NFL New to NFL - Looking for a Team to Follow

Very interesting read.

Watched and supported the Colts all the way thru to SB win, but didn't feel anything, no attachment. That takes some real self-awareness and shows you're a genuine type of person. That you seek depth in all your personal dealings, etc. 👍

Have always had a thing for the Packers, on-again, off-again.....after all these years now, still a secondary type of team? Or lost interest in them?

Girlfriend a Pats fan, you a Jets fan....is she still your girlfriend or wife now? Or distant memory?

Great thread.

I've always like American Football but found it hard to follow due to a lack of coverage in Australia and my own lack of understanding of the rules. I started watching late 90's-early 2000's on Foxtel but even then the coverage was still limited and due to the games being on when I was at work or uni it made it hard to maintain a following.

Over the last couple of seasons I've started following pretty intently trying to watch as many games on Foxtel/OneHD I can every week. The problem I had though was picking a team to get a bit more involved and have some emotional investment. I decided to pick a team or two to follow for a season and then re-evaluate and after a couple fo seasons see if one of them stuck.

At the start of the 2009 season I saw a Colts game and was blown away by Manning so decided to follow them for the season. I was barracking for them in the SB against the Saints but found myself actually happy afterwards that the Saints had won so I scratched the Colts off the list as I didn't feel that emotional attachment.

Some of the criteria I had was I wanted a team who had some history but not heaps of success. I also wanted someone on the rise who might be able to create their own history over the coming seasons. I'd also prefer a team from one of the northern states.

Some of the teams I thought of following at the beginning of 2010 were Philly, Jets, Bears, Lions, Raiders or Vikings. I narrowed it down to Eagles & Jets and then the Jets and followed them through 2010. I liked them because they seemed on the verge of being able to crack a SB for the first time in decades and they had a young QB who should be around for a while. They also have some other players I love watching particularly Cromartie, Holmes & LT. By the end of the post-season I was pretty much a Jet as I was stoked when they beat the Pats and it hurt when they lost the AFC Champs Game against the Steelers.

So the start of this season I've continued to follow the Jets and made them officially my team though I also have an interest in the Lions as they have a pretty young and exciting team and can hopefully have some success after years of heartbreak, particularly after going 0-16 a couple of seasons back.

One team I never really considered was the Packers - they won the first SB I ever watched in the mid-90's and for some reason I didn't like them then (Favre?). I also thought their fans were stupid cos of the cheese-head thing. After watching a couple of games last season I was impressed by Rogers and I started to follow them a bit but not support them. After their SB victory I wrote them off completely because I didn't want to jump on a bandwagon. However I then was told that they are the only team in the NFL that is owned by the members and not a franchise owner - if this were the case they will be one team I continue to follow and I figure with so many teams having one in the NFC (or two with the Lions) to follow will allow me to keep an eye on that conference. But the Jets will be my team now for better or worse.

BTW my girlfriend started watching some games as well last season and decided to cheer on the Pats because of Brady. I told her all the reasons why she shouldn't follow them but she now does probably more to spite me than anything else. So when the Jets beat the Pats in the playoffs last season it made me pretty happy, hopefully they can do it again in a couple of weeks.

Very interesting read.

Watched and supported the Colts all the way thru to SB win, but didn't feel anything, no attachment. That takes some real self-awareness and shows you're a genuine type of person. That you seek depth in all your personal dealings, etc. 👍

Have always had a thing for the Packers, on-again, off-again.....after all these years now, still a secondary type of team? Or lost interest in them?

Girlfriend a Pats fan, you a Jets fan....is she still your girlfriend or wife now? Or distant memory?

Now married with two kids! Seen 3 Pats superbowls (and cheered them on with her) plus the two losses (Giants and Eagles) and still waiting for the Jets to just return to the playoffs since my fandom was cemented in their last great win on the road against the Pats in the 2010 playoffs....

She's also a Geelong supporter and I've seen them win two flags since we've been together. Thank god the Demons finally got one in 2021 to give me some reward for all my years of sporting misery 😂

Now married with two kids! Seen 3 Pats superbowls (and cheered them on with her) plus the two losses (Giants and Eagles) and still waiting for the Jets to just return to the playoffs since my fandom was cemented in their last great win on the road against the Pats in the 2010 playoffs....

She's also a Geelong supporter and I've seen them win two flags since we've been together. Thank god the Demons finally got one in 2021 to give me some reward for all my years of sporting misery 😂
Tell me after all that she at least allowed you to name the kids?!

Yeah Joe (Namath) and Ron (Barassi) :tearsofjoy:

Going back to the previous post, not really a fan of the Packers, the one thing that drew me to them was being the only team that isn't owned by a billionaire but the cheesehead thing was too much haha

Firmly a Jets fan for better or worse with a soft spot for the Titans and Panthers.

Yeah Joe (Namath) and Ron (Barassi) :tearsofjoy:

Going back to the previous post, not really a fan of the Packers, the one thing that drew me to them was being the only team that isn't owned by a billionaire but the cheesehead thing was too much haha

Firmly a Jets fan for better or worse with a soft spot for the Titans and Panthers.
I committed US sporting heresy by changing from a part time packers fan to a full blown Bears nuff.
Results wise the sporting gods have got me back as a result with vengeful fury

Preach, brother

Depends what you like to watch.

Personally, when I got into the NFL 7-8 years ago I couldn't have cared less if a team had a stud QB or not, because I loved watching great defences. Since the late 70's the game has done everything it can to make life as easy as possible for offensive players, so I garner significantly greater satisfaction from watching a defensive side play and develop and succeed than an offensive one.

I used to love watching the old NFL Films documentaries they'd sometimes air on Foxtel about the teams from the 70's & 80's, when the game was smashmouth, defensive football and I fell in love with the whole culture and history behind the Pittsburgh Steelers and the years of the Steel Curtain, add to that the Orange Crush, the Doomsday D, the Big Red Forrest, the Purple People Eaters etc. Exposure to that era, and the way the game was played is what shaped my attitude toward the game today.

wow,sir

I've sort of been chiming in on the flip side of this question in the AFL room (though my AFL team has been chosen). Anyhow, drd23 has good advice. Watch games....just see if any teams just naturally appeal to you (like Geelong did for me). Just let nature take it's course. BUT........if you want some teams to avoid:

Arizona Cardinals: Possibly the worst franchise, not only of the NFL, but in North American sports, period (them and the Clippers duking it out for that dishonor). Somehow they damn near won the Superbowl a couple years back. This, from a team who's playoff wins I could count on a couple of fingers. Next scheduled superbowl appearance for Cards.....2077.

Cleveland Browns: If you read this similar thread in the AFL room, another American fan was wondering if there was an AFL team similar to the Browns. Overwhelmingly, the response was Richmond. Generally lousy team, not much hardware, solid, incredibly loyal fan base that's taken several kicks to the nuts.

Detroit Lions: Yeah, they're actually flirting with respectability......but in my lifetime (almost 50 years), they've made the playoffs maybe 3 times. Solid qb and wr and a maniac on the defensive line (maybe to nutty).

Miami Dolphins: Oh, the Dolphins were something back in the day (70s, early 80s). But since Dan Marino departed (c. 2000), so have the wins. This team sucks.

Jacksonville Jaguars: What a non-descript team. Occasional playoff appearances but not much to cheer for. Just purchased by a Geraldo Rivera look-alike, don't be surprised if he moves the team to Los Angeles.

Cincinnati Bengals: They finally made the playoffs this year...and were promptly flicked aside. Every now and then, they'll rise above mediocrity but most seasons, their fans have little to cheer about. Ugliest uniforms in the NFL.

Minnesota Vikings: Oh, dear. This is my favorite team. If you want a team that's usually pretty good, usually makes the playoffs.....but can't get over the hump, this is the team. And occasionally, they'll field the top team in the entire league, but will have a total meltdown moment in a huge playoff game, spearing their fans through the heart yet again. Oh, the humanity!!! I'll be lucky if they every win a superbowl (much less appear in one) in my lifetime.

Dallas Cowboys: This used to be the most polarizing team in the NFL. They used to make the playoffs EVERY year back in the day....leading to people either hating or loving them. Last superbowl win was 1996. Playoff wins since: One. Jerry Jones bought the team in the late 80's and fired a legendary coach, turning the stomachs of many a Cowboy fan, some that STILL won't root for them. HOWEVER, Jones brought in a superb college coach and the Cowboys improved steadily (getting help from a wild trade that fleeced the ...ahem.....Minnesota Vikings) and won 3 superbowls in the 90s. Jones paid top dollar for talent and it showed. But a salary cap was put in place and he could no longer spend like crazy. Today, he is the only owner that is also the team's General Manager....and THIS is what has made the Cowboys an 8-8 team every year. He doesn't really know football but thinks he does and won't give up his role...ever. So until he dies, Cowboy fans have little to cheer about.

San Diego Chargers: San Diego is the biggest city in America without a professional sports championship. Don't look for that dry spell to end any time soon. Chargers have had some incredibly exciting teams......but have nothing to show for it but a lot of gawdy statistics. Pretty cool uniforms though.

Oakland Raiders: This is the evil element of the NFL. Gangs, thugs, lowlifes as fans, they've always had a dark mystique to them. Going to a game there is a risky proposition. Their owner, Al Davis (who died recently) was just plain weird. Dude was from Brooklyn, wore gawdy jewelry and glasses attached to one of those librarian chains around his neck, greased back hair, and satin warm up suits. Pretty astute, they had a lot of success in the past....but as Al got older, his sanity (well, what there was) was questionable and that led to zero stability in the organization, numerous coaching changes, and a bundle of crappy players in the last 10 years or so. That probably won't end soon. Davis' son is now thinking about moving the team...back to LA!!!! WTF?

Kansas City: Only Superbowl win came against MY TEAM, back in 1970. Since then, some decent teams but always flamed out in playoffs. Great fan base...cool city. The Barbecue there is MUCH better than the football.

Hope that helps. If you're interested in some good teams, I can provide.

Well, only had to wait 5 years and you saw a Cubs championship!!

Was just trying to help they guy with some fair advice. NO NFL fan will disagree with my assessments. Go ahead, ask any fan....hell, even Cardinal fans...if Arizona is a team to support! See what they'll say. Most likely, they'll laugh. But hey, I know what it's like.....I'm a Vikings -AND- Chicago Cubs fan. I know all about being a fan of dog doo teams and/or getting close to the big prize....and getting your heart stomped on.

Then again, perhaps there is something about being a fan of a crummy team or one with history of gagging in the clutch. Look at the Red Sox. They were that "Oh, so close...if not for (insert choke job here)!!!!!" team. This gave them a certain mystique. But now that Boston has won a couple of World Series, they've lost some of that cache....though I'm sure their fans couldn't care less (and their fans are still douche bags). Cubs, on the other hand, will always have that uniqueness. Man, I can't even say, "If they ever win....things will change" because I honestly don't think they'll every win squat. 103 years and counting..... Sucks, but I'm locked into being a fan of such ineptness. (Side note: ironically, the Cubs hired former Red Sox General Manger, Theo Epstein...who built Boston's World Series winning teams) But like I said, just trying to spare dude of rooting in vain.

But like I told him, watch games and you'll likely gravitate toward some team. I did the same with AFL...just happened to be the Grand Final, so the team I like is in the midst of a great run. I didn't know that at the time.

Interesting coincidences....

You didn't happen to make the trek to McGills on Elizabeth Street like myself each week did you?

If I didn't make it to McGills I used to sit up watching the USA Today show at 2am to catch a 5 second glimpse of the scores and that was all we had until the following Wednesday night when Channel 10 showed a game once a week post midnight a full week and a half after the match had been played! Geez it was tough being a fan of the NFL in the 80s and early 90s in Australia wasn't it Tones!

We've got it easy nowadays with the internet and pay TV!

I reckon we must have crossed paths somewhere along the line Woody... between the VGFL, McGills and I'm sure you visited Santo at Melbourne Sports Books quite a bit too... Geez I dropped a lot of money in that place buying up NFL books, mags, gameday programs and NFL cards! :)
Absolutely. :thumbsu:

One of the weirdest moments is when I took the USA paper outside McGills to read, there were TWO other guys doing the EXACT SAME THING!! :eek::D
We got chatting and one of the other guy's teams (Seattle) broke my QB's (Neil O'Donnell) leg and he felt sooo bad. fast fwd.. friendship grew.. we started hanging out once in a while, he played VGFL also and I started officiating. Got to get my NFL network growing also @ the ol' CROWN casino. Those days were ace. The steak sandwiches and nachos.. @ 6am whilst watching the early games.. would of been 20 of us watching NFL. circa 1994-1996. I actually come up with the Endzone Sunday NFL tipping comp which got a bunch of NFL fans I'd met @ the casino into it, would of been 20+ in all with a few friends also. Had 28 in all.

We also had a AE tipster who shouted a bunch of us to one of the Southbank restuarants.. it was extravagant. Eat all you like... Greek restaurant.. then a few weeks later... this very guy, is making FRONT PAGE HEADLINES!! (for the wrong reasons!!! :D:D:D)... apparently, the TAB had mistakingly put in close to a Million in his account and he skipped the country and there was a Mokbel type chase to find/ track him down in Greece.. :D:D:D

His assets were frozen.. his family not answering police enquires.. Ken Bruce times!! :thumbsu: I think he was right up there with the leaders in a particular year. Ironically he looked like John Grossbard (Seinfeld), Kramer ex-roomate who he saw @ the airport who owned Kramer rent money many years ago.

Getting back to the Seattle fan, as he knew I officiated VGFL, our friendship crumbled after the Steelers- Seahawks XL SB... man, the explosive tirade of HATRED (email) was quite evident.. (and very funny) I think after two weeks, he apoligized but I didn't hear anything from him after that.
Ah the memories!! McGills, USA Today, Football Digest, Santos sports book shop. I've always worked in the city so used to pop into McGills every Tuesday and occassionally pop into Santos, although his books were a bit expensive (don't know how he stays open still with the internet).

It's funny but i never saw anyone else getting a copy of USA Today or looking through NFL books at Santos. Felt like i was the only bloke in Melbourne who followed the game.

Went to old casino a couple of times, usually with a mate who would go up the other end of the room to punt on the horses.

Thank **** for Foxtel and the internet!!!:thumbsu:

How's that light going? How long is that tunnel?

Don't dig up the history just because the Raiders are a basket case this year. I'm not your therapy :p

I committed US sporting heresy by changing from a part time packers fan to a full blown Bears nuff.
Results wise the sporting gods have got me back as a result with vengeful fury

NFL wise maybe but AFL wise you've seen 3 flags in recent years!

When did you change? Packers only have one SB this millennium don't they? Before that they had their run with Favre in the 90s. Bears are another organisation that just makes you question your life choices if you invest too much in them but it does make it worthwhile when they finally come good. If the Jets ever come good I know its gonna have be sweeter after a decade plus of misery and heartache following them.

NFL wise maybe but AFL wise you've seen 3 flags in recent years!

When did you change? Packers only have one SB this millennium don't they? Before that they had their run with Favre in the 90s. Bears are another organisation that just makes you question your life choices if you invest too much in them but it does make it worthwhile when they finally come good. If the Jets ever come good I know its gonna have be sweeter after a decade plus of misery and heartache following them.
It was Favre that I firstly liked and the Australian sporting green and gold colors.
It became complex when I traveled and lived in the US and started following the Cubs and Blackhawks. I was told by each and everyone they don’t co exist.
I resisted until I started wanting the bears to win too , and then became invested. Not by results but the players I liked most.