Wow

• Thread starter Thread starter JUDDanaut

Originally posted by error404
Other than having no room to expand, Subi oval faces the wrong way. East/West. The sun in the eyes in the last quarter plays havoc on the players. I don't think there is another footy oval in the country that faces East/West.

Fairly sure the MCG and Gabba run East-West for footy. The WACA used to as well.

Originally posted by sedders
I dont wanna sound like a victorian telling you guys you got it wrong, but dont you think the allocated seat thing has to go.

Over here at the MCG we have the MCC members and AFL members sections and there's ALWAYS available seats there even when its a sell out. I think every single person should have to book a seat for each game.

I think it might also be a factor in why the subi is a little less vocal. If you have all the roudy supporters spread out with all the grandmothers, you're not going to yell as much, but if all the foul mouthed beer drinking louts (like myself) were able to move around and sit together they could really let it rip.

Not practical, because the Eagles membership is 90% of the capacity of the stadium, it would be a logistical nightmare to get seats together at games, especially if you are part of a large group that have memberships together. Basically the difference between Melbourne and Perth is that in Melbourne there is sufficient seating that what you suggest could work, at Subiaco there most definitely isn't

In fact I was at the Dockers yesterday as part of a group of eight - and even at their games it would be a nightmare trying to find eight seats together if you didn't have them as members.

While you could pre-book the seats on a per-game basis, it doesn't change the effect you're mentioning, and it just means the logistics are a nightmare every week instead of once a season.

There's no doubt the planning on Subiaco Oval was all wrong from the start. At one stage we had a larger capacity at Subi than we do now, and the more and more they've changed it, the less and less they can do to improve it. But what is everyone's thoughts on the W.A. government's plan to 'rationalise' Perth's sporting grounds? They've suggested bulldozing both the WACA and Subi for housing and setting up a 60,000+ seat stadium elsewhere to house both footy and cricket. I couldn't care less if they bulldozed that concrete canyon, the WACA, but Subi has been the home of W.A. footy since 1915. I'd hate to see it go. It'd be better for memberships and attendances, so is this everyone's preference?

Originally posted by Mr Q
Fairly sure the MCG and Gabba run East-West for footy. The WACA used to as well.

MCG, GABBA and WACA are all cricket grounds cum footy ovals.
Subi still faces the wrong way which ever way you look at it.

I think every single person should have to book a seat for each game.

I think it might also be a factor in why the subi is a little less vocal. If you have all the roudy supporters spread out with all the grandmothers, you're not going to yell as much, but if all the foul mouthed beer drinking louts (like myself) were able to move around and sit together they could really let it rip.

I agree with you on this.

I personally prefer a booked seat and a shudder to think of the logistics for member to book a seat for every game. However, I can see the advantages of having a section for people that would prefer not to be seated or not to have the same one each week.

Having been to a few Perth Glory games this year I have really enjoyed the antics of 'The Shed' singing etc. but wouldn't like being in the crunch (too old and slow), as much as they'd dislike me being there I guess.

If a balance of the two ideas could be put together maybe that would work?

Originally posted by harlean
I agree with you on this.

I personally prefer a booked seat and a shudder to think of the logistics for member to book a seat for every game. However, I can see the advantages of having a section for people that would prefer not to be seated or not to have the same one each week.

As far as I know in Melbourne the AFL Members and the Domes Medallian club are allocated seat memberships. All the clubs memberships dont come with seat allocation. I think they decide on a match by match basis whether or not you need to reserve a seat and it's not a really logistical nightmare, you just go to a booth, give them your membership, say "I want a seat in section 46, 3rd level" and you get one.

Having said that there were some probs early last year because the dome didn't open enough booths.

Originally posted by error404
Other than having no room to expand, Subi oval faces the wrong way. East/West. The sun in the eyes in the last quarter plays havoc on the players. I don't think there is another footy oval in the country that faces East/West.

Docklands faces East/West. That's why on a sunny day (such as last Sunday), there is still a strong arguement to keep the roof shut.

I dont wanna sound like a victorian telling you guys you got it wrong, but dont you think the allocated seat thing has to go.

Over here at the MCG we have the MCC members and AFL members sections and there's ALWAYS available seats there even when its a sell out. I think every single person should have to book a seat for each game.

Thats Crap.

If the game is a sellout and you are an AFL member you DO NOT automatically get a seat. In fact as an AFL member you have to pay another $5.50 to reserve a seat and another $5 booking fee if you buy online of via phone. So thats another $10.50 for one game on top of your $270 membership (+$295 joining fee first year).

If you are an MCC member and its a sellout, you also have to obtain a reserved ticket, this cost nothing but as there are way more members then seats they run out quickly. However with the MCC membership you can rock up and stand in the long room without a reserved seat.

So mate do some research before you bag Subi. The only issue with subi is capicity. The ticket system is spot on for the scenario.

And yes I am an AFL member with West Coast club support, so I do know what I am talking about.

Originally posted by Pheret
But what is everyone's thoughts on the W.A. government's plan to 'rationalise' Perth's sporting grounds? They've suggested bulldozing both the WACA and Subi for housing and setting up a 60,000+ seat stadium elsewhere to house both footy and cricket. I couldn't care less if they bulldozed that concrete canyon, the WACA, but Subi has been the home of W.A. footy since 1915. I'd hate to see it go. It'd be better for memberships and attendances, so is this everyone's preference?

The thought of Subiaco oval being levelled to build screaming yuppie apartments over the top of where it used to stand, quite frankly makes me want to vomit, copiously and indiscriminitely, on anyone who even suggests the distasteful idea!

That said, it may come to that in the end. Perth needs a bigger ground, no doubt about it. But where? Are they going to put it out in the Styx ala Homebush? Or do they have an inner-city site they can redevelop, ala Docklands?

Whatever they do, they need to careful that they don't repeat the mistakes made with Subiaco and build up the area around it too closely (actually, it wouldn't be fair to call it a mistake - hindsight is a wonderful thing!) The only reason they can't expand Subiaco beyond its current size, is that they would actually have to bulldoze everything within 100 meters around it, including Roberts Road. While that may sound like a great idea (especially to some...) it's not terribly practicle.

So, is they do go to rationalisation (which won't happen any time soon), they need to leave enough room around wherever they build it so that it can expand into the kind of dimensions that the MCG is at when it is fully functional.

----------------
Note to potential flamers: the capacity comparisons to the MCG are based on future projections, not current crowd numbers. Even if they were to hold the Grand Final in Perth right now, I'd doubt you'd get 100,000 to it.

Originally posted by jourgo
That said, it may come to that in the end. Perth needs a bigger ground, no doubt about it. But where? Are they going to put it out in the Styx ala Homebush? Or do they have an inner-city site they can redevelop, ala Docklands?

I think they've proposed the area around Wellington Street where the Entertainment Centre is (which will be bulldozed soon). That area seems far too small though. A different area was put forward several years back. However, Perth Glory were meant to get their own multi-purpose sports centre at the Convention Centre and that never happened either, instead they're still at Perth Oval (sorry, Member's Equity Stadium), so this 'rationalisation' idea mightn't work out either

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
The **** will really hit the fan if buy some chance there is a Derby final.

How 30000 + 38000 members are going to get their "Garanteed" finals ticket is beyond me.

Isn't it guaranteed finals tickets to home games?

Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
Isn't it guaranteed finals tickets to home games?

It says on my Letter

"Your Membership card entitles you to prioriy access to 2004 AFL finals Series tickets ahead of the general public (for matches in which Fremantle Competes) "

No "subject to availability" disclaimer.

I would think that the E-girls would be the same.

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
It says on my Letter

"Your Membership card entitles you to prioriy access to 2004 AFL finals Series tickets ahead of the general public (for matches in which Fremantle Competes) "

No "subject to availability" disclaimer.

I would think that the E-girls would be the same.

Well there you go. "priority access...ahead of the general public". Basically, Freo get allocated an amount of finals tickets, and members can cue up for tickets before the general public (i.e. general public get access to tickets not bought by the members).

Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
Well there you go. "priority access...ahead of the general public". Basically, Freo get allocated an amount of finals tickets, and members can cue up for tickets before the general public (i.e. general public get access to tickets not bought by the members).

Yes, but there will be a heck of a lot of members who will miss out on both sides because of the too small stadium.

Originally posted by WaDsY
Thats Crap.

If the game is a sellout and you are an AFL member you DO NOT automatically get a seat. In fact as an AFL member you have to pay another $5.50 to reserve a seat and another $5 booking fee if you buy online of via phone. So thats another $10.50 for one game on top of your $270 membership (+$295 joining fee first year). .

Chill out cum-wad. I never said you automatically get a seat, i said there's always available seats. You always (except at the GF) will see empy seats in the AFL members area. I know you often have to reserve them and the cost is irrelevent to me and my suggestion re subi. This is not the place for you to winge about have to pay extra, I'm sure if your paying $270 per year your parents can afford it, rich bastard.

If you are an MCC member and its a sellout, you also have to obtain a reserved ticket, this cost nothing but as there are way more members then seats they run out quickly. However with the MCC membership you can rock up and stand in the long room without a reserved seat.

run out quickly my ass! MCC would have been full maybe 5 times last year

So mate do some research before you bag Subi. The only issue with subi is capicity. The ticket system is spot on for the scenario.

what part of it contradicted any of the well researched facts you've posted? And in what way was it relevent to my critique of the subi seating arrangment? Maybe you should read my post a bit better and try to get some understanding in that feeble little grammer school mind of yours before attacking a fellow eagle supporter.

Maybe you should do some research by going to subi (go business class so you dont have to sit with the plebs) and sitting in the crowd and look at all the young men drinking beer and biting their tongue because of the grandmother or group of children next to them. Then you'll understand the problem with ticketing I'm talking about.

And yes I am an AFL member with West Coast club support, so I do know what I am talking about.

So your one one those toffy nose pricks that thinks they're better than everyone. Ok, well thankyou for sharing your $270 plus $10.50 per game opinion with us.

(sorry everyone else, a BMW rammed me yesterday so these prahran ****ers are in my bad books this week.)