Beauty & Style The worst pain you've felt.

In 2004, during my old school's vacation care program, we went to Gumbuya Park, they had, amongst many things, a quadbike track.

I went on it twice.

the second time I did it, I went to slow down, slowed down to an almost stop, fell off, grazed my knee and my hands and injured my knee, could've been an ACL, PCL, whatever.

Ever since that incident, my knee's never been the same.

It has altered my running style to the point of looking awkward.

I could run the length of my school oval but I don't in fear of doing my knee again.

4 Biggest ones that come to mind;
-Coming off a razor scooter at fairly decent speed and tumbling down the pavement, take skin off my elbow to the bone, some off the rear end, hip, sprained ankle, small fracture to my right thumb. Worst part was then having to go to the doctors and having all the gravel cleaned out, then being told well there's not enough skin left to stitch, but you've damaged most areas they would take a graft from so we'll just leave it open and see how it goes.. Was lucky though i had no helmet on, so all things considered. :p

-Playing indoor soccer, went for a high ball and got bumped basically causing me to scissor it then come down on my toe while falling forward. End result was basically my foot staying in place while my leg kept going forward with my knee bent behind me. Heard the oh s*** from other people, got up and subbed off, iced it for a bit and being the stubborn being person i am limped back on and tried to keep playing. Went to a doctor, did the physical examination and seemed to think i'd either the acl / pcl, mentioned scans to determine if i need surgery. Again stubborn said don't worry about it nobody is cutting up my leg, limped for a few months, went through it basically dislocating on its own while even walking for a few years (used to be just walking around and it would pop out, i'd pop it back in with a loud clunk noise and keep walking) Now it's mostly fine, have to wear a knee guard for sport and the flexibility is shot to the point i can't bend it past 90deg, also seem really prone to hammy / quad / calf injuries on that leg... But eh i get by, have played indoor again no issues, can still run 10kms no issues, just need a knee guard for things containing movement changes.

-Working just stacking mushrooms , twisted a bit and felt my back "pop", stubborn me finished filling it then took the pallet out the back where i was basically in shock. Stumbled to the tea room with the first aider, ended up on the floor... Took a bit to come good, still hurts at times turned out to be a herniated disc from memory.

-Last and most recent would be after having an ingrown / infected toenail for 2.5 months finally went to a podiatrist. First session thinking oh yeah just cutting the nail, out comes the scalpel, honestly never had short term pain like it, in terms of the sudden snap pain would rather injure my knee again... Halfway through got offered a a local, thought nah it's almost over, again apparently went into a form of shock and ended up throwing up for a few minutes, stumbling around... Just remember the pain and the throwing up :p

Honorable mentions would include breaking a bone in my wrist in half (didn't realise until i got the ball next, went to shoot and felt a sharp pain and the ball went about 1ft) 14 weeks in a cast... Having my little finger get dislocated at a 90deg angle from tackling a mate and getting it stuck in his tshirt, he swatted it away and finger went with it. Not wanting to be soft i popped it back in myself and kept playing, in the process causing multiple fractures to the finger and ended up needing it in a splint for 2 weeks. Also broken all fingers (bar left thumb if you include that), right big toe 2-3 times, little toe once, smashed my left elbow but don't remember that pain just going to a hospital and the rehab. Low grade tear to an ankle ligament from playing soccer in the wet in volleys and losing my footing, friends still give me heaps about me "hurting my foot when i kicked the ground instead of the ball"... Never mind it was the wrong ankle :p Also had a fair share of dentist / orthodontic pain.

I got a cute pair of shoes a couple of months ago. All was well, till one day I took them off, took one step and felt the WORST pain I have ever felt.

Now, I have excellent pain tolerance. Not much hurts me at all. My expression barely changes when I get burnt. I can deal with hot water. I can deal with cuts, needles, dislocating myself etc.*

But Jesus the pain I endured that time... the shoe somehow managed to peel TINY tiny tiny sensitive bits of skin halfway off. So whenever I stepped, it felt like I was forcing a gigantic splinter into my foot. I walked with a limp and I had to wear tissues and makeup sponges in my shoes at one point!*I can't explain it, but it hurt like a bitch. I tried tweezing it, cutting it, scrubbing it. Tears were had. Lots of tears were had.

Last resort, I SHAVED it off the bottom of my foot and I went and sobbed under my covers.

I got a new one today, and there is no possible way I can shave this one off. I'm walking with a limp again, trying to not put pressure on the area. God forbid anyone who has to walk behind me in public.

It hurts so much, I could faint

Two come to mind. When I was 16 or so I turned my head a little too far to look behind me, heard a crunch or tear. Fking agony. No matter how still I was, even my own heartbeat was enough movement to shoot pain all over my body. Stayed in bed for four days and didn't move, don't even remember how I went to the toilet...it was weeks before I could even turn my head a little. Who knows what I did to it?
The other worst pain was from a stomach ulser. I remember I ate a chicken sandwich, 30 minutes later the pain started. An hour or two later I'm crawling on the floor feeling like I've swallowed a thousand toothpicks. I use to have this pain every now and then, but this was the worst one. I ended up barfing, what a relief.

The neck was the scariest though, I thought I'd done some permanent damage there.

Had it pretty easy compared to others after reading this

Just had alot of collisions and clashes while playing sport but i never really get anything other than badly winded, occasionally knocked out

Nothing too bad. A sprained muscle in my neck was agony, especially when someone would call my name and I'd turn my head in that direction. :eek:

Did my ankle pretty badly once. Hurt it playing soccer on a Friday, then tried playing footy the next day. Managed to get to half time before I gave up. Was driven home by the coach, took two steps then collapsed. Ankle had swollen up like a balloon. Was limping after a few days and probably a couple weeks before I could walk with some sense of normality but gave me issues for probably 18 months.

Once had the worst stomach ache I've ever experienced. Think I took an inadvertent hit to my nether regions and 15 minutes later was huddled over in agony. Could only walk at 45 degrees. Went to the late night doctor with my dad carrying me (would have been early teens at the time, maybe younger). Remember sitting inside waiting for my turn and the pain slowly waning, all the while me hoping it'd stay just long enough so I wouldn't look like a fool. :p Got to my turn and all was fine.

Had stitches a couple of times and a few scars here and there but none hurt too badly. I'm sure splitting my upper lip would have been painful but too young to recall the pain other than tears.

Was about 9 and the older kids at school were jumping off the side of the playground and grabbing onto the bar that the monkey bars are attached to. It started raining so we were called back inside. Rain passed over pretty quickly so we were allowed back out, however the playground was pretty slippery. I decided I would copy them.

I climbed up higher than the others kids were, giving myself a worse angle to grab onto. Jumped with a pretty high amount of speed and slipped off the bar as soon as I latched onto it. The momentum carried me forward and I did half a backflip in mid-air and would of landed on my face had I not extended my arms to break my fall. I blacked out for a couple of seconds and didn't realize what I had done until I saw other kids gasping and point at my left arm, which was bent backwards with the bone piercing the skin. Couldn't feel anything at first, that didn't last for long though.

Had pleurisy when i was about 16. I thought i had a broken rib as when i lied down, it felt like major organs were exposed (lungs) and were sitting atop of a splinter of bone. Horrible pain.

Doesnt compare to some of the stories posted already but experienced the most bizaare horrible pain when i was around 19-20. Long story short i'd injured my left calf muscle running somehow and as a result ended up walking on my tip toes due to the achilles being shortened.

Anyways the docs had no idea what the problem was and thought it may be a neurological disorder. Was sent to a specialist who proceeded to do a number of tests, one of which was putting a 6-8cm needle into both my calves and shooting electric shocks through the needle into my muscles!

Was bearable in the beginning, until the sadist kept gradually amping up the shocks so that it got to a point where my legs were jumping off the table and i was in so much pain i was in tears.

In the end they discovered what the problem was after sending me for a simple MRI. Thanks for the unnecessary pain fwits! :mad:

The worst pain I've ever felt was the result of a twisted testicle, basically one of my balls twisted and blood flow was cut off to the area. It happened when i was 15, i woke up in the middle of the night in excruciating pain, i went two the hospital and after about 4 hours i went into the surgery to get it fixed. Those were the worst 4 hours of my life, i only got panadol when i got to the ER which did nothing to numb the pain. Apparently i was lucky, if i had have waited a few more hours i would have lost one of my balls because of lack of blood.

Although that was the worst pain, the pain i experienced in the weeks after surgery was nearly as bad, especially when the drugs started to wear off, for two weeks i was walking around like a cowboy. What made the situation even worse was that because of it I missed out on playing in a winning grand final.

The pain from getting this is supposed to be up there with childbirth and kidney stones as the worst pain you can feel, i would never wish it upon anybody.

Nothing too bad for me. I broke my arm when I was 3 and it looked like an S. Thank **** I don't remember that pain.

The worst I remember is cutting my foot open on the sharp bottom of a gate when I was 8. It bled like crazy and had to get 6 stitches. The worst part about it was the needles to numb the area which were put right into the tendon which made me jump through the roof.

Also have tripped over and taken the skin of my elbow to the bone, but got no stitches as there wasn't enough skin there to stitch it up. That hurt a little bit as well.

A bloke i play cricket with lost a nut like that a few years ago. Makes me cringe just thinking about it. Though it's still funny to yell out "Good nut" or "Good ball" when he's bowling.

Fortunately i've been mostly pretty lucky throughout my life. No broken bones. Destroyed my groin muscle during cricket one day though, that's probably up there with the best for me. Took about 6 weeks to walk with no pain, and about 6 months before i could run or even just kick a footy with no pain.

cruciate ligament tear. i still cant watch knee injuries on the tele 22 years later..

)Luckily I have been spared the most intense pain yet.
My most painful things were a furuncle (boil) that had the size of my palm(located about the height of my right hip on my back), being 'emptied ' by my mother(a qualified nurse)-I just didnt tell her about it before it was way too painul .(It came to her attention because it was very painful when it was rubbing against the waist seam of my pants)
It made me very dizzy(nearly fainted ), because my mother thought it would be a good idea to show me what goo came out of it; makes me shiver even today.

Something other painful- When I got my lower right wisdom tooth out, they literally had to crack it out because of the angle(about 20° to my gums) it has grown into.
Unfortunately the local anaesthetic was too weak for that kind of manoeuvre so it hurt quite a bit(it was quite a sharp pain). I was nevertheless dulled out enough so I could not be bothered to lift my arm to tell them it hurts. They only noticed when I started to cry. heh.

Temporary pain: egdes are evil. Unfortunately the kitchen cabinets in the place I moved to have exactly the right height for me to bang my head against the corner of the cabinet doors.

Last but not least Cricket: edging a ball from your bat onto your leg/ankle without pads on.

That was while having some throw downs on the side lines of a match. The ball was very slow- but unfortunately it did not came of my bat as slow as that. I edged it right from my bat onto my leg just a cm above my ankle.

+1 for ingrown toenails! Had it for about two months before getting treated. Two seperate occasions my 60 kilo dog trod all over it! It's all good now and I hope I never have one again.

Childbirth, a 22 hour labour, took me about 8 years to realise it was worth it and do it again, and an absess on a wisdom tooth - excrutiating.

I think the body shuts down when there is intolerable pain like having a limb ripped off in an accident or the like to protect itself from that sort of agony.

Dengue Fever - Incredible Body Aches, Sweats for 3 days straight with no sleep.

Hell.

Though it's still funny to yell out "Good nut" or "Good ball" when he's bowling.

I was going to say to the other guy I bet you didn't get a lot of sympathy when everyone found out. When I was in grade 7 a guy in my class had to have surgery for a twisted testicle. Took a while for him to live that down.

Ruptured all the ligaments in my right ankle.....crutches slipped the next morning and I landed on it. Following that I had a GP misdiagnose and send me for a stress X-Ray (my physio later chastised him for it). A stress X-Ray it when they push down to get separation to see damage (they just created).

Having a doctor push as hard as they could on a ruptured ankle....hell.

Do not want to read all the testicle related s**t on here. Feel sick already...

Dislocated my shoulder 3 times in one night. On the 3rd dislocation it tried to go back in but locked up so bad I couldnt lower my arm, I looked like I was running in with Malinga's bowling action. Still have trouble these days with it - I was hanging the washing out and had my arms raised and then I sneezed - I could feel it slip.

Also when I was about 10 I was cruisin on my BMX with a mate down by the high school and to cut a long story short I hit a big rock fell into a ditch and nearly cut my big toe off... went straight to hospital and copped the needles in the foot..it kept wearing off so he had to keep injecting my toe... 10 stiches later :eek:

My 2 big toes were ingrown and were close to going through the skin.

Also i had kidney stones removed using Extracorporeal Shock Wave Lithotripsy and i was in extreme pain after the morphine wore off.

two fractured ribs in the space of a week! actually the worst wasn't when they broke
(both knees into playing footy) but everytime the next 3 months I sneezed....I was literally scared of sneezing lol

- AC Joint problem: hurt to put force on the joint. Can't remember exactly. Happened @ Primary School (gr5/6) in a scratch match and went straight to the Essendon Physio/Doc (McCracken I think). Got it taped and re-taped for a few weeks, those tapes on the shoulders/joint were golden.
- Badly fractured left wrist: decided to be superman and jump off the 'big' playground, dumb move. Used my hands to protect me from the impact, but all pressure went onto the wrist akwardly. Not the best at all, remember it being numb for ages and feeling like pins getting stuck into it.
- Hamstring tear: Was actually playing tennis on the gravel/en-tout-cas, loved my sliding and just defending to the hills during my juniors. Just stretched a little too far and twang. Struggled to walk, limped to my bag, chucked on my 'Skins' and continued. Stupid move as it got a little worse but felt right at the time. Served/returned and hobbled to the net most points. 3/4 weeks off, took me a while to get full confidence on it.

Definitely very lucky that these are the worst I have encountered. I'll say no more, don't wanna jinx myself.