Still have Jansen over Gore at the moment on the rungs of that ladder haha.
Menzel & Cockatoo just above, Lang just above, then Jansen![]()
Nah yours was probably correct.Oh oops I didn't see you included that quote at the start of your post haha I was just continuing on with it not realising![]()

Give him time, very rarely are key forwards guns in their early 20s - many wrote Hawkins off...yes but he only gathers about 8 touches a game so he's not very damaging yet
Mitch Brown on the other hand, he was often good for 15 touches a game. Most of them uncontested, just as we are currently seeing from him at Essendon.
What's the full ladder?
)I feel it too.I think we've got a good crop Chook!
It's under cranial ischamic vascular event. Undergo one and you'll understand everything perfectly!Is there anywhere I can get a key to the private code you two are using?
Any reports on the game as nothing has been posted on our board. Not sure how the Richmond boys went other than being well beaten. If McIntosh was amongst your best then Hammer (Shaun Hampson) must have had his colours well lowered.
Thanks as one-eyed as we would put on our web site.There are a few match reports in this thread, as well as on our club website, nearly all saying that McIntosh played well. There's been no mention of Hampson, however, so I don't know if he was playing.
http://www.geelongcats.com.au/news/2015-03-21/vfl-cats-thump-tigers
Any reports on the game as nothing has been posted on our board. Not sure how the Richmond boys went other than being well beaten. If McIntosh was amongst your best then Hammer (Shaun Hampson) must have had his colours well lowered.
Think our team selection was in part to test the top-up players training with the Tigers. We have not yet officially announced the VFL squad, so maybe the coaches were assessing some of the fringe VFL players. Hopefully they will bring in more experienced VFL players to help develop the younger players on our list.Didn't play. Richmond were undersized. HMac marked well but not tested severely.
Thanks for the feedback, will post in our board.Re Richmond .....like the way Drummond and Menadue move, I thought Matt Arnott was probably your best but the player who stood out for me was Liam McBean. He looked a class above! Didn't focus on the Tigers too much though so could be completely wrong.
Think our team selection was in part to test the top-up players training with the Tigers. We have not yet officially announced the VFL squad, so maybe the coaches were assessing some of the fringe VFL players. Hopefully they will bring in more experienced VFL players to help develop the younger players on our list.
. Could of ended up with 3 goals. I was a bit worried about him in the first half but the second half showed what he is capable of. Should be looking to build as the season progresses.Awesome, thanks mate.Went down to check out the match and a few things I noted.
Good win by the way. The boys played some good attacking footy.
McIntosh - Dominated the ruck. It was VFL level but never the less was a cut above the rest. Did plenty of nice things around the ground, looked dangerous in attack and was spoon feeding our mids in the ruck contests. I'd have him in the seniors ahead of Simpson as long as he's fit enough and can run out the match. Seemed to run out the game OK today.
Gore - Found a heap of the ball, makes good decisions with it too. Spent plenty of time in the middle and at the centre clearances and won his fair share of them. Kicked a really nice goal on the run and it was a beautiful finish. Noticed the stats after the game said he won 15 clearances. I knew he had a few but 15 is awesome. The kid is going to be a player. Hard as nails too. Should see some senior footy this year.
Jansen - Was very quiet in the first half and really struggled to get into the game. Does a lot of pressuring and tackling and started of the second half much better. Ended up finding a bit more footy and also went forward and had some impact. Found himself running into an open goal and sprayed it form 10 metres out. Could of ended up with 3 goals. I was a bit worried about him in the first half but the second half showed what he is capable of. Should be looking to build as the season progresses.
Blease - Was OK without being amazing. Used his pace well but sometimes needs to know when to hold back and look for a better option. Has a tendency to run himself into trouble. His kicking can let him down but when he does put the burners on he is very hard to catch. Kicked a nice goal with a burst out of the middle, although he did scrub the kick but was lucky enough to have it dribble through. Not sold on him 100% yet, but has plenty of talent to work with. Will see where he's at in a couple of months. Will provide excellent depth at worst.
Cunico - Really suprised me actually. Was quiet in the first qtr but had a excellent 2nd quarter and found a heap of he ball. He glides across the field and moves really well and is very agile. His disposal is very good and makes good decisions with the footy. Rarely panics when he has the ball. You could see him grow in confidence as the game went on and on a few occasion used some run and carry to link up through half back and through the middle. Looks like the kind of player you want with the ball in his hands. Only knock on him so far is he doesn't really go in and win his own ball but that may come with a bit more experience.
Ended up with around 20 touches which was a pretty good outing for him.
Kersten - Was pretty disappointing. Struggled to get into the game and find the footy. Did a couple of nice things towards the end of the game but couldn't really have any impact. I'm a fan of Kersten and believe he adds another dimension to our forward line but after seeing Walker dominate again it's becoming harder and harder to make a case for Shane. Structure wise he's probably a better fit, but form wise, Walker is miles ahead.
Walker - Dominated again. Just marks everything in sight and is a massive presence up forward. You don't get many players who are able to take those big pack marks and his hands are some of the best in the business. He's too good to be playing VFL and I am now starting to worry slightly that other clubs will come knocking and he may get squeezed out. I'd hate to lose a player of his ability purely because we can't find a spot for him in the team.
His kicking style is still yuck but in saying that his goal kicking has improved and he is now quite a reliable set shot. Should be playing senior footy.
Cowan - Had a pretty good game. Was solid over 4 quarters. Had a great 3rd qtr and I think he may of moved a bit more onto the ball after spending the first half at half back. I think he went someway to justifying why the club has kept him around and I would be very surprised if he doesn't get his chance at AFL level sooner rather than later. Looks as though he hasn't really missed a beat. I've always been a fan of him and believe he's got plenty of talent so it was great to see him up and about and injury free.
Luxford - Played really well and did some great work breaking the lines and using his run and speed through the middle of the ground. Played most of the game forward but to seemed to push up the ground a bit a more and find plenty of the ball. He's very creative up forward and creates a lot of scoring chances. He's hard at it too and doesn't mind putting his body in. Vey quick and agile for a guy of his size. Can see his Basketball background come into play as he is able to twist and turn his way out of stoppages. He got my play of the day when he busted his gut to spoil and opponent out on the wing, followed the ball to the boundary line but before it went out hit it down the line, continued running, got the quick hands from McIntosh then burned off and put a long ball inside 50 to Walker him gathered it in the square and kicked the goal. The 2nd and 3rd efforts were excellent and he always seems to bring a lot of energy to the side. Definitely some good signs with this kid.
Kolo - Was pretty solid again. He's very good in the 1 on 1 contests and doesn't get beaten too often by his opponent. At one stage he was one out in the 50 with his opponent with a Richmond player streaming forward with the ball. Was out positioned and under the pump but managed to keep his feet find his player and spoil the ball over the line going back with the flight. Will only get better as he gets stronger and more experienced. Hopefully he is able to play a few senior games this season. Looks as though he will be able to take the step up and do OK. With more games under his belt I think we will see a bit more of his attacking side as he looks like he doesn't mind pushing up the ground and getting of his man.
A few of the VFL listed boys played well but I mainly focused my attention on the AFL listed players.
Pretty good win but the Cats!
Went down to check out the match and a few things I noted.
McIntosh - Dominated the ruck. It was VFL level but never the less was a cut above the rest. Did plenty of nice things around the ground, looked dangerous in attack and was spoon feeding our mids in the ruck contests. I'd have him in the seniors ahead of Simpson as long as he's fit enough and can run out the match. Seemed to run out the game OK today.
Gore - Found a heap of the ball, makes good decisions with it too. Spent plenty of time in the middle and at the centre clearances and won his fair share of them. Kicked a really nice goal on the run and it was a beautiful finish. Noticed the stats after the game said he won 15 clearances. I knew he had a few but 15 is awesome. The kid is going to be a player. Hard as nails too. Should see some senior footy this year.
Jansen - Was very quiet in the first half and really struggled to get into the game. Does a lot of pressuring and tackling and started of the second half much better. Ended up finding a bit more footy and also went forward and had some impact. Found himself running into an open goal and sprayed it form 10 metres out. Could of ended up with 3 goals. I was a bit worried about him in the first half but the second half showed what he is capable of. Should be looking to build as the season progresses.
Blease - Was OK without being amazing. Used his pace well but sometimes needs to know when to hold back and look for a better option. Has a tendency to run himself into trouble. His kicking can let him down but when he does put the burners on he is very hard to catch. Kicked a nice goal with a burst out of the middle, although he did scrub the kick but was lucky enough to have it dribble through. Not sold on him 100% yet, but has plenty of talent to work with. Will see where he's at in a couple of months. Will provide excellent depth at worst.
Cunico - Really suprised me actually. Was quiet in the first qtr but had a excellent 2nd quarter and found a heap of he ball. He glides across the field and moves really well and is very agile. His disposal is very good and makes good decisions with the footy. Rarely panics when he has the ball. You could see him grow in confidence as the game went on and on a few occasion used some run and carry to link up through half back and through the middle. Looks like the kind of player you want with the ball in his hands. Only knock on him so far is he doesn't really go in and win his own ball but that may come with a bit more experience.
Kersten - Was pretty disappointing. Struggled to get into the game and find the footy. Did a couple of nice things towards the end of the game but couldn't really have any impact. I'm a fan of Kersten and believe he adds another dimension to our forward line but after seeing Walker dominate again it's becoming harder and harder to make a case for Shane. Structure wise he's probably a better fit, but form wise, Walker is miles ahead.
Walker - Dominated again. Just marks everything in sight and is a massive presence up forward. You don't get many players who are able to take those big pack marks and his hands are some of the best in the business. He's too good to be playing VFL and I am now starting to worry slightly that other clubs will come knocking and he may get squeezed out. I'd hate to lose a player of his ability purely because we can't find a spot for him in the team.
His kicking style is still yuck but in saying that his goal kicking has improved and he is now quite a reliable set shot. Should be playing senior footy.
Cowan - Had a pretty good game. Was solid over 4 quarters. Had a great 3rd qtr and I think he may of moved a bit more onto the ball after spending the first half at half back. I think he went someway to justifying why the club has kept him around and I would be very surprised if he doesn't get his chance at AFL level sooner rather than later. Looks as though he hasn't really missed a beat. I've always been a fan of him and believe he's got plenty of talent so it was great to see him up and about and injury free.
Luxford - Played really well and did some great work breaking the lines and using his run and speed through the middle of the ground. Played most of the game forward but to seemed to push up the ground a bit a more and find plenty of the ball. He's very creative up forward and creates a lot of scoring chances. He's hard at it too and doesn't mind putting his body in. Vey quick and agile for a guy of his size. Can see his Basketball background come into play as he is able to twist and turn his way out of stoppages. He got my play of the day when he busted his gut to spoil and opponent out on the wing, followed the ball to the boundary line but before it went out hit it down the line, continued running, got the quick hands from McIntosh then burned off and put a long ball inside 50 to Walker him gathered it in the square and kicked the goal. The 2nd and 3rd efforts were excellent and he always seems to bring a lot of energy to the side. Definitely some good signs with this kid.
Kolo - Was pretty solid again. He's very good in the 1 on 1 contests and doesn't get beaten too often by his opponent. At one stage he was one out in the 50 with his opponent with a Richmond player streaming forward with the ball. Was out positioned and under the pump but managed to keep his feet find his player and spoil the ball over the line going back with the flight. Will only get better as he gets stronger and more experienced. Hopefully he is able to play a few senior games this season. Looks as though he will be able to take the step up and do OK. With more games under his belt I think we will see a bit more of his attacking side as he looks like he doesn't mind pushing up the ground and getting of his man.
A few of the VFL listed boys played well but I mainly focused my attention on the AFL listed players.
Excellent write up, WD- thank you!Went down to check out the match and a few things I noted.
Yeah agree, he will probably need a couple of seasons to build his body up but he has a really good base to work with skill wise. Like I said he is an excellent user of the ball and is very calm and composed. This in my opinion is half the battle with younger players, they may have talent but they can panic a bit with the ball and often make the wrong decision but Cunico seemed quite assured in this regard. I think we have been crying out for a silky smooth ball user of half back and hopefully he is able to develop into a solid player for us.Could have saved myself a post. This is exactly as i saw it although I must have missed Cunico a bit. Certainly agree with:
He [CUNICO] glides across the field and moves really well and is very agile. ................................................ Only knock on him so far is he doesn't really go in and win his own ball but that may come with a bit more experience.
He is less developed and will take 12 months of body development before he gets I gig I reckon.
Give him time, very rarely are key forwards guns in their early 20s - many wrote Hawkins off...