VFL Sandringham Zebras 2015 News and Discussion

stkildathunda

DEMPSTERED
10k Posts St Kilda Saints - Tom Ledger 2012 Player Sponsor St Kilda Saints - Nicholas Heyne 2011 Player Sponsor St Kilda Saints - Nicholas Heyne 2010 Player Sponsor
Sep 7, 2008
Inside The Circle Of Zen
Man Utd
Not sure if there is already a thread but opened one anyway!

To kick start the 2015 season True Zebras have started with a bang, interviewing their 2 biggest recruits.. Ex Saints Clint Jones and Trent Dennis Lane.

Clint Jones interview - http://www.truezebras.com/former-saint-clint-jones-begins-life-as-a-zebra/

Trent Dennis-Lane interview - http://www.truezebras.com/zebras-welcome-back-trent-dennis-lane/

and here's the 2015 fixture which includes both Zebs & Saints games on table so you can plan ahead! - http://www.truezebras.com/2015-fixture/

Excited to see how the Zebras go this year.

Mitch Brown playing?
I had a chat to him and he was looking foward to kicking goals with paddy mccartin. Albeit he acted like had either had 20 drinks or x amount of substances

I got to a few Zebras games last year, just to see our guys go around. I'll do the same this year unless it clashes with the Saints or Port games.

image.jpg

The Zebras are looking good ahead of season 2015, with a strong list in their own right (including signing former Saints Clint Jones and Trent Dennis-Lane, and former Cat Mitxh Brown), and a healthy injection of youthful class from the Saints.

If you haven't been down to Trevor Barker Beach Oval on a match day, I thorougly recommmend the experience; food at non-Spotless prices, genuine full-strwngth cold beer and the ability to kick the footy on the ground and listen to the coaches addresses. It's a cracking day out.

Match day teams, articles and information can be found at the official club site, or via our own stkildathunda's magnificent True Zebras.

http://sandringhamfc.com.au
http://truezebras.net

And both are available to follow on Twitter;

https://mobile.twitter.com/sandyzebs
https://mobile.twitter.com/truezebras

Had a brief crack at a Sandy-only side from the confirmed signings; happy to be corrected by those more 'in the know'...

FB: Coates ~ Plostins ~ Verma
HB: Shakallis ~ Le Grice ~ Kreymborg
CR: DBrown ~ Cook ~ Fallon
HF: Hayes ~ McTaggart ~ Zijai
FF: TDL ~ MBrown ~ Ong
RK: Kelso ~ Cockie ~ Jones
IC: Banfield ~ Noone ~ Barnhoorn ~ Grace

Had a brief crack at a Sandy-only side from the confirmed signings; happy to be corrected by those more 'in the know'...

FB: Coates ~ Plostins ~ Verma
HB: Shakallis ~ Le Grice ~ Kreymborg
CR: DBrown ~ Cook ~ Fallon
HF: Hayes ~ McTaggart ~ Zijai
FF: TDL ~ MBrown ~ Ong
RK: Kelso ~ Cockie ~ Jones
IC: Banfield ~ Noone ~ Barnhoorn ~ Grace
By some things I have heard Mitch and sandy are open to the idea of him playing in defence.

Also put uthayakumar in the side, one of my good mates and is a gun for someone who has only played footy for 3 years

By some things I have heard Mitch and sandy are open to the idea of him playing in defence.

Also put uthayakumar in the side, one of my good mates and is a gun for someone who has only played footy for 3 years
Don't know anything about him though mate, beyond the magnificence of his name...

Hi Shaun,

Any reports on how Kenny Ong is going? He came on great last year, thought he was an outside chance to even get an AFL rookie shot, am hoping he kicks on this season.

Going well mate, training extremely well too. Is bigger than last year, expect big things from him this year.

Zebs paying $21 for premiership... Not bad odds in reckon

Is it the zeb bras or zeeb bras? It's shortened to Zebs not Zeebs is it?
Do they have any other old traditional nicknames? I don't know much of the history of the club.

Wait, wait, they're wearing bras now? When did that become part of the uniform?

The phrase "The Zebras" brings to the mind of most people `one of the top senior football clubs in the state' - Sandringham Football Club.

How and when did this colourful club name first become associated with us?

On the Monday following the opening match of the 1934 season, when Sandringham easily defeated Brighton, the Melbourne Sun News Pictorial read:- "Richmond as tigers now have a rival in the animal kingdom, for Sandringham, in the new yellow and black striped Guernsey, resembled zebras.

"The way they galloped away from Brighton to win showed they could emulate that animal."

"The team will be known in the future as the Zebras".

The journalist responsible for that article was none other than Melbourne top liner - Jim Blake who wrote about VFA football for many years.

Blake's other memories of Sandringham include captain-coach Len Toyne to be the most inspiring speaker he has heard in football. "Len could lift the club with his own actions."

"I consider Neil Bencraft the most loyal player and coach I've seen. He was absolutely fanatical for his club"

The guy in the Zebra suit on game day is the most fanatical I have ever seen! :p

It depends if you pronounce 'Z' as Zed or 'Zee'... Isn't it common for it to be 'Zed' in Australia?