Prediction Your 2019 Best 22? (Post Trade Period)

I think Gibbons could be a really good small forward. I'm not that taken with him as a midfielder, his field kicking is pretty poor but I see him as an upgrade and quicker version of wright. He's good with his hands, his leg speed is good and his reflexes are excellent. Seems to have that clever sidestep and ability to get the footy from hand to foot pretty quickly and accurately. Reckon he could develop into a good pressure player too. He could have stints in the midfield but as I said, I'm not taken with his kicking.

A great analysis.

Given he is more of a pure inside mid, I would leave him forward, unless the likes of a Cripps or Kennedy are resting forward

Want to see more of Gibbons than one JLT game.

Really liked his impact but what happens if he gets 'some or heavy' attention. Obviously he cant do more than he did in a praccy game. Ticked off the boxes for his role.

I liked Cuningham because he has tools he can implement if someone tries to negate him. Gibbons needs tools as well. So far he has shown determination.

I'm slotting him in our r1 22 but want to see more in JLT 2.

Pushed ahead of Polson his direct competitor.

Dont really want us to carry Gibbons, Polson and Murphy in the same side.

My Best 22 prior to Round One

B: Docherty Jones Plowman
HB: SPS Weitering Williamson

Foll: Kruezer Setterfield Dow
C: Walsh Cripps O'Brien

HF: Cuningham McKay Murphy
F: Charlie McGovern Fisher

Int: Kennedy Curnow Newman Simpson

Whether anyone agrees is irrelevant as it's very debatable and young. What is interesting is who is missing. Any of which I would be very happy to have in my BEST 22

Garlett
Gibbons
Jack
Marchbank
Phillips
Stocker
Kerr
Macreadie
TDK
Thomas
Polson
Fasolo
Pickett
Lang
Lobbe

It's almost a whole other side

How long since we could say that?????
So bloody good to have some quality depth ..
Jack,Thomas Fasolo ,Kennedy,Lobb,Phillips, Polson, Gibbons, Levi .How many have I missed ?
Would also be very happy for any of those players starting in the 22..
Good luck trying to pick our best !!

So bloody good to have some quality depth ..
Jack,Thomas Fasolo ,Kennedy,Lobb,Phillips, Polson, Gibbons, Levi .How many have I missed ?
Would also be very happy for any of those players starting in the 22..
Good luck trying to pick our best !!

Totally agree.

This is our time.

Ringing in my ears is that supporters have been saying this EVERY single year since i joined in 2007.

No false dawns this time.
#
Get on the Blues! .... well for 8 wins anyway.

These are the weak one on one running players as far as tackling goes - the soft underbelly of Carlton when it comes to sticking tackles - Murphy/Simpson/Polson/Fisher - haven't seen enough of Gibbons yet to add him to the list. In defense - Jones misses pretty much every tackle attempt on smaller players - led to three goals in JLT1. Fr all the knockers on Plowman - he doesn't miss many tackles on talls or smalls. Thomas has lost his starting speed so players run around him pretty easy - but at least if he gets a hand on them they usually stay tackled.

Tackling is what causes turnovers and if your smaller faster players can't stick a tackle - opposition has a free ride through so called zone defence.

Contrast these more experienced/developed players to what Setterfield/Walsh and Newman have already shown - they don't miss tackles. Kennedy and LoB are walk up starting players in comparison to the weaker tacklers.

I don't know.

Fishers size alone won't allow him to be a brute around the contest in bringing players down, but he is very effective when it comes to spoils, pressure acts and those one-percenters, as people like to call them.

Murphy: Ran past players twice last week, when he should have effected a spoil. Maybe just saving himself...(I'm being nice)

Simpson; Similar to Fisher.

Polson? We brought him in for pressure and there hasn't been a whole lot on display to date.
In fact he skirted round a few packs instead of getting involved on Thursday. We'll see whether that costs him.

It is difficult talking about the most important basic non negotiable when it comes to defensive play - knowing how to stop your opponent when they have the ball in hand. Tackling gets exposed in open field play - where the smaller faster so called 'outside' mids earn their pay in defence. We have a few that aren't up to AFL levels of tackling skill - lets put it that way. A few too many tbh.

And they won't last....any more.
If I was Bolton, I may be disappointed in some of the efforts of his ex-captain last week, unless he was under instruction to take it easy.

I just wouldn't have had Simpson and Fisher in your highlighted group.
All our young mids seem to be made of the right stuff though. I see that. Do you?

Don't get me wrong - I don't think any of that players I mentioned lack 'the right stuff' as far as willingness goes ( well maybe Murphy does but Bambi is untouchable on here) - merely talking actual execution of running tackles. Easily fixed tbh - get a rugby bloke in for a few sessions - all these blokes have the athleticism to make tackles too many are clearly clueless about how to go about it. I am talking open field tackling not collision based close in grappling easy stuff that ball-up and clearance situations throw up - tackling stats for AFL are often misleading because the congested 'hug' shouldn't count for diddles.

Three best tackles executed by Carlton in JLTI were Setterfield causing turnover and goal - Walsh rundown of EssenDONE's McGrath(?) and Jacks front on hit in q4. I saw Simpson/Murphy/Thomas miss multiple 'attempts' - Thomas not for want of trying he knows he is battling for a spot - the other 2 think they are automatic selections every week.

As it stand now though - if I were an opposition coach I'd insist that my players actually ran through Murphy/Polson every time and would pull them off ground if they didn't for a severe bollocking. As it is now the old one two give and receive is always on for opposition when they are faced with too many Carlton smalls trying to execute tackles which they can't. - easy yards and the main reason why sides score so easily on the rebound - very obvious to a rugby bloke watching.

After a couple of pre-season games here is my Rd 1 Best 22 team:

My Round 1 Best 22 team:

B: Plowman Jones Simpson
HB: 1. Newman Weitering 2.Garlett
C: Walsh Dow 5. O'Brien
HF: McGovern Charlie Murphy
F: 4.Cuningham McKay 3.Gibbons

Foll: 6.Phillips Cripps Fisher

Int: SPS 7.Daisy 8. Ed 8. Setterfield

Emerg: Polson 8. Kennedy 7. Silvagni
Coming back from injury: Kreuzer Marchbank Williamson
Chances later in the year: Pickett Stocker

Basis for team changes/points of contention:
1. Newman - Marchbank doesn't appear ready and Newman has seized the opportunity
2. Garlett - least certain position/selection - alternative is Daisy but I am know leaning for Garlett, with no conviction - Williamson is not ready (happy for Russell to take his time with this kid), Garlett doesn't appear ready but we need some pace off the backline and Daisy is not the answer, don't think Garlett is either but I would give him half a dozen games to grow into the roll, 2019 is not a premiership year, the kid is fit so give him a chance
3. & 4. - Gibbons & Cuningham look our best options as the small forwards and both can go thru the middle - I was hoping Cunningham could show something in JLT, he is fit so give him his chance
5. O'Brien - love a lefty, love his ability to run all day, we will need this kid to run and carry out of defense maybe even play at times off half back.
6. Phillips is fit so play him, he didn't let us down in JLT so use his attributes and load up with inside mids to cover Kreuzer missing, get Kreuzer cherry ripe
7. Daisy - never been a big fan of Daisy's - he lacks penetration with his kick and doesn't have the pace, he also doesn't go thru the middle, he does have footy smarts and gives his all, he will either take Garlett position or be the utility back on the interchange, JSOS has really come on and added an extra bow, inside mid (loved the bullocking workin JLT1 - created a few goals and kicked 1) - wouldn't surprise me if he did get a game Rd1
8. Ed and Setterfield - didn't think we could afford all 3 of these (+Kennedy) - if Setterfield is right to go I think he has it over Kennedy, Ed is interesting though, is he the nominated tagger who plays as the defensive forward?

Can we say Depth yet? If only one of Marchbank or Willo was available to cover Docherty
Perhaps this 666 system affords you less ability to play players outside their natural position, but if williamson is not available i'd rather have o'brien across half back and kennedy in the midfield rotation rather than having garlett there and kennedy in the 2s. garlett is athletic but seems to lack a bit of composure.

I also reckon a healthy fasolo is/should be comfortably ahead of gibbons as a small forward. from what i've seen of gibbons he's a decent small forward with some strength to lay tackles but i can't see him playing any time in the midfield unless there's an injury crisis.

Don't get me wrong - I don't think any of that players I mentioned lack 'the right stuff' as far as willingness goes ( well maybe Murphy does but Bambi is untouchable on here) - merely talking actual execution of running tackles. Easily fixed tbh - get a rugby bloke in for a few sessions - all these blokes have the athleticism to make tackles too many are clearly clueless about how to go about it. I am talking open field tackling not collision based close in grappling easy stuff that ball-up and clearance situations throw up - tackling stats for AFL are often misleading because the congested 'hug' shouldn't count for diddles.

Three best tackles executed by Carlton in JLTI were Setterfield causing turnover and goal - Walsh rundown of EssenDONE's McGrath(?) and Jacks front on hit in q4. I saw Simpson/Murphy/Thomas miss multiple 'attempts' - Thomas not for want of trying he knows he is battling for a spot - the other 2 think they are automatic selections every week.

As it stand now though - if I were an opposition coach I'd insist that my players actually ran through Murphy/Polson every time and would pull them off ground if they didn't for a severe bollocking. As it is now the old one two give and receive is always on for opposition when they are faced with too many Carlton smalls trying to execute tackles which they can't. - easy yards and the main reason why sides score so easily on the rebound - very obvious to a rugby bloke watching.

Sydney have employed rugby/nrl tackle coaches for decades

Sh1t we did the same back in the mid 80's in the Diamond Valley and VFA

It's not that hard

Sydney have employed rugby/nrl tackle coaches for decades

Sh1t we did the same back in the mid 80's in the Diamond Valley and VFA

It's not that hard

Carlton actually did it one season and it made a huge difference..forgot when but definitely this century.

These are the weak one on one running players as far as tackling goes - the soft underbelly of Carlton when it comes to sticking tackles - Murphy/Simpson/Polson/Fisher - haven't seen enough of Gibbons yet to add him to the list. In defense - Jones misses pretty much every tackle attempt on smaller players - led to three goals in JLT1. Fr all the knockers on Plowman - he doesn't miss many tackles on talls or smalls. Thomas has lost his starting speed so players run around him pretty easy - but at least if he gets a hand on them they usually stay tackled.

Tackling is what causes turnovers and if your smaller faster players can't stick a tackle - opposition has a free ride through so called zone defence.

Contrast these more experienced/developed players to what Setterfield/Walsh and Newman have already shown - they don't miss tackles. Kennedy and LoB are walk up starting players in comparison to the weaker tacklers.
Thomas ran stride for stride with Saad in jlt 1 and stopped a potential rebound goal. He's not lost a step yet. If he has he must've been amazingly quick

Thomas hasn't got any acceleration none nada- age mate.

Do we read much into no Kennedy or O'Brien on the weekend? Both best 22 for me.

I wouldn't read to much in to any JLT selections. Could be a host of reasons, suspect both were at different phases of their program to others in the team.

Could be as simple as wanting more game time in a certain role, and due to trying something in the ones, wasn't possible.

Unless anything changes i'd go into Rd 1 with:

Plowman Jones Simpson
Newman Weitering Garlett
Walsh Dow Murphy
Kreuzer Cripps (c) Samo
Fisher C.Curnow McGovern
Cuningham McKay Gibbons
I/C: Ed, LOB, Daisy, Setterfield

I worry about us defensively. I love a motley crew as much as the next guy, but that back 6 could be out of the movie Dodgeball. The veteran, the no. 1 pick, comeback kids, recycled players, repositioned players, the whole works. It could turn out to be a well-balanced array of traits and talents, or it could have all the grace and allure of a dropped curry. Nevertheless, I think our midfield, forward line, and the ability to transition between these lines will improve dramatically in 2019, and will catch a few teams by surprise.

It's all upside from here, 'baggers. Bring it on.

Look at Devon Smith for an example.

On SM-N960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

In AFL -I'd use Cyrli Rioli as a great example : used to get plaudits for his mercurial ability to manufacture goals from anywhere - but he was also a devastatingly effective tackler hard as a cats head - expert at using his leg speed to position himself for effective tackles and created a lot of turnovers accordingly...

Prediction Your 2019 Best 22? (Post Trade Period)