Gameday: Essendon vs Geelong

• Thread starter Thread starter Merv

Hate is a strong word. Sheedy didn't have a gameplan for the last 6 seasons let alone 2, so therefore Knights is 1 up! Also, we are blooding young players and giving them a decent run of games. Furthermore our young players are being given larger roles and this will help with the future of the Essendon Football Club, don't expect miracles in 2008, it will be a 2-3 year project- minimum.

The gameplan is fine, it is similar to that of the best team in the competition, it is implementing that plan that takes time. It took until Bomber Thompson's 8th season to get his team right... we have a head start as we have a far better list than he did when he started! :thumbsu:

What you said is a fair call, I know it take time to build up a team, the problem is we have been saying this for 3 + years now and we still have the same problem, when we lose, we wrap up our players in cotton wool, blame it on rebuilding, my fear is we will become the Collingwood of modern day football, they had this same approach for 20+ years, we are building up a team well done boys you gave your best, maybe next week.

If this culb is to get back to it's best it and the members/supporters have to realize that it has a problem, it's it overall stock from the board to the players, just making money is not enough, a football club is about winning games manly and we are not winning enough of them.

What you said is a fair call, I know it take time to build up a team, the problem is we have been saying this for 3 + years now and we still have the same problem, when we lose, we wrap up our players in cotton wool, blame it on rebuilding, my fear is we will become the Collingwood of modern day football, they had this same approach for 20+ years, we are building up a team well done boys you gave your best, maybe next week.

If this culb is to get back to it's best it and the members/supporters have to realize that it has a problem, it's it overall stock from the board to the players, just making money is not enough, a football club is about winning games manly and we are not winning enough of them.

I don't actually think that 2 games is enough for you to assess the impact (or lack of ) that Knights will have on this group of players. Some of these guys have only ever had the one coach and I think it would be difficult to not fall back to old ways when in trouble or under pressure. I think we should be assessing the Club's performance at the end of the season not after 2 games.:)

What was our biggest fear (Turnovers) became reality. As soon as we missed a target going forward we got smashed on the rebound.

I thought Michael, Ryder and Fletcher performed very well considering the ball was pumped in there 63 times. They held up pretty well.

We definitely seemed over-rawed by the occasion and in awe of Geelong, even intimidated. Ball handling, decision making and disposal were all down compared to last week.

That's taking nothing away from Geelong, who pressure forced these errors.

Anyone writing us off from today is an idiot (Bomber57 I'm looking at you). Geelong were awesome, can't do much about that.

Skills weren't great and Geelong made us pay, and the set shots is what stopped us from making it at all respectable.

Disappointing to lose and clearly we aren't a top 4 contender just yet, but to say it's the same as 2006 is ridiculous.

JJ was shithouse.

Once again looked really slow, had 24 disposals but at 58% effeciency.

I think it's time to cut our losses with him and play the likes of Monfries and Hocking or even Pev in his position.

Thanks for the feedback about JJ. Thought he was average against the Roos but when you win by so much it is easy to look over one players impact. I agree that one of the younger guys should be being used. Unfortunately JJ is at the end of a great career and we really need to be looking to the future with one of the younger midfielders. Please don't think I am bagging JJ it's just his time is nearly up.

Another thing, anyone who jeered Lloyd is an absolute disgrace. To not realise how little supply he had shows that a person must have no clue about the game whatsoever. He wasn't great but he didn't disgrace himself- he simply didn't have the chance to perform.

Not that I was there but I bet that most of the jeering was coming from the Geelong supporters. They don't give him any credit and it really **sses me off. Clearly they forget that dud they had at full forward for so long - K.Kingsley!!! Llyody just needs to respond with a great game next week.

i think some of the people jeering where geelong fans, not to say all were, but from where i was i saw a few go off, right at the end.

One point needs to be addressed, Jobe playing at full forward, I understand he was taking ling out of the game, but he really needed to kick those goals, Jobe for good the club pleeeeeaaaseeee work on your shot for goal!

i was very impressed by Ryder today though, played brilliantly against Mooney.

I think it's time everyone realised that when Geelong are on song, NO ONE will get near them. Take last year's Grand Final as a perfect example.

I wasn't overly disappointed about the loss. We weren't as bad as the scoreboard would suggest it just came down to the total dominance of the best side in the league.

4 days less break didn't help either:p

You'll play worse than you did today and beat sides before this season is out.

Think of today as showing you exactly what you need to work on to be the best.

Thanks for the kind words.

Sounds like our midfield was the big problem, I can live with that. Apart from JJ and Spike most of our midfield is pretty young so hopefully they learnt something today and be better for it...

You'll play worse than you did today and beat sides before this season is out.

Think of today as showing you exactly what you need to work on to be the best.

Hope you are right! As a Geelong supporter did you notice any positives from this game for us Essendon supporters?:thumbsu:

Thanks for the kind words.

Sounds like our midfield was the big problem, I can live with that. Apart from JJ and Spike most of our midfield is pretty young so hopefully they learnt something today and be better for it...

I remember one night in 2000 when we played a great game against you guys and still got schooled by 11 goals. Losses like this are the ones that show you exactly where you need to improve, both in a physical sense and a skills sense.

If I was an Essendon supporter, i'd be quite pleased with the performance of a lot of your young blokes. It was the senior players who let you down today.

Only two things have changed from last year, the year and the coach, same old same old crap, put us under real pressure and we fold like a deck of cards, no 2nd game plan, another long year ahead, hope all you Sheedy haters are happy. :thumbsd: :mad: :thumbsd:
You are a flog mate.

I don't actually think that 2 games is enough for you to assess the impact (or lack of ) that Knights will have on this group of players. Some of these guys have only ever had the one coach and I think it would be difficult to not fall back to old ways when in trouble or under pressure. I think we should be assessing the Club's performance at the end of the season not after 2 games.:)

I am not having a go at Knights, he is new to the job and must be given time as all new coaches should, it is manly the club as a hole and the way I see them think (or lack of) that I have concerns about, we should have drafted more, we should have traded more, we should of have had a greater change on our player list we didn't.

This year was the perfect time to do it, out with the old and in with the new a clean sweep, there is 6/7 players we should not have kept on our list, but we did not do the real hard thing, everyone was talking about Sheddy as the reason our on field performance was so poor, yes we are rebuilding again.

Nothing would give me more pleasure than to be shown wrong. ;)

Thanks for the feedback about JJ. Thought he was average against the Roos but when you win by so much it is easy to look over one players impact. I agree that one of the younger guys should be being used. Unfortunately JJ is at the end of a great career and we really need to be looking to the future with one of the younger midfielders. Please don't think I am bagging JJ it's just his time is nearly up.

I've been one of JJ's biggest critics so far and I think he should have been cut with MJ even though he had another year of his contract.

It's a balance between experience and bigger bodies verses youth. I think we get enough with Watson, McVeigh, Slattery and Lonergan to not need JJ.

Hope you are right! As a Geelong supporter did you notice any positives from this game for us Essendon supporters?:thumbsu:

As I said in the last post, there's a lot to like about your young blokes. Davey, Houli and Ryder in particular looked good, and I thought Ricky Dyson played one of his best games for the Dons today.

The other thing too is that I think that the coach has a style of footy he wants to play, and you could at least see they players were trying to execute it. As they gain in body strength and skill they'll be better able to implement what is required.

You've still got a lot of work to do though. As you can see from today, if Lloyd and Lucas aren't fit and firing, you don't have a lot of blokes who can kick goals against a good defense. Your KP players are all on the downside of their careers, and you will need some big bodies to stand up, and soon. Ryder cannot be the only answer.

As I said in the last post, there's a lot to like about your young blokes. Davey, Houli and Ryder in particular looked good, and I thought Ricky Dyson played one of his best games for the Dons today.

The other thing too is that I think that the coach has a style of footy he wants to play, and you could at least see they players were trying to execute it. As they gain in body strength and skill they'll be better able to implement what is required.

You've still got a lot of work to do though. As you can see from today, if Lloyd and Lucas aren't fit and firing, you don't have a lot of blokes who can kick goals against a good defense. Your KP players are all on the downside of their careers, and you will need some big bodies to stand up, and soon. Ryder cannot be the only answer.

I think KP aren't really our big problem as we have gumby and Neagle in the wings (doesn't help that they are both injured atm). Also I thought Laycock was average today up forward dropped alot of easy marks, Hille should be the one up forward with Laycock dropping back.

Atleast we found out how far away we are from the top, and boy is it a long way! :eek:

Hope their confidence doesnt suffer too much! Our game plan relies on some risk taking which we got smashed in today. Hope they don't go back into their defensive shell in response.

So you think very thing is just dandy at Bomberland after a 99 point thumping, I'm so proud of that score line?

Get real! only the coaches name has changed. :thumbsd:

We did go up against the top side didnt we?
ur a sore loser mate. put a sock in it