Opposition supporters turning up on team boards

May 8, 2003
Hamish Paradise
Islanders, Nuggets
What an odd, and disturbing trend, this is.
Not sure I ever go on another team's board after a match...I have no interest in trying to inflict angst on beaten fans. I know they would be feeling it like I do after a loss.
And yet some people seem to get a kick out of it.
Similar story with Facebook and text messages yesterday.
Living in Perth and being fiercely pro-North, yesterday was ugly.
The number of Eagles supporters, many of them who have not contacted me for months and some of whom have never even discussed footy with me before, that tried to ring me after the game, texted me, or messaged me on FB was incredible.
Leaving aside the fact I was working and didn't have time to take calls...I really don't care about what you think (other than the handful of Eagles/Dockers fans I always discuss footy with).
Enjoy your win, as I would if North had won, but leave me alone with the smug crap. I am only interested in assessing the season as a whole with other North fans and my mates.

Put yourself in the mind of a Perthite, and consider their options after an Eagles win.

1) Antagonise on BigFooty

2) Clean ute.

3) Finish off 4 pack of Woodstocks.

4) Walk the rottweiler/pit bull/labby trained to crave human flesh

5) Read the town's solitary newspaper.

6) Whinge about aboriginals/gays/women

7) Get lambasted from travelling Melburnians for saying "yous" too many times.

8) Head to the General Store.

Not sure I ever go on another team's board after a match...I have no interest in trying to inflict angst on beaten fans. I know they would be feeling it like I do after a loss.
The number of Eagles supporters, many of them who have not contacted me for months and some of whom have never even discussed footy with me before, that tried to ring me after the game, texted me, or messaged me on FB was incredible.
Leaving aside the fact I was working and didn't have time to take calls...I really don't care about what you think (other than the handful of Eagles/Dockers fans I always discuss footy with).
Enjoy your win, as I would if North had won, but leave me alone with the smug crap. I am only interested in assessing the season as a whole with other North fans and my mates.
We live in a redneck state. What can I say?!

It is a bizarre FB trait that has crept into BF....keyboard warriors.
We can't blame other supporters though, as there's a few on our board who like to troll other boards. What about all the 5 star d1ckhead supporters from clubs WHO DIDN'T make the finals coming on our board.....hilarious vaginas the lot of them.

The interwebs is a very strange place at the best of times. Personally speaking only, I've never been one to get too cocky with mates prior to a game against their team, nor to ever rub it in if and when we've beaten them.

It's not a mindset I can relate to.

I'd be beyond flabbergasted in your situation out West s'wiper. It's not too late to move to the Principality of Hutt River mate.

I sometimes read opposition boards when they lose, I never post or like posts though, more interested in the honest opinions from posters when they are not clouded by bias.

Put yourself in the mind of a Perthite, and consider their options after an Eagles win.

2) Clean ute.

As a West Australian let me stop you and correct your wrong generalizations

1) Guilty of trolling the Freo board after we belted them last year,got red carded very quickly

2) Don't own a ute,never have.Did own a V8 Commodore for a while

3) Don't drink any RTD crap,put a good dent into a box of 150 Lashes yesterday

4) Wrong try Am Staff X Red Heeler

5) Get my news online

6) Don't have a problem with Aboriginals,gays or women

7) ????????

8) What with IGA open 7 days

Not all West Australians follow WCE or Freo,a lot of us stayed with the teams we already had

bog.jpg

2) Clean ute.

9) Perfect Mexican wave skills

I don't think it's a BigFooty thing. Some people rub it in and others don't. A friend of mine told me his Collingwood barracking mother-in-law reduced her 5 year old Carlton barracking grandson to tears after a different side beat Carlton a few years back.

Some people are just PATHETIC. Some of them visit here after a loss. Some of them are out there waiting for their opportunity to put the boots in. They're neighbours, work colleagues, acquaintances, friends, rellos.

I don't think people quite understand how big the eagles are in Perth.
They are a club, brilliant at marketing itself to the masses, many of which have no idea about football.
Sure, they have their good football supporters but they would have a greater percentage of idiot fan than anyone in the league.
You just have to go to a game to see that, with the booing, sledging, dancing mascot, mexican wave and other rubbish more common at American sport.
Some of the abuse yesterday was unreal, culminating in some idiot (to the support of other eagles "fans") saying "dont worry about wearing black armbands, just worry about being not so sh*t".
I actually do not mind their team, they are generally pretty fair and hard at it, I even dont mind the club.
But gee, there is a large element of their supporter base who are absolute dickhead to a point beyond beleif.
I hope Collingwood smash them this week.

I find Carlton supporters in general / posters on this forum simply the worst going around, worse than essendon. Already had carlton friends spreading their crap as usual and saying that they will overtake North next year.
Carlton are coming, a warning to all :D

Opposition supporters turning up on team boards