HB: Farrell - Aliir - Houston
C: Duursma - Wine - Bergman
HF: JHF - Georgiades - SPP
FF: Finlayson - Marshall - Fantasia

Ruck: Dixon - Rozee - Butters

Int: Rioli - Boak - Burgoyne - DBJ
Sub: Jones/Evans

Our midget defence and old bodies down back worry me
Lycett's return sends shiver up my spine as does a make shift ruck duo of dixon and finlayson

F: Rioli - T.Marshall - Fantasia
HF: Powell-Pepper - Dixon - Georgie
C: Bergman - Butters - Duursma
HB: Jones - Finlayson - Houston
B: Burton - Aliir - Burgoyne
R: Hayes - Horne-Francis - Rozee

INT FROM: Byrne-Jones - Drew - Farrell - Boak - Wines - McKenzie - Jonas - Bonner - Teakle
I like the Finlayson to CHB move. Add Pasini into the team and our backline looks more assured than it would with Jonas or McKenzie in there.

B: Burton - Jonas - Jones
C: Duursma - drew - Bergman
HF: JHF - finlayson - SPP
FF: Rioli - Marshall - Fantasia

Ruck: Dixon - Rozee - Butters

Int: wines - Boak - Burgoyne - pansini
Sub: mckenzie

giving jones cameron to look after and belt him hard every time you tackle
jonas takes gunston
burton takes navratilova
allir takes Daniher
mckenzie the sub as required.
dbj can piss off
dixon rucks mainly centre bounces and finlayson does around the grounds
wines on the bench, his form doesn’t warrant starting on the ground

Our none taller than Ken side for Round 1.

B: Burgoyne - Jonas - DBJ
HB: Jones - Houston - Mead
C: Duursma - Drew - Bergman
HF: JHF - Evans - Dumont
FF: Rioli - McIntee - Fantasia

Ruck: SPP - Rozee - Butters

Int: Wines - Boak - Farrell - Williams

FB: Burton Jonas Burgoyne
HB: Houston Aliir DBJ
C: Duursma Wines Bergman
HF: SPP Finlayson Butters
FF: Fantasia Marshall Rioli
R: Dixon Rozee JHF
I: Boak Farrell Evans McKenzie

In: Boak, Finlayson, Rioli
Out: Teakle, Lycett, McEntee, Georgiades, Bonner, Drew, Jones

How I think we will line up in round one ...

B: Byrne-Jones Jonas Burton
HB: Farrell Aliir Houston
C: Bergman Wines Duursma
HF: Butters Marshall Powell-Pepper
F: Fantasia Dixon Rioli

R: Lycett Rozee Horne-Francis

INT: Boak Georgiades Drew Burgoyne

SUB: Evans or Jones

Not considered due to injury: Finlayson

Obviously not going to be our round 1 side with Jonas, DBJ and Lycett not getting selected but i recon this is something like what id be picking at the moment.

Fantasia - Dixon - Marshall
Rioli - Georgiadies - SPP

Duursma - Wines - Bergman
Hayes - Rozee - JHF

Burton - Aliir - Houston
McKenzie - Clurey - Burgoyne

Butters - Boak - Farrell - Bonner (Jones)

Finlayson in when he's fit for either McKenzie or Clurey, roll the dice and play him in defence as we need the height.

MG probably not deserving of selection after his preseason, but being a shorter KPF in a Hinkley coached side is as hard a job in AFL that there ever has been so he gets a bit of slack. Real shame that Stinkley is still trying to force round pegs in square holes, rather than playing guys to their strengths.

FB: Burton Jonas Burgoyne
HB: Houston Aliir Jones
C: Duursma Wines Bergman
HF: SPP Finlayson Butters
FF: Fantasia Marshall Rioli
R: Dixon Rozee JHF
I: Boak Bonner Evans McKenzie

In: Boak, Finlayson, Rioli, Bonner
Out: Teakle, Lycett, McEntee, Georgiades, Farrell Drew, DBJ

Obviously not going to be our round 1 side with Jonas, DBJ and Lycett not getting selected but i recon this is something like what id be picking at the moment.

Fantasia - Dixon - Marshall
Rioli - Georgiadies - SPP

Duursma - Wines - Bergman
Hayes - Rozee - JHF

Burton - Aliir - Houston
McKenzie - Clurey - Burgoyne

Butters - Boak - Farrell - Bonner (Jones)

Finlayson in when he's fit for either McKenzie or Clurey, roll the dice and play him in defence as we need the height.

MG probably not deserving of selection after his preseason, but being a shorter KPF in a Hinkley coached side is as hard a job in AFL that there ever has been so he gets a bit of slack. Real shame that Stinkley is still trying to force round pegs in square holes, rather than playing guys to their strengths.
This is a much better side than the side we'll actually pick.

Injury free and all in form, reckon our best looks like:

F: Georgiades - Dixon - Rioli
HF: Powell-Pepper - T.Marshall - Fantasia
C: Bergman - Wines - Duursma
B: Burton - Jonas (C) - McKenzie
R: Lycett - Boak - Rozee
INT: Butters - Horne-Francis - Drew - Jones
Sub: Sinn

EMERG: Finlayson - DBJ - Clurey - Teakle

Jones can rotate forward or back. Sinn can play HBF, Centre mid, wing or HFF.

Harsh maybe on DBJ - I’m probably underestimating his good stuff and only remembering the… arrrh missed bumps!

Finlayson should be in there but would have to cut Mitch.

Hopefully Visentini is pushing out Teackle and Lycett. Seems the club have written off Hayes.

I’m intrigued with Lord, Clurey and Pasini. I would hope McCallum and Marshall come on quickly to build our depth as it seems that Clurey has fallen down the pecking order (behind an almost delisted McKenzie) and Pasini hasn’t played much footy due to a shoulder and knee recon + covid and Lord likewise hasn’t played much defence.

We actually have some decent depth in Burgoyne, Dumont, Mead, Evans and Bonner.

Port Adelaide POWER - Round 4 vs Sydney
F: Finlayson - Dixon - Rioli
HF: Powell-Pepper - T.Marshall - Boak
C: Butters - Wines - Duursma
HB: Farrell - Aliir - Bergman
B: Jonas (C) - McKenzie - Houston
R: Lycett - Horne-Francis - Rozee
INT: Drew - McEntee - Mead - Williams
EMERG: Jones (SUB) - Byrne-Jones - Clurey - Lord

Port Adelaide MAGPIES - Round 2 vs Glenelg
F: Visentini - Scully - Georgiades
HF: Barkla - Lord - Evans
C: Bonner - Moore - Hagan
HB: Byrne-Jones - Teakle - Burgoyne
B: Pasini - Clurey - McCallum
R: Hayes - Dumont - Sinn
INT FROM: K.Marshall - Jackson - Francou - Szust
EMERG: Kirk - Turner
DEPTH: Weidemann - Cheesma - Montgomery - H.Ferrari - Aldridge - W.Ferrari

Unavailable:
AFL:

Burton (Suspended, 1 week)
Fantasia (Quad, ?)
SANFL:
Sutcliffe (C) (Calf, 4 weeks)
Motlop (?, ?)
Cockatoo-Collins (?, ?)
Short (?, ?)
Wilson (?, ?)
Miller (?, ?)
McArthur (?, ?)
Lee (?, ?)
Wildman (?, ?)
Carter (?, ?)
Is that our worst AFL interchange… ever?

I think the best 23 is pretty clear cut now. The only swing piece(s) possibly are Rioli and/or McEntee, but both seem to be the best choice for team balance at the moment. Of course, things could change with form swings etc. A clear strength of our team at the moment is depth, with the ability to sustain 2 or 3 changes on the fringe of the team without any noticeable impact on our overall performance.

Backs
McKenzie, Aliir, Houston, Burton, Williams, Farrell, Bergman, Jones

Midfield
Lycett, Butters, Rozee, Wines, JHF, Drew, Boak, Duursma, Narkle

Forward
Marshall, Finlayson, Dixon, SPP, DBJ, Rioli, McEntee

Depth
Jonas, Clurey, Bonner, Sinn, Burgoyne, Fantasia, Lord, Mead, Jackson, Teakle, Hayes, Evans

EDIT: Yikes, forgot Jones. He’s probably locked as a first choice defender now. So we have a best 24. Rock, paper, scissor for the last spot?

Best 23

B: McKenzie (key def), Aliir (key def), Burton (def/fwd)
HB: Houston (mid/def), Jones (def/fwd), Farrell (mid/def)
C: Boak (mid/fwd), Butters (mid/fwd), Duursma (mid/fwd)
HF: Powell-Pepper (fwd/mid), Marshall (key fwd), Byrne-Jones (def/fwd)
FF: Finlayson (fwd/ruck), Dixon (fwd/ruck), Horne-Francis (mid/fwd)

FOL: Lycett (ruck), Wines, Drew, Rozee (mid/fwd)

I/C: Bergman (mid/def), Williams (def), Rioli (fwd), McEntee (fwd)

Sub: Fantasia (fwd)

McEntee to swap with Powell-Pepper and Byrne-Jones in the high forward pressure role. Rioli comes on when Horne-Francis goes into the midfield and one of Wines, Drew, Rozee or Butters needs a rest (or vice versa if you want to start Rioli on the field and Drew/Horne-Francis on the bench). Bergman to give Boak, Duursma, Houston or Farrell a rest (Houston and Farrell can fill a spot on the wing if needed). Williams to also give the defenders a chop out (since they have to do the most running).

Fantasia a tactical sub - he either comes on for one of Rioli or McEntee OR he comes on for a defender like Williams and Byrne-Jones drops back into the defensive rotation - akin to putting on another striker when you need goals.

Best 23

B: McKenzie (key def), Aliir (key def), Burton (def/fwd)
HB: Houston (mid/def), Jones (def/fwd), Farrell (mid/def)
C: Boak (mid/fwd), Butters (mid/fwd), Duursma (mid/fwd)
HF: Powell-Pepper (fwd/mid), Marshall (key fwd), Byrne-Jones (def/fwd)
FF: Finlayson (fwd/ruck), Dixon (fwd/ruck), Horne-Francis (mid/fwd)

FOL: Lycett (ruck), Wines, Drew, Rozee (mid/fwd)

I/C: Bergman (mid/def), Williams (def), Rioli (fwd), McEntee (fwd)

Sub: Fantasia (fwd)

McEntee to swap with Powell-Pepper and Byrne-Jones in the high forward pressure role. Rioli comes on when Horne-Francis goes into the midfield and one of Wines, Drew, Rozee or Butters needs a rest (or vice versa if you want to start Rioli on the field and Drew/Horne-Francis on the bench). Bergman to give Boak, Duursma, Houston or Farrell a rest (Houston and Farrell can fill a spot on the wing if needed). Williams to also give the defenders a chop out (since they have to do the most running).

Fantasia a tactical sub - he either comes on for one of Rioli or McEntee OR he comes on for a defender like Williams and Byrne-Jones drops back into the defensive rotation - akin to putting on another striker when you need goals.
Oh oracle of all things football. Oh smug arrogant flog who thinks he's the smartest guy on the board. Are you aware that you've put 24 players in this best 23?

See how hard it is when Jones and Duursma are back? :)

Hmm - I’ll take out McEntee and put Drew on the bench then.

Our 22 when everyone is healthy for me is pretty straight forward.

The locks in the team are…

Defenders: Aliir, McKenzie, Houston, Bergman
Mids: Butters, Rozee, JHF, Drew, Wines, Boak, Duursma
Ruck: Lycett
Forwards: Dixon, Marshall, Finlayson, SPP

That’s 16 players there for the last 6 spots on the team play 3 of these 5…
Burton, Farrell, Williams, Jones, Jonas
And 3 of these 5…
McEntee, DBJ, Rioli, Fantasia, Narkle.

At the moment it would be Burton, Farrell, Williams, McEntee, DBJ and Rioli, but if guys lose form or their are injuries we have good depth in these positions as well.

I'd go:

Jones, McKenzie, Bergman
Houston, Aliir, Farrell
Boak, Wines, Duursma
Powell-Pepper, Marshall, Finlayson
Byrne-Jones, Dixon, Horne-Francis

Lycett, Rozee, Butters

Interchange - Williams, Drew, Georgiades, Rioli
Sub - Burton, Narkle, McEntee

My concerns are McKenzie and Lycett with general oldness and form. We don't seem to have ready replacements for them.
Also lesser concerns with oldness are Boak and Dixon. We have guys who can step into their roles.
I think Horne-Francis will be our best midfielder in the near future.
It would highly beneficial for the team if Farrell becomes a lockdown on the oppositions best small forward along with his sweet boot.

The guys with a lot of potential eyeing off spots - Sinn, Jackson, Burgoyne, Lord.

We still have a lot of internal improvement to go with the Best 23 - Jones, Horne-Francis, Bergman, Duursma, Georgiades
And then we have improvement with the other guys - Narkle, McEntee, Sinn, Jackson, Burgoyne, Lord.

If Sinn gets his act togther, then that will be another point of difference in the team as he is super fast.

Considering we are on top of the ladder at the moment and still have some serious improving to do, we are on the cusp of greatness.

F: Georgiades - Dixon - Fantasia
HF: Powell-Pepper - T.Marshall - Rioli
C: Horne-Francis - Wines (C) - Duursma
HB: Burton - Aliir - Houston
B: Jones - Clurey - Byrne-Jones
R: Lycett - Butters - Rozee
INT: Finlayson - Bergman - Boak - Burgoyne
EMERG: Drew, Farell, Jonas, Sinn
This was my go at it - late last year.

Still think Mcentee and Williams miss out, with a full list that is fit and firing.

Come finals - Orazio if not injured and in form is class, and we are missing a really good small attacking forward. I think Burton/Jones trumps Williams. And would prefer Duursma in, with Bergman at half back.

Now:

F: Finlayson - Dixon - Horne-Francis
HF: Powell-Pepper - T.Marshall - Rioli
C: Drew - Wines (C) - Boak
HB: Bergman - Aliir - Houston
B: Jones - McKenzie - Farell

R: Lycett - Butters - Rozee

INT: Duursma - DBJ - Burton - Fantasia

EMERG: Narkle, Sinn, Mcentee, Williams, *Georgi

Disregarding form for some guys like Duursma, Finlayson, Marshall, Burton I’d say this is our best 23 at the moment:

FB: Jones McKenzie Williams
HB: Houston Aliir Bergman
C: Duursma Rozee JHF
HF: SPP Finlayson DBJ
FF: Lord Marshall Rioli
R: Lycett Butters Drew
I: Wines Farrell Evans Narkle

Sub: Burton

Missing: Bonner (could be in for someone above), Dixon (cooked) Boak (cooked), Jonas (cooked), Hayes (hated), Teakle (2nd ruck), McEntee (defensive pressure dropped off which is only thing he offers), Georgiades (injured) Clurey (injured), Jackson (never played at afl level so can’t assess), Burgoyne (too skinny and bad decision making at afl level), Visentini (too raw), Sinn (fitness and terrible disposal), Mead (awful so far at AFL level).

So many flankers or under sized players on the list though.

Disregarding form for some guys like Duursma, Finlayson, Marshall, Burton I’d say this is our best 23 at the moment:

FB: Jones McKenzie Williams
HB: Houston Aliir Bergman
C: Duursma Rozee JHF
HF: SPP Finlayson DBJ
FF: Lord Marshall Rioli
R: Lycett Butters Drew
I: Wines Farrell Evans Narkle

Sub: Burton

Missing: Bonner (could be in for someone above), Dixon (cooked) Boak (cooked), Jonas (cooked), Hayes (hated), Teakle (2nd ruck), McEntee (defensive pressure dropped off which is only thing he offers), Georgiades (injured) Clurey (injured), Jackson (never played at afl level so can’t assess), Burgoyne (too skinny and bad decision making at afl level), Visentini (too raw), Sinn (fitness and terrible disposal), Mead (awful so far at AFL level).

So many flankers or under sized players on the list though.
Ollie Lord is just in no way whatsoever better than Dixon right now.

You could argue Dixon is injured and needs a rest, you could argue Lord has more of a future, but picking our best 23 right now it's not even close.

Ollie Lord is just in no way whatsoever better than Dixon right now.

You could argue Dixon is injured and needs a rest, you could argue Lord has more of a future, but picking our best 23 right now it's not even close.

Absolutely fair call! Basing it on playing injured right now. Fit he is absolutely best 22 ahead of Lord by a mile.