James Hird

• Thread starter Thread starter Fino

I know Fev is a ********. I know Hirdy is one of the all time greats, a gentleman. But, to be honest, I thought he looked like a bit pompous and snobby when he tried to talk down on Fevola. I know he can and did as evident by the video but still I don't really see how that's classy.

Fev was being harmless, in that instance, and James shrugged him off like some kind of peasant. Doesn't matter if he is one, the people who are "judged" to be moral and withstanding from the community don't judge those inferior to them.

And what great reporting by the HS: Cooney flicked the bottle onto the floor and apparently that gets turn into "Fevola smashes Cooney's beer into the crowd." Not advocating Fevola's behaviour but Fev is being victimised slightly by the media and others around him hailed as Hero's when in reality they are just being normal citizens.

I know Fev is a ********. I know Hirdy is one of the all time greats, a gentleman. But, to be honest, I thought he looked like a bit pompous and snobby when he tried to talk down on Fevola. I know he can and did as evident by the video but still I don't really see how that's classy.

Horseshit.

Anyone acting respectable was going to look pompous when compared to the boorish act Fev was putting on.

There is no way of entertaining that sort of person other than stooping to their level, and why should Hird have to sell himself out to a drunkard just because there were cameras on him.

Fev was being harmless, in that instance, and James shrugged him off like some kind of peasant. Doesn't matter if he is one, the people who are "judged" to be moral and withstanding from the community don't judge those inferior to them.

And what great reporting by the HS: Cooney flicked the bottle onto the floor and apparently that gets turn into "Fevola smashes Cooney's beer into the crowd." Not advocating Fevola's behaviour but Fev is being victimised slightly by the media and others around him hailed as Hero's when in reality they are just being normal citizens.
That is ridiculous. Hird handled the idiot with class, wouldn't of been easy.

Some of you guys sound like a bunch of arrogant w***ers. You can't judge people just because they're loud when they have a few beers. You can't judge people just because they might not be as intelligent as the next bloke. You certainly can't judge people who work with the council and say that you'd avoid them at the pub just for this reason. Some of the nicest, most genuine people I know have menial jobs. Some of you need to stop smelling your own farts and look up the definition of the word 'yuppie'.

If you don't like what Fev is doing, I suggest you're following the wrong sport. It's characters like Fev that make our game great and it's sad to see the AFL becoming just a collection of overpaid, PC robots.

Yes, you can judge people for drinking too much.
You can judge someone for having no common sense.
No, it's characters on the field that make the game great, not off it.

Horseshit.

Anyone acting respectable was going to look pompous when compared to the boorish act Fev was putting on.

There is no way of entertaining that sort of person other than stooping to their level, and why should Hird have to sell himself out to a drunkard just because there were cameras on him.
I'm sure a "no thanks Fev" or "not right now Fev" would have been sufficient rather then "I don't think you know politics" (or whatever he really said.)

Don't that this is thread worthy...:o

I'm sure a "no thanks Fev" or "not right now Fev" would have been sufficient rather then "I don't think you know politics" (or whatever he really said.)

Hird didn't say that Fev "didn't know politics". In fact, he basically did say "not right now".

Fev was the one that made the massive leap from "now is not the time" to "you are a stupid moron Fev". How insecure is that bloke under the facade.

What part is ridiculous? The inaccurate journalism? The fact that we are celebrating people for acting normal?

It's ridiculous that you can judge Hirdy saying he is "pompous and snobby" when he was in a no win situation. He handled your idiotic forward with class.

No, he's just country. There is a difference.

You won't find him at a black-tie function screaming across a crowded room that one of his fellow leaders at the club is "****ing shit" or bellowing out "I've got a stiffy!"

He certainly likes to have a good time, but in terms of managing his behavior in the context of the particular situation he is in, don't even try to compare him with Fev.

Exactly. You get the feeling no matter how loaded Brown got, the worst he'd do is keep telling you the same story over and over again.

Watched it a couple of times, both times he came off as a condescending dick to me. He knew camera's were there and took it as a chance to belittle Fev and try and ride his high horse, I don't like people who act like their shit doesn't stink, that is the direct impression I got from Hird in this situation.

wow you must have some inferiority complex

Exactly. You get the feeling no matter how loaded Brown got, the worst he'd do is keep telling you the same story over and over again.

haha that's spot on I reckon :D

To be honest, Hird seemed like a bit of a dick to me. Fev was having light hearted good fun and Hird basically called him a ********, now I'm sure it's true but no need to do it.

Fev was bloody brilliant, the game needs people like him as much as it needs the goody goody James Hird types as well.
The game needs players like Fev because he is a gun footballer, it doesn't need personalities like Fev because he is a ********.

Well i have to say that finally Fev was correc, Hirdy is to smart to talk to this imbecilic w***er.
I generally like Fev and think he gets a bit of a rough run from the media but after seeing the footage over the past week or so i have changed my opinion, **** HIM. The w***er is lucky to only get fined 10k, he has done worse for the AFL then Ben Cousins ever did and he should be treated that way. He is very lucky his missus is a dumb bitch as well.
no need for that

You mean like Vossy & Blacky did in St. Kilda a few years back?:thumbsu:

Billard ball thrower got what he deserved.

Regardless, what does Voss and Black have to do with Brown?

How many times did Lyon/Brayshaw/Newman need to say that "what we showed was far from the worst of what went on...."

Fev is a goose. And the Footy Show might be upset with him and choose to sever their ties with him (although ironically him being a goose is the main reason why they have him on the show in the first place). But why did they need to throw him under the bus in such an obvious way?

They should have just shown the footage that they thought they could get away with and then move on.

If he offended anyone else on the night or got himself in trouble, then let those people deal with him.

I am not surprised that some people are still defending Fev and saying Hird was pompous (a very small minority are saying this). Fev acted like a tool. By the sounds of it we hardly saw the worst of his actions from the night. He continually does stupid things, (yet some people continually defend him). Looked like Judd wanted to knock him out. I think Alex Fevola knows him all to well, that is why she steered clear of him. He is 28, not bloody 15. Stop defending him people or blaming others (Alex, channel 9). He is a knob (when drinking, but also probably in everyday life).

the more worrying thing for Carlton supporters should have been Fev's blatant disrespect for his captain. All that pressure point stuff is so-so and could be tolerated, but that outburst at the end where Judd is walking away and Fev screams "YOU'RE F****** SHIT!" - that is a concern when your overpaid and inconsistent forward is ridiculing your even more overpaid but head and shoulders best player and leader.

Exactly.

If this were a Port player doing it to Tredrea/Cassisi I'd be very disappointed.

Keep in mind this is the stuff that was ALLOWED to be shown on tv.

Also, I've been one to sledge the twig, but the way fevola handled her was pig-headed, and she was clearly uncomfortable.

I don't think there'd be many blokes in here that would be pleased to see a 'mate' handle their gf like that.

If I was Fev I would not apologise or back down as this was a private function and people can live as they see fit.

a) It's not private when you are knowingly and willingly broadcasting yourself to the country.

b) Are you talking about a public apology? If it was a 100% private event (ie he wasn't doing interviews for the camera), I would still expect him to apologise to Judd, Brayshaw (and these are only 2 that we were allowed to see) that he acted like a ****wit too. That's what I would expect of him if he were my brother, son, or mate.

What a nice, caring individual.

And what a wonderful husband Brendan is to her. :rolleyes:

Typical that a guy can get smashed, be obnoxious and embarrass his partner, and ruin her night, a night all the girls really look forward to, and yet she's a bitch for not running around trying to look after him.

She had two children upstairs, as they had taken a room in the Casino for the night, so as for taking him home, how the hell was she supposed to do that? Try and get herself (heavily pregnant) + two young children + drunken 6'3 110 kilo husband back to their house. He clearly wouldn't come upstairs with her either when the party was still going.

As she said, Brendan got himself into that situation, and as a 28 year old man, that is then his problem.

And what a wonderful husband Brendan is to her. :rolleyes:

Typical that a guy can get smashed, be obnoxious and embarrass his partner, and ruin her night, a night all the girls really look forward to, and yet she's a bitch for not running around trying to look after him.

She had two children upstairs, as they had taken a room in the Casino for the night, so as for taking him home, how the hell was she supposed to do that? Try and get herself (heavily pregnant) + two young children + drunken 6'3 110 kilo husband back to their house. He clearly wouldn't come upstairs with her either when the party was still going.

As she said, Brendan got himself into that situation, and as a 28 year old man, that is then his problem.

Exactly, why didn't his captain try & stop him, instead of doing everything he could to get away from him? OH wait, a pregnant woman would be much more able to get him under control.

Also, I've been one to sledge the twig, but the way fevola handled her was pig-headed, and she was clearly uncomfortable.

I don't think there'd be many blokes in here that would be pleased to see a 'mate' handle their gf like that.

I haven't sledged her, but I've never really been a fan of hers (well, in the red dress, yes), but from the sounds of it, she was one of the few who actually tried to keep an eye on Fev and reign him in and look after him - if that's the case, then she can't be too bad.

Buck stops with Fev. He's 28 years old.

True. But there's no doubt an unsaid expectation he play the buffoon - Newman's done it drunk before and been on the borderline, Brownless has done it drunk before and been loud as hell. Fev had seen all this and knew the MO. Nine knew what they were after. They knew he'd be plastered and planned to give him the microphone with his previous form....

James Hird, absolute class act.

Did Carlton not say he was on his last chance, a few chances ago?
They should, and quite possible will, get rid of him. He knows how much the club needs him so from his perspective why would he change his behaviour. What's a $10k fine to him when his pulling in $600k a year. On the night he gave a waiter $500 to bring him more beers, when all alcohol was free of charge.
His behaviour can no longer be condoned or excused.
Juddy was clearly not impressed, and IMO I think he will be traded.