Sorrento​
Cups WR​
25.3​
Cohuna GC​
Huntingdale-Cranbourne GC​
18​
Golden Beach GC​

Last edited by a moderator:
Club champs start today and I'm in some bloody awful form.

Tee off just before midday, will report back with the results - unless i fail to break 100 for the second week running, in that case you'll never hear from me again (maybe).

Play your natural game mate! Youll be right!

If anyone's played or been to The Lakes, you'll know what im talking about here.

Its next to the airport. On the back nine we have heaps of planes coming in to land over our heads. it was a sight to behold looking up and reading words on the belly of the jumbos. Loud is an understatement.

IMG_6624.JPG

Shot a 94 (net 79). Took all my strength to wrestle it back on the back 9. Had 50 off the stick front 9 and i was in all sorts. Probably had four or more 3 putts front 9. Birdied 10 after a launching a wedge from 100m out and in the trees to 2 feet and my back 9 was off to a good start. I wiped the 18th which was a bummer but overall not to unpleased considering how it was looking after 9.

Little AC went 48-45---93

Took a snowman on 7, when his drive was 90% imbedded in fairway bunker. I told him he could take an unplayable but the boy was not listening to his old man. :)

Still mad as a wet hen he managed to take a triple on 8.

Round 2 tomorrow.

Little AC went 48-45---93

Took a snowman on 7, when his drive was 90% imbedded in fairway bunker. I told him he could take an unplayable but the boy was not listening to his old man. :)

Still mad as a wet hen he managed to take a triple on 8.

Round 2 tomorrow.

snowman!
we've all done that before. I had a 10, 9,8, 7,6, 5, 4 and 3 last round

snowman!
we've all done that before. I had a 10, 9,8, 7,6, 5, 4 and 3 last round

He should have been in the mid 80's--still learning to control his emotions when things go sideways.

Jump in distance shocked him a bit but he has to get used to it for August.

Yes, snowman is about average score per hole for me :)

Kid went 45-46--91 on Sunday. One of the more bizarre rounds I have seen out of him.

Nearly chips in on 1. An errant second shot on Hole 3 causes him to unravel over the next several holes, culminating with 4 putts from 14 feet on Hole 7 to sit 11 over. He and I have a looooong rather one-sided talk walking to the tee box on 8. Basically, it was stop fighting the course, stop fighting yourself and stop being angry--it ain't helping, in case you hadn't noticed (and apparently you haven't). ;)

The light bulb goes on and the next 7 holes he plays 3 over. Included was an 80 foot bomb for birdie on Hole 9 and three 12-15 foot putts to save pars. So the kid who took 4 putts from 14 feet, all of sudden is dropping dimes.

Then from 15-18 he decides to unravel again and plays those last four holes in 6 over. Fatigue may have entered into it a bit and certainly these distances were quite a learning experience.

I wasn't keen on him playing this event but I think it could potentially be good if he learns his attitude directly correlates to his score.

He is sitting down from competitive golf this week, just local par 3 league Saturday which is just for fun for him.

Shot a 94 (net 79). Took all my strength to wrestle it back on the back 9. Had 50 off the stick front 9 and i was in all sorts. Probably had four or more 3 putts front 9. Birdied 10 after a launching a wedge from 100m out and in the trees to 2 feet and my back 9 was off to a good start. I wiped the 18th which was a bummer but overall not to unpleased considering how it was looking after 9.

Well done mate, Judging by the results that would only have you 3 off the lead in B Grade wouldn't it?

Went in for a fitting the other day at Pureform golf, thought I'd treat myself to some new sticks as I'm still using some MP 30's and a 3 wood from 2007. Was an interesting process, had some small distance gains on most clubs(about 6-10m carry) but tightened up the accuracy on the 3 wood and finally found a Hybrid that didn't balloon on me, doesn't want to go left and sits fairly square to my eye.
Did they fit you for Srixon? What were the lofts on the irons you trialed versus your old set?

No, but I did try a whole bunch including the Srixon 765's, ended up in the Mizuno MMC. 2* stronger loft than my current Mizuno 6 iron(I had the MP 30's bent 1* strong)which mostly explains the extra distance which was +4mph/9m carry in the irons, but they're not like some of the powerbats that are ridiculously strong.

The other thing was the shaft, went from an S300 being that heavier low launch, to a lighter Nippon in med/high launch which kept the apex and spin almost exactly the same as my old set.

So, I let him talk me into playing the Cleveland Tour event yesterday. I guess say enough pleeeeaases works.

Kid shot a 3 over 39 to hold off 6 others and grab the W.

Peninsula-Kingswood GC (Peninsula site - South course).

Pleasant day with a gently drizzle for maybe a minute. Play was pretty crap on the front 9, -5 in Par comp. No, it was just crap! One good drive and one decent mid iron for the 9.

Back 9 better with a few "+". Driving was still a problem, but irons improved.

One thing about the course was there were no less than 5 par 3s (temporary holes) cause of reworks. Lots of par 3 practice! -7 overall (par). yuck.

I'm somehow leading B Grade in the club champs with one round to go. Haven't played well but the conditions on Saturday caught a lot of people out i think, wet and windy as f***. I've got biglaycock's father in law on my tail leading into the last round, i'll need to get him on the full strengths :beermug: on Saturday I reckon:thumbsu:

Keep it up mate!!!! Someone's gotta do bigfooty proud (please mention us in your speech) after my meltdown last year!

If u need someone to "eliminate" your competition....
shane-stant-1-2000.jpg

Good Luck mate, Hope you both play well and the best man wins.

I'll be playing my first comp in over 6 weeks tomorrow, Just trying to tune everything up for Pennant Finals next Sunday followed by Vic Par 3 in a couple of weeks

Well I ****ed up the last round of club champs :drunk:

Short game was pretty good but tee to green terrible. Without trying to make excuses, i probably shouldn't have gone out the night before. I didn't get to bed til 4:30am and by bed I mean i slept on the floor in a mates shed after way to many beers haha :$

Well I ****** up the last round of club champs :drunk:

Short game was pretty good but tee to green terrible. Without trying to make excuses, i probably shouldn't have gone out the night before. I didn't get to bed til 4:30am and by bed I mean i slept on the floor in a mates shed after way to many beers haha :$

Next time mate!

Well I ****** up the last round of club champs :drunk:

I hate it when your normal routine goes amiss and backfires on you! Maybe you went to bed too early? :)

Little AC shot +2, 38 this afternoon. Started slow but played last four holes in -1. Good enough for the W.

The ex grabbed this shot, figured you boys would get a laugh--

IMG_8119.JPG

Will be interesting learning experience for him this Sunday. It is the "Tour Championship" for spring series. We sat out 1 so he will have played 5 of the 6. Currently sits in first place overall but points are double this weekend. He won 3 of the 4 events he played in...buuuutttt....in the 1 event he didn't win, it was clear he didn't have his A game and he was going to have to grind for a 2nd or 3rd place finish. I warned him as we headed to the finish (7/8/9) that he was going to be in danger of sliding down the leaderboard if he didn't straighten his attitude out.

Mr. Crabby pants told me "I don't care", and quickly proceeded to bogey 7, 8 and 9 to slide to 4th place.

So now, if he wants to win the Spring title he must win Sunday. He left himself no wiggle room and the boys in 2nd and 3rd can pass him by 3 points and 1.50 points. Betcha he cares now. ;)

In the end it doesn't effect him as he already qualified for Pinehurst...but it will be a great lesson to learn. He is lucky to learn it now and not when it might really have mattered.