Preview Round 10: St Kilda vs Richmond

• Thread starter Thread starter LordJimmy

Have to laugh at the Tuggers board, JunktimeJack kicked 4 of his 6 when they were 40 points up.

Simpkin to wrap up the other (non leading) Riewoldt, Fish or Gwilt zoning off Miller/Vickery/ other random hack forward to come over the top.

Ray to Deledio, Jones to Cotchin, Gilbert to Nahas.

Might need to address Martin, in the first half.

That takes care of all their goalkickers.

Looking forward to putting the Saints back in their place Friday night haha.

In all honesty should be a ripper game. Very happy with how dominant our midfield has been and I know Blake has done well in the past but this is the key advantage for us.

Midfield matchups are sensational...

I am expecting it to be very close.

Alex Rance vs Nick Riewoldt/Justin Koschitkze – Not sure if Rance will take Roo or Kosi as not convinced he has endurance to run with Riewoldt.

I reckon Rance will go with Roo. You're massively underestimating his tank - Rance is a beast of an athlete and he could run all day with players like N.Riewoldt and Franklin (and has in the past against Goodes).

If Rance gets stuck with Kosi that could create a mismatch for you. The Trossman is good with his bodywork and niggling, he'd be handy at stopping Roo from getting his run going for those big leaps, but if Kosi gets a hold of him and parks in the goal square then he could show Rance up overhead. He's struggled with really tall players in the past (namely Petrie) and the difference between Roo's 193cm and Kosi's 197cm is actually huge.

Have to laugh at the Tuggers board, JunktimeJack kicked 4 of his 6 when they were 40 points up.

Simpkin to wrap up the other (non leading) Riewoldt, Fish or Gwilt zoning off Miller/Vickery/ other random hack forward to come over the top.

Geez never knew football was such an easy straight forward game. That's that then we might as well not even bother turning up.

Armitage/Lenny head to head vs. Martin

Steven and Milera "breaking the lines" as per Mr. N.G. Brown's Sunday Footy Show analysis

And another cameo from the Cripps/Siposs tandem act will do nicely, thanks.

Agree with everyone, this game should be a ripper. :thumbsu:

Don't know much about this Cripps/Siposs combo, never really heard of either player.

Siposs sounds like some kind of transformer.

Football is the winner with Richmond up and about.

As long as they are not up & about this Friday.

Real danger game for us. Richmond has finally beaten a top team & has confidence. Our game on Saturday was a bit sub standard, only good for two quarters, marred with poor kicking at goal & three of our guns Joey, Dal & Goddard are down on form.

Their backline is most likely a little better while Fisher remains out. The midfields are neck & neck, with our mids a little better overall but they having a clear ruck advantage. Forward lines I would rate ours a bit better, two damaging talls & a number of dangerous smalls.

Nothing in it really, whoever is harder at the ball & classier with their disposal will win it. Hopefully we can apply enough pressure to put them off their game; their disposal has been first rate this year.

Really like the injection of Milera and Saad in to the Saints line up.

Interestingly, Edwards and Nahas have been performing at a similar, probably higher level, for somewhat longer. But you certainly won't read about that on Bay 13.

Jackson and King will play defensive forward roles on the likes of Fisher (if he plays) and Gram/Gwilt.

Armitage was the difference last year, between you guys drawing and losing IMO, despite Milne's goals. Can't remember if he got the 3 votes, but really got under our guard. Very unlikely that we will tag anyone in your midfield. We'll more likely go head to head with a very defensive mindset, which has prett much been the Hardwick way from day 1. Tuck v Hayes, Deledio v Goddard or NDS, Martin v Armitage, Foley v Steven, Cotchin v Jones, etc.

The thing that may surprise you guys is our run, in both directions, which wasn't present last year. Guys like Foley, Grigg, Deledio, Cotchin are amazingly fit and have big engines.

Some of your guys have been around a while and have a big experience advantage, complemented by some very good youth, so it will be a ripper contest in the guts there. Wouldn't be surprised if Blake is instructed to "tag" Maric. I think "the Mullett" has now just had one too many big games to be left to do his own thing.

Good game, good crowd, no injuries. Good luck :thumbsu:

Batchelor and Ellis.
Or houli, or Newman...
"Geez never knew football was such an easy straight forward game. That's that then we might as well not even bother turning up."

By contrast, your coach is demonstrating he's no dummy.
The Saints' small-forward brigade of Milne, Saad and Milera has proved hard for opponents to curtail, having collectively kicked 21 goals in the past four matches.

Milera yesterday raised the possibility of a fourth goalsneak, Adam Schneider, returning from a nagging hamstring injury in time for Friday's match.

...Hardwick yesterday underlined the threat St Kilda — particularly its forwards — would pose as the Tigers chase a fourth victory in their past five matches, despite their tough fixture.

"They are obviously hitting their straps," Hardwick said. "They've been fantastic for probably the past three or four weeks. Under Scotty they've started to gel a little bit.

"A lot will be said of the midfield battle but we've got to curtail those goals. Their smaller forwards were pretty good once again last night — Milne and those sort of players — so we'll certainly have our work cut out for us."
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/tigers-stalk-the-talk-20120527-1zd7k.html

I reckon Rance will go with Roo. You're massively underestimating his tank - Rance is a beast of an athlete and he could run all day with players like N.Riewoldt and Franklin (and has in the past against Goodes).

If Rance gets stuck with Kosi that could create a mismatch for you. The Trossman is good with his bodywork and niggling, he'd be handy at stopping Roo from getting his run going for those big leaps, but if Kosi gets a hold of him and parks in the goal square then he could show Rance up overhead. He's struggled with really tall players in the past (namely Petrie) and the difference between Roo's 193cm and Kosi's 197cm is actually huge.

:thumbsu: cheers, must have improved since last time i saw him. Would Rance on Riewoldt leave you bit undermanned down back though? For some reason have in my mind he's been playing that kind of Sam Fisher role? (loose man)

I want to see Fray play Grigg the way he played Kade Simpson 3 weeks ago. A supreme shut-down job on arguably Richmonds best outside mid will go a long way to ensuring a Saints win

This may sound strange but i wouldnt mind seeing Dempster play on Nahas... Seems to dominate small forwards but not so great on taller forwards. Thoughts?

Others include:
Cockchin - Jones
Martin - Armo
Foley - Steven
Tuck - Hayes

I reckon Hardwick will set the Ranga for Nicky Dal... Hope Nick can work through it

:thumbsu: cheers, must have improved since last time i saw him. Would Rance on Riewoldt leave you bit undermanned down back though? For some reason have in my mind he's been playing that kind of Sam Fisher role? (loose man)

Rance plays the No.1 KPD role, and will take Riewoldt. He just happens to be pretty good at the rebound side of things also.

Griffiths will most likely play on Kosi.

Interestingly, Edwards and Nahas have been performing at a similar, probably higher level, for somewhat longer. But you certainly won't read about that on Bay 13.
I'd like to hear more. Because on a sample set of the last 4 games Edwards, Nahas, and King trail our smalls fleet by 15 goals to 21, and 32 tackles to 37.

Rance plays the No.1 KPD role, and will take Riewoldt. He just happens to be pretty good at the rebound side of things also.

Griffiths will most likely play on Kosi.

Have really enjoyed watching Rance develop over the last couple years. 2007 was the one year I probably paid the most attention to the draft (as far as reading about it on BigFooty goes haha) and always thought Rance would be a good pickup with Maxy getting towards the end and no real huge defender coming through.

Of course we ended up going down the Zac Dawson route...But now all is well with Tommy Simpkin coming through :)

Also pretty happy with McEvoy being taken with that pick :p

And pumped for this game. Gonna be awesome.

I'd like to hear more. Because on a sample set of the last 4 games Edwards, Nahas, and King trail our smalls fleet by 15 goals to 21, and 32 tackles to 37.

I assume you've included King so as to include Milne. I think you'll find every Richmond supporter concede that Milne has and will always be a thorn in our side, it goes without saying. We expect Morris to be able to play better on him than others before, but it will likely come down to supply.

I was simply pointing out that, with Milera and Saad being such an exciting prospect in the last month for the Saints, it's easy to overlook that we are not totally lacking in that area. Our guys just aren't flavour of the month, so you won't hear about them.

Hopefully our superior record at Etihad Stadium tips it in our favour. We're 4/5 at the venue this season, with the only loss coming against a Ross Lyon coached team who knew who/how to shut us down.

The exciting thing about our team at the moment is that we still have Fisher, McEvoy, Schneider and Stanley to come back in, while Gwilt will be much better for the run. The team has pace and is playing with flair but at the other end of the ground the defence is holding up superbly.

While the ruck is a concern, and I share AT's view that a back-up ruckmen should have been drafted for precisely the situation we find ourselves in, Jason Blake's ability to make a contest at centre bounces is first class. From there he can take advantage of his elite endurance to play as another midfielder. In ruck contests around the ground, our midfielders did a great job at being the third man up.

I'm enjoying the development of Steven and Armitage and can't wait to see how our midfield performs against one of the form midfield groups in the league.

I want to see Fray play Grigg the way he played Kade Simpson 3 weeks ago. A supreme shut-down job on arguably Richmonds best outside mid will go a long way to ensuring a Saints win

This may sound strange but i wouldnt mind seeing Dempster play on Nahas... Seems to dominate small forwards but not so great on taller forwards. Thoughts?

Others include:
Cockchin - Jones
Martin - Armo
Foley - Steven
Tuck - Hayes

I reckon Hardwick will set the Ranga for Nicky Dal... Hope Nick can work through it
The ranga is more a defensive forward than midfield tagger these days. We have been giving Tuck the job of going head-to-head with the best clearance player likely Hayes for you guys. Is Goddard playing as a HBF or midfielder? I think Jacko could get him.

I assume you've included King so as to include Milne. I think you'll find every Richmond supporter concede that Milne has and will always be a thorn in our side, it goes without saying. We expect Morris to be able to play better on him than others before, but it will likely come down to supply.

I was simply pointing out that, with Milera and Saad being such an exciting prospect in the last month for the Saints, it's easy to overlook that we are not totally lacking in that area. Our guys just aren't flavour of the month, so you won't hear about them.
I can take Milne "318 goals at Docklands" and King out of the equation and I think our pair would still be Jacks to your Nines.

Look, Edwards and Nahas might carve us a new one on Friday. And it's natural to follow your own team's players more closely than the opposition's. Your claim was "probably higher level". I was simply pointing out that our new recruits are fancied for good reason, and that reason is their numbers stack up.

I went to the Tigers board early this morning, to read your supporters thoughts on the game. I must admit that I was laughing so much that I had tears, with all of the comments on Milne.

Tigers supporters possibly appreciate Milne as much if not more than other clubs we play against.

The difficulty you will encounter this year, is that he isn't running around by himself. He now has Millera and Saad trying to shark the same balls. It will be interesting to see how your backs cope with this.

Its great to see Richmond up and competitive, (not wanting them that they are competitive enough to beat us though) its a great thing for their long suffering supporters (and can't we especially identify with that) and for the AFL in general.

It will be a great game.

Yep, this certainly is shaping up to be the match of the round!
Hopefully we can get 50000+ at Etihad. Roof closed, cracking match, should be a blast!

Massive game for both clubs. The side who wins gains massive confidence leading up to the bye and second half of the season.
I’m loving the way Richmond are playing currently. Saw them live against the swannies a few weeks ago, they looked great then.
Against the Hawks they looked even better!

The tigers deserve to go in as favourites, despite the saints winning one match and being several spots above the tigs on the ladder.

The sides look fairly even all across the ground, bar the ruck.
Maric has been in outstanding form as of late. No chance Blake/Kosi will break even in the hit out department.
Granted, while the saints were smashed in hitouts playing Carlton, the saints did win that match.
Unfortunately Carlton had sustained several injuries to key players when we played them, so I wouldn’t read too much into the theory that hitouts are not important to winning matches.
The saints midfielders will have to work overtime, ensuring they win the clearance count, will shutting down the likes of Cotchin, Deledio, Martin ect ect.

I really hope Simpkin goes head to head with J.Riewolt. While Simpkin isn’t quite as tall (190 vs 195cm), he should match Riewolt on a body on body contest, and has some serious footy smarts about him. It would be a really good test to see where Simpkin is as a footballer (remember he’s only played 10 or so matches).

Hopefully this matches lives up to expectation!