2012 Potential Draftee and Trade Watch

• Thread starter Thread starter Turbocat

Troy will slip, as his career is 10 to 20 % shorter than any other player as he will be out of the game for another reco minimum
So no one will use a top 5 pick on that risk

Stringer does not have that risk

No chance on stringer, menzel maybe, helping keep menzel 1 helps

Hows does this help? Troy cant choose where he wants to go.

Not sure but I think he meant having Menz II will make it easier for us to resign Menzal I next time round.
irrelevant if we treat 1 properly, look at the Varcoe cases, and 1 has serious knee issues to get over before thinking of elsewheres, and if he did stray, look no further than Prismall.

The hoodoo surrounding Lars is yet to be evident from what I have seen in AFL football.

And from what I read on another Troy was recommended to take the procedure due to nature of his injury. Logically I can't see why a kid at that age who is pretty much a certainty to be picked up would risk his career with a questionable procedure.

Also if he is still around at our pick then he will be the 'best available'. Was a likely top 10 pick will only slip due to his dodgy knees.

Add in the having both brothers at our club could nullify the 'go home' factor I can't see why he would be a bad choice.

The hoodoo surrounding Lars is yet to be evident from what I have seen in AFL football.

And from what I read on another Troy was recommended to take the procedure due to nature of his injury. Logically I can't see why a kid at that age who is pretty much a certainty to be picked up would risk his career with a questionable procedure.

Also if he is still around at our pick then he will be the 'best available'. Was a likely top 10 pick will only slip due to his dodgy knees.

Add in the having both brothers at our club could nullify the 'go home' factor I can't see why he would be a bad choice.
What do you mean by hoodoo?
You have not seen the stats on those who have had LARS so far? Virtually 100% have re-ruptured, small case study, but significant. Why do the recognised top ACL reconstructors in Melbourne NOT do it, even for near retirees like Hayes and Krakoeur?
Menzel of the Troy variety may be a gem, but will almost certainly require a redo given all cases so far.
Having a year out is not a life sentence, but our depth is not what it used to be and I see him as a talented time-bomb. That said, I love Daniel as a player, and Troy has massive reputation. DIFFICULT.

What do you mean by hoodoo?
You have not seen the stats on those who have had LARS so far? Virtually 100% have re-ruptured, small case study, but significant. Why do the recognised top ACL reconstructors in Melbourne NOT do it, even for near retirees like Hayes and Krakoeur?
Menzel of the Troy variety may be a gem, but will almost certainly require a redo given all cases so far.
Having a year out is not a life sentence, but our depth is not what it used to be and I see him as a talented time-bomb. That said, I love Daniel as a player, and Troy has massive reputation. DIFFICULT.

I dont understand y people go with LARS. I have had 2 knee recos and on the last one i had 3 choices
1. hamstring graft again
2.LArs
3. New procedure of having a dead persons achilles.

The surgeon recommended 3. as it was heaps stronger then a hamstring and LARS wasn't all it was hyped up to be he said

I dont understand y people go with LARS. I have had 2 knee recos and on the last one i had 3 choices
1. hamstring graft again
2.LArs

The surgeon recommended 3. as it was heaps stronger then a hamstring and LARS wasn't all it was hyped up to be he said
The LARS advantage is not having to use your own tendon as a graft, which means no potential hamstring issues in the early return to sport phase, and a very quick rehab and turnaround time. Ideal for a gomer like me, 50+, low risk, but not proven for high risk sports like footy.
Personally, not rapt in a "dead persons achilles" either, but I get your reasoning.

The LARS advantage is not having to use your own tendon as a graft, which means no potential hamstring issues in the early return to sport phase, and a very quick rehab and turnaround time. Ideal for a gomer like me, 50+, low risk, but not proven for high risk sports like footy.
Personally, not rapt in a "dead persons achilles" either, but I get your reasoning.

Maybe just Maybe the dead people will get raided more and more from now on

I didn't realise there were so many doctors on this forum...
Doctors or not, if we have some real knowledge, might as well share it, it may help sort out those confusing issues.

I understand the risk. I think what really needs to be weighed is risked against reward. The margin of talent between Menzel and the next best option.

But I do see where your coming from. Last thing we want is a Scott Gumbleton.

Doctors or not, if we have some real knowledge, might as well share it, it may help sort out those confusing issues.
Thanks mate. I just reckon they should inject calfs blood into the offending appendage.
In seriousness though, I do think that the jury is still out on LARS, but the sample size is too low with regards to top level footy to make a properly informed judgement. I would risk pick 15 on Menzel v2.0.

Thanks mate. I just reckon they should inject calfs blood into the offending appendage.
In seriousness though, I do think that the jury is still out on LARS, but the sample size is too low with regards to top level footy to make a properly informed judgement. I would risk pick 15 on Menzel v2.0.
Fair enough, just saying what the current thinking is.
Troy Menzel will be a gun player, but there WILL be a time out, and he may well be worth it, thing is, he has had the LARS , it is not a decision to be made, the question is when will it go?

In reply to the OP - the best available inside mid. Same with our second pick. We've drafted alot of KPPs and flankers of late, but we really need to replenish our aging mids over the next couple of years. If we can snare Caddy with the compo pick and pick up another talented midfielder with our first pick we would've done well.

Troy Menzel will be a gun player, but there WILL be a time out, and he may well be worth it, thing is, he has had the LARS , it is not a decision to be made, the question is when will it go?

My question is, why would any responsible surgeon do a LARS procedure on such a young client, hoping to play at the highest level, if, as you say, it wont stand up to the inevitable rigors of AFL football?

To the OP...Smedts may be a winner from that lot IMO. Looks like a very good player to me.

Troy Menzel will be a gun player, but there MAY be a time out, and he may well be worth it, thing is, he has had the LARS , it is not a decision to be made, the question is when will it go?

Nothing in life is certain except death and taxes.
If we were to pick him and and it did break down on him though, I'd be inclined to fix both of his knees. But it may not come to that.

My question is, why would any responsible surgeon do a LARS procedure on such a young client, hoping to play at the highest level, if, as you say, it wont stand up to the inevitable rigors of AFL football?

To the OP...Smedts may be a winner from that lot IMO. Looks like a very good player to me.
I can only surmise that the LARS was used in conjunction with his tissue, or that it was done way before his potential was reality. It is not irresponsible, just not mainstream in Melbourne by the gurus.
I know of a surgeon who nearly exclusively uses LARS FOR ALL HIS RECONSTRUCTIONS.
Malceski and Rodan have returned successfully after LARS failures and redos.
I'm sure the Med teams will have involvement in the draft selection process.
Menzel will be an asset to Geelong, but there may well be down time, that's all really; When rather than if, I would suggest. Not terminal.

Nothing in life is certain except death and taxes.
If we were to pick him and and it did break down on him though, I'd be inclined to fix both of his knees. But it may not come to that.
Does not happen like that.
Players dont get off season appendicectomies just in case, or circumcisions just in case. It's a big ordeal, and done on a needs basis, ie injury.

Does not happen like that.
Players dont get off season appendicectomies just in case, or circumcisions just in case. It's a big ordeal, and done on a needs basis, ie injury.
Don't worry, I wasn't serious.
I just think the definite 'ticking time bomb' idea you've got re LARS could be slightly over the top. I do understand your point of view, and respect your opinion, but in this instance I think we can agree to disagree.

Don't worry, I wasn't serious.
I just think the definite 'ticking time bomb' idea you've got re LARS could be slightly over the top. I do understand your point of view, and respect your opinion, but in this instance I think we can agree to disagree.
i think we agree because even if it happens, we have a history of carrying such players, just not sure we can still tolerate that luxury. Hope you are correct, it may never happen, time will tell.

1. hamstring graft again
2.LArs

did you go with 3?

zombie knee! :eek:

can Troy jump like his brother?

Don't know much about him, other than what I read and he sounds like a seriously awesome talent.
Would love us to draft some more jumpers, let's take a new game plan to the air :thumbsu:
Sick of this boring chip passing, ground game that eventually gets cut off.

More Vardy, Menzel, Hawkins, West and do what the Eagles do and use their best asset to their advantage (jumping + height= no.1 marking team).