Warnock and 69 for 24 56 72 confirmed

I mean let's be honest, what has Warnock ever done? Complete dud and will fail at Carlton with the rest of the "ruckmen" they have picked up over the last 8 years. Useless hack of a player. ;)

Should have got more for him probably, but not much you can do with uncontracted players.

Having had the displeasure of watching our club try to get a fair trade from Carlton for Judd when the odds were stacked against us last year, I can now sympathise with you as you try to come to grips with this trade.

As soon as Warnock said he wanted to go to Carlton, Freo were screwed. No other clubs could probably be bothered trying to convince Warnock otherwise so there were no other offers and to lose a promising ruckman for nothing would have been a terrible result.

In the end you got the best deal you could even if it was less than fair value.

Nothing will help the sour taste it leaves behind though.

On a bright note at least we can now share our hatred of Carlton:cool:

Can I ask a question why didn't you guys take our third round pick? That seems a bit strange.

I'm guessing because you wouldn't offer it?

If we were allowed to steal picks you didn't offer we would've just taken #6.

I think we did offer #24 third and fourth round.

Of course you didn't.

Are you trying to tell me that you offered 2nd, 3rd and 4th round and we knocked it back for 2nd and 4th (and 5th round downgrade)?

Well I think we can now officially say, that the one and only requirement to be employed by the Fremantle Football Club is to be an incompetent fool. It's been the only criteria we've used since day 1.

This lot are making Schwabby look like a #@$@#$@$ing genius. :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Wow we got rooted.

This sucks without us giving 69. Nothing we can do about it now.

Pretty aweful.

24 + 40 would of been semi acceptable. Absolutely rooted.

Selection 40 would've been the biggest sticking point for Carlton. They would've been left with picks 6, 56 and 69 (72) if they'd given it up. Was never going to happen.

At the end of the day Fremantle didn't have much ground to stand on. With all the retirements we need players. As much as I would've loved to see Fremantle let him walk to the PSD and then re-draft him the club was never going to do that. Warnock ultimately would've ended up at Carlton and we'd look like *******s.

Besides, Kepler>>>>>>>>>Warnock

Well all I can say you guys had all week to take #24 and agree on others things. But you kept saying that you wouldn't accept #24, not you guys have gone and taken #24 and #56 and 72, 72 is actually a downgrade from what we had initially offered you guys. Like I have said before I do hope #24 turns into a gun for you guys #56 might be a good player but #72 is a big big raffle.

This lot are making Schwabby look like a #@$@#$@$ing genius. :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Let's not go overboard.

At very best Schwab would've accepted 24 straight of the bat and we would've missed out on the extra pick. At worst he would've... well... that doesn't even bear thinking about.

Sometimes you just have to play the cards you're dealt and this is about as good as we could hope.

This is a strong draft and the last uncompromised draft for maybe 3 years. No one was trading early picks and Carlton had their hands ties in that regard. Especially given both West Coast and Melbourne get priority picks and didn't want to trade them. They have 6 of the first 20 between them.

Their is also a problem in that Warnock could see the writing on the wall in that Sandi is an all AA ruckman with another good 3-4 years at least so he isn't going to get the No 1 spot. You can't blame him for wanting to go.

We have 3 of the first 25 selections which increase our chances of snaffling someone top shelf and I'm willing to back Smarty to get us some good un's. Look at Ibbo who was an unknown when selected at 26. Chopper Mayne was late 20's pick. Mundy was pick 19.

For me, if we can keep the team healthy, particularly Hasleby and Headland and Schammer plays like he did at the end of last season we could zoom up the ladder. Just need a little bit of luck.

Well I think we can now officially say, that the one and only requirement to be employed by the Fremantle Football Club is to be an incompetent fool. It's been the only criteria we've used since day 1.

Chook, don't be a flogger :D

Let's not go overboard.

At very best Schwab would've accepted 24 straight of the bat and we would've missed out on the extra pick. At worst he would've... well... that doesn't even bear thinking about.

At least Schwab had the balls to do deals and get what he went after. If he said something would happen, you could damn well count on it happening.

This lot have lost Carr for nothing, talked the talk all week, and when it's come to showing some balls they've been left wanting. They make Gary Ablett look tough.

Selection 40 would've been the biggest sticking point for Carlton. They would've been left with picks 6, 56 and 69 (72) if they'd given it up. Was never going to happen.

At the end of the day Fremantle didn't have much ground to stand on. With all the retirements we need players. As much as I would've loved to see Fremantle let him walk to the PSD and then re-draft him the club was never going to do that. Warnock ultimately would've ended up at Carlton and we'd look like *******s.

Besides, Kepler>>>>>>>>>Warnock

Spot on Prattsta, I reckon it's the best deal we could have done under the circumstances.

Sometimes you just have to play the cards you're dealt and this is about as good as we could hope.

This is a strong draft and the last uncompromised draft for maybe 3 years. No one was trading early picks and Carlton had their hands ties in that regard. Especially given both West Coast and Melbourne get priority picks and didn't want to trade them. They have 6 of the first 20 between them.

Their is also a problem in that Warnock could see the writing on the wall in that Sandi is an all AA ruckman with another good 3-4 years at least so he isn't going to get the No 1 spot. You can't blame him for wanting to go.

We have 3 of the first 25 selections which increase our chances of snaffling someone top shelf and I'm willing to back Smarty to get us some good un's. Look at Ibbo who was an unknown when selected at 26. Chopper Mayne was late 20's pick. Mundy was pick 19.

For me, if we can keep the team healthy, particularly Hasleby and Headland and Schammer plays like he did at the end of last season we could zoom up the ladder. Just need a little bit of luck.

Clayton was 24 I think and Chopper in the 40's

Meh. It is a break-even. Would have been happy for the little upstart prick to be pushed off to PSD, but we get an extra pick for him and who knows, mite get a rough diamond. Not bad, not jump up and down exciting either. Wouldnt it be a shame if Kruzer completely dominated Carltons ruck nxt yr and Robbie ends up playing VFL!:thumbsu:

It doesn't matter, that pick 72 will probably move about 10 places when other clubs start passing

I will be watching closely to see if Carlton use their new pick 69 - wouldn't it be bloody ironic if they passed ... then to boot, the one team still going ahead of us pick up the best ever 5th rounder that we had our eyes on ... sorry all, just feeling a bit pessimistic :eek: - of course it could go the other way too. :)

Warnock and 69 for 24 56 72 confirmed