Tim Membrey requests trade

Serious? That's a shame. I'm really not keen to take another one of those guys who plays key forward in lower comps but then needs to be second or third fiddle at AFL level. We already have Siposs and Lee. And picking up Sydney's castoffs doesn't end up well for us. He better not be TDL mark 2.

Schnieder and Dempster didnt end up too bad.

do you see what i see?
Little early to be singing Christmas songs, isn't it? ;)

Hope he gets to the Saints.

When it was first reported that he'd requested a trade, one Essendon fan page took "Tim Membrey requests a trade with Essendon and Western Bulldogs in hunt" to mean that he'd requested a trade to Essendon, but the Bulldogs are in the hunt. Not a peep out of them since. :p

Little early to be singing Christmas songs, isn't it? ;)

Hope he gets to the Saints.

When it was first reported that he'd requested a trade, one Essendon fan page took "Tim Membrey requests a trade with Essendon and Western Bulldogs in hunt" to mean that he'd requested a trade to Essendon, but the Bulldogs are in the hunt. Not a peep out of them since. :p

deal should be done in the next couple of days. we are waiting on the outcome of the malcheski decision

personally, I wanted goodes to retire to allow membrey game time, i reckon he will be a player. I would want their 2nd rounder but he is uncontracted and saints have first pick in the PSD. So I think a fair price would be the saints 3rd rounder (if they wanted to play ball that is and not try and f us over).

Our 3rd is around pick 40....Membrey is a former pick 47 and has only played 1 senior game in 2 seasons...But he has had 2 years of development and looked good in the NEAFL. I reckon our 4th (pick 58) will be the end result.

Sorry mate but giving you our 4th (only 2 spots after your 3rd) would be fair and wouldn't be fing you over. He's requested a trade, uncontracted, has only played 1 game and was drafted at pick 47 originally.

Our 3rd is around pick 40....Membrey is a former pick 47 and has only played 1 senior game in 2 seasons...But he has had 2 years of development and looked good in the NEAFL. I reckon our 4th (pick 58) will be the end result.

You have no.1 in the PSD. Personally, I would make you use that rather then your 4rth rounder. I'm easy.

We though have a good trade history so if it came down to it, i dont think the saints will scoff at a third rounder.

I could be wrong though....

You have no.1 in the PSD. Personally, I would make you use that rather then your 4rth rounder. I'm easy.

We though have a good trade history so if it came down to it, i dont think the saints will scoff at a third rounder.

I could be wrong though....

I'm just thinking our 3rd is higher than his original draft selection and he's done nothing really to justify improving his draft position. Also, StK have stated they aim for 5 picks inside the first 3 rounds so giving up an early third (the earliest possible) seems unlikely. Just remember our 4th rounder is only 2 spots from your 3rd pick.

And still pick 60 odd and used for an upgrade...

Everything I've heard is that Sydney is willing to facilitate the trade so I can't imagine they are going to push the issue to hard.

Membrey is probably worth what he was originally drafted at but that falls between our 3rd and 4th, and since he has requested a trade, isn't contracted and hasn't played much AFL footy then we will offer our 4th. If he was contracted or had played more AFL then we might be willing to part with our 4th, but as it stands I just can't see us giving away pick 40 for him.

It sounds like the Swans had options to keep Membrey but chose not to so I don't think they can be too upset about not getting full value for him.

Everything I've heard is that Sydney is willing to facilitate the trade so I can't imagine they are going to push the issue to hard.

Membrey is probably worth what he was originally drafted at but that falls between our 3rd and 4th, and since he has requested a trade, isn't contracted and hasn't played much AFL footy then we will offer our 4th. If he was contracted or had played more AFL then we might be willing to part with our 4th, but as it stands I just can't see us giving away pick 40 for him.

It sounds like the Swans had options to keep Membrey but chose not to so I don't think they can be too upset about not getting full value for him.

Yeah cant see us worrying too much, will probably ask for 3rd, give it a few days and accept 4th round and just get the deal done.

Probably rides a bit on Malceski and what round compo we get for him if he chooses to leave, given we've already locked up 3 draftees wouldnt think we'd be using too many live picks in the draft.

Syd's preferred trade tables are still Geelong/Saints/Pies...still get along best with them.
He wanted more opportunity and no way we'll get in his way...he has nominated a club we have a good relationship with and should hopefully find it easy to find some middle ground.
Done deal, doubt there will be any controversy or standoff story to come out of this.
Good kid. Few clubs were nibbling. Deserves to go where he would like.

Yeah cant see us worrying too much, will probably ask for 3rd, give it a few days and accept 4th round and just get the deal done.

Probably rides a bit on Malceski and what round compo we get for him if he chooses to leave, given we've already locked up 3 draftees wouldnt think we'd be using too many live picks in the draft.

Looks to me that you've currently got 6 players off the list (Malceski, O'Keefe, LRT, Walsh, Dick, Lockyer) and you've already added 3 which leaves 3 live picks. Presumably Lloyd will be a rookie upgrade and maybe also Biggs seeing as he's had three years on the rookie list? Which would leave only one or two live picks.

Malceski pick will probably be 39. That leaves you with:

18 (Heeney)
38 (Hiscox)
76 (Biggs?)
94 (Lloyd)
112 (Davis)

Maybe you'd use 39 and then try and get 58 improved? 58+Membrey for 41 would seem appropriate (though I don't rate him or his tatts). Leave you with 39 and 41 as your live picks.

Looks to me that you've currently got 6 players off the list (Malceski, O'Keefe, LRT, Walsh, Dick, Lockyer) and you've already added 3 which leaves 3 live picks. Presumably Lloyd will be a rookie upgrade and maybe also Biggs seeing as he's had three years on the rookie list? Which would leave only one or two live picks.

Not sure of the club's intentions towards Biggs but Richards will definitely be a rookie promotion. It was reported a while back that he'd signed a new two year contract which included a spot on the senior list. We also have a couple of other possibles, including a young ruckman Naismith whose already been on the rookie list for two years, plus Biggs, as you mention. So unless the club is intending to trade out another player or two, we could just have the one live pick come draft day.

If you really want to free up space we could take Hannebery or Parker for our fourth round pick? You might have to throw in a sweetener to get the deal done though.

Malceski pick will probably be 39. That leaves you with:

18 (Heeney)
38 (Hiscox)
76 (Biggs?)
94 (Lloyd)
112 (Davis)

Maybe you'd use 39 and then try and get 58 improved? 58+Membrey for 41 would seem appropriate (though I don't rate him or his tatts). Leave you with 39 and 41 as your live picks.

Yeah I'd say that's a fair enough take on it, as liz said X Richards will be upgraded, but really only looking at 1-2 live picks.
Membrey + our 3rd rounder for your 3rd rounder would be good for us if we do have 2 live.

Although this is also obviously assuming we don't trade any players in, and don't upgrade Naismith.

How about we trade pick 1 to GWS for pick 4 and whatever else they are prepared to throw into the mix that we are happy with and we then on-trade 4 to you for Hanners?
No :)