Your favourite Android apps

Gday, I'm newish to this smartphone bizzo & I could not give a flying Malcolm Blight about the iPhone V HTC battle that's going on - there's a fanboi thread elsewhere on this board if that's your intention. Thanks.

I want to see people's favourite or most used Android apps & why that's the case. I'll kick off with what I've stumbled upon so far, but I'm interested in other's suggestions:

Services - FB for Android, eBay, App Killer, Juice defender

Music - gStrings, guitar Solo Lite, xPiano, Shazam, LastFM (although haven't put time into this yet)

Games - Angry birds, Alchemy, Live Holdem, Paper toss ...

Probably looking for a good photo viewer, atmm cheers.

Advanced Task Killer - Helps clean the tasks running
MortPlayer - Simple music player based on folder hierarchy.
Radio Paradise - A great online radio station.
Rockplayer - Playe Xvid/Divx files.
Quickoffice - View word, excel and power point files.
Dictionary - 4 da spellin
AK Notepad - For quick notes
Scan2PDF - Uses camera to scan to PDF
Aidiko - Ebook reader
Astro & File Manager - File management.
Apps2sd - Move apps to SD card.
WiFi Analyser - Helps locate and analyse WiFi spots.
Titanium Backup - Excellent backup app.
Terminal Emulator - Command interface for Android.
Aussie Weather Radar - BOM rainfall radar.
KJV Bible - Testify.
World Time - Local times for different cities.
49ers - San Francisco 49ers news, scores etc.
Footy Scoreboard & Total Footy - AFL scores.

Games:
Angry Birds - Very enjoyable.
Chess Free - Its chess and its free.
Spider Man - Does whatever a spider can.
ThrottleCopter - Fly a chopper through a tunnel with obstacles.
Penguin II - Hit the penguin as far as you can.
aTilt 3D Labyrinth - Tilt the phone to move a ball and avoid holes.

Manual task killers are bad, in my opinion.

I have a rooted Samsung Galaxy S, and have the following must-have applications:

Titanium Backup
Barcode Scanner
Desktop Visualizer (really cool home screen app)
Ringdroid (to create ringtones)
ASTRO (file manager, installer, etc.)
Cache Cleaner
AutoKiller Memory (a must have, for a rooted phone)
Fast Reboot (awesome app)
One Click Lag Fix (for the SGS, a must have)
AdFree (for rooted phones, blocks all the ads in free applications, like Angry Birds)

Then I have the other usual applications, like Facebook, Unblock Me, Angry Birds, Labryrinth, YouTube, eBay etc.

Running a rooted Hero

Transdroid (!)
Skyfire
PhoneMyPC
Handcent
Melbourne Train Trapper
NewsRob
Dropbox
Alarm Clock Pro
Three Australia Usage
Stop 3 Data Roaming

They are the best ones I have that haven't been mentioned.

Manual task killers are bad, in my opinion.

Yep they are.

my app list =

http://www.appbrain.com/user/borgsta/

Favs include
Chrome2Phone - send links / text from your PC (Chrome or Firefox) directly to your phone.
Edwin - fun little app that retrieves info for you via speech. Download and test it, its hard to explain but great.
Tasker - automates your phone. Can get long trial from website.
LiveSportsNBA - as name suggests.
Titanium backup / Miui backup - makes upgrading ROMS easy.
Google Translate
Google Goggles
Brut Maps - enables navigation via google maps.
Train trapper - great for Melb trains

Ringdroid (to create ringtones)
Transdroid (!)
Both excellent, particularly Transdroid - Being able to control uTorrent from anywhere comes in mucho handy. Being able to start/stop torrents after heading out is sweet.

Also thumbs up for the SGS One Click Lag Fix being a must.

My favourites:

iSyncr & iSyncr WiFi - Not free, but these allow you to wirelessly sync with your iTunes playlists, which takes all of the hassle out of music on your phone.

ESPN Scorecenter widget - Allows you get live updates for any US sports/European Soccer/A-League.

SwitchPro widget - Also not free (I think it's a buck) but allows you to expand your control widget to have up to 8 buttons to toggle a range of things from wifi and bluetooth to airplane mode and a variety of other things.

AppBrain App Market - Lets you select apps for installation on your PC and then just hit sync on the phone to install them. Also lets you backup your apps so that they will reinstall in the event of phone loss/wipe/software upgrade.

FreeDi Downloader - Lets you download YouTube videos in either video or AAC/MP3 format. Also means that in conjunction with RingDroid, you can essentially make any song in the world your ringtone - Just download the MP3 from YouTube and then edit it into a ringtone.

There's definitely some good stuff out there.

AppBrain App Market - Lets you select apps for installation on your PC and then just hit sync on the phone to install them. Also lets you backup your apps so that they will reinstall in the event of phone loss/wipe/software upgrade.

This reminded me of another fav of mine.

http://www.appbrain.com/info/fast-web-install

No need to sync it just installs directly to your phone. :thumbsu:

words with friends is the biggest piece of sh!t ever. coding is horrendous.
keyboard wise i'm using swype atm, but much prefer using shapewriter. easier to go back and correct mistakes on SW as it remembers your swype path and gives you options for corrections

words with friends is the biggest piece of sh!t ever. coding is horrendous.
keyboard wise i'm using swype atm, but much prefer using shapewriter. easier to go back and correct mistakes on SW as it remembers your swype path and gives you options for corrections

swype gives you options for corrections too, just press the info button

With the 10c sale, could you guys post anything that looks half decent?

From today.....

Reckless Racing
Fruit Ninja
Flick Golf

I grabbed Read It Later Pro and Beautiful Widgets for the hell of it, the 10c they might be useful. Apple converts may be interested in AirSync for DoubleTwist, and I might grab NFL Rivals when I get home

Your favourite Android apps