I just realized that cold chisel are more than just bogan rock and I don't need to be ashamed ...

what the hell would u melbunoids know about cold chisel anyway ?

You have always lived in a cultural chasm where the shit bands would be forced to go to get cheaper rent and hopefully get more than 50 thru the door. There werent even any bogans in Sydney back then. Just a general morrasse that lived anywhere west of the Pacific Hwy....they were, and still are, just westies.

Westies and bogans like metal...shite generic hair bands, glam bands, iron maiden type crap targetting the brain dead with three chord shit done loud. They like any shit band that tries to recreate an image that they dont even know has been done 1000 times before. They occasionally morph into assorted scrag like hipsters, who are actually the first generation of new world trash to have cooler grandparents than they are..everyone is cooler than they are.
A westie or bogan is just as much a geographic thing....in case you didnt realise, if you live in melbum your papers are already stamped bogan from birth. Dont blame me coz its just the way it is, and no amount of wearing your girlfriends jeans with a ****ter scarf and specs without lenses will ever change that sad fact.

The 3 bands we would see the most here at our locals were the oils inxs and chisel. These were the coolest bands in the world to us till they all either split up or went mainstream looking for the bux. When chisel split up Barnes fed the westies what they always craved...some sort of shit blend of trashy crap you could listen to with a winnie red and your arm around an ugly fat chick. Barnes deliberately made himself "bogan". Chisel were never and still arnt a bogan band. Barnes was just always in need of a few extra bucks and knew the flogs out west and in other more culturally challenged parts of the nation (like melbum) would drink it up like magic goo. Garrett turned into a massive flog and dragged the rest of the band into trying to feed the ****s and any suburban nouvo pinko lezzo that might tolerate their anti nuke pro abo all encompassing shite they started to put out by about 1984. The beaches had gone off them totally by then anyway...same with Barnes who had already migrated to playing in front of workers club type crowds full of westies and bogans from south of the border...playing up to that same working class hero image shite that even the PM was working hard at.

1983-1984
That was the cutoff.
After that it was all downhill for most of the better Aussie bands.
Dont lump Chisel in with Barnes' bogan solo shit he did purely to pay for his grog bill..and then use whateva was left over to maybe pay for the kids school uniforms.
Just sayin

No way of knowing if i was at this particular one at my local but i can assure you they werent a westie band.

F*** off mate.

You have always lived in a cultural chasm where the shit bands would be forced to go to get cheaper rent and hopefully get more than 50 thru the door. There werent even any bogans in Sydney back then. Just a general morrasse that lived anywhere west of the Pacific Hwy....they were, and still are, just westies.

Westies and bogans like metal...shite generic hair bands, glam bands, iron maiden type crap targetting the brain dead with three chord shit done loud. They like any shit band that tries to recreate an image that they dont even know has been done 1000 times before. They occasionally morph into assorted scrag like hipsters, who are actually the first generation of new world trash to have cooler grandparents than they are..everyone is cooler than they are.
A westie or bogan is just as much a geographic thing....in case you didnt realise, if you live in melbum your papers are already stamped bogan from birth. Dont blame me coz its just the way it is, and no amount of wearing your girlfriends jeans with a ****ter scarf and specs without lenses will ever change that sad fact.

The 3 bands we would see the most here at our locals were the oils inxs and chisel. These were the coolest bands in the world to us till they all either split up or went mainstream looking for the bux. When chisel split up Barnes fed the westies what they always craved...some sort of shit blend of trashy crap you could listen to with a winnie red and your arm around an ugly fat chick. Barnes deliberately made himself "bogan". Chisel were never and still arnt a bogan band. Barnes was just always in need of a few extra bucks and knew the flogs out west and in other more culturally challenged parts of the nation (like melbum) would drink it up like magic goo. Garrett turned into a massive flog and dragged the rest of the band into trying to feed the ****s and any suburban nouvo pinko lezzo that might tolerate their anti nuke pro abo all encompassing shite they started to put out by about 1984. The beaches had gone off them totally by then anyway...same with Barnes who had already migrated to playing in front of workers club type crowds full of westies and bogans from south of the border...playing up to that same working class hero image shite that even the PM was working hard at.

1983-1984
That was the cutoff.
Dont lump Chisel in with Barnes' bogan solo shit he did purely to pay for his grog bill..and then use whateva was left over to maybe pay for the kids school uniforms.
Just sayin

No way of knowing if i was at this particular one at my local but i can assure you they werent a westie band.

No love for GANGgajang? They were a Sydney based band that used to pack out venues in WA regularly, they were massive with the beach crowd here.

Saw them live twice back in the 90s at UWA and the Swanbourne Hotel, two of the best concerts I've seen.

No love for GANGgajang? They were a Sydney based band that used to pack out venues in WA regularly, they were massive with the beach crowd here.
Saw them live twice back in the 90s at UWA and the Swanbourne Hotel, two of the best concerts I've seen.

were about a thousand pop type bands that sprang up mid 80's. This one had some cred though due to one of the guys being from the angels ??? from memory, but never big around here at all. Not one hit wonders but had one big australiana type hit. Saw them down at the Mosman once but didnt have a clue who they were...dont remember but good chance they were on with divinyls who we saw there a lot...just not our cup of tea. Kind of "kids in the kitchen/pseudo echo" type pop without the full explosion brain mannix mullets. Didnt know they were a Sydney band...might have been i got no idea other than a vague memory that one of them might have been in the angels. Apparently good live, but every band had to be.

1983-1984
That was the cutoff.
Just sayin

You're quite the literary man, Mr. Bollox. However, you do seem to carry around that signature suburban, small town, bogan mentality yourself. If you're from Melbum you're a bogan?

Lol.

were about a thousand pop type bands that sprang up mid 80's. This one had some cred though due to one of the guys being from the angels ??? from memory, but never big around here at all. Not one hit wonders but had one big australiana type hit. Saw them down at the Mosman once but didnt have a clue who they were...dont remember but good chance they were on with divinyls who we saw there a lot...just not our cup of tea. Kind of "kids in the kitchen/pseudo echo" type pop without the full explosion brain mannix mullets. Didnt know they were a Sydney band...might have been i got no idea other than a vague memory that one of them might have been in the angels. Apparently good live, but every band had to be.

Buzz Bidstrup was the bass player that played for both them and the Angels, they had some quality musicians in that band.

In a pub environment they were great live, way above the "kids in the kitchen/pseudo echo" type pop, they have a lot more classic songs than "Sounds of Then".

When you get a gig on Rock Arena you can't be too shabby.

Before my time, but the music scene was definitely "Melbourne" at some point in the 70s. There were top bands playing in pubs and halls ( no drinking, so younger people could go ) all around the burbs. Acts like Madder Lake, Daddy Cool, Chain, Billy Thorpe , Spectrum, would be easy to see.

Those days are long gone, but I've seen enough decent bands in small venues ( Little River Band, Meatloaf when he was good, JoJo Zep and the Falcons, Russel Morris, ) to know that it beats the hell out of listening from the stands of a stadium.

Like I typed earlier, Billy Thorpe's books really offer a good insight from inside the industry.

McShatney was nothin without Lenin.
It was an Alan Partridge reference you flog.

You won't get any arguments from me btw. Lennon > McCartney.

My favourite part. Anyhow, here is an artist's impression of Bollox whilst typing that manifesto.
Glad u liked it..only mentioned coz iron maiden were and still are the benchmark for bogans. All those hair bands register high on the bogan scale...extreme when you put on your $5 skull rings and black body shirt with one of those spray paint pictures of iron maiden inserting a drumstick up a devil chickens arse or something along those lines. Long greasy hair with black jeans and filthy cheap shit tats and skull rings....hair bands like that have always been as bogan as you get with music fans....it screams caravan by the river.

But hey...nothing wrong with being a bogan as long as you dont deny it. Embrace it. We dont judge people at all in here. Especially not me.

Nothing wrong with my taste but its no different from the average non bogan. Regular bands i'd go see ranged from chisel, reels, jimmy and the boys, oils, inxs, birthday party, hoodoo's, saints, xl capris, angels, laughing clowns, the flowers, hunters and collectors, aus crawl, avion, divinyls, that sort of thing... plus we saw plenty of good offshore acts at the local pub...simple minds, dead kennedys, george thorogood, psycedelic furs, the cure etc. We'd even go see a cpl of westie bands like radiators and dee minor and the dischords.
But if u acted even remotely like a typical metal bogan, if you wore the classic shit they wear or even turn up with the regulation ugly fat chick that metal fans prefer, thats when you could get yourself into strife. As little as having mag wheels on your car or any mods at all could get the queue throwing their glasses at you in the car park...ugh boots were a dead giveaway u were a westie. Sandman panel vans,..in fact any van other than a kombi was a red flag. Probably the same in Melbourne back then, but hey i'm tipping most of you lot are born and bred bogans to begin with.
My taste has changed over time but one things stays the same always...if your favorite bands need to play dress ups then you are already 90% of the way to admitting you are a bogan. If they play any of the 5000 forms of metalshit, wear makeup, tight latex pants with big hair, skull rings, cheap filthy tats on flabby arms, barrack for Geelong, or wear black t shirts or any latex whatsoever, then you cant avoid being labelled what you really are. Dont blame me coz i dont make the rules. Its like seeing some sad phuk 30yo skateboarder with his cap on backwards...either grow the phuk out of it OR just admit what u are..pure bogan.

Not that i'm gonna judge anyone.

Love it Bollox - keep it coming. Best part was when you dropped the George Thorogood gig - bet every 'MMM' bogan rock compilation has 'Bad to the Bone' on it. Doubt any have 'Alexander the Great'. Classic.

Bet you had a bourbon and coke and a few durries at George's show eh?

Glad u liked it..only mentioned coz iron maiden were and still are the benchmark for bogans. All those hair bands register high on the bogan scale...extreme when you put on your $5 skull rings and black body shirt with one of those spray paint pictures of iron maiden inserting a drumstick up a devil chickens arse or something along those lines. Long greasy hair with black jeans and filthy cheap shit tats and skull rings....hair bands like that have always been as bogan as you get with music fans....it screams caravan by the river.

But hey...nothing wrong with being a bogan as long as you dont deny it. Embrace it. We dont judge people at all in here. Especially not me.

Nothing wrong with my taste but its no different from the average non bogan. Regular bands i'd go see ranged from chisel, reels, jimmy and the boys, oils, inxs, birthday party, hoodoo's, saints, xl capris, angels, laughing clowns, the flowers, hunters and collectors, aus crawl, avion, divinyls, that sort of thing... plus we saw plenty of good offshore acts at the local pub...simple minds, dead kennedys, george thorogood, psycedelic furs, the cure etc. We'd even go see a cpl of westie bands like radiators and dee minor and the dischords.
But if u acted even remotely like a typical metal bogan, if you wore the classic shit they wear or even turn up with the regulation ugly fat chick that metal fans prefer, thats when you could get yourself into strife. As little as having mag wheels on your car or any mods at all could get the queue throwing their glasses at you in the car park...ugh boots were a dead giveaway u were a westie. Sandman panel vans,..in fact any van other than a kombi was a red flag. Probably the same in Melbourne back then, but hey i'm tipping most of you lot are born and bred bogans to begin with.
My taste has changed over time but one things stays the same always...if your favorite bands need to play dress ups then you are already 90% of the way to admitting you are a bogan. If they play any of the 5000 forms of metalshit, wear makeup, tight latex pants with big hair, skull rings, cheap filthy tats on flabby arms, barrack for Geelong, or wear black t shirts or any latex whatsoever, then you cant avoid being labelled what you really are. Dont blame me coz i dont make the rules. Its like seeing some sad phuk 30yo skateboarder with his cap on backwards...either grow the phuk out of it OR just admit what u are..pure bogan.

Not that i'm gonna judge anyone.
Lol. What a bogan.

Love it Bollox - keep it coming. Best part was when you dropped the George Thorogood gig - bet every 'MMM' bogan rock compilation has 'Bad to the Bone' on it. Doubt any have 'Alexander the Great'. Classic.

Bet you had a bourbon and coke and a few durries at George's show eh?
What did we drink ? Shit ya got me there coz was awhile ago.
Probably the usual "whitehawk"...vodka + goo

I just realized that cold chisel are more than just bogan rock and I don't need to be ashamed ...