Society & Culture pushing in line

Not sure if this topic has been posted, but if you see someone push in line how do you react? do you always say something? does it not bother you enough to talk up? are you a que jumper?

For me personally, sometimes I'll say something, sometimes I won't bother, depends on my mood really

Got into a full blown punch up at kfc one day after some dude called my missus a stupid **** for what he thought was her pushing in, she was just cutting through to get out of the way of the door as it was packed.

Fast Food joints always have punch ons at about 3 am because of this.

Not a que jumper myself, I usually give the glare if jumped (like they'd give a shit).

There are two types of pushing in though, the soft and the hard push.

The soft is where theres a bar or something of the like, with a spread out line. This is less offensive, but less curtious as well.

The hard push is where there's an established line and someone just jumps in. Likely to say something here.

I say something every single time. Once after someone cut in line at a maccas and it was "their turn" to be served I jumped in front of them and the person at the counter served me because they knew there other person cut in.

I say something every time. It pisses me off most in a really long line, which I have been patiently waiting in, and someone just casually, or not so casually, walks into the line. Everyone else has to wait, so why not them?

Its worse when people who are right behind you try and sneakily get in front of you. I had this guy once who was behind me, tried to casually drift in from the side to get in front of me, and when he said something, he just denied it, saying he was there. He ended up getting worked up and angry about it.

IMO it is all situational... varies depending on:

- how badly I want what I'm in queue for.
- who it is pushing in line.
- what mood I'm in.

If I'm in line for for some highly sort after item (tickets to a concert/show etc) then I'm going to be pretty tight on who can jump in (perhaps a terminal cancer patient or similar). However, if I'm just waiting in queue for a bus or 'run in the mill' movie ticket I might be more non-fussed.

I wouldn't push in at a fast food place. That's just low.

At a bar it's different. I wouldn't actively push in, but if space opens up, i'll jump into it.

I've always wondered this: Does it count as pushing in if you join a group of mates already in line?

Wondered this too. I think it is socially accepted and therefor it is ok. I mean if someone needs to take a piss while their friend goes and lines up, you can't really complain.

I push in lining up to get drinks every time I go to get one. I thought this was normal behaviour.

Never pushed in at fast food places etc.

Joining a group of mates is usually alright in my book, while it may be a minor inconvenience for the people behind it's not worth getting pissed off about...usually people meet up in lines and if someone's running a couple minutes late they jump in with their mates...

One time I was lining up to buy a shirt, and some old asian lady comes through asking me if she can jump in front because her husband's sick and she needs to hurry up (in broken English). I wasn't impressed but waved her in front of me regardless. I was thinking, this lady has some nerve, if your husband is that sick, you don't spend 10 minutes in a store buying crap, and then inconvenience other people to make it quicker for yourself. a) if he's that ill, you leave straight away, and b) if you're still shopping, I'm sure your husband will survive the extra minute it takes for me to make my transaction. In the end, the register next door opened up and we were served simultaneously.

Not sure if this topic has been posted, but if you see someone push in line how do you react? do you always say something? does it not bother you enough to talk up? are you a que jumper?

For me personally, sometimes I'll say something, sometimes I won't bother, depends on my mood really

If I'm not in a hurry I let it go. If I'm in a rush I give them a tap on the shoulder and say "hey back of the line". Never had anyone try to fight me (the advantages of being 6'4 and 110kgs).

I never push in line because I ****ing hate people who do it.

The worst offenders are drunk skanks who think because they've got **** they can do whatever they want. It's even worse when the bouncers take sides and let dumb ****s push in line or simply just let them in because they reckon they might get their knob polished for being such a nice guy.

I've said "back of the line" or "piss off" numerous times to skanks who try and push in line, then they make a face or call me an arseh*le, even though they're the ones in the wrong. Women are idiots.

I dont usually care to be honest, some one will eventually say something, one guy did it once, so i just casually got out of line and back in front of them, they looked shocked, but like me, didnt say anything and just waited :thumbsu:

don't really like people pushing in line,at the bar l normally just jump in a free spot and sometimes l have to pull out a pineapple so l can get a drink.l have spoken up when needed when people try to cut in (no punch ups).and at times l have let a lady/or little old lady cut in at the deli or what ever they buy so much stuff and it takes ages (damm those little old lady's lol).cant stand people cutting in fast food type places its just the low of the low.the one of the few times I've to maccas lately l waited for ages in line and some people came in the staff member opened up a counter for them they worked there they got there food before me l was so mad grrr.

i find the worst people, are the ones with full shopping trolleys and wont just say ohh, you only have 2 items, go ahead mate, they irritate me

I never push in line because I ****ing hate people who do it.

The worst offenders are drunk skanks who think because they've got **** they can do whatever they want. It's even worse when the bouncers take sides and let dumb ****s push in line or simply just let them in because they reckon they might get their knob polished for being such a nice guy.

I've said "back of the line" or "piss off" numerous times to skanks who try and push in line, then they make a face or call me an arseh*le, even though they're the ones in the wrong. Women are idiots.

QFT.

6 Quoted for truth's

So rude. :thumbsd:

I've always wanted to try out this line... its from the show "Dead Like Me".

Woman pushes in front of a queue in a scene.
Man: "Excuse me- are all these people assholes?" -guestures to other pepople in the line-
Woman:"Er... no"
Man:"So its just you then"

So rude. :thumbsd:

I've always wanted to try out this line... its from the show "Dead Like Me".

Woman pushes in front of a queue in a scene.
Man: "Excuse me- are all these people assholes?" -guestures to other pepople in the line-
Woman:"Er... no"
Man:"So its just you then"

That was Rube :) Love Dead Like Me. He has many classic lines.

I get the oldies pushing in all the time. Not cause they're in a hurry... just cause they're old and think they're entitled.

The other day at the supermarket some old greek lady wheeled her full trolley right up in front of me and I only had 3 or 4 items to check out. Looked me straight in the eye as she did it too.

I just grabbed the front of the trolley, wheeled it out of my way and said "I dont think so."

I've found the elderly to be the worst offenders, at least in my local area they are anyway. Quite often they'll push to the front of the line, because they are old and in a hurry etc.

Particularly old women. I'll say something to them and they just play deaf. The other thing that they do is if they have a reasonably full shop and the queues are long they'll go to an express lane and act feeble so the operator has pity on them. I don't.