Autopsy Round 1 v Carlton - Roast, Toast and Changes

• Thread starter Thread starter Morro

I was up in the southern stand any higher i would have been touching the roof...
Had a clear view of Reiwodlt turning left and kicking the ball a 1/2 second after the siren went...i was hoping like reiwoldt...umpire wouldnt have it unfortunately..
3 posters and a near goal...so close...sums up our whole night
ok take your word for i was below you about twenty rows back in the middle of goal and behind posts could have sworn kick and siren were as one

Grimes - griff
Foley - nahas
Pettard - Ellis

Ellis, nahas and vluastin Emergancies
You could go even further and suggest that in time.
Grimes - Griffiths
Griffiths - McGuane
Foley - Nahas
Vlaustin - Tuck
Arnott - Jackson
O'Hanlon/Helbig - King
TBH I see it more likely that when Pettard is ready he will replace Ellis in the back half and Ellis will move to the wing, possibly at the expense long term of Newy.

Grimes - Griffiths
Griffiths - McGuane
Foley - Nahas
Vlaustin - Tuck
Arnott - Jackson
O'Hanlon/Helbig - King
TBH I see it more likely that when Pettard is ready he will replace Ellis in the back half and Ellis will move to the wing, possibly at the expense long term of Newy.
Yeah, agree on Ellis. Needs to move up the ground to be more effective. Seems mentally shot deep in defense. Upfield, he seems more confident to create and take the game on

Grimes - Griffiths (yes for sure)
Griffiths - McGuane (no, McGuane will remain the 3rd tall for the rest of the year and potentially further with Todd Elton being at first drop for the role)
Foley - Nahas (these players are not interchangeable in their roles)
Vlaustin - Tuck (as long as Tuck is listed for Richmond he will not come out still has potentially another year next year in him)
Arnott - Jackson (another Jackson hating sheep uhhg, Jacko will be in our team for the foreseeable future, Arnott has proven zero even at Coburg)
O'Hanlon/Helbig - King (these players are not interchangeable in their roles)

Wasnt giving up on him moreso just saying he needed to pick up his game.

Just on a side note. I think sometimes fans can confuse wanting a player getting dropped to the magoos to work on deficiencies or pointing out weaknesses that happened, doesnt mean we want them to get the sack from the club.
Fair enough but he was copping shit in a pre-season game. He wasn't great in pre-season last year either and started the year off well (obviously missed round 1 due to poor pre-season) until the tram track injury. Kid can play.

Yeah since he came from my junior footy club i have a soft spot for him but he simply has to eliminate those kicking woes from his game to be a consistant good afl player. I want the boy to succeed.

Just realised we're playing St Kilda at the 'G. Apologies to any Saints supporters for sounding obnoxious but I think we're going to pump them. Crowd will be there for blood, 70k+ of which 50k will be there to see Richmond.

Out Ellis In Grimes

That is my only change, barring exceptional performance by either Vlad or Petterd in the VFL OR Foley being deemed fit.

Considering the Saints Round 1 line-up we'll need 4 KPD.
N. Riewoldt - Rance
R. Stanley - Griffiths
B. Maister - Chaplin
T. Lee - Grimes
S. Milne - Morris
A. Saad - Houli
T. Milera - Batch

We could always keep Ellis by swapping out Griffo and Grimes and making Batch a KPD, but Batch was far too good last night that the match committee would screw anything up.
Furthermore, Grimes will do 20x the job Ellis does in defence be it on a small or tall.

If either one of Petterd or Vlad have an exceptional performance in the VFL, then straight swap for Nahas into sub position. Both can be usable as subs. If Foley is fit, he takes precedence no matter what and comes straight onto the field, with either King or Grigg taking the vest.

I'd probably put Ellis as sub and drop Nahas. Ellis can play in more positions.

The sooner we can have our best back 6 playing together the better.
Morris Chaplin Grimes
Houli Rance Batchelor

Foley straight back in when fit but not for Grigg.

We have guys like Newman, Ellis and co that can provide relief off the half back when needed but the back 6 should not change too much. The only exception to this should be Griffiths - who I'd have as a swingman that we can play at CHF and when we needed can go back in defence and take long kickouts or play on a resting ruck or allow Houli to be free in defence.

I think fringe players like Pettard and Knights will get plenty of opportunities later in the year.

What I like about the gracious Carlton board is they are blaming umpires. No ones looking at the fact they blew a 3 goal lead. I would have thought the so called mental demons would have played up early if that was the case. Excuses, and shoulda, coulda, woulda's. This one has hurt them, and their next four weeks isnt easy either.
you guys almost blew a 7 goal lead... nice one mate :)

left field, actually really far left field, further than that left field

mcguane goes FF rather than his "providing a contest" role

jack plays high, has more contests and more handoffs with this running back offence

you are correct were you at the game i was and it was right in front of me to me it was kicked just on the siren so should have counted
The siren went before he kicked it. Apparently the rule is the qtr finishes when the umpire hears the siren, so the correct call was made.

I dont know if anyone has brought this up...
We did start the game slow...thats a concern...we could not touch Carltoon at that opening ...they were clean with their passes and marks, ran to position faster and for each other and for the ball recieve...really sharp compared to us...we looked lost and lethargic...
i remember thinking at the time...this is like a training drill...Carlton are making us look like stationary witches hats...
i remember also thinking also at the time...after all the pre season talk blah blah...NAB Cup wins...they still have the wood on us easily...
Are they that good???!...
Even with the new Malthouse game plan we collectively knew they would trial...the obvious spare reciever out on the wing getting the easy ball for a run...and spearing the kick into the forward line..for Betts to chase...we looked slow and reactrive...
Then around the 15 to 20 minute mark of that opening 1st quarter something happened...
Whether it was nerves or what...the two teams game plans started to collide with each other resembling an arm wrestle or what...
Cos for the next quarter and a half onwards we got the ball from defence and we peppered the goals...we were'nt as clean as Carlton...but we still got the ball..
I put it down to Deledio...his willingness to run the lines...his confidence to take them on whenever he had the ball...and great kicking...
Deledio was the catalyst that got us back into the game...he stood up when it counted...he turned it on in that quarter and got us going...

What part of in time didn't you understand , you did realise the players I had as going out of the side are the older players who have most likely reched their peak ?
Tuck , Jackson , McGuane , King , Newman and Nahas will , or should be, replaced within the next 2 years for one reason or another , it's called looking toward the future and for what it's worth one dimensial players who have limited roles like Nahas no longer have a place in the game , hence Nahas - Foley .

Another roast from the post match. Just read Jake Nialls article and all he does is make excuses for Carlton losing. Instead of talking up the Tigers opening 3 quarters where we dominated Carlton he focuses on the Blues comeback in the last quarter. The funny thing is that had the roles been reversed I have no doubt that all he would have written about is how Richmond once again failed the opening round test.

Now I can understand that the media and some of our own fans have doubts about us being able to close out games but you would think that on the occasion where we acutally do close out a game that there would be a little bit more of a positive write up about how we're getting better.

you guys almost blew a 7 goal lead... nice one mate :)
Had our conversion been better your comeback would have been nothing more than adding respectability to the scoreboard.

Foley - Nahas (these players are not interchangeable in their roles)
O'Hanlon/Helbig - King (these players are not interchangeable in their roles)
I think with the move towards capped interchange's, teams will be looking to replace specialist small forwards with midfielders who are capable forward. They will still need to run, chase, pressure, tackle etc. to retain the ball in the forward line, but I think the days of a one-dimensional small forward who can't play genuine midfield rotation is near it's end. We're lucky to have guys like Martin, Cotchin and Lids who are quality mids who are also very comfortable and dangerous up forward.

Respect your right to an opinion, and you see what you see, so no probs there.

I can have blokes potted for being dumb, slow, unskilled, selfish...whatever. But calling one of our men soft is a slur on his character. Maybe if you also said that at times he is incredibly courageous, it wouldn't sound so bad. Like last night backing into a pack for a saving chest mark, or later standing under a high pass and copping a smash to the head...then coolly slotting it from 50 (strength of mind there don't you think?).
Don't see it as a slur on his character.I see it as a flaw in his game,As for being courageous i expect Houli and the rest of his teamates to do exactly what he did,It's the nature of the game they play.

Reckon I've watched the replay 45 times already
Me to one thing that is obvious to me is that momentum changed just before half time with a selfish bit of play fom Grigg .With his back to goal he went for the miracle overhead kick.When the no brainer smart TEAM thing was to handball to Tuck or Martin.Certain goal!. Instead Yarran kicks a goal which hit the post! 2 goal turnaround.It didnt hurt us this time because we won,but i hope Grigg learns from it!

Grimes - Griffiths
Griffiths - McGuane
Foley - Nahas
Vlaustin - Tuck
Arnott - Jackson
O'Hanlon/Helbig - King
really...? do you want another grigg who just bombs it in willynilly?