News New jumpers for 2013

Understandable, but FFS the AFL are becoming far too precious and are changing everything possible.
Makes sense to me.
Everything should be easy to work out.
Players from team A shouldn't look similar to players from team B.
Umpires shouldn't look similar to either team.
Trainers and Runners shouldn't look similar to any of the above.
So no player can think that the runner was a player. And so people in the stands/on telly can clearly tell who's who and what they're meant to be doing.
IMO Best Practice should override tradition. Create a no-nonsense product with as little confusion as possible for consumers.

I hate the wave and I blame bigfooty for causing us to wear that embarrassing piece of cr@p jumper.

ahh cheers, little bit unprofessional to start for the 2013 season without 2013 gear, in my opinion anyway.

It just depends when the Reebok contract finishes, it may be November 1st which means they have to still wear Reebok till then.

The wave just needs some tweaking.
And take that bloody Gold Coast logo off the middle of the jumper.

I literally lose footy jumper respect for someone who thinks the wave is anything but shit.

Like, it's a lame logo that just isn't football at all. That and the annoying fact that the front and back of the wave don't join up at all. But Andonis is diggin' it, so I guess it's doing it's job with the younger market.

Maybe they should have a red jumper, but with a yellow band running across the chest. At the centre, a simplified wave could come out of the top. Would someone mind knocking that up? I'm thinking maybe the Billabong logo but with a few more jagged bits, so to speak.

I literally lose footy jumper respect for someone who thinks the wave is anything but shit.

Like, it's a lame logo that just isn't football at all. That and the annoying fact that the front and back of the wave don't join up at all. But Andonis is diggin' it, so I guess it's doing it's job with the younger market.

Maybe they should have a red jumper, but with a yellow band running across the chest. At the centre, a simplified wave could come out of the top. Would someone mind knocking that up? I'm thinking maybe the Billabong logo but with a few more jagged bits, so to speak.
Arn't you one of the younger guys on here though Silent? As in teenager, although towards the end?

Does anyone else now feel that the Gold Coast team feels and looks like a franchise, but GWS feels and looks like a footy club?

Yeah, I'm 18. But there's no denying that Andonis, without disclosing his actual age, reflects the demographic that the SUNS are chasing. These are kids who are finishing primary school, and are heading into very social-centric part of their lives. Going out with your friends is aided by the fact you start to have totally disposable income. When you're 14 or 15, you might have a part-time job, and teenagers don't pay for rent or food (like we poor uni students...), they can buy a membership and a scarf and get sucked into the footy culture.

Getting them at that age is integral.

And sometimes, a kid might gravitate toward a jumper. Players, success, jumper colours... that kind of stuff can get you to support a specific franchise.

Does anyone else now feel that the Gold Coast team feels and looks like a franchise, but GWS feels and looks like a footy club?
I feel it as the other way around.

I can see GC with the same home jumper in 50 years time (albeit with a different GC monogram), however GWS home jumper will be changed like Port or Freo's.

Also GC don't sell out on their home games like GWS do with Canberra.

I can see GC with the same home jumper in 50 years time (albeit with a different GC monogram), however GWS home jumper will be changed like Port or Freo's.

They do in Cairns which is pretty much the same as GWS playing in canberra

Gold Coast will do a marketing overhaul as soon as they want to be taken seriously.
GWS will mature, and improve on their already pretty good marketing, sure, the design will probably change, but the big G's probably never going to go.

Lol thats a richmond home game in cairns...

Tip #1 go to uni.
Tip # 2 study graphic design
Tip #3 get a job with a clothing company
Tip #4 make designs that are apparently good
Tip #5 if you cbb tip 2-4 then you are in no position to tell a person there design is shit if your not going to try & take there job.

Lol thats a richmond home game in cairns...

Tip #1 go to uni.
Tip # 2 study graphic design
Tip #3 get a job with a clothing company
Tip #4 make designs that are apparently good
Tip #5 if you cbb tip 2-4 then you are in no position to tell a person there design is shit if your not going to try & take there job.
What kind of Disney world are you living in?

There are plenty of people who are good graphic designers, and have degrees, but aren't working in the industry, let alone their niche preference of sporting attire. What do you do for a job? If you're an architect who's into stadia, good luck getting into a hugely political and cramped sector. The world does not work like that.

Do you apply this to following the footy? "Don't give Tom Swift shit, you're not good enough to play AFL!" Or what about politics? Do you think their issues can be swept under the carpet because you're not in politics? Honestly, if we could only critique our peers, our human identity would be corrupt. Criticism is integral.

The Gold Coast jumpers are bad. It's simple. The designs are boring and pander to children.

Additionally, my life is not footy jumpers. And my life isn't even footy. Doing three years of graphic design would drive you absolutely insane, and for what? A shit job at some lame marketing company, in which you barely advance from? Yeah...

Either GWS has a massive overstock of 2012 gear to get rid of, or something new is coming in 2013. This was just put up on facebook (note the section I underlined):

"Our GIANT Clearance Sale starts in Blacktown tomorrow!

From 10am - 3pm on Thursday 25th - Sunday 28th of October we will be offering up to 80% off selected items with plenty of stock available, including 2012 guernseys from $30

Our sale is only available here at GIANTS HQ at Blacktown International Sportspark so if you're in Western Sydney, come and visit our friendly staff."

Either GWS has a massive overstock of 2012 gear to get rid of, or something new is coming in 2013. This was just put up on facebook (note the section I underlined):
Maybe they had a look through The Perfect GWS Guernsey thread ;)

I like the gold coast jumper as well as the 10,000 odd jumpers they have sold.

So i guess they just brought it coz they hated it?

Mate what u think & what the world think are 2 different things.

Changing jumpers drastically would be seriously detrimental to their brand. You need continuity and familiarity at this stage.

I reckon it'll be a change of manufacturers. That, or the AFL is willing to lose a bunch of money and sell them for cheap to get some more kids in orange.

They do in Cairns which is pretty much the same as GWS playing in canberra
No it isn't as it's GC's away game and the Canberra games are GWS's home games.

Please mate your are blowing this out to somthing it is not.

If a company creates a new product & it does not sell it is called a failure.

When i went to metricon last year & watched a game the amount of peoe in the clash & away was suprising.
They have 3 options to pick. Some like it some dont. But please stop trying to make it sound like because you think it looks like shit then in fact it must be shit.

The word i raise here is ART.

Some people think things are good pieces of art some think they look like that. Its the way it rolls

Gold Coast will do a marketing overhaul as soon as they want to be taken seriously.
GWS will mature, and improve on their already pretty good marketing, sure, the design will probably change, but the big G's probably never going to go.
When you say marketing I assume you just mean the jumper/logo because for all the mistakes made with the suns brand, the marketing of the team in ads, billboards and other media has been imo excellent.

Yeah, I do, and that is definitely true, I was up there in April and they really do have a way of connecting to the people up on the coast.

I think their branding would be a more suitable term.

Yeah, I'm 18. But there's no denying that Andonis, without disclosing his actual age, reflects the demographic that the SUNS are chasing. These are kids who are finishing primary school, and are heading into very social-centric part of their lives. Going out with your friends is aided by the fact you start to have totally disposable income. When you're 14 or 15, you might have a part-time job, and teenagers don't pay for rent or food (like we poor uni students...), they can buy a membership and a scarf and get sucked into the footy culture.

Getting them at that age is integral.

And sometimes, a kid might gravitate toward a jumper. Players, success, jumper colours... that kind of stuff can get you to support a specific franchise.
I'm nearly 18, and I agree with you about the wave and our age group.

Andonis1997, sorry if it has been put to you before, but do you buy into the "kids" market?

I might sound stupid again. But I reckon GC home is great.
Not asking you to put your age out on the internet if you don't wish, but are you part of the group that "is attracted to that look?"