Weren't we going to see player's names on the back of their guernseys???

I'm puzzled by the amount of people that seem to need to know a players name in order to enjoy a game of football. Is it really that important?
Is it that important to just have the numbers on the back of a jumper?

Why don't we put their date of birth on the back too? And height/weight. That way people in the crowd can see if it's a good match up or not. Games played. Brownlow votes. What else can we get in there?

I thought they looked OK close up. As someone stated earlier, this was a trial round for them so I guess they will wait for the feedback and go from there

If you think there's not a 100% chance that names on the back of guernseys is becoming standard in 2015, regardless of what the feedback to this 'trial' is (and from what I've seen, it's been lukewarm, at best), then I'm not sure what to tell you.

And won't all the people who are bidding for these 'once-off' guernseys on AFL Auctions be disappointed, when they realise that a practically identical guernsey will be the standard in 12 months?

Why don't we put their date of birth on the back too? And height/weight. That way people in the crowd can see if it's a good match up or not. Games played. Brownlow votes. What else can we get in there?
Let's get rid of the numbers then...after all traditionally we didn't have numbers :rolleyes:

It's worked for many years. Or you can just learn the player's names beforehand; it isn't hard.

QS not everyone is a hardcore footy fan who is motivated enough to learn every players name/number beforehand. Lets be honest as well, society as a whole is getting lazier as well so anything that will aid the easier identification of a player will be beneficial.

You should have been around just on a hundred years ago, when player jumpers didn't have numbers.

LOL at everyone saying the names look "stupid".

Someone's surname, which they've had since birth, becomes stupid once it's on the back of their sporting uniform?

I mean, can you even begin to explain your reasoning?

You're all fine with sponsors' logos though, I take it? Nothing wrong with rank commercialism, nah, that's fine, use players' backs as a mobile billboard to flog meatpies or cladding or car insurance, but heaven help us if guernseys start bearing the name of the person they're on. OMG, how crass! The player's name!

Sponsor's provide money to the club.

Yes we are all aware what a surname is. Calm down.

Short sleeved jumpers
Fast moving action
Wide angle shots
SD

Put simply, it isnt a horrible idea, it just doesnt work for our game.

AFL is a business. A big business. Plenty of local footy clubs still living in the community football non profit paradigm that need supporters each weekend.

Ditch the sponsor from the back of the jumper, drop the number down an increase the font on the players name.

Any loss in sponsorship income can be recouped from clubs selling jumpers with players names on them.

End result:
Clubs still get money, television viewing improves by making players easier to identify, the game becomes easier to learn for the non-footy fanatics.

Or is that just over simplifying things?

Ditch the sponsor from the back of the jumper, drop the number down an increase the font on the players name.

Any loss in sponsorship income can be recouped from clubs selling jumpers with players names on them.

End result:
Clubs still get money, television viewing improves by making players easier to identify, the game becomes easier to learn for the non-footy fanatics.

Or is that just over simplifying things?

You think that jumper sales are going to cover the millions lost in sponsorship money?

Well surprise me then, do you have the figures for some of the amounts sponsors paid for that patch on the back of the jumper?
You seriously think they're only paying for that?

So next time they pay an adjusted amount which excludes the back of the jumper and still pay for the other areas they have their name plastered on.

If they are keen they still pay, if not someone else comes in and takes their spot.

Well surprise me then, do you have the figures for some of the amounts sponsors paid for that patch on the back of the jumper?

Just a few examples:

Bankwest with WC:

West Coast Eagles have welcomed aboard Bankwest as a major sponsor today in a multi-million-dollar deal after dumping long-term supporter Hungry Jack's.

https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/9139243/bankwest-soars-with-eagles/

Collingwood with Emirates:

Collingwood has extended its lucrative uniform sponsorship with Emirates and will earn an estimated $10 million from the airline over the next five years in a deal that highlights the growing gap between the AFL’s haves and have-nots.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...th-10-million-sponsorship-20140320-hvkum.html

Bingle with Richmond

Though financial terms of the agreement were not released, Bingle’s commitment, like Jeep’s, is estimated to be worth in excess of US$1 million annually.

http://www.sportspromedia.com/news/insurer_bingle_extends_richmond_support/

So next time they pay an adjusted amount which excludes the back of the jumper and still pay for the other areas they have their name plastered on.

If they are keen they still pay, if not someone else comes in and takes their spot.
So no visible sign of the company being part of the club during games?

Prices would plummet.

So no visible sign of the company being part of the club during games?

Prices would plummet.

They still get their name plastered over the stadium as part of the deal, so it would be visible.

Fair enough then, as above though they still pay for their names whored out around the stadiums as part of the deal so adjust the rate down accordingly.

End of the day having a name on the back of a jumper instead of a sponsor will grow the game a lot better to the casual fan which is the end game of all this. It's done by every major sporting code around the globe and if AFL doesn't want to get left behind it needs to evolve like the rest.