detox

Describe your day from start to finish.

Me:

Woke up, got ready, listened to Wayne Carey's excellent analysis on the radio as I was getting ready. Noted to girlfriend at how spot on Wayne Carey is. Girlfriend is not all that interested in tactical analysis, she just loves "Ri Ri" (her detestable name for cyril)

Put on my Hawks jumper and head to the station, into the city, grab a bite and head to beer deluxe and tuck into my first of many bronze throat charmers to be had throughout the day. Mate arrives who I have scored a ticket for (I scored my tickets off the bigfooty thread) Its his first grand final.

Head to the game at one, nervously try and avoid ticket inspectors looking for membership cards. Make up incredibly diverse story that will hopefully win them over if I am caught, but I end up walking in with no fuss at all. I Like this. Decide to not sit in my seat (which is one row from the very back in AFL members) and decide to go to the standing room at M17/m18. Best decision as I have ever made, as this was the rowdiest bunch of Hawks ever. Chants galore. Beers, fun times, best day ever.

We then leave, City beers, then head to the Leeveson to meet mates. They are with Brendan Fevola, who is shitfaced, and likes my mates because they are Kiwi's and barely knew who he was. He has a broken phone, because after putting 20 grand on Buddy to kick the most goals, and smashed it after Rough kicked his 5th. This makes me happy.

I am now horrendously drunk, and the girlfriend decides it is time to get me off the street.

I fall asleep with (probably) a big smile on my face!

Probably not as exciting as my 2013 version, but I am interested to hear everyones stories. Hopefully some more rippers Ie Hodge2KOFranklin style.

Not so much a story but had one really funny moment after the game.

Swans fan comes running through the car park with his mates pissing themselves laughing behind. Can hear him yelling something then he comes close enough to hear and he is yelling "look everybody I'm running harder than Hannerbery did all game".

He then proceeded to tell his mates to kick him the footy (which he marks) and says "oh I hope someone recorded that so Reid can see how to take a ****ing mark!"

My story....

I took the 9pm Jetstar (terrible airline) from Singapore to Melbourne on Thursday night. The flight was full of Sydney supporting expats......they were assuring eachother that the 2014 flag was going to be sweet.

Arrived in Melbourne at 7am on Friday morning and was greeted to cold weather. After catching up with family, I made my way to a cafe with my mates to discuss the upcoming game. The consesus was that the Hawks could win, but Swans were slight favourites.

Game day - got to Bridge Road and had breakfast at 2 Monks Cafe from 10am with 3 passionate hawks friends who I have watched 4 GFs with now. Got into the Ground around 1:30pm to listen to Tom Jones and some other sun deprived ginger kid. As the game unfolded, I started to realise what the Club was achieving, and just felt proud of the boys. I only really relaxed with about 10min left in the final term, then soaked it all in for the remainder.
Had a couple of frothies post game and ended up around King St. Enough said.

Boarded a flight on Sunday evening back to Singapore with a copy of the GF on DVD, never had a more enjoyable 8hr flight.

I love my Club.
B2B

My anniversary with my missus falls on the 27th of September. She is a MASSIVE Swannies fan. So we did our 8th anniversary dinner the night before, in case we weren't talking to each other that night! It was pretty tough in '12. The anniversary and our teams being so strong at the same time is kinda a weird coincidence.

She buys 2 Swan memberships a year, I didn't get a ticket from the ballot, but being a double Melbourne based Swans member, she gets 2 tickets pretty much whenever they make a GF.

The way the game played out though, she had pretty much given up mid-late 2nd quarter. She stayed to see who got the Normie, and then headed home quite depressed, while I stayed on to watch the whole presentation, the lap of honour, took heaps of photos and video. Watched Tom, Ed and then of course the players come out. Standing on the hallowed turf again was a-mazing!

I've had a tough year, personally, and saturday was just beautiful!

My story is relatively tame
Went in to pick up some comic books (yes, I'm a geek, deal with it)

Met a friend who I hadn't seen in yrs for a coffee

Blur blur blur (such is the amount of cheering I did)

Post game went and saw the gf, who greeted me with the greatest blowjob a man can experience :)

My story is relatively tame
Went in to pick up some comic books (yes, I'm a geek, deal with it)

Met a friend who I hadn't seen in yrs for a coffee

Blur blur blur (such is the amount of cheering I did)

Post game went and saw the gf, who greeted me with the greatest blowjob a man can experience :)

Bit of a conflict here ;) haha just kidding, sounds like a great day.

I just had characters around me ...some dude was high fiving strangers everytime we gaoled around us and doing the fist pump.After the game I'm walking away from the mcg and suddenly see him again and the high fiving starts again he was a classic... But i was completely crapping myself when i got the mcg was in the nosebleed stands and was scared of heights so I take my partner down from the stairs and say "i can't do this its too high up" I'm afraid of heights:( somehow I ended up going up was pale faced and just sitting in my seat and not moving missed the boys going through the banner too :( fun allround though just classic supporters and good times.I love winning grand finals and to think buddy was suffering ade it more sweeter

Ended up having tea at the Shark Fin in Chinatown at 10.30pm on Grand Final night.

A group of five young blokes in Sydney gear come in. They give the Chinese waiter a little bit of cheek and try to wind him up a bit.

Next minute the waiter comes out and presents them with a whole cooked duck. "We didn't order that, mate" they said. The waiter bursts out laughing and points to the cooked duck and says "Sydney Swan! Sydney Swan! It's a Sydney Swan! Ha ha ha.....".

One of my only good Aussie mates here is a genuine NSW Sydney fan (has been since they were rubbish). Really really nice guy. I went to the pub with him to watch the game against my better judgement, spent the second half making sure he had enough beer. He stayed till the end of the presentations. Bigger man than I.

Hi everyone. I think this is my first post on BigFooty despite being a daily visitor since about 2007. I’ve got an account but never posted because I know it will probably take over my life! Here’s my story from Saturday. It’s great to record them, I’ve done the same personally for 2008 and 2013.

I enjoyed GF week in 2014 more than any other year. Past years I was too nervous to really enjoy it and went about the week low key. This year I went full steam ahead – covered the office in Hawks gear, wore Hawks clothes everyday and got excited. I loved being the underdog and while Sydney deserved favouritism I honestly felt some “special” was going to happen. Seeking revenge for 2012 had not really been mentioned much and I knew it would be a big factor.

Game day was very different to past years when I had always gone. I leant my brother my MCC membership card (shhh don’t tell anyone) – he was finally in Melbourne on GF day and had never been. Since 2000 I’d been to 10 GF’s and the 3 Hawks ones and wanted to give him a chance. I decorated the front fence in Hawthorn colours and the wife put my two young daughters in Hawthorn gear. Weather was great and spent the morning in the yard with the family.

Game time and the wife took the girls outside so I had the whole lounge room to myself. I decided I didn’t want to drink during the game, just soak it all in. A nervous start for the first 5-10 minutes and then BAM! The best football I have ever seen the Mighty Hawks play. I thought our match earlier this year v Freo was one of the best displays of footy ever, but this surpassed it. Fast, furious, physical, intimidating, precise, beautiful. Pregame I was hoping to be close enough at halftime so we could get a run on in the 3rd, so a 20 point quarter time lead was amazing.

Early in the 2nd the commentator noted that we had kicked 2.6 from set shots. That got me nervous… but what was to follow was 5 amazing fast goals in a row. I screamed with joy at all of them. Langfords 2nd was my favourite, and Hodgy intercepting a kick in for a goal showed that we had pummelled them into submission. They were rattled, shocked. Not only could they not get off the canvas, they didn’t want to.

I was nervy again at half time (geez how bad would it be if we blew this lead?). When Roughead kicked his set shot early in the 3rd I felt we were probably home, and when Suckling kicked that ripper I went nuts. My father (doesn’t live in Melbourne) texted me at 3 quarter time “Relax son, we are Premiers. The only question is by how much!” I called him 5 minutes later after Bruest’s goal early in the last.

I cracked the first beer and the wife bought the girls in from the yard and we all watched the last quarter together, cheering and laughing. I shed a tear near the end… all of my family and friends go for Hawthorn and I know how much it means to all of them. The players too – Clarkson feels like a 2nd father, Hodge an old brother, Langford a younger brother (and Spangher a naughty uncle).

It was the most pure football I’ve ever seen us play. It still hasn’t sunk in. Everything was perfect, even the weather. In 2008 we had Dew’s 10 minutes of madness, 2013 a couple of great goals. But now we have 4 whole quarters of football awesomeness. As Bruce McAveney said, it was our “masterpiece”.

After the medal presentation I climbed the front fence in my Hawks gear and spent 5 minutes waving scarves and screaming at passing cars. Then headed to the London in Richmond to party. My best mate had flown in from Bangkok arriving 2 hours before the game for 1 night only. Other good mates there too. I took along a cardboard premiership cup which was popular for photos. None of us could believe what we had witnessed. Some clubs have premierships, we have different levels of premierships we are that good.

It was the game of a lifetime. After 2008 I wanted another. After 2012 loss I needed a premiership win to recover. 2013 was good but not pure football. But 2014 was sitting down to a football buffet and eating until I chose to leave.

I love this mighty club.

I just had characters around me ...some dude was high fiving strangers everytime we gaoled around us and doing the fist pump.After the game I'm walking away from the mcg and suddenly see him again and the high fiving starts again he was a classic... But i was completely crapping myself when i got the mcg was in the nosebleed stands and was scared of heights so I take my partner down from the stairs and say "i can't do this its too high up" I'm afraid of heights:( somehow I ended up going up was pale faced and just sitting in my seat and not moving missed the boys going through the banner too :( fun allround though just classic supporters and good times.I love winning grand finals and to think buddy was suffering ade it more sweeter

Could have been me :D