Past Zach Tuohy

That's a crap deal.

You guys do realize Geelongs 1sr rounder next war most likely will
Be pick 17 or 18 and our second round pick going back could most likely be pick 19 or 20. Into the bargain we get another list clogged.
The only way this deal suits is if we on trade it to gws for the Marchbank deal.
For 2e we should have sent back our 3rd rounder not our second and left smedts for someone else.

Geelong probably wont play in a GF....

Bolton brings Graham, Kerridge, Whiley and Smedts into a room.... here's the outcome..
CnWBGM-XYAAx6Tz.jpg

That's a crap deal.

Be pick 17 or 18
and our second round pick going back could most likely be pick 19 or 20. Into the bargain we get another list clogged.
The only way this deal suits is if we on trade it to gws for the Marchbank deal.
For 2e we should have sent back our 3rd rounder not our second and left smedts for someone else.

I don't think Geelong will finish that high TBH. I reckon it will be closer to 12 or 13 myself.

That's a rubbish deal, there 1st rounder and our 2nd rounder could be within 5 spots.
Have I missed something?

You missed that we need Geelongs first rounder to be able to give to GWS.
So even though it looks like we paid overs, it's all a strategic move to satisfy GWS and force Adelaide to pony up for Gibbs or walk away.

That's a crap deal.

Be pick 17 or 18 and our second round pick going back could most likely be pick 19 or 20. Into the bargain we get another list clogged.
The bookies have the Cats 6th favourite for the flag. I don't know if we'll go further backwards or not but I don't expect us to win the spoon. Also consider free agency and priority picks. I'd say it's more likely to be pick 14 and Smets for Zac and 25 or so.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

and a future 2nd going back to them. If we finish bottom 3 next year and they win the flag then it will basically be
Touhy and 21 for Smedts and 18

They wont win the flag, nor will they be in a GF.

They just lost Bartell, and came off a season with Danger at his best and few major injuries.

They'll be top 8 somewhere. 5-6 sounds about right.

On face value it looks like Geelong win that trade, but like with most of the deals SOS does, you have to look at the end game.

Will end up being Tuohy & 2017 2nd for Smedts, Marchbank, Pickett + possible extra.
That's the saving grace of it.

The other is we've taken a defender off Geelong that can actually go into midfield and up forward. Just a question of fitness and head space. Fingers crossed to that, and that we can snag a couple of players and a pick off GWS.

2nd to 1st round upgrades are valuable. That is a good deal for the Blues.

Exactly. We have to remember we lowballed him, he's out of contract and also isnt exactly a star.

A huge possibilty Geelong finish outside the top 4 meaning we've received say pick #13 for around pick #20-#22 (not even counting any end of round 1 compo).

It's a win-win deal for both clubs at this stage...
If Geelong play in the grand final and we finish bottom 4 - Cats win the trade.

This pick should ultimately satisfy GWS for Marchbank, Pickett & co.

With the Gibbs deal still to be done, it should leave us with #5 , #13 & #25.

#13 & #25 for O'Meara anyone?

Is there any chance of Smedts being recovered into anything at all? He seems a complete no-hoper. Which net means we're giving up Tuohy for sod all.
FWIW, I would have liked Smedts for at least another year. He seems to have finally matured, is ready to play good footy, and Matty Scarlett rates him. Just needs opportunities. Is classy, has been affected by untimely injuries, but finally found form and fitness end VFL season.
Not sure what Tuohy brings.

Oh dear no one said anything about the future second rounder. That is fkd. Not a good deal at all. We are giving Tuohy up to jump 3-4 spots in next years draft. Mala. Kies.

We are giving Touhy up so that the pressure goes on to Adelaide to pony up or piss off.

Plus, we have no idea whether SOS has talked GWS into any more players for the first rounder we got for Touhy. we'all find out tomorrow

FWIW, I would have liked Smedts for at least another year. He seems to have finally matured, is ready to play good footy, and Matty Scarlett rates him. Just needs opportunities. Is classy, has been affected by untimely injuries, but finally found form and fitness end VFL season.
Not sure what Tuohy brings.

Mate - you have just scored yourselves a better player than Henderson - Tuohy is a gun.

no one knows where geelong end up next yr. they could be in GF or they could get hit by injuries and drop.

Havent seen much of smedts. word is he is a list clogger but also dont know what a new environment last chance opportunity can do to a player.

They wont win the flag, nor will they be in a GF.

They just lost Bartell, and came off a season with Danger at his best and few major injuries.

They'll be top 8 somewhere. 5-6 sounds about right.
Bartel was bog average this year so no major loss, enright is the bigger loss. But after seeing the Dogs win the flag this year then never say never

Past Zach Tuohy