Warnock and 69 for 24 56 72 confirmed

The Cats and Hawks didn't go around paying over the odds for other clubs' players. They developed their squad from scratch with the occasional hack from another club who they got the best out of.
Cats took Ottens and Mooney. Wouldn't have won the flag without Ottens.

Hawks have Gilham, Dew, Guerra and Croad (well.....they sort of developed him....sort of took him if you get my meaning).

Every club has "recylced" players..........as if I needed to tell you.:eek:

As for getting the best out of them, well, we took Scotland, Stevens, Judd..........not a bad group of "Hacks".;)

As for what we are paying him...........don't believe everything you read.

Moo said:
Don't know if I would be talking up Dick Pratt if I was a Blues supporter ...I'd be in fear of God that he was doing something that if outside the laws of the game ...God help you as the AFL will hit you like a ton of bricks.
12 month old quotes............No mention of the current "entrapment" case that will see the head of the ACCC lose his job?
News does travel slowly over there I suppose.;)

BTW, we have some more used players that might fit your PSD recuiting profile:
Ackland - lacks any desire to be a footballer, so you won't make him any worse
Saddington - best footy well behind him but still "looks" like a footballer. Fills the Solomon void.
Benjamin - lightning quick but has no skills. Suits your "run it out of the HB line then go sideways" gameplan perfectly.......just tell him to try and kick it straight.;)

Cats took Ottens and Mooney. Wouldn't have won the flag without Ottens.

Hawks have Gilham, Dew, Guerra and Croad (well.....they sort of developed him....sort of took him if you get my meaning).

Every club has "recylced" players..........as if I needed to tell you.:eek:

Yes, in their case, mostly discards from other clubs that they got the best out of.

As for getting the best out of them, well, we took Scotland, Stevens, Judd..........not a bad group of "Hacks".;)

To which you paid a deadset shitload of money for. Geelong and Hawthorn haven't paid over the odds for today's stars. That was my point.

Yes, in their case, mostly discards from other clubs that they got the best out of.

To which you paid a deadset shitload of money for. Geelong and Hawthorn haven't paid over the odds for today's stars. That was my point.
Sorry, didn't realise I was talking to the list manager at the club.....because of course, you are basing this on having SEEN the figures right? Not just on what the media tells you?:eek:

Try this as an exercise. Write down your club list.........and then write down all the numbers that are quoted for players being re-signed.......then do the math from the amounts given to rookies, first year players, second year players etc........(if you google AFLPA and look in the collective bargaining agree ment it is all there).

If you don't, then just have a look at the thread on our board that has tried.......you'll see that the money that is reported is ridiculous as the club would be over the cap by around 2 million dollars............;)

Managers use the media to push inflated figures for many reason, the fact that you accept them as FACT and quote them to me here shows you might be alittle naive when it comes to player contracts.

Warnock won't be on 1.6 over four years. Won't even get close.........and why would he want that sort of pressure for himself anyway? If he performs he knows he will be well looked after. The numbers were put up to scare off other clubs, and it worked a treat.:thumbsu:

Crap.

The rectal sphincter twitch that rippled through Warnock, his manager and Sticky Icky was well worth holding out for... :D

And the fact that Carlton were not able to get involved in any other deals must have been a little frustrating as I'm sure the pen was poised and ready over the Visy chequebook....

Pick 56 was the bonus.

Hardly worth the effort given the lack of depth in this years draft. Very hard to get to 50 names this year, so 56 will be a real throw a dart at a dart board type scenario.

As for the other trades, both yourself and Sydney were poised to do a 3 way deal with Warnock, ROK, and some draft selections, yet we were the club that backed away from that deal. There were also some minor deals being talked about in the media with regards to Bentick and O'hailpin, yet they weren't done due to lack of interest.

Hardly worth the effort given the lack of depth in this years draft. Very hard to get to 50 names this year, so 56 will be a real throw a dart at a dart board type scenario.

Given all the changes to Fremantle's list an extra 4th round pick was certainly worth the effort. That will give us 6 selections inside the top 60. Deep draft or not, it's better than having to pick at 85 and beyond, which was the scenario heading into trade week.

Sorry, didn't realise I was talking to the list manager at the club.....because of course, you are basing this on having SEEN the figures right? Not just on what the media tells you?:eek:

Try this as an exercise. Write down your club list.........and then write down all the numbers that are quoted for players being re-signed.......then do the math from the amounts given to rookies, first year players, second year players etc........(if you google AFLPA and look in the collective bargaining agree ment it is all there).

If you don't, then just have a look at the thread on our board that has tried.......you'll see that the money that is reported is ridiculous as the club would be over the cap by around 2 million dollars............;)

Managers use the media to push inflated figures for many reason, the fact that you accept them as FACT and quote them to me here shows you might be alittle naive when it comes to player contracts.

Warnock won't be on 1.6 over four years. Won't even get close.........and why would he want that sort of pressure for himself anyway? If he performs he knows he will be well looked after. The numbers were put up to scare off other clubs, and it worked a treat.:thumbsu:

Sorry have to go irony a shirt for work.

Will post later.

Given all the changes to Fremantle's list an extra 4th round pick was certainly worth the effort. That will give us 6 selections inside the top 60. Deep draft or not, it's better than having to pick at 85 and beyond, which was the scenario heading into trade week.

Outside of pick 30 in this draft it's almost irrelevant what pick you have. So saying we have 56 instead of 85 isn't saying much at all. Sure it sounds better in "theory" but not when you look at what that pick can grab you.

I can't believe people think we won out on this warnock deal, especially given our "stance". Should have just taken pick 24 on monday and STFU. A whole week to get a useless pick which we had to upgrade one of their picks to get is just ridiculous. We got one extra pick in the top 70 from this warnock deal, which we could have already got on Monday and kept some of our dignity. All future trades are now compromised by this, no doubt about it, the only question is to what extent.

I keep hearing the fact that Carlton should now watch out for both the Eagles and Dockers hunting "our" West Australian players.

If it has taken both the Judd and Warnock trades for your clubs to decide to do this, then I am worried.

Surely any decent club would be using whatever tools they have to lure good players to their club. The Dockers have done this and so has the Eagles, it is nothing new.

Headland, McPharlin, Bell, Farmer, Carr, Chick, Stenglein.......

It is swings and roundabouts, if you think Carlton did not fairly compensate you for losing Warnock, then learn from how we approached trading and do the same thing in return.

Yes both WA clubs have hunted players but they've also both always offered fair compensation to the teams they hunted them from. The thing is now after Carlton's recent trading form neither WA team would bat an eyelid at screwing Carlton out of their WA players for nothing if the chance arises.

Revenge is a dish best served cold and all that.

The thing is now after Carlton's recent trading form neither WA team would bat an eyelid at screwing Carlton out of their WA players for nothing if the chance arises.

I actually take this as a compliment, the fact that you think we screwed the two teams over means that we're on the right end of the trading ledger. Personally I don't think we payed over the odds, but we did not also pay massively under the odds either.

I'm sure as hell there are many Fremantle fans that would love to hear another team complain that Fremantle got the better end of a trade. Actually, the more I think about it, maybe this is why it hurts so much. There have been too many occasions where you've thrown the kitchen sink to recruit a player, when it was not needed.

With both the Judd and Warnock trades we did not MASSIVELY rip the other team off, but we surely did not pay OVER the odds. This is smart trading and list management.

Carlton have gone about a massive restructuring of our football department and recruit the best personel on and off the ground.

The Dockers have FINALLY got rid of Cuddles and Schwab, maybe this experience will show you how to act when you have the upperhand, unlike previous years.

Sorry have to go irony a shirt for work.
Are the mimes laughing in your head?

My comment is based on the opinion of some posters who regularly get very good info from the club and have proven track records in their comments. I'm sure you have posters on this board that have the same good quality info.

I'll take that over the opinions based on media releases expressed by posters on this board.
Thanks.:cool:

Will post later.
Oooo......can't wait.:rolleyes:

Yes both WA clubs have hunted players but they've also both always offered fair compensation to the teams they hunted them from. The thing is now after Carlton's recent trading form neither WA team would bat an eyelid at screwing Carlton out of their WA players for nothing if the chance arises.

Revenge is a dish best served cold and all that.
Just out of interest, do you hold the same animosity towards Hawthorn?

Over the Croad debacle? Not really - my animosity is more directed at the fools in charge at Freo who gave up a fortune for a player who didn't want to be here.

Whereas Carlton targeted a player we developed ourselves and convinced him not to entertain any offers from other clubs so we were screwed out of getting the best deal possible for him.

My comment is based on the opinion of some posters who regularly get very good info from the club and have proven track records in their comments.

You are basing this on having SEEN the figures right? ...oh no sorry you are basing it on some unknown internet posters who have sources at the club.

How do you know our poster isn't also basing it on imaginary friends with unknown sources at the clubs.

Little tip next time you criticise someone for stating their opinion as fact, you may want to wait a post or two before you do exactly the same thing.

One thing we do know here in WA is Robbie likes his cash (word is he was getting offerred 1 mill over 3 years here) ...I am guessing Carlton bettered this in both length of contract and money. We can angle that LOC is correct as Richmond made comments about not being able to match 4 years, so it is likely the media amounts of 1.4 to 1.6 over 4 are about ballpark.

As I have said before Pratt is a cowboy of extreme measures - my post was just an example of what a corporate cowboy he is. If it helps you sleep at night by thinking Warnock is not on at least 1.4 ...no worries.

Last time you had a wheeler dealer involved you cheated and got busted, I hope for your clubs future existence that you will not be so silly again.

However assuming your club is not stupid enough to illegally go over the TPP (which I believe is true for the record) you have some big contracts now and if you don't push up top 4 in the next 2 seasons and sit midtable ....well try telling Gibbs, Kruezer or Bower that they can not get a pay increase becasue there is no room.

Over the Croad debacle? Not really - my animosity is more directed at the fools in charge at Freo who gave up a fortune for a player who didn't want to be here.

Whereas Carlton targeted a player we developed ourselves and convinced him not to entertain any offers from other clubs so we were screwed out of getting the best deal possible for him.

I feel truly sorry for you if this is actually the way you feel.

Compared to what the Hawks have done to you, Roos and last week Sydney - and in turn the whole trade week (which was a joke) we have been thorough gentlemen.

It's not our fault the only other genuine club interested was a basket case in the Dees.

Interesting you lay no blame at the feet of your own club in this case to be able to convince him to stay, or for picking him up in the first place. Surely his "family" connections would have been clear from the outset when he was drafted. Due dilligence would have told you he had a close family, or that he would miss them.

You are basing this on having SEEN the figures right? ...oh no sorry you are basing it on some unknown internet posters who have sources at the club.

How do you know our poster isn't also basing it on imaginary friends with unknown sources at the clubs.

Little tip next time you criticise someone for stating their opinion as fact, you may want to wait a post or two before you do exactly the same thing.
Again, I'll take my sources given their track records, over Greg Denham any day.
But I take your point.:thumbsu:
One thing we do know here in WA is Robbie likes his cash (word is he was getting offerred 1 mill over 3 years here) ...I am guessing Carlton bettered this in both length of contract and money. We can angle that LOC is correct as Richmond made comments about not being able to match 4 years, so it is likely the media amounts of 1.4 to 1.6 over 4 are about ballpark.
......and the relevance of this to what was on his contract is?
Are you so sure those numbers weren't just spruiking for the club of choice?
As I have said before Pratt is a cowboy of extreme measures - my post was just an example of what a corporate cowboy he is. If it helps you sleep at night by thinking Warnock is not on at least 1.4 ...no worries.
Baby Panadol is the only thing helping me sleep at night.
Baby bear is cutting molars.:(
Last time you had a wheeler dealer involved you cheated and got busted, I hope for your clubs future existence that you will not be so silly again.

However assuming your club is not stupid enough to illegally go over the TPP (which I believe is true for the record) you have some big contracts now and if you don't push up top 4 in the next 2 seasons and sit midtable ....well try telling Gibbs, Kruezer or Bower that they can not get a pay increase becasue there is no room.
According to my sources SO THIS IS ONLY MY SPECULATION AND NOT A STATED FACT (better? :p) Judd's contract was heavily front ended, and Fev will be on the veterans list after next year (that part IS a fact), Houlihan the year after (if he lasts) hence lowering our TPP for three of our five highest paid players......IN MY OPINION.
Combined with the current loading they are swinging with Murphs contract (YET ANOTHER UNSUBSTANTIATED RUMOUR - NOT A FACT) there will be plenty of room in the cap.

What we have had over the past 5-6 years is guys that are "second rung" at best getting paid well over what they should.....just to make up the 92.5% of the cap.
They know this. They will be re-signing for less or leaving. I speak of Fisher, Bentick, Simpson, Cloke Russell etc.

I guess the future will tell all.

Disclaimer - this post was the opinion of Bluebear and not stated fact.:D

As for the other trades, both yourself and Sydney were poised to do a 3 way deal with Warnock, ROK, and some draft selections, yet we were the club that backed away from that deal. There were also some minor deals being talked about in the media with regards to Bentick and O'hailpin, yet they weren't done due to lack of interest.

Quote from HBF during trade week:
Carlton will not budge on selection #24. Makes no difference to us. We either get him, or we get a good player at #24. Fremantle though, can get something for him, or lose him for nothing, and he goes to Melbourne in the PSD.

Youy`re just pissed because you thought you had a clue, but were proven to be wrong, right:confused:

Outside of pick 30 in this draft it's almost irrelevant what pick you have. So saying we have 56 instead of 85 isn't saying much at all. Sure it sounds better in "theory" but not when you look at what that pick can grab you.

It's an extra 4th round pick in a draft where we need to take 6-8 players. That certainly isn't irrelevant.

I can't believe people think we won out on this warnock deal, especially given our "stance". Should have just taken pick 24 on monday and STFU. A whole week to get a useless pick which we had to upgrade one of their picks to get is just ridiculous. We got one extra pick in the top 70 from this warnock deal, which we could have already got on Monday and kept some of our dignity. All future trades are now compromised by this, no doubt about it, the only question is to what extent.

I don't understand the whole 'we should've just taken 24 on Monday' stance people are taking. You have a week to complete trades, that's why it's called trade week, not trade day. Holding out for the best deal is common sense. If they'd taken the first deal offered, you would've been the first person on here bagging them for it.

@ Bluebear

Fair enough ....we have managed to get through this whole trade thang without being derailed into personal insults so I guess I will just agree that time will tell.
Cheers Moo.

Have a good pre-season you guys.:thumbsu:

You guys too.

Tell Warnock I said 'break a leg' .....in the acting sense of the term of course.
I'll pass on your best wishes at the members day in December.
How many hugs and kisses on the card?

its funny, originally i thought we got screwed with warnock, but if phil smart can actually earn his money and pick up some young guns in our first three picks, and get a couple of good roughies with our picks from 37-56 everyone will be celebrating about how we screwed carlton over. the fact is, neither team will know who won untill the draft has happened, and we see how good the players we pick are. we could end up with a steve johnson at pick 24, or we could end up with a ryley dunn, at pick 56 we could pick up another chris mayne or we could end up with caleb mourish. on paper it looks as though carlton are just barely in front in the trade, but if we recruit well, everyone here will be stoked with the trade.

....... Peace :)

Warnock and 69 for 24 56 72 confirmed