Game Day Essendon v West Coast v Freo

Only NAB Cup so no reason to send alarm bells off yet but that was one of the most repugnant, abhorrent displays of footy I've seen in many years.

Disposal was E-Grade at best, and, as has been said already, it's almost as if they've spent too much time with Weapon and not enough time with the football.

Hopefully they can smash out the kinks and get back into footy mode before Round one against Norf.

Disappointed. :thumbsd:

Seriously surprised at the negativity, Its obvious that winning wasn't the highest priority, clearly taking a different approach after the fade out of last year. Sure the footskills were down, but its only the nab cup. Was super impressed by the physicality of the boys, consistently getting hands free during a tackle, in most contests we were punishing senior players with hard hits and coming off better. Both of those teams were using the forward press and we didn't respond, IMO looked like a coaching direction teaching how them how to move through traffic while outnumbered trying to create space.

Its going to take a while for them to become used to their larger frames, but from watching the game I get the impression we will seriously improve on last year.

Also this type of physical game plan isn't going to be that effective over 40 mins, its more of a break them down type over the course of a game type of thing. Much like Geelong did to the Pies in the grand final last year.

I couldn't agree more, we couldn't even seem to hit targets with handpasses. I would expect the skills will get better as they back of the training loads, but the the severe lack of skill and poise was still a worry.

you'd end up with a lot of soft tissue injuries if you did a lot of skills training whilst working heavily on fitness.

the skills training will be ramped up as they approach match 1 of h&a as in the next weeks rather than increasing fitness they will just be attempting to maintain it etc (ie not pushing as hard)

We played lots of kids and were missing our two best mids. Of course that is worse then most teams because of our unproven midfield combined with how good Watson is. Hurley out is a big hole too.

That said 30% efficiency in the first half against Weagles is just unacceptable. Hirdy should have come on the ground, blown the wistle to stop the match and got our players to do some push ups and run some laps. Then we could have gotten on with the game.

Obviously our game plan doesn't work with the new rules either. It seemd like a definite plan to kick out in front of the forward who is leading from CHF to the boundary 50m out. This lead to a number of turnovers. Also I'm guessing that our kickouts will be quick kicks 40m out to the boundary and either Jetta can run it out from there or there is a quick kick down the line from that point.

I'm prepared to write if off as a bad game but if the team as a whole kicks like that again at the next hit out then we should be worried about how the team will go this year.

Seriously surprised at the negativity, Its obvious that winning wasn't the highest priority, clearly taking a different approach after the fade out of last year. Sure the footskills were down, but its only the nab cup. Was super impressed by the physicality of the boys, consistently getting hands free during a tackle, in most contests we were punishing senior players with hard hits and coming off better. Both of those teams were using the forward press and we didn't respond, IMO looked like a coaching direction teaching how them how to move through traffic while outnumbered trying to create space.

Its going to take a while for them to become used to their larger frames, but from watching the game I get the impression we will seriously improve on last year.

This makes me feel a slight bit better! Didn't get to watch the game, had to suffice with Tony "Carl Hooker" Shaw...

Any players looking noticeably bigger aside from Melky and Colyer?

well i know it is only the start of the season and the NAB cup is a joke but i did not like what i saw...we will score easily enough but we keep making the same bullshit mistakes in defence...

also i love hirdy and have been following the mighty dons for over 30 years but how the hell that Henry Slattery gets a game is beyond me....he has nothing slow,cant kick,gives away to many free kicks i could go on and on....the bloke is a dead set spud but he must be rooting hirdy....

another player who should have gone a long time ago is mark mcveigh...to slow with his disposal and still tries to strut around being some kind of hero..how about pull your ****ing head in for once and play footy..he tried it again tonight being a tough man and it came off second best....

one one game but i don't like the signs and im not one that bags the club very often but those 2 players should not even get a game..

Hope you guys dont mind an impartial appraisal.

You were very poor tonight. BUT you crossed the Nullabore and played two teams who I rate as top 4-6 this coming year on their home turf. You should be worrying about how you rate against the other challengers for the 7-8 spot before looking further ahead, and given the situation nothing tonight really informs on that assessment. I wouldn't read too much into it.

None of you really know what pre-season training involves do you? The first 6-10 weeks is running- pure running as a general rule. It's harder to get that aerobic fitness back, and then they go onto bulking up during the rest of the pre-season, I would hazard a guess that they would've done at most 6 skill sessions before the intranet-club match. They would be looking more at skills right now than at any other time this pre-season. That's what pre-season entails. Skills are now the important training session, so they'll spend more time on them.

This makes me feel a slight bit better! Didn't get to watch the game, had to suffice with Tony "Carl Hooker" Shaw...

Any players looking noticeably bigger aside from Melky and Colyer?

Hooker I thought was really strong through the core, Carlisle looks a little bigger, Colyer is massive. Myers seems to have slimmed down a bit looked a little more mobile. Jetta, Reimers and Melksham look in ripper shape. Dell'Olio looked like a great pick up. Should slot right in with Jetta looking to spend more time in the backline. Howlett and Lonergan didn't look it heaps bigger, but were really strong inside. Hibbert looked slightly bigger as well.

Overall was impressed with Dempsey, Dell'Olio, Hooker, Howlett, Melksham, Carlisle, Ryder, Jetta and Colyer. Also loved Hibberts attack on the footy won heaps of it but let himself down with his footskills.

Has anyone else noticed how shit the umpires have been all weekend?

Not that I'm saying this has anything to do with Essendons form, just an observation.

This is their first game back too you know

Hell yeah.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Hope you guys dont mind an impartial appraisal.

You were very poor tonight. BUT you crossed the Nullabore and played two teams who I rate as top 4-6 this coming year on their home turf. You should be worrying about how you rate against the other challengers for the 7-8 spot before looking further ahead, and given the situation nothing tonight really informs on that assessment. I wouldn't read too much into it.

We were missing Watson, Hocking, Stanton, Hurley, Heppell, Fletcher.

And Zaharakis and Crameri only played one game each or less IIRC.

That's the top EIGHT in our B&F last year.

Anyone who is taking these results seriously is an idiot.

None of you really know what pre-season training involves do you? The first 6-10 weeks is running- pure running as a general rule. It's harder to get that aerobic fitness back, and then they go onto bulking up during the rest of the pre-season, I would hazard a guess that they would've done at most 6 skill sessions before the intranet-club match. They would be looking more at skills right now than at any other time this pre-season. That's what pre-season entails. Skills are now the important training session, so they'll spend more time on them.

Just wondering if this general rule applies to all teams and if so, why has their ball skills been better than what was on display tonight?

I thought they were trialling video review.
Dell'Olio's almost goal should have been reviewed and West Coasts goal with the handball behind the line as well.

Not that it would have changed the result, but all 50-50 calls were against us. Overall terrible umpiring. Hopefully they were just bad because of the new rules.

I'm far from concerned at this stage of the season but you can hardly say that was more than an underwhelming performance at best.

Positives:
No injuries - At least none that are known at this stage woohoo! More important than wins at the moment.

Dell'Olio - genuinely looks like a crumber who has a few tricks. Definitely better in the role than anyone we currently have (not saying much there).

Carlisle - Has put on some size, moves well and really clunks the marks. His disposal was a bit hit and miss but generally a decent first hit out for him and I think he could be a ripper this year up forward as our second key target behind Hurley.

There was a few others that I thought gave a good account of themselves such as Howlett and Hooker who battled hard the whole time. Jetta (rebounded fairly well but can't compete in the air defensively should be in midfield)/Reimers had their moments. Crameri was decent in the first game and put in a typical Crameri performance.

Most of the negatives can be more or less ignored given the team structure and the fact that its NAB cup rd1 but a few concerned me.

Negatives:
Our defense in the first game against WC - truly horrible, against Freo our defense was a bit better although we got smashed around the clearances unsurprisingly with the midfield we named. Our lack of a genuine kick-in option post Fletcher concerns me as well, I honestly do not see anyone in the team who is consistently good at it. Hurley is the second best option and he's needed up forward.
Undisciplined 50's - Really shouldn't be happening at any time.
Senior players such as McVeigh and Slattery looking way off it. Seriously experienced guys like these should be doing better at this level. I think McVeigh's time has passed (more from last year's viewing than just this game) and Slattery should not play seniors this year.

Despite all that I'm still upbeat, the side will look completely different when we bring in our senior midfielders. I'd be expecting us to slowly build up to a more senior side in our game against Sydney at Etihad where we should see the basis of our round 1 side.

This is their first game back too you know
That doesn't really mitigate how ****ing soft the decisions have been all weekend.

It seems that all you have to do is look at another player and the umpires pay a free.

Its like that theory of "the umps let the game go the longer the season goes" has been taken to a whole new level.

Hooker I thought was really strong through the core, Carlisle looks a little bigger, Colyer is massive. Myers seems to have slimmed down a bit looked a little more mobile. Jetta, Reimers and Melksham look in ripper shape. Dell'Olio looked like a great pick up. Should slot right in with Jetta looking to spend more time in the backline. Howlett and Lonergan didn't look it heaps bigger, but were really strong inside. Hibbert looked slightly bigger as well.

Overall was impressed with Dempsey, Dell'Olio, Hooker, Howlett, Melksham, Carlisle, Ryder, Jetta and Colyer. Also loved Hibberts attack on the footy won heaps of it but let himself down with his footskills.

ns3o8.jpg

Just wondering if this general rule applies to all teams and if so, why has their ball skills been better than what was on display tonight?
It does. Unless your team has terrible skills, most teams won't touch the football until 2 weeks into training after Christmas break. Their ball skills have probably touched on about 15 sessions, 20 at most compared to about 80-90 sessions running and/or in the gym. Especially the condition of our players, I'd say that we'd have had 15 skills sessions and about 90 gym/running sessions. So the ball skills will always be at their worst at this time of year