GAJ; .... RECOVERY update thread

Just heard an interview with Liam Pickering. Contrary to what Doc Larkins reported, Dr. Hoy (the shoulder surgeon) told Gary that there would be an 80% chance the shoulder would pop again if he chose to play on. Not to mention risking it getting permanent damage to the joint and bone.

In the end it was a no brainer I think. You could probably roll the dice if it was 40-50%, but 80%? No way. Given how much attention he gets when tagged, how much he rides bumps and his contested style of footy, no way he would have got through games unscathed.

I reckon in the long run this will be best for both the club and for Gary

Gary himself will be able to reach 100% recovery before playing again and be in prime form for next season where we should be having a crack at pushing towards top 4 and winning a final or 2 rather than just making finals

The team will get to experience what it's like to play without Gary which should be great for their development

I'd still rate us a decent chance over the 3 weeks without him too :)

It's unfortunate that he'll miss finals if we make them and that his brownlow chances are almost definitely gone. But that's life i guess. Anyway, I wish him all the best with his recovery and can't wait to see him back next season.

if he'd done his shoulder before, and was a bit more 'flexible' with it, they might have suggested he try to play again this year. there was a player a few years ago who's shoulder would pop out almost every match, can't remember the name though.

he's had a good run with injury, being his first shoulder i think he's made the right decision. if the boys can't push for finals without him this year, we can only get better next year. would be bitter sweet if we made it to finals without him.

A great opportunity for our midfield, the likes of Jaeger, Prestia, Swallow will be able to really accelerate their footy IQ without Gaz being on field with them. I feel for Gaz but best to happen now than any time previous to this, we are better equipped to handle it. Also better now than next year when we should have a shot at the top 4.

BTW: Someone said we have never won without Gaz before, I think we have won without Gaz before. It was a period a couple of years ago when he was out for 3 or so weeks mid seasons with a calf from memory we played really well and pinched a game.

Anyway, time to look ahead and get ready for the dish lickers.

if he'd done his shoulder before, and was a bit more 'flexible' with it, they might have suggested he try to play again this year. there was a player a few years ago who's shoulder would pop out almost every match, can't remember the name though.

Did he play for the swans? I remember a swans player's shoulder popping out and the ball came his way and he went for it... the trainer whacked it back in on the field and he kept playing for a few minutes then it popped out again. Was a few years ago.

ahh yep, tadhg kennelly. that's who i was thinking of.

there was a player a few years ago who's shoulder would pop out almost every match, can't remember the name though.

There's probably a good reason for that. Good decision by Gary. Most people in this situation would then say "I hope he's back for next year ready to go". Personally, I hope he's sitting in the coaches box with a sling around his arm helping lead the boys while he rehabs.

Commiserations GCS fans

.......Now this might sound mad but I think this is real opportunity for GCS now he's out

LOOK to be honest GCS would be finishing 8th or 7th at best. I think this gives the young players a real opportunity......prove your not reliant on this bloke

GCS have plenty of talent in their side

This will give someone like Omera or Bennell can step up and be a star

Grab it with both hands ...bluey and I know him well from ou rep west coast days would be going right boys ...no sooking ...dig in and let's run like hell when we play

A positive attitude

Commiserations GCS fans

.......Now this might sound mad but I think this is real opportunity for GCS now he's out

LOOK to be honest GCS would be finishing 8th or 7th at best. I think this gives the young players a real opportunity......prove your not reliant on this bloke

GCS have plenty of talent in their side

This will give someone like Omera or Bennell can step up and be a star

Grab it with both hands ...bluey and I know him well from ou rep west coast days would be going right boys ...no sooking ...dig in and let's run like hell when we play

A positive attitude

Totally agree. This is how to approach it if you're bluey.

476485-46a3f276-0756-11e4-ba4e-3b3727fd03ff.jpg

Gary Ablett will undergo immediate shoulder surgery. Picture: Adam Head Source: News Corp Australia
GOLD Coast skipper Gary Ablett will go under the surgeon’s knife in Melbourne today and spend the rest of the week in Victoria recovering from shoulder surgery.
Ablett, who will not play again this season, opted for a reconstruction after being told he had a 80 per cent chance of reinjuring his shoulder if it wasn’t operated on.
His decision came after consultating Victorian shoulder specialist Greg Hoy and senior Suns officials.
BETTING: MEET THE NEW BROWNLOW FAVE
It was tough decision for Ablett but in a sign that he is seriously considering a multi-year deal from the Coast, the competition’s best player decided to protect his long-term playing future.
Ablett had an option of having arthroscopic surgery on his left shoulder he dislocated during the third quarter of last weekend’s match against Collingwood at Metricon Stadium.
SUPERCOACH SOS: THE ABLETT EDITION
“We have been extremely thorough in our review of the injury, and after careful consideration, reconstructive surgery was a tough decision to make, but the correct one,” Ablett told his club’s website.
“This is the most significant injury of my playing career, and we have made the decision in the interest of my long-term playing career.

http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/go...injured-shoulder/story-fndv8hfz-1226981342928

Agree with posts saying that this is a real opportunity to see Martin,Prestia,Spitta,Jeager,Bennell,Matera(next week) all show just how Strong the Mighty Suns are! A lot of them play like and have learnt so much from Gary,I'm really feeling positive about this..Get Well Gaz.....GO SUNS!

Shattered that Ablett will miss the season. Despite being a Richmond supporter, Ablett is definitely the player I most like to watching (even when he is tearing us a new one). Here is an article I wrote about him and how I will be cheering him on come Brownlow night. Good luck for the rest of the season guys!

http://www.theroar.com.au/2014/07/13/little-master-deserve-third-brownlow/