I just realized that cold chisel are more than just bogan rock and I don't need to be ashamed ...

If anyone want's some real insight into the "old" ozzie rock scene, I highly recommend Billy Thorpe's two books.
Its stuff that just aint going to happen to the winner of "the voice" or "australia's got talent" and it goes down the way Justin Beiber would like it to go down.

His first "Sex , Thugs, and Rock n Roll is a ( according to Thorpy ) true story about an unusual situation a young up and coming pop star found himself in when he moved to kings cross. It reads like a novel and is begging to be made into a movie.

His second is just a heap of random stuff that happened during his career. I
For me the standout tale was his spur of the moment decision to pay cash for an Aston Martin, ( because the dealer said something along the lines of get away from the car kid, you'll never be able to afford a car like this ), drive it unlicensed to Brisbane, to do burnouts in his old school-ground, then crashing on the way back to sydney, being accosted by an angry farm girl for scaring her horse, but being forgiven when she recognized him, and taking advantage of her parents not being home.

Thorpy died at 50 , but it didn't matter because he lived way more than that.

I was going to vote for you to run big footy, but I've crossed you off the list now. :D
I agree completely about the Armani suits, I was in hong kong lately, and I really felt sorry for the number of ( no doubt ) talented taylors, who are reduced to practically begging people to buy their stuff, because everyone wan'ts that label.

Cars vs Bags. Well it actually costs a lot of money to MAKE low volume of modified cars. The money is in the product ( with considerable markup though ).
A bag though?
My bags will last longer than a car, no ongoing cost to maintain as stores provide complimentary leather care service. Initial outlay may be steep but it's only money and I use one of them everyday.

My inlaws once offered to buy me a $250 ticket for them and me and my mrs to go see Paul Simon. I told them it'd be a waste of money as I don't like his music.

It was kinda awkward.

Awkward, but definitely the right thing to do, it'd be a whole lot worse if you did go and were visibly bored. :p

No idiot wants to pay 10k for a bag. I'd never spend that much but in the last few years have purchased multiple designer bags at what you may consider a stupid amount.

It is no more a reflection of my poor decision making compared to some ****** in an Armani suit or a flog driving a hotted up piece of junk. The only difference is a designer bag will increase in value. It's an investment. At least that's what I tell my boyfriend ;)

$_57.JPG

Mouse over image to zoom
  • $_14.JPG
  • $_14.JPG
  • $_14.JPG
  • $_14.JPG
  • $_14.JPG
Have one to sell? Sell it yourself
Details about Auth Hermes Poussiere Croc HAC 40 cm PallHW Shopper bag handbag purse #3598

| Add to watch list
Seller information
mimiaction (1709 )
98.4% Positive feedback
Follow this seller
Visit store:
mimiaction
See other items

AdChoice
s.gif
imgPower_i_12x12.gif
- opens in a new window or tab
Item Information
Item condition:
Pre-Owned
Time left:
Time left: 7d 00h (08 Jan, 2015 12:07:32 AEDST)
Price:
US $68,888.00
Approximately AU $84,035.38
Buy It Now

Add to watch list
Add to collection

Original price about $3500.

My bags will last longer than a car, no ongoing cost to maintain as stores provide complimentary leather care service. Initial outlay may be steep but it's only money and I use one of them everyday.

$_57.JPG

Mouse over image to zoom
  • $_14.JPG
  • $_14.JPG
  • $_14.JPG
  • $_14.JPG
  • $_14.JPG
Have one to sell? Sell it yourself
Details about Auth Hermes Poussiere Croc HAC 40 cm PallHW Shopper bag handbag purse #3598

| Add to watch list
Seller information
mimiaction (1709 )
98.4% Positive feedback
Follow this seller
Visit store:
mimiaction
See other items

AdChoice
s.gif
- opens in a new window or tab
Item Information
Item condition:
Pre-Owned
Time left:
Time left: 7d 00h (08 Jan, 2015 12:07:32 AEDST)
Price:
US $68,888.00
Approximately AU $84,035.38
Buy It Now

Add to watch list
Add to collection

Original price about $3500.

Flogs should give their money to poor people. Seriously.

If your point is that the world is ******ed it does

oops the swear filter made my comment regarding mental illness look like something worse.
No, my point was that it's an investment that can increase dramatically in price.

Everybody has something they splurge on, is it really that big of a deal?

No, my point was that it's an investment that can increase dramatically in price.

Everybody has something they splurge on, is it really that big of a deal?

OK you win, it makes perfect sense to go to designer apparel stores and spend thousands on handbags. Foolish me for thinking otherwise. I must be more of a bogan than I thought.

But as far as it being a bag to put stuff in. Can you honestly tell me that the one pictured above is better than anything else?

OK you win, it makes perfect sense to go to designer apparel stores and spend thousands on handbags. Foolish me for thinking otherwise. I must be more of a bogan than I thought.

But as far as it being a bag to put stuff in. Can you honestly tell me that the one pictured above is better than anything else?
That bag is ugly but would be good quality. As a means of carrying ones things I assume it would perform the task in a similar way to one that cost $30 but that's not really why you'd buy it.

In fact you would be foolish to use it as a bag.

That would be a great example...if you handbag could drive you to work. :confused:
I have an equally overpriced car to match the bags. I pretty much set money on fire :$

The handbag is fine if it is going to appreciate in value and you are going to crystallise the gain. Cars are terrible assets that lose value as soon as you drive them out of the showroom (and Mrs Rankin has a propensity to depreciate them much quicker than the average driver). Feel free to send your money my way instead of setting it on fire. I promise I'll take good care of it :cool:

Cars are terrible assets, just had a look at car sales and I've lost over $15k in 18 months. **** that

I did without a car when I was living in NYC for a few years - did not even miss it. Public transport was usually much quicker and if I was ever desperate and not near a train station, there would be a taxi on every street corner. Now I'm back in Australia, I rarely use a car, except on the weekend to go to the beach.

No they aren't.
Like the handbags it depends on the car.

Ferrari Dino 246 , originally 10K now 300 +.

I'm not a fan of people who set money on fire, especially when there are so many poor people in the world, using it to brag about their good fortune ( ie driving a car or carrying a handbag just to show off the brand ) is despicable. To me it's "let them eat cake " stuff. The items aren't important to them as much as showing how important/wealthy they are. Particularly I dislike this sort of behavior when the money is inherited or "married into".

Yeah I'm not going to be made to feel guilty for how I spend, nor would I judge someone for what they do with their own money.

Other people's money is a different story.

Yeah I'm not going to be made to feel guilty for how I spend, nor would I judge someone for what they do with their own money.

Other people's money is a different story.

Yeah and I'm not going to be made guilty about being judgmental, so we are pretty even I guess.

what the hell would u melbunoids know about cold chisel anyway ?

You have always lived in a cultural chasm where the shit bands would be forced to go to get cheaper rent and hopefully get more than 50 thru the door. There werent even any bogans in Sydney back then. Just a general morrasse that lived anywhere west of the Pacific Hwy....they were, and still are, just westies.

Westies and bogans like metal...shite generic hair bands, glam bands, iron maiden type crap targetting the brain dead with three chord shit done loud. They like any shit band that tries to recreate an image that they dont even know has been done 1000 times before. They occasionally morph into assorted scrag like hipsters, who are actually the first generation of new world trash to have cooler grandparents than they are..everyone is cooler than they are.
A westie or bogan is just as much a geographic thing....in case you didnt realise, if you live in melbum your papers are already stamped bogan from birth. Dont blame me coz its just the way it is, and no amount of wearing your girlfriends jeans with a ****ter scarf and specs without lenses will ever change that sad fact.

The 3 bands we would see the most here at our locals were the oils inxs and chisel. These were the coolest bands in the world to us till they all either split up or went mainstream looking for the bux. When chisel split up Barnes fed the westies what they always craved...some sort of shit blend of trashy crap you could listen to with a winnie red and your arm around an ugly fat chick. Barnes deliberately made himself "bogan". Chisel were never and still arnt a bogan band. Barnes was just always in need of a few extra bucks and knew the flogs out west and in other more culturally challenged parts of the nation (like melbum) would drink it up like magic goo. Garrett turned into a massive flog and dragged the rest of the band into trying to feed the ****s and any suburban nouvo pinko lezzo that might tolerate their anti nuke pro abo all encompassing shite they started to put out by about 1984. The beaches had gone off them totally by then anyway...same with Barnes who had already migrated to playing in front of workers club type crowds full of westies and bogans from south of the border...playing up to that same working class hero image shite that even the PM was working hard at.

1983-1984
That was the cutoff.
After that it was all downhill for most of the better Aussie bands.
Dont lump Chisel in with Barnes' bogan solo shit he did purely to pay for his grog bill..and then use whateva was left over to maybe pay for the kids school uniforms.
Just sayin

No way of knowing if i was at this particular one at my local but i can assure you they werent a westie band.

I just realized that cold chisel are more than just bogan rock and I don't need to be ashamed ...