Recommitted Zach Merrett [UFA 2027] - Wanted a trade to Hawthorn, but it didn't get done

Normally those statements are not made till the destination club is out of the finals.

Not ideal this is all breaking whilst we are still active.
Do you really think it makes any difference to Friday though? We’ve known for months Worpel is on the way out — he was even given a Geelong scarf by a member of the crowd after one of our games a few weeks ago. These discussions go on all the time.

Discussion of FA compensation in a thread where someone is looking for a trade is a little offtopic, was my point.

If Merrett stays through his contract he will leave for zero compensation because it will be a 2 year deal as a 32 year old. Essendon dont want that, which is why noone believes the sabre rattling going on. They are happy for him to go but want their ridiculous demands to be met.

Agree with all of this except I genuinely don’t think Essendon want him to leave. It’s list management decisions like this that have got them to where they are.

If that is their view then Rosa should be calling MM and saying it’s pick 9, 23 and your F1 for Zach and our F2 take it or leave it. Or better yet asking for a good young midfielder and picks.

I’m actually a little surprised they haven’t landed any big fishes given they have (almost) all the pieces needed to win another flag. Certainly a much more attractive destination than the Saints for JSOS etc
They will next year.
Fair enough. Certainly we got more from Barrass than I ever thought we would — he’s one of the main reasons we are top six and didn’t miss the eight with a terrible midfield.
Did try and tell Hawks supporters that last year, the back issues were very much over cooked.

If they can get 2 picks in the top 10 for Merrett who is 30 years old in october than I am doing it.

I think that's a win even in this draft.

We lost Bolton, Baker & Rioli who were all younger and yes I do think Merrett is a better player individually than all those guys but not better than all 3 together.

I heard James Hird speak last night on Footy Classfied & I completely disagree with what he said. unfortunately ppl never see it as a win when someone good wants to leave, they don't realize the value they can get.

Essendon can fast-track the rebuild yes they have good picks and more coming into but why not pick like 8 guys in draft or move some into next year? their is a lot of things you can do.

What advantage do the Bombers realistically get with Merrett staying at 30 years of age?
I agree with you.

As I said, Merrett only goes if the Dons sell this as a win. To achieve that it has to be 2 x top 10 picks.

Anything less. Any package of Hawthorn VFL castoffs is a massive loss.

Take the picks, trade up. Trade out. Do whatever it is you need to do. But set a clear path for that fanbase

Normally those statements are not made till the destination club is out of the finals.

Not ideal this is all breaking whilst we are still active.

I would say it has literally zero impact on our players at the moment. And the goal is for this to continue to be the case for the next 3.5 weeks.

I agree with you.

As I said, Merrett only goes if the Dons sell this as a win. To achieve that it has to be 2 x top 10 picks.

Anything less. Any package of Hawthorn VFL castoffs is a massive loss.

Take the picks, trade up. Trade out. Do whatever it is you need to do. But set a clear path for that fanbase
What if it’s a McKenzie (either too Essendon or the pick via the Saints), Scrimshaw, Lewis or MacDonald. Those are hardly VFL castoffs and could attract serious trade value.

They will next year.

Did try and tell Hawks supporters that last year, the back issues were very much over cooked.
Which is ironic. The one thing the Dogs don’t need is more midfielders but it is surprising that for such a (seemingly) attractive destination they always miss. At the same time, the Hawks have landed Amon and Battle as free agents, Barass (head to head with the Dogs) and are up to it with Petracca and Merrett. Tbh I see the Hawks and Dogs in very similar positions to compete for silverware.

If they can get 2 picks in the top 10 for Merrett who is 30 years old in october than I am doing it.

I think that's a win even in this draft.

We lost Bolton, Baker & Rioli who were all younger and yes I do think Merrett is a better player individually than all those guys but not better than all 3 together.

I heard James Hird speak last night on Footy Classfied & I completely disagree with what he said. unfortunately ppl never see it as a win when someone good wants to leave, they don't realize the value they can get.

Essendon can fast-track the rebuild yes they have good picks and more coming into but why not pick like 8 guys in draft or move some into next year? their is a lot of things you can do.

What advantage do the Bombers realistically get with Merrett staying at 30 years of age?
Finally a voice of reason. It would be madness to bring him back and pretend like he wants to be there.

Nobody saying that about Brisbane who successfully got the nomination of Oscar Allen. Did they somehow do that without the coach and player ever talking.

Are they also grubby?

It's just childish to think these conversations don't happen during the season, and that coaches aren't involved in list management and recruitment of big name players.
We claim to be a professional sport, yet its amateur hour, this is going to be the afls biggest problem in the future and they need to provide a strong answer and like any other league come out hard on clubs that target contracted players. We will end up with a two tiered league where managers are running where players go. Merrett is under contract and it shouldnt be rival clubs coming to him. Let's see if Andrew Dillon has any spine.

This is turning into a massive problem for the afl. There are so many players under contract talking to other clubs and managers forcing trades, well below what is fair, because if they push back hard managers will not deal with that club in the future.

Clubs need to be able trade contracted players without their consent and allow them to be able to actually rebuild properly.

There should be rules in place, where you cant trade a player until they've played 2 years, drop free agency down to 7 years, where if a player signs a contract after the 7 years as a free agent, they get a choice in being traded, all other players should be fair game for clubs to trade. So if Harley reid signed an 8 year deal now, as hes not a free agent, west coast has the ability to trade him to any club, if Harley just did a 4 year extension, the club could trade him, but know after year 7 Harley signs as a free agent and after that has a trade clause essentially, and drop the compo.

If you brought this is in there'd be more free agents and clubs can all put in at the end of the year

What if it’s a McKenzie (either too Essendon or the pick via the Saints), Scrimshaw, Lewis or MacDonald. Those are hardly VFL castoffs and could attract serious trade value.
Whatever they can sell as a serious win for doing so.

But if they are trading Merrett, not sure how a 27 year old Lewis or Scrimshaw helps as the narrative would be that they are rebuilding.

As I said yesterday. If the crux of a deal was Cmac to us.
Merrett to you
Picks 7+8 to the Dons.

That probably is something they could see.

But if they are trading Merrett, not sure how a 27 year old Lewis or Scrimshaw helps as the narrative would be that they are rebuilding.

Merrett to you
Picks 7+8 to the Dons.

Then we need to find a way to do the Petracca deal too! That’s why I think MacDonald, Scrimshaw, Mitch Lewis, Hustwaite and Butler could come into play. Clearly picks aren’t worth what they once were and the premium is now on players…

A few months ago the HFC president did a puff piece where he said the Hawks will be aggressive at the trade table and will be prepared to sell off players: https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/...ws-story/772a78d24b9150c8a13d4bdccd668456?amp

So putting the two together, there’s a good chance we could lose a few players to get both players.

Straight up not true biggest myth in footy, Brisbane are still playing finals and have had 3 players nominate them.
All Free Agents.

I guess I wasnt specific, but when it is a trade, and players COULD be on the block, then it is destabilising. Even moreso when the trades are for contracted players, where you need to negotiate.

For instance, Worpel, if he is still undecided on his future, will not be focussed on the game tomorrow if he knows we are trading for Zach n Tracc. Or Butler/Reeves/Hustwaite, with names been bandies about as potential package options in these deals.

Free agency is much cleaner from that perspective

All Free Agents.

I guess I wasnt specific, but when it is a trade, and players COULD be on the block, then it is destabilising. Even moreso when the trades are for contracted players, where you need to negotiate.

For instance, Worpel, if he is still undecided on his future, will not be focussed on the game tomorrow if he knows we are trading for Zach n Tracc. Or Butler/Reeves/Hustwaite, with names been bandies about as potential package options in these deals.

Free agency is much cleaner from that perspective
Ridley isn't a free agent.

TB nominated us last year while we we're still playing finals also not a free agent.

Then we need to find a way to do the Petracca deal too! That’s why I think MacDonald, Scrimshaw, Mitch Lewis in addition to Hustwaite and Butler could come into play. Clearly picks aren’t worth what they once were and the premium is now on players…
Picks in a current draft where you know there value are fine.

It’s thinking that future picks are worth heaps. They aren’t, any non hawthorn fan would think that future hawthorn pick is going to be 15-18. Because Merrett is bloody good.

Then we need to find a way to do the Petracca deal too! That’s why I think MacDonald, Scrimshaw, Mitch Lewis, Hustwaite and Butler could come into play. Clearly picks aren’t worth what they once were and the premium is now on players…

A few months ago the HFC president did a puff piece where he said the Hawks will be aggressive at the trade table and will be prepared to sell off players: https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/...ws-story/772a78d24b9150c8a13d4bdccd668456?amp

So putting the two together, there’s a good chance we could lose a few players to get both players.
Scrimshaw won't agree to a trade, I think Hust the only name on there that's possible

This is turning into a massive problem for the afl. There are so many players under contract talking to other clubs and managers forcing trades, well below what is fair, because if they push back hard managers will not deal with that club in the future.

Clubs need to be able trade contracted players without their consent and allow them to be able to actually rebuild properly.

There should be rules in place, where you cant trade a player until they've played 2 years, drop free agency down to 7 years, where if a player signs a contract after the 7 years as a free agent, they get a choice in being traded, all other players should be fair game for clubs to trade. So if Harley reid signed an 8 year deal now, as hes not a free agent, west coast has the ability to trade him to any club, if Harley just did a 4 year extension, the club could trade him, but know after year 7 Harley signs as a free agent and after that has a trade clause essentially, and drop the compo.

If you brought this is in there'd be more free agents and clubs can all put in at the end of the year
Yeah nah, clubs should not be able to force a player to move without the player's agreement.
It is absolutely not fair on a player to be playing in one state and then being forced to uproot their lives to move interstate because a club wants to trade them. **** that.

We claim to be a professional sport, yet its amateur hour, this is going to be the afls biggest problem in the future and they need to provide a strong answer and like any other league come out hard on clubs that target contracted players. We will end up with a two tiered league where managers are running where players go. Merrett is under contract and it shouldnt be rival clubs coming to him. Let's see if Andrew Dillon has any spine.
Hard disagree.
I’m a lifetime supporter of the Eels and love the NRL. Their system works fine IMO.
I’m just so used to seeing my blokes sign at other clubs 1 or 2 years out yet still give their all and the fans mostly don’t even care that they have committed elsewhere

Yeah nah, clubs should not be able to force a player to move without the player's agreement.
It is absolutely not fair on a player to be playing in one state and then being forced to uproot their lives to move interstate because a club wants to trade them. **** that.
Its a national competition, its not a backyard comp, essendon are being forced now to trade merrett and ridley, if Merrett wants out and freo could do the best deal for him, why cant essendon trade him there ?

Hard disagree.
I’m a lifetime supporter of the Eels and love the NRL. Their system works fine IMO.
I’m just so used to seeing my blokes sign at other clubs 1 or 2 years out yet still give their all and the fans mostly don’t even care that they have committed elsewhere
Nrl its till the end of the year, they dont move with 2 years to go on their contract

Merrett to you
Picks 7+8 to the Dons.

Essendon won't be getting 2x top 10 picks for a guy agitating as hard as Zac is to leave. I just can't see it at all.

The idea that Essendon can/will hold him is emotional garbage, and would doom their club even further should they do it.

Hard disagree.
Good comparison.

This is basically the Eels captain trying to move to the Bulldogs during the finals series. It wouldn’t be anywhere near as big a deal as it is in the AFL. I don’t think the AFL is mature enough to handle this just yet…