Lewis Johnston

• Thread starter Thread starter Lawrst

Yep, our best player from the 2012 finals who was subsequently elevated to the leadership group has gone backwards significantly this season.

Surely you can understand why he wasn't turfed permanently early in the season though? It's not a Tambling we're talking about.

If I was calling it now I would say that we won't offer Porps a contract next season. That's how far he's fallen.
If I was calling it I'd say the only way Porps isn't in Crows colours next year is if he decides to leave.

Let me hit you with some Darth Sidious facts. They may be hard to take, so dont sook if you dont like them.

Our forward line/structure

resting mid------------------------------- tall forward--- high half forward (third tall)
resting mid/small or medium forward-- tall forward--- small forward

This makes it extremely difficult for LJ to get in our best side next year.

Im going on the assumption that Tex is available from the start, but i may be wrong

Tex is one of our tall forwards (lock it in)
Jenkins is the other tall forward due to ruck capabilities
Lynch is the high half forward (lock it in)
Resting mid can be any of the mids that float forward (ala vince, wright, thompson etc.)
Small forwards depends on FA, but likely petrenko and/or betts. Apologies to Callinan

How does LJ get a game? im not sure at the moment

His best chance would be to overtake jenkins, as he has been rucking the past couple of games. But this comes down to whether the selectors opt for the better ruckman or the better forward. Im not sure who they will go with at this stage, there are too many variable to consider, such as Jacobs's form, opposition ruckmen, opposition defenders. Im guessing Jenkins will get first crack though. Im certain i read somewhere that they were considering the 4 interchanges next year again? If so, then LJ and Jenkins can both play as every team will return to having two rucks, or one ruck and one forward-ruck.

Lynch will play every game next year, barring serious injury or horrible form. Favourite of the coaches and players, and will likely be in the leadership group in the coming year(s). LJ can't take this position for a few reasons. 1. high half forward role requires a huge work rate, and requires the player to spend most of the time up the ground. Lynch plays this role perfectly. Kerridge played lynch's role on the weekend and started well. LJ will never play this role, his height is also against him for this position. 2. LJ is an inside 50 player, almost like a goal shark ala gunston. The high half forward runs off the square into the centre bounce, LJ doesnt have the mobility to do this. 3. High half forward needs to find the ball, but also is required to do a lot of unrewarded running for the team

Now this only leaves Tex. I'm not even gonna bother explaining why he doesn't get tex's role, because tex is the club:D. A bit off topic but he Looked in good spirits during his recovery video, already running!!:thumbsu: Does anyone actually know when he is set to return? there has been no word from the club

So how does he get a game?
1. He takes Jenkins spot, and LJ and Otten share the ruckwork
2. The coaches restructure the forward line, but sanderson doesn't look the type to take many risks. But the 2013 performance may change this.
3. AFL change rules to 4 interchange players and no sub. Then all is well:D

As much as LJ has played well since coming in, lets put his performances into perspective. He kicked 6 against terrible opposition and struggled against better defenders. Im pretty certain he will just be back-up next year.

Without unleashing the wrath of god on good old darth, take a moment...and you will realise darth is right ;)

It isn't possible/will never happen.

read my earlier post
Except Lynch didn't get games last year or early this year. Let's not pretend he's an indispensable star. He's had a solid year.

Do we want him to be a high half forward? Or is that just where he has found that he can get the ball?

I like Lynch but I wonder whether we'll get to a stage where people question where he gets the footy and his possessions vs hurt factor.

Except Lynch didn't get games last year or early this year. Let's not pretend he's an indispensable star. He's had a solid year.

Do we want him to be a high half forward? Or is that just where he has found that he can get the ball?

I like Lynch but I wonder whether we'll get to a stage where people question where he gets the footy and his possessions vs hurt factor.

Last year we had arguably the best functioning forward line in the league, no new forward would have gotten a game, unless we had a jeremy cameron:rainbow:

Start of this year they opted for henderson instead of lynch. Henderson spudded it up, and lynch took his position. The rest is history.

It's not do 'we' want him to be a high half forward (i do), its the coaches, and they most definately do. Don't all players find spots where they can get the ball?:confused:

Where he gets the footy? he gets the ball where the high half forward should get the ball, all over the field and kicking goals at the right time.

I didnt say he was an indispensible star, but he is extremely important to the team, and will be one of the first picked. How many other high half forwards have had a better year?

Unless Vlad is going to retire there will be 3 + sub on the bench or 2 + 2 anything else is an admission that they got it wrong.

Lynch is firmly entrenched in the side at the moment.

Lynch will play every game next year, barring injury or unbelievably horrible form. Leadership group sometime in the next 18 months aswell. From all reports, coaches favourite, but just below Rory of course;)

The other thing is why couldn't the resting mid, play the half forward role? If I was rotating a midfielder through the forward line that is definitely where I'd play them. Apart from Dangerfield none of them are really dangerous inside the 50.

This would leave LJ to effectively take a Gunston like role in the forward line.

The other thing is why couldn't the resting mid, play the half forward role? If I was rotating a midfielder through the forward line that is definitely where I'd play them. Apart from Dangerfield none of them are really dangerous inside the 50.

This would leave LJ to effectively take a Gunston like role in the forward line.

Multiple reasons
1. Because lynch is the best at that position.
2. It is also a forward role, you must hit the scoreboard, and you do spend time inside fwd 50
3. When one of the talls goes in the ruck, they rotate to a deeper position, so you need someone tallish
4. It cant be a 'resting' position. There are no 'resting' positions at afl level, but some spots in the forward line dont require as much work as being in the midfield;so mids can be 'rested' there. The half forward role being the exception, they work as hard, if not harder than the midfielders, working up and back

Why is it a battle between those two players.

Game on the line after the siren who do you want kicking at goal LJ, Lynch or Jenkins?

Jenkins spot should not be secured until he is an AFL level kick.

Jenkins is a definite no

LJ: Great kick for goal, lacks mental fortitude
Lynch: very good kick for goal, mental toughness

Tough one to go with, doesn't matter how good a kick you are, all betts are off when kicking a goal after the siren to win

For those making the argument that LJ dominating melbourne & former AA key defender James Frawley doesn't count:

http://aflca.com.au/index.php?id=14&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=1204&tx_ttnews[backPid]=9&cHash=2d3e0bdd43

7 votes, 2nd best on ground per the coaches

Credit where its due

Having watched that debacle live, I think it's a fair argument that he was simply voted "43th least terrible on ground" :p

Seriously though, I hope he's taken a lot of confidence out of that last quarter, and it proves a sign of things to come :thumbsu:

I still think that when Tex went down, Lj had to come in for him & Jenkins stayed as a fwd/ ruck.
I didn't like McKernan and Jenkins as our forward ruck combo.
I know Jenkins isn't a good ruck but having Smack ruck/fwd & Jenkins F/Fwd, I just couldn't see working.
Next year I would be happy to see this set up
FF, Callinan, Jenkins, LJ
HF, Vince/Douglas, Tex, Lynch

Grigg will be on the wing FWIW
Could be and would have no prob with that, but I'd be happy with Smith and Sloane on the wings as first choice. In any case Grigg would be a high HF, can also tackle like a demon and would be damaging in front of the sticks.

What position is Wingard playing this year?...I'd play Grigg the same way.

What makes you say that mate?

I love him in clsoe from what I've seen. Doesn't need the space to be damaging - and we have guys who can run relentlessy better tahn him (sloane the prime example)

With Crouch's emergence, spots as an inside mid are pretty tight, he's also shown himself to be quite handy in that wing HFF role. My guess is he'll spend a lot of time in these roles for the next year or two, until we phase Thommo out of the midfield.

Could be and would have no prob with that, but I'd be happy with Smith and Sloane on the wings as first choice. In any case Grigg would be a high HF, can also tackle like a demon and would be damaging in front of the sticks.

What position is Wingard playing this year?...I'd play Grigg the same way.

I agree with 99 % of your post. Only difference in playing Grigg in the same way as wingard is pace - Wingard has a decent 20m burst whilst grigg is a tad slower. IMO, grigg has the better leg thou :)