The SEN Thread 3

The Good Oiler and IPL - Part Deux

"It was just blokes playing for big cash and, yeah, whatever the result at the end was the result at the end" - Doran

Oh, don’t cover how un-Australian and yobboish Shane Warne was this time in India, what, embracing their culture in ways such learning to speak some Hindu, and indulging in Indian cuisine instead of his beloved baked beans. And how dare this womanising has-been show empathy for the people of Jaipur during his winning acceptance speech. Doctor Turf even had a crack about that. Just doesn’t fit the “disrepute” theme that Doran would have pursued with enthusiasm and gusto. C’mon, say it one more time: “Bad Boy” Buddy. If anyone heard DD last week try and justify to a irate caller his recurring use of that reference to Franklin, you know what I’m on about. He thinks he’s sneaky, saying there’s really nothing in what Franklin has done, but then pushes it endlessly - “Bad Boy Buddy.” A listener called him on it, too.

The IPL owners and sponsors donated about $1 million to the victims of the Jaipur bombings. WHAT, those robber barons? Surely untrue. What a great lift for the residents of the Pink city from the sport they love. The Dorans of the world that complain about "blokes playing for big cash" never take the risks and turn the wheels of commerce but the Murdochs do. Lachlan is part owner of Warney’s champion Jaipur team. This league expects to break even in around three years while it targets 8 to 14-year-old boys and girls to build long-term brand/team loyalties like in the EPL. Test cricket’s future is in the hands of fans, not sports bureaucrats.

I think it was Mr. downloadme who pointed out the lack of coverage during some nights before SEN went to their replays. You know, giving people righteous stuff such as scavenger hunts (dropping the content to RRR or JJJ credibility) to in inspire sports loving fans to tune in and be thrilled. Oh joy. Must have been a Brett Phillips off-night that there were no scores because he’s always pretty good.

The IPL was not to be outdone by the NHL’s biggest trophy in sports, the players were also playing to win the most expensive trophy in sports. A trophy incrusted with diamonds, opals, rubies, and different coloured sapphires. The Super Bowl rings of the New England Patriots last win each had 124 diamonds valued at around $30,000 a piece (finally some trophies that chicks can dig). The Ashes - how great, we win ’em and the loser keeps ‘em.

Why shouldn’t there be an opportunity for the Shaun Marshs, Geeves’, Thornleys, and Rochis, to set up their families’ future the way Jonathon Brown will his next year, by making some decent money in the Australian off-season? But people say they may get hurt like Matty Hayden and not be available for Australia. So what. I must of missed what Doran thought of MacGill turning up for the last two Test series hurt and unfit while also doing an award winning television show about wines. Marshy is gonna financially make out like a bandit and Pomersbach when given a chance in the IPL wielded his bat like a flame thrower, and they’ll both be paid for it next year. Don’t expect any tax-payer funded gold medal Olympians that Doran’s going to slurp over to turn down too many offers to line their pockets, either. I wonder how the Double D feels about that profiteering.

How about if Doran had’ve stopped whining about things like the size of the boundaries (ICL 70mtrs, IPL 60mtrs) and considered the wonderful opportunities the sport now has to keep players instead of losing them. The next generation of terrific young cricketers may not be totally lost to the sport the way Neal Danaher, Greg Williams, Bill Brownless, Gary Lyon, Chris Judd, Brad Green, Marc Murphy, and Brett Deledio were - just to mention a few from a massive AFL list.

Doran chose to not bother catching any of Shaun Marsh’s performances including his majestic 115 off 69 balls. Rarely in sports has a performance left four commentators in total awe referring to “the next big thing in cricket.” Hit and giggle be stuffed. It was magic to see Marsh motionless, one leg in front of the other, standing perfectly balanced with his bat horizontally in line to the point of his nose, frozen for moments watching the ball disappear over mid on into the rapturous crowd. Right out of the batting manual. I now remember hearing a talkback caller (owning Doran) challenging some of Doran’s comments to do with something about Marsh not being a next-level player based on IPL. Remember, the marvellous one didn’t see any of the performances but still professed an opinion. Marsh will be in all Aussie teams as fast as you can say SOS. Be very afraid Phil Jaques.

If not for Shane Watson winning the man-of-series, which I sure Doran now knows about, it would have a laugh to hear him say, “gee, it’s been a bit of a drought for Watson between successes ” upon his return to the Aussie ODI team. Twenty/20 has forced Watson to develop a change-of-pace ball and use the short ball wisely, as was the case with the once-erratic Sreesanth.

Or maybe it was the talk of smokin’ hot cheerleaders like the Redskinettes that so delighted analyst Ryan Campbell, yet the thought probably repulsed our traditional and politically correct Good Oil hero, even though there’s clearly no moccasin sloth in this troupe below.
cheerleadersteamphoto.jpg

Can you say Hail to the…just part of the reason the NFL’s Washington team has its 91,000-plus tickets for every home game sold out in perpetuity. $Ch-ch-cha-ching. Welcome to privately run pro sports, Doranites - giving the people what they want, regardless of what a bureaucracy says is best for everyone. If you don’t build it - someone else will! Listen for the wind whistling through the stands at a Pura Milk match next season, SENers. I know what you’re still thinking by the way, which one of those gals is the hottest? Fuhgetaboutit fool - there is no correct answer!:D

So much of the IPL was more than creating a show and spectacle to fill often-empty stadiums, it was a breaking of ground in regards to culture clashes, racial differences, and evidence of the rising middle-class in India. Doran should have embraced it, not given it the 1970’s World Series Cricket treatment. Aussie cricketers’ exploits do have some appeal with the station’s targeted demographic. SEN are culpable, too. All Mr. downloadme wanted one night was a simple score FFS.

It will be interesting to see if Doran’s exciting coverage at a bunch of Olympic sports that we can watch at a decent time on TV works for SEN (read: faked excitement like at the Aussie Twenty/20 game where Doran was a commentator). But then again he probably loves diving and the shot put. It seems the station has a lot of faith in him as an opinionated broadcaster. Let the cards fall where they may but I reckon Doran is the joker hand.

Now with time due to my dodgy hammy I’m gonna see if Dasher39 or Steve Salisbury is right about the varying sport coverage on SEN.

Enjoying your posts on here monty. But I actually reckon you are giving Snoran the benefit that his comments contain thought. I think he's just purely ignorant. IPL was on too late at night for him. And god knows he doesn't do any research.

Back to Doran regarding him giving an opinion despite not watching a sport/event, I think he just makes it up on the spot with what he assumes because he feels he has to say something about it. If he said "I haven't seen it or watched any of it, so I can't say", then we'd have an even more boring show as he'd only comment on a couple of AFL games. The one he commentates and another he may have caught on TV.

Edit - Yawn, another day, another Matt Thompson error/beat up. "Clearly offside". There was an Italian defender who contested a header and then ended up out of play but still counts as part of the offside calculations.

Can't wait to have this two covering the Olympics. Whoop dee doo.

:thumbsu::thumbsu:to Andrew Maher this morning for giving Foxtel a spray regarding their handling of Euro 2008(Apparantly you need to subscribe to Setanta Sports to see it).

MG took calls for about 20 minutes or so on the subject which was good to see. I think Billy was out getting the coffee's becuase I didn't hear much from him during that period.

:thumbsu::thumbsu:to Andrew Maher this morning for giving Foxtel a spray regarding their handling of Euro 2008(Apparantly you need to subscribe to Setanta Sports to see it).

MG took calls for about 20 minutes or so on the subject which was good to see. I think Billy was out getting the coffee's becuase I didn't hear much from him during that period.
He barely speaks anyway unless it's about frothies and a few sexual innuendos.

But yeah, Channel 9/Foxtel are pretty much the same organisation.

Anyone hear Maher giving Hutchy a good spray? Thought it was good to have people give him a serve despite him now working for SEN. Hutchy went on to call everyone at the station a bunch of hypocrites. Didn't even mention the station he works for is SEN or any of the shows such as the Run Home, referred to it as the Drive program. Usually the guys give a little plug to the other shows during the day to help each other out, but Hutchy is there for himself.

Think Maher even asked him if he's seen the footballers get into trouble with his own eyes (after Maher revealed how Collingwood have hired security guards for players after his Buddy story), Hutchy said no he hasn't
and if he did he wouldn't tell him.

Guess he has just confirmed he does hide in players rubbish bins.

Is Dasher39 right in stating SEN doesn’t cover all sport equally enough or is the S.S. American right that the station gives a broad coverage?

Hungry For Sport - 10/6/08
09:00 -10:00
No surprises here, it’s all AFL all hour.
It’s Grunk Denham day, and he goes hard off the bat on Adam Goodes and the Match Review Panel and KB defends MRP’s call on negligible instead of reckless. KB won’t budge and Grunk’s pretty agro. Putz Smith’s newspaper article gets mentions for Smith’s vision on how the AFL should spend Future Fund money in the 150th year to clean the slate of debt. Even 85-year-old Ivy Moyle rings in over Goodesy. St. Kilda must have lost on the weekend. Uh-oh, Richmond/Terry Wallace talkback angst, too. Grunk throws Goodes punches all hour and boxing aficionado KB puts up the usual stoic gloves-up defence.

10:00 - 10:20
Golf with Brett Ogilvy discussing lack of interest and sponsorship in the sport in Australia.

10:25 - 10:35
Get Something Off Your Chest [talkback]: AFL and golf (almost all AFL calls about Matty Lloyd).

10:40 -10:48
Rugby League - Cooper Cronk Report: Storm’s defeat due 10 players on S.O.O. duty has KB not happy;:mad: says Brian Waldron’s statements last Friday that Storm would be O.K., were flippant. Any Waldron/Bartlett friction is always value.

10:54-11:00
American Sport -Living in America: NBA play-offs, Major League Baseball. Wait a minute. Tiffany Cherry - WTF.:eek: Where the hell is Wyatt and Salisbury. How long has this been going on? Cherry’s surprised at a Coco Crisp‘s suspension being staggered so the teams wouldn‘t be hindered. It’s privately owned sport, sister. Roberto Alomar once had his suspension for spitting in an umpires face postponed till the next season so he wouldn’t miss the play-offs. Even though Alomar said the umpire was a bitter person after the death of his 8-year-old son. Now that league has the most powerful union in world sport! KB tries to mention Lord Stanley's cup but the line drops out. Tiffany Cherry on...where's Salisbury?:confused:

11:00 - 11:53
The Doctor Turf Hour: borderline slapstick from start to finish. Mostly Melbourne F.C, racing and betting stuff. Turfy takes some shots at Collingwood, AFL blockbusters, belts NRL/Storm situation on S.O.O., also the TAB and its website. Oh no, here comes Collingwood talkback callers and they crush Turfy whose facts were wrong. Turf claims he didn’t hear due to taking head phones off.:eek: Why too much talkback is death: caller seriously suggests St. Kilda replace team president with someone like Shane Warne. KB reminds caller that Shane Warne has claimed to have never read a book. KB prods Turf all hour long. Dr. Turf is doing the breakfast shift next week; he’s out of the KB show for a month.

Finishes off with a quiz.
Haven’t heard the whole show for a while. KB’s on top of all sports as always.

Dodgy Hamstring’s tightening - It’s The Good Oil time.

12:00-12:46
AFL: “The best, the worst, and the biggest surprise” in the AFL. Half-season analysis and goes straight to talkback - predictable, riveting stuff.:rolleyes: Champion Data stuff, etc

12:52-13:00
Tennis: French Open report. Doran proudly announces that the Good Oil was on Nadal to win the tournament. Now seriously…c’mon. Plays some other guy’s taped interview with Peter Johnson.

13:00 -14:00
All Things Health and Fitness: Hoping Paul Coburn talks about hamstrings. Oh boy, talking Chris Judd, Bradshaw, Malceski instead. In true Doran-research way he asks callers to SMS ideas for the H&F segments. Physical activity for those with disabilities, and Paralympics segments.

14:00-14:53
News Hour Two (with Matt Thompson): tackling Ablett…50-mtr penalty that wasn’t paid on Friday night…Steven Baker and Saints…Richo in a boozer…Eddie and the bouncers…Pies’ injuries…“the dynamics of the side (Tigers) need to change” - Plow.
[14:25] Wendell Sailor and League’s S.S.O. effecting the Storm. Soccer, cricket, golf, tennis, Rugby Union, motor sports, baseball, NBA, and boxing,
[14:30] Your Views - talkback/SMS: soccer, Ablett, drugs, Goodes, and more Richmond/Wallace angst.
[14:48] Wendell Sailor interview on M.G. from this morning.

14:53-15:10
Dunno, took Panadol for Doran induced headache a dozed off in the chair. Probably didn’t miss much. I doubt this 3-hour afternoon tooth-pulling exercise will be repeated again This guy should be accompanied by elevator music.

15:10-15:25
Quiz

15:30 -16:00
Dunno - caught more Doran induced zzzzzz’s again. Interviewing Dr Bruckner on Olympics and injuries, I think.

A fairly balanced morning and afternoon, I think.

16:00-19:00
Knowing what Schwarz is like with his commentating on TV, I’m avoiding him and the Ghost like the plague. Though, I’m guessing soccer and footy for three hours.

Foxtel is not to blame for the Euro situation. Setanta is a completely independent channel that you subscribe to on top of Foxtel. If they had the rights to Euro, it would be on Fox Sports, I guarantee it.

The people to blame are the Australian government for not placing what is the third biggest sporting tournament on the broadcasting anti-siphoning list.

In The Age was a story on a con artist taking money off families for a non existing soccer school which was endorsed by Arsenal in England.
The story reads Families heard the ads on Melbourne radio.
I am pretty sure I heard those ads on SEN going back.
Anyone remember them as the newspaper story didnt say SEN.
I wondered if this also caught SEN out of pocket like the families and if SEN did some groundwork before putting the ads on.

SEN had a very good weekend of close finishes which sounded exciting
The Sydney and Carlton games must have been good for football ratings :thumbsu: I think more would listen if a game was very close

In The Age was a story on a con artist taking money off families for a non existing soccer school which was endorsed by Arsenal in England.
I wondered if this also caught SEN out of pocket like the families and if SEN did some groundwork before putting the ads on.
Yes, I'm pretty sure I heard about it on SEN....I figure I must have, as I dont listen to any other station, and the story is familiar to me...interesting to know if SEN were out of pocket, as you say..

Yeah I definately remember them. I'm a massive gunners fan and I didn't think they had a soccer school in Melbourne. It was on for about 3 months.

Yep I defintely remember hearing those ads. Not good news for the parents who signed up or for SEN.

Finey's sunk to Doran levels. The next hour of radio; callers have to pick who is better out of Lance Franklin vs Gary Ablett Jr and Dale Thomas vs Marc Murphy. Think of the variety of answers that people will come up with. I think 3AW is on the cards tonight.

he mustve delved into BF for some ideas.

slow news day for footy.

Anyone who has any interest in soccer knew that was the case. It's only $30 to sign up for 1 month. Setanta can be viewed as any other channel on Foxtel. If I want the Comedy Channel, I have to pay for it. If I want Setanta, I have to pay for that too.

Foxtel is not to blame for the Euro situation. Setanta is a completely independent channel that you subscribe to on top of Foxtel. If they had the rights to Euro, it would be on Fox Sports, I guarantee it.

The people to blame are the Australian government for not placing what is the third biggest sporting tournament on the broadcasting anti-siphoning list.
I disagree. All sport should be on one of the Fox Sports channels. It would have been great to get the Euro on SBS, but I do not care for sports on commercial stations. Look what they do to AFL, NRL, tennis, overseas cricket etc etc.

Setanta is actually more than that. You have to sign up for a minimum of three months, meaning it's $45 plus the $15 connection fee if you want to watch Euro. There's the rip-off.

What's to disagree with? If you want it on Foxtel, then they had to have outbid Setanta for the rights, which I assume they tried and failed to. If it was part of the anti-siphoning law only SBS (presumably) would have gone for the rights, and we'd all be happy.

I couldn't believe when Finey said that his My Say, Your Say topic for the night.

I text him and said I thought he was better than that. The topic has been done to death already.

Yep I defintely remember hearing those ads. Not good news for the parents who signed up or for SEN.

Yeah the Arsenal Soccer Schools ran camps in Australia, but I believe the school itself was overseas. These were just weeklong camps or whatever.

I haven't seen the article, but from the sounds of it not good for SEN or the Gunners.

Does anyone think SEN's overnight schedule has gotten almost unlistenable over the past few weeks?

Last night we had Mark Irwin - who is this hack and why is he given a radio gig? Must have some dirty pictures of BP lying around. Tonight we have the ever-boring and repetitive GBU Crew, more crap. After that we have the local footy hour - one hour of some schmoe reading the paper's local footy scores, who wants to hear that? Considering neither BP or the guy have any detailed knowledge of the leagues or teams involved, why bother?

Finally on Friday we have some decent entertainment with the Gladiators. Not as good as it once was with the Schibeci-led lineup, but much better than everything preceding it throughout the week overnight.

Time to freshen the lineup BP.

Is Dasher39 right in stating SEN doesn’t cover all sport equally enough or is the S.S. American right that the station gives a broad coverage?

Evenings With Mark Fine 10/6/08

Now if Doran should be teamed with elevator music, then I’m anticipating a little alternative rock to go with Mark Fine. Haven’t checked him out since cricket season.
He’s held Eva’s slot, so expecting more than probably I should.

This is not a good start, though. I go to the SEN Program Guide at the website to get the actual program name for this slot and follow the “Click on the Program Guide below for more information” prompt; passing Morning Glory, Hungry For Sport, The Good Oil, The Run Home, down on to the name Mark Fine and “click.” Nothing! Fine just stands there with hand in his pocket smirking at me. Go and try it. WTF’s up with that. They can send Biff Doran and Mutt Thompson all the way to China but they leave Fine frozen there 24/7. Hey, News at Eleven: after a couple of years they’ve finally spelt Salisbury’s name correctly.
The SEN website is still lousier than any other sports radio website that I know of.

19:00-19:50
My Say, Your Say: Fine has a talkback/SMS segment comparing AFL player against player - Franklin (34 votes) v Ablett(37) and Dale Thomas(25) v Marc Murphy(29) and who’s the best player in the league, stuff. Fine’s taking votes and stretching out the segment ’cause he can’t get a volleyball guy on the phone. Volleyball guy, you should be ringing Fine! Wait, volleyball guy has retired, and Aussie team isn’t going to Beijing. Guess he doesn’t give a …anymore. Human nature 101.

19:50 - 20:00
Netball: Interviews a bird from some Vixens nightclub - so in that case I would have preferred a more relevant Zara Garde -Wilson interview tonight. She’s why I turned to crime and now she’s free of those scurrilous false accusations.;)

Oh, yeah, Netball. Fine actually seems to know what his talking about with officials, players, and stats, etc. As a mud wrestling kind of guy, I’m impressed he knows any of this, but couldn’t care less. Fine says he’s excited about some upcoming game, so now he may be pushing it a little.

20:00- 21:00
The Rugby League Show: Interviews by sidekick “Cactus“ Chris Couch with Rugby League guys who sound like they’d rather be slurping XXXX after a day of bricklaying. Fine keeps a handle but lets the rugby guys talk turkey about the QLD Team of the Century, plenty of discussion of State of Origin plus talkback calls.
Certainly no AFL here Sir Dasher39.

21:00-22:00
Body and Mind: The excellent Craig Harper to talk about anti-aging creams, but doesn’t really get around to it, but does question Rugby Union line out throw-ins and how it would work in AFL; talks about sports coaches’ IQ and EQ intellects and public liability for kids banned from playing footy, chasey, etc at school. Crazy talkback caller blames AFL and clubs for not having players visiting schools. Fine makes a great point about deli chicks at Coles which Dave the Drone from St. Kilda would hate. Sport be damned; Fine’s off on a customer service tangent. Stephen J. Pewk calls in on liability issue; Harper eventually cuts Pewk off as S.J. attempts to yap on. Pissa! :D

22:00 - 22:25
Cricket: Discusses all the Pura Milk team and District club moves with Eivion Bowen from Cricket Victoria. Fine’s on knowledgeable and favourite turf with this subject. Though Bowen doesn’t mention to Fine in Twenty20 story that Mike Hussey will be claimed by Chennai to play against Western Australia in the Twenty20 Champions League, which would have seen Fine probably blow a gasket. Topics cover all levels of cricket.

22:30 -22:40
Quiz - Finey’s Final Five: Questions about Essendon with one caller. Not how I remember late night quiz format. Runs out of time for promoted second Final Five quiz.

22:45 -22:54
Finey’s Back Page: Gold Coast Bulletin - and more Rugby League discussion and new stadium on the Gold Coast.

23:00-00:00
The Four Diegos: Soccer, soccer, and more soccer.

I’m no Mark Fine fan, but this was certainly upbeat four hours that covered several sports and topics exclusively. Decent evening with Mark Fine. :thumbsu: The argument against SEN covering too much AFL is clearly teetering on the precipice. Break out the stogie Mr. Salisbury. Volleyball guy never rings in, either.

Monty I have enjoyed your run downs of each show, great work. It is an interesting research method and would have to be done daily over a couple of weeks to get a full comprehension of what SEN covers.