Hasus

Manchester City
If you had the chance too choose a player to join the Crows for next season, who would you choose. I am saying this as if you just ask this player to join from any club and that player comes over, no trades, no nothing, just picking up a new player. Who would you pick up for the Crows?

:rolleyes:

Because he is a bloody superstar. A CHF who is already in top 3 players in the league, he is only 22 and is someone that you can build not only the forward line around but the entire side.

BTW, I hope you are not questioning his tougness with your sarcasm because you couldn't be further off the mark if thats what you are getting at.

Stiffy_18 said:
BTW, I hope you are not questioning his tougness with your sarcasm because you couldn't be further off the mark if thats what you are getting at.
My sarcasm was for that exact face that you did, just a little grin I was hoping for. I know he is a superstar anyway. :)

McLeodMagic said:
Adam Cooney!
Yep, but close call
Maybe Jono Brown.

St Nick will have a very short career at the very top, he simply throws himself around far too much.

jc67 said:
Yep, but close call
Maybe Jono Brown.

St Nick will have a very short career at the very top, he simply throws himself around far too much.

That's a headscratcher if ever there was one, jc67.

You'd pass up St. Nick because he "throws himself around far too much" and therefore you believe his superstar longevity is limited as a result, but you'd take Jonathan Brown who not only throws himself around far too much, but his fists as well? ;)

dyertribe said:

You'd pass up St. Nick because he "throws himself around far too much" and therefore you believe his superstar longevity is limited as a result, but you'd take Jonathan Brown who not only throws himself around far too much, but his fists as well? ;)
Brown goes in hard, Nick falls hard, very big differance ;)
The fists can be managed with the right coach.

I have to provide a broader wishlist - I can't settle for just that one player. In selecting these players I have tried to keep the loose parameters in mind:

# What does the AFC need most?
# What's best for the AFC and our team structure?

KPPs
1. Nick Riewoldt - The well of superlatives ran dry long ago.
2. Warren Tredrea - only turned 26 last Xmas Eve yet people separate him from the likes of St. Nick/JB/Pav/Taz like he's an old man in comparison. Still a couple of years away from his peak yet.
3. Matthew Pavlich - Easily the most versatile man in the league, but we can all stop hitting our heads against that purple brick wall... Connolly is finally going to play him where he does his best work.

All three would provide the focal point we've been lacking since Mods went west. Pav would be excellent to run in the midfield and defence when the need arises in later years provided Watts comes along as we expect him to.

Ruckman

1. Dean Cox - One of the most improved players in the game over the past couple of years, Cox can do it all, be it dominate ruck contests or stand tall all over the ground. Can sneak forward and kick goals too. And he's only 23.

Cox would be an invaluable asset given the current ages and abilities of Clarke, Biglands and Hudson - and combined with Meesen they could form a very imposing duo in future years.

Onballers/Flankers
1. Chris Judd - Electric and still has a lot of improvement left, which is frightening. The only negative of his game is he lacks some accountability despite his high tackle count, but he'll become more rounded as he matures. Would be the tip of the midfield spear with the decline/retirements of the club's fab four midfield expected over the next few years.
2. Jason Akermanis - Snagging Aker would be akin to when we brought Darren Jarman home. Equally at home in the midfield and upforward, he has the mercurial talent to be a bigtime matchwinner in both roles.
3. Josh Carr - We need a fearless bastard in midfield who is quite prepared to bleed for the cause. This bloke takes anyone on. Ricciuto in a bar and Jon Brown in a Grand Final says it all about his courage... and he can play a bit too.

jc67 said:
Brown goes in hard, Nick falls hard, very big differance ;)

Are you suggesting that Riewoldt lacks the same ability to hit a contest and/or courage of Brown?

dyertribe said:
Are you suggesting that Riewoldt lacks the courage and/or ability to hit a contest of Brown?
No not at all :confused:
Just that nick plays in the air a lot and comes to earth in scary ways, (I'm not referring to his shoulder but pick any game from last year and watch him land badly)
They are very different players also, Brown will split a pack in the traditional way, Reivolt flies through it upside down.
Both effective but I would still take brown in front of Nick for our current side.
I think your dislike of Brown might be clouding your judgment DT.
And Josh Carr 7th best player in the league??? :confused: he's not even in the best 7 at either of the clubs he's played for.

dyertribe said:

jealously isnt healthy......

brown puts himself on the line alot, his temperament is very overrated. I'd take him over the king of the uncontested mark. What happened to tredrea anyway, a couple of weeks ago your saying hes an absolute star, and now your saying you'd take reiwoldt??

jc67 said:
Just that nick plays in the air a lot and comes to earth in scary ways, (I'm not referring to his shoulder but pick any game from last year and watch him land badly)
They are very different players also, Brown will split a pack in the traditional way, Reivolt flies through it upside down.

Fair enough, I mistakenly took your wording to mean that you thought Brown was tougher or more courageous, despite the fact that both attack the ball and packs in a kamikaze fashion - as evidenced by Brown's knee injury in the Prelim last year and Riewoldt's long overdue collarbone injury.

:confused: I would love to know where this line of reasoning has come from. I know from whom it originated, but gee, based on what I've said in the past I don't know how it can be said I "dislike" him. I think he's overrated based on his achievements so far - then again - I hold the same opinion of Brent Reilly and Tyson Stenglein.

Questioning ability and career legacies to date doesn't translate into 'disliking' them - and it certainly doesn't mean I have clouded judgement. Judgement is judgement. Like every footy fan there are players I rate and those I don't to varying degrees on either side of the scale.

And Josh Carr 7th best player in the league??? :confused: he's not even in the best 7 at either of the clubs he's played for.

Read the parameters under which I selected those players again. That list wasn't my current top-7 players in the league (Cox and Pavlich wouldn't be in there either if that was the case), it was who I would select in certain positions based on our current and future team balance and requirements.

outback jack said:
jealously isnt healthy......

Plagiarism isn't either.

brown puts himself on the line alot

Yes, point out where I have said different.

What happened to tredrea anyway, a couple of weeks ago your saying hes an absolute star, and now your saying you'd take reiwoldt??

Tredrea is a star and so is Riewoldt. Has there been a law passed that says I can't rate both, or prefer one over the other in the spirit of the topic?

dyertribe said:
Read the parameters which which I selected those players again. That list wasn't my current top-7 players in the league (Cox and Pavlich wouldn't be in there either if that was the case), it was who I would select in certain positions based on our current and future team balance and requirements.
Sorry mate that was a bit of a troll, I thought we were about to go into stat mode on brown and thought I'd get on the front foot elsewhere :D

The other part of your post ( re Brown) was a reasonable answer, but you have had a tendency to get into him. Especially in the Vs tredrea arguments. ;)

jc67 said:
Sorry mate that was a bit of a troll, I thought we were about to go into stat mode on brown and thought I'd get on the front foot elsewhere

heh, no worries ;)

The other part of your post ( re Brown) was a reasonable answer, but you have had a tendency to get into him. Especially in the Vs tredrea arguments. ;)

Yeah and I admit that - it's always good to debate the merits and legacies of individual players, but it makes it that extra bit spicier when youre comparing two or three of the most celebrated players in the game today. I'd say the reason why I am so eager to debate my case in the perennial JB vs WT threads is because the claims by the side I disagree with are so high. There's no doubt Brown can play - no question - but is he currently the best going around as some say? Is a superior player to certain existing stars like some say? That's where I get involved. Nothing to do with jealousy, or disliking the bloke, just trying to partake in some good quality debate.

Besides which, I've also been known to go full tilt in threads entitled 'Reilly vs Johncock'... :D

dyertribe said:
Plagiarism isn't either.

explain?

dyertribe said:
Yes, point out where I have said different.

You think that reiwoldt puts himself in the crunch positions, and i'm saying that brown does far more often. In fact this is a brown trademark. Riewoldt like tredders is overrated, but has age and a developing body on his side to improve his physicality. Which I consider a major deficiency in his game.

dyertribe said:
Tredrea is a star and so is Riewoldt. Has there been a law passed that says I can't rate both, or prefer one over the other in the spirit of the topic?

i just find it interesting that you can change your mind in two weeks. Especially considering all the media experts didnt rate tredders and had reiwoldt as their number 1, you've seemed to changed your decision. Maybe its just coincidence. Puts a little dent in the little creditability you had ;-)

outback jack said:

No.

You think that reiwoldt puts himself in the crunch positions, and i'm saying that brown does far more often. In fact this is a brown trademark. Riewoldt like tredders is overrated, but has age and a developing body on his side to improve his physicality. Which I consider a major deficiency in his game.

Just to clarify my stance on this particular issue: To reiterate, I have not once said that Brown isn't courageous or doesn't hit packs at 100 miles an hour, but in my opinion, to say Riewoldt doesn't possess the same qualities isn't correct.

As it's clear we're not going to change each other's opinions, we'll just have to respect them by agreeing to disagree here.

i just find it interesting that you can change your mind in two weeks. Especially considering all the media experts didnt rate tredders and had reiwoldt as their number 1, you've seemed to changed your decision. Maybe its just coincidence.

OJ, rather than continue shrieking while rushing headlong through the hall of mirrors making things up, take a deep breath and review the thread and my previous post as it stands.

I selected those seven players based who I would personally prefer to have at the Adelaide Football Club based on what we need and what would be best for the club as a whole - not who I rate as the top-7 players in the league currently, hence Cox, Carr and Pavlich making the list.

Although I did not clarify this at time (I didn't realise I would come under such close scrutiny, but I'm not surprised), the reason I chose Riewoldt over Tredrea had everything to do with the four years Nick has on Warren - I'm trying to build a dynasty in this little scenario after all.

Sure Tredrea still has plenty of footy left as I stated, but Riewoldt is already just about on Warren's level of talent, and injury-permitting has at least a decade left with which to rule AAMI Stadium and beyond. That said, if I could only have the services of either player for the here and now I would take Tredrea - which is exactly what I stated in this previous post (present vs future) - just to dispel your suggestion I've only just been swayed by the recent media rankings of players, not that that line of thinking was ever relevant in the current context.

Puts a little dent in the little creditability you had ;-)

Do you mean credibility? Well, good or bad, what I write never fails to get a response does it? ;)

jc67 said:
Both effective but I would still take brown in front of Nick for our current side.

Sorry to disagree jc, but Josh Carr was in Port's best 7 & is in Freo's best 7. And by the way, isn't it funny how much more likeable a player he is now that he's left Port? ;)