tayls said:
I'm hearing you brother, i long for the day of a final at KP. Doubt it will happen unfortunatelt. It's all about the $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Well my don't you spend some of those $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ and develop the stadium to a 40 000 capacity and your arguement might get a little stronger.

As it stands at the moment no way should a final ever be held at KP.

peejay said:
Well my don't you spend some of those $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ and develop the stadium to a 40 000 capacity and your arguement might get a little stronger.

As it stands at the moment no way should a final ever be held at KP.
At least we are playing finals and can have this discussion, what is your team doing in September di ck head.
P iss off back to your own board.

This annoys me no end!

I believe if we have earnt the right to a "HOME" final in the first week of the finals then we should play it at Skilled. It is only fair, some will argue that the capacity isnt the largest but who gives a ******** (apart from the AFL). I was talking about this with my brother (who happens to be a Crows fan) and he was saying that we cant host finals because you can get a bigger crowd at The 'G. As I said, if thats the case then why did the AFL bring in the new Prelim Final rule to accomodate the Interstate Clubs, Adelaide can only get 50,000 at AAMI but they can get double that at the MCG. Its all about fairness and making it fair for them, so how about making it fair for us and giving us what we rightfully deserve!

Dasher39 said:
This annoys me no end!

I believe if we have earnt the right to a "HOME" final in the first week of the finals then we should play it at Skilled. It is only fair, some will argue that the capacity isnt the largest but who gives a ******** (apart from the AFL). I was talking about this with my brother (who happens to be a Crows fan) and he was saying that we cant host finals because you can get a bigger crowd at The 'G. As I said, if thats the case then why did the AFL bring in the new Prelim Final rule to accomodate the Interstate Clubs, Adelaide can only get 50,000 at AAMI but they can get double that at the MCG. Its all about fairness and making it fair for them, so how about making it fair for us and giving us what we rightfully deserve!
Here here.

tusk said:
It is finals footy, it should be played at the G.
I agree. my opinion is that this thread should be closed. we have to be able to play at the g to win a grand final, simple as that. I think some of you guys are forgetting this. some of you guys have got to get this 'what we have earnt' thing out of your head - it is just not feasible for the afl to play a final in geelong. as for playing at telstra dome - that can't happen either. they can't schedule 2 games there and none at the g. considering our record there this year I don't think I'd want us anwhere near the corner of bourke and spencer st anyway. we have played some rubbish footy there this year.

so guys, get over it and look forward to the game, please.

tayls said:
At least we are playing finals and can have this discussion, what is your team doing in September di ck head.
P iss off back to your own board.

Oh i see the heros are out again.

Listen pal, I offered the very reason why KP will not host a final - accept the fact and move on.

I will comment this board as i see fit. I am a paid up member of big footy - are you?. Now until i get board with your board or your moderator boots me off (which will not happen because i am posting within the rules they have stated) unlike some you need to resort to swearing and altering the grammar to get their point across you I will post where ever I want.

Dasher39 said:
This annoys me no end!

Very well said. It does seem an in-justice. Hopefully the players over it and just wanna get on with the game.

Cats by 5 goals!

I have no doubt that Geelong is at least a four-goal better team at home; we shouldn't have to surrender that advantage too easily, nor should the town miss out on an enormous boost both psychological and financial.

I can see how the capacity limits things, so perhaps two temporary stands could be looked into - one either side of the Hickey Stand, to boost capacity to perhaps about 35,000, give or take. The Gabba held plenty less for many years for a far less parochial crowd. If it was an hour-long plane trip instead of an hour-long bus ride, the AFL wouldn't contemplate moving the game from Geelong. The truth is that the entity that stands to lose the most from keeping the game at home and also from moving it in terms of attendance and final score is the home team; the decision should partially be ours to make.

It would be ridiculous for Geelong to play a preliminary final at KP, a game which, if held against a Victorian team, would attract upwards of 70,000+, but I would think that playing a semifinal or a qualifying final wouldn't present too many issues. Sure, some fans would miss out, but for the team that deserves the home final, it would be worth the four, five goal advantage.

How about this for a little perspective?

Earlier in the season, the AFL changed clauses in contracts signed by all clubs to improve the fairness of the finals competition by eliminating the prospect of a non-Victorian team playing a home final at the MCG.

Fantastic work from the AFL, the correct decision prevailed.

OK, so the AFL has ascertained there is a problem with finals fairness and has identified that teams winning the right to a home final deserve their home final – regardless of who they play.

If the AFL has the audacity to admit there is a problem – and then resolve it – why can’t Geelong get the home final they are entitled to at Skilled Stadium.

In 1996, Brisbane earned the right to a home final – two in fact – at a venue with a paltry capacity of 23,000 and facilities of a substandard nature. To add insult to injury, the following year was 1997, the exact same conditions then applied to Geelong, and we know what happened then.

Patronising.

First of all a final can NEVA be played at Kardinia Park.. no way.. can you imagine the uproar at fans missing out on seats?? Its a ridiculous idea!!

I do reckon its a bit unfair that Melbourne get the advantage, cause its the all- Vic clash, rather than the interstate team. They flogged us there earlier, and the fact of the matter is MCG is NORTHS home ground and TD is more of our home ground!! But we'll cop it, considering we were real lucky to play Brisbane at the g last year!!!

My point is, if we win next week, and say Sydney lose.. we play them up in Sydney yeah?? Wheres the day of 97 i ask, when Sydney would actually have had to travel to Vic to play us??? (sorry, still cant forget that season, in which we were screwed by the AFL, umpires AND an unfair system)....

go catters!!

Shell said:
First of all a final can NEVA be played at Kardinia Park.. no way.. can you imagine the uproar at fans missing out on seats?? Its a ridiculous idea!!
I'm pretty sure there will be fans missing out on the Crows and Eagles home finals coz there arent enough seats. So cant really use that argument.

Guys calm down and concentrate on how lucky you are to be in there with a shot at the big one. This is the first time in 7 years my lot haven't had a shot, and I'll tell you, it's a bitter pill to swallow.

And try and remember it's not worth getting worked up about because it isn't correct. No one earns a 'home' final at their 'home ground'. They earn a 'home state final at the designated AFL finals venue/s', which in Victoria are the G and TD as set out in the MCG agreement and finals regulations.

Once the H&A season finishes there are no 'home grounds', they are all AFL venues hired and paid for by the AFL as required. Clubs control the H&A season, the AFL control the finals. Capacity has nothing to do with it. It's the venue on it's own, and the fact that it isn't part of the finals agreements that is the reason.