How often do you use these Australian words?

One of my favourite ones that used to get used on us as kids:

GET TO BUGGERY!!

And I'd ask - "where is buggery??"

:D

11034205_1823431021038127_4738609670575858299_n.png

1. Where are you from?

Melbin

2. How often do you use/hear the following words or phrases?

- G'day - often
- Oi - never
- Cobber - never
- Bloody oath - occasionally
- Bloody hell - occasionally
- Bloke - almost always (a distinction from the American "guy")
- Mate - occasionaly
- No worries - always
- Ta - often

Tend to use other Oz colloquialisms

Reckon (as oppposed to guess)
Durry
Buckley's
Dunny
Whaddaya think this is, Bush Week? (a fave of the ol' man's)
Bogan Dust - amphetamines

Then there's some slang which I believe (could be wrong) is very localised to Melb's Western Suburbs

Smidge - speed
Dan Milecki - ecstacy tablet (ecstasy eccy)
Yvonne Goolagong - Bong

I figure BigFooty has a fairly widespread usage across Australia, so I want to know:

1. Where are you from?
Country Victoria as a kid, Melbourne as teenager

- G'day - regularly
- Oi - rarely, but have been known to use it when someone is doing something stupid
- Cobber - never
- Bloody oath - never
- Bloody hell - never
- Bloke - occasionally
- Mate - regularly
- No worries - all the time
- Ta - all the time.

1. Where are you from?
Country Vic, now Melbourne

- G'day - almost always
- Oi - not sure, can't remeber having said it unless I caught someone doing something wrong
- Cobber - never
- Bloody oath - sometimes
- Bloody hell - regularly
- Bloke - regularly
- Mate - almost always
- No worries - almost always
- Ta - almost always[/QUOTE]

Another one that has surprised me in this thread is use of the word 'oi'. I thought it was a lot more common than it appears to be in this thread.

- G'day - Everyday
- Oi - Everyday
- Cobber - Rarely
- Bloody oath -Rarely
- Bloody hell - Often
- Bloke - Everyday
- Mate - Everyday
- No worries - Everyday
- Ta - Often

Where am I from: Perth

- G'day - Never
- Oi - Never
- Cobber - Seriously? Never
- Bloody oath - Never
- Bloody hell - Rarely but sometimes.
- Bloke - Only ever in mocking/jesting tones.
- Mate - Sometimes
- No worries - Sometimes, but not a lot.
- Ta - Never

1. Where are you from? Melbourne

G'day
- frequently
Oi - rarely
Cobber - never
Bloody oath - occasionally
Bloody hell - regularly
Bloke - frequently
Mate - frequently
No worries - frequently
Ta - frequently

There is a place called Mount Buggery. Think its in SA?
Edit: actually there is two of them, both in NE Vic

It's surprising to see how little 'Bloody oath' is used. I thought it was more widely used that what it appears to be here.
I think "bloody" has gone out of use a lot with the decreasing shock value of the f-bomb. Its more of an f-firecracker these days. Also with American cultural imperialism having totally replaced British imperialism. The last of the generations to use "bloody" in a widespread manner are now bloody old.

It's all about "seriouslllllllllyyyyyyy" and "and liiike, and like, and like, and like" these days.

1. Where are you from?
Melbourne all my life

- G'day - Often
- Oi - Very often
- Cobber - Never
- Bloody oath - Rarely
- Bloody hell - Very often
- Bloke - Everyday
- Mate - Everyday
- No worries - Very often
- Ta - Never, I often say cheers

1. Where are you from?

Perth, currently residing in the WA Goldfields.

- G'day - use and hear all the time
- Oi - use and hear all the time
- Cobber - rarely hear cobber, mates occasionally use "cob".
- Bloody oath - use and hear all the time.
- Bloody hell - less than bloody oath, although still fairly common.
- Bloke - use and hear all the time.
- Mate - use and hear all the time
- No worries - use and hear all the time
- Ta - I use it all the time, but rarely seem to hear it.

"Have a gander" for "have a look" is one I seem to have picked up from my old man that almost no-one else seems to use. No idea where it comes from.

1. Where are you from? Melbourne

- G'day :thumbsu:
- Oi :thumbsdown:
- Cobber :thumbsdown:
- Bloody oath :thumbsu:
- Bloody hell (f'ing hell :thumbsu:)
- Bloke :thumbsdown:
- Mate :thumbsu:
- No worries :thumbsu:
- Ta :thumbsu:
I use "g'day mate" numerous times a day.

I travel a lot for work and find "cobber" is widely used in Tasmania.

1. Where are you from?
Melbourne, lived OS for a bit but not in any other Aus city. And I absolutely hate the country so I'd probably be on the less used end but:

- G'day - sometimes.
- Oi - never.
- Cobber - never. Literally never heard anyone use this in a serious manner.
- Bloody oath - rarely.
- Bloody hell - occasionally.
- Bloke - sometimes.
- Mate - regularly.
- No worries - frequently.
- Ta - never.