Sorrento​
Cups WR​
25.3​
Cohuna GC​
Huntingdale-Cranbourne GC​
18​
Golden Beach GC​

Last edited by a moderator:
Correct. I actually like fishing probably more than golf....but it is not as good in the big smoke as getting away. So it's mostly golf.
I sometimes hear the saying or have others say that if you like golf you’ll like fishing. It couldn’t be further from the truth in my case. I hate fishing.

AHHHH!!!! and you live where the sardines are 1m long...spoiled rotten up there! Get into mate, if you don't catch at least there's the serenity and a break from the fam.

I've always wondered if you could drill a small eye bolt into a golf ball....and use it as a sinker....Pound a 200m drive off the rocks out into deep water where the big ones live. Knowing my luck I would wrap line around my shaft before impact and bury a 4/0 hook into my calf and have to try and explain it to a doc ar ER. Haha.

And they will not keep all that land for recreational use....nothing surer up goes another 1000 dwellings...introducing 2000 more vehicles to the already congested area.
This is my beef. If they made an assessment and looked at some 18 hole courses and thought okay, maybe this can be a 9 hole course and the space remained can be redesigned as a public park with a playground, basketball hoops, public BBQ, local fishing lake, then I could live with it in some cases.

But you can assure yourself theyd buy an 18 hole course, cram the land with a new estate of townhouses attached to each other, and put in one 50 square metre playground in the middle.

This is my beef. If they made an assessment and looked at some 18 hole courses and thought okay, maybe this can be a 9 hole course and the space remained can be redesigned as a public park with a playground, basketball hoops, public BBQ, local fishing lake, then I could live with it in some cases.

But you can assure yourself theyd buy an 18 hole course, cram the land with a new estate of townhouses attached to each other, and put in one 50 square metre playground in the middle.
most studies have found that golf courses have a greater diversity of animal/plant life than parks. I know down here, you be struggling to find a golf course without a native population of Turbo chooks.

There is no doubt in my mind that Rosny golf course will become part of the surrounding buildings. The land is worth millions and it is next door to a shopping centre and highway.

most studies have found that golf courses have a greater diversity of animal/plant life than parks. I know down here, you be struggling to find a golf course without a native population of Turbo chooks.

There is no doubt in my mind that Rosny golf course will become part of the surrounding buildings. The land is worth millions and it is next door to a shopping centre and highway.
I love the wildlife on the golf course. I get that there is a lot of them in Melbourne and maybe in some cases there area areas that could be repurposed for other public green spaces, but they're kidding themselves if they are going to repurpose a full course for that. There might be a small park the equivalent of 1-3 holes worth of land and then the rest they'd turn into urban shops/houses/carpark/roads etc. Such a waste.

I know your post was serious but thanks for giving me a new nickname for my kids...Turbo Chook 1 & 2

Think I had 13 points for 9 holes today. Biggest mistake I made though was replacing my 5w with a 3w before the round. Think I hit it okay about 2 out of 6/7 shots but the bad shots with it were costly (including one in the water).

If I can be stuffed making a 1.5hr trip back to my home course to play comp tomorrow I'm confident I won't completely embarrass myself now lol.

God awful today at Rowville Lakes first time, 63 over 9. Truly a round where every aspect was awful. I hit 2/63 shots that were good, one good tee shot that was centre fairway just off the green and 1 good 9 foot putt made. Everything else was utter garbage.

I was +14 after 3, had to go from car to first tee without practice. Finished +28 so a couple of bogeys towards the end.

A gentile hit with great company of friends at peninsula kingswood today. inauspicious start with my ball not even finding the fairway resulting in a pick up. Then went par, par, shudda been par (30cm putt for par missed due to stupidity) - boges, then other scores that i dont remember.

5w off the deck saved me, as did quality long drives.

greens immaculate. very windy which was poo. a score in the 30s, but had fun.

53 at Altone this arvo. Horrible round on a tricky, short course with lots of hazards. Driver was on fire, maybe the best I’ve ever hit it, but short game was terrible. My 56 degree feels horrible. I put away my old Maxfli in favour of this Taylormade thing a month or so ago, but it gives me nothing but grief.

Drop kicked a 3 wood on a long par 3 and hit someone’s cart with them in it. Then proceeded to massively duff the next shot with them all looking at me. Erghhhh

Oh well, there’s always tomorrow

I didn't play and ended up a lot more happy than most you blokes :cool:
In the best form of my life and I still walked away disappointed that mishit a couple of balls in the last few holes yesterday

God awful today at Rowville Lakes first time, 63 over 9. Truly a round where every aspect was awful. I hit 2/63 shots that were good, one good tee shot that was centre fairway just off the green and 1 good 9 foot putt made. Everything else was utter garbage.

I was +14 after 3, had to go from car to first tee without practice. Finished +28 so a couple of bogeys towards the end.
So went back to the same course for redemption. Much better front 9, only 51 today so 12 strokes better, really happy with that. Played the full 18 and finished with 107.

Fairly happy with that, fatigue really set in at the end, I hacked my way to a quad bogey on the last and was too lazy to walk back and get the right club which cost me.

Its a nice, flat, green course. Couple of tight fairways but not a heap of bunkering makes it quite beginner friendly. Just need to tighten up my tee shots as I'm still finding a bit too much rough.