Youngsters

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

So Skippy, what are you in relation to Hayden?

Best Friend? Girlfriend? Relative? Stalker?

Originally posted by Skippy_14
Definitely Hayden Skipworth. I reckon he was unlucky to be cut at the end of 2002, after not being given a chance that year (at all!), is the best youngster we've got. He would really come on if he was given more chances, and I reckon he just needs the coaching staff to show some faith in him. If they do that, he'll be a beauty! If not, well... He'll still be at the Eagles, dominating the competition, and winning a Magarey, as well as leading us to a Premiership! GO EAGLES!

I like Hentschel, and have since 2002, he's gonna be an excellent KPP in a few years, and has started to show it already. Looked good in the SANFL last year, and has really developed. He looks comfortable in the Crows side now, as opposed to those first three games he played last year. I think he's a bit like McGregor, can play both ends of the ground. McGregor was recruited as a CHF, and after being tried there was placed at CHB (the Crows did have Mark Stevens holding down CHF, after all!). Hentschel was also recruited as a CHF prospect, but has gone back to CHB and also FB, and done quite well. I would be surprised if he didn't win the Crows Emerging Talent Award this year, and mabe also an AFL Rising Star Nomination somewhere along the line.

Schuback will be a champ for us when he gets his chance to cement a spot in the Crows line-up, with a few of our midfielders/forwards getting on in age (McLeod, Ricciuto, Edwards etc.). Has great pace and was great against Hawthorn in Round 10 this year. Kind of like Bickley, except faster. He is tough, and does the hard things (tackling etc.). Is still developing really.

Bock- I always knew he could play, and he's FINALLY been given his chance. Debuted against Richmond, and kicked two goals with his first two kicks in AFL footy. Since then, he hasn't looked back, and is a ong-term prospect, with Hentchel and Jericho (well, with all our youngsters, really!)

Jericho is good now, and will be even better when he learns to apply pressure to the opposition. He needs to make his tackles stick, and maybe go for the ball with TWO hands. Will be a great player for the AFC.

Reilly will be okay. So far this year, it kind of looks like he hs gone backwards a bit, but he'll find his feet eventually (maybe next year). If he continues to press for selection, he WILL get at least one game before the season's over.

And I like Rutten. He is a BIG unit, but maybe a bit slow and not as agile as other KPPs.

Watts will be GREAT! Brilliant, even! Really courageous and goes hard at the ball, and the player. From what I've seen of him with the Mighty EAGLES, he has good hands, but needs to bulk up a bit. Overall, a ripper!

And the other one I like is a Rookie, called Rowan Andrews. He's a bit like Fergus Watts, in that he's courageous and goes for the footy. Will be a great player a bit further down the track, and even though it's a bit early, I think he should be promoted to the Senior List. He is a ruckmen, and after last year's draft we've got a few of them, but he can play back as well, and perhaps forward too. I've only seen one game with him, for Glenelg against the Eagles, but he is an exciting player and great talent. He'll get his chance when Matty Clarke decides to hang up the boots (although there is Ben Hudson), so he'll probably have to wait for injuries etc. to force his way into the team.

... But that's just what I think!

GO CROWS! AND GO EAGLES! PREMIERS 2004!

:D :rolleyes: :( :) :o ;) :D :p :cool: :rolleyes: :D

Go out and play and the traffic:mad: :rolleyes:

Originally posted by DaveW
Another old thread dredged up Skippy?

I note Stiffy got one of his nine players at the club. Two of them didn't even get drafted.
1 of them was overlooked for personal issues and on talent alone would have gone 1st round and the second one is so homesick, he didn't even nominate for the draft. Some people said he was more taleneted than Raphael Clarke.

I am stoked we got Watts :D

AND

Skippy_14 get of the ****ing grass:mad: :rolleyes:

Just looking at the poll results

Surprised Reilly is generally viewed as our best youngster
Jericho and Bock are not rated very highly?

Would have thought with Jerichos games this year his upside would have been huge?

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
Just looking at the poll results

Surprised Reilly is generally viewed as our best youngster
Jericho and Bock are not rated very highly?

Would have thought with Jerichos games this year his upside would have been huge?
Probably because the poll was as of nearly a year ago rather than now, which could lead to a different result.

Originally posted by Jerome
Exactly.

Are there any other SANFL youngsters you'd like to see on the Crows list in 2004. here's a few I can think of:

Harry Miller

Eddie Sansbury

David Kellett - lost the plot since he changed his hair colour. Will probably get another Reserves Premiership medal at Centrals this year.

Cam Faulkner ;)

i agree kellett was a gun when he started. sansbury is doing ok.

hows harry miller going

Got delisted last month for snorting cocaine off the coach's wife's stomach.