Who are the "un-booable" characters of the AFL?

Reckon guys like Daniel Menzel and Clay Smith, viewed as incredibly unlucky through injury, are un-booable

Frawley?
There were a few boos, but very few (although the Hawks cheers did drown out any boos)
I didn't boo Chip when he got his first, some did though and the Hawks fans got behind him with a big cheer.

The funniest bit was that this was towards the end of the first half.

All he'd done before that was tackle Dawes, and then sit on him illegally and give away a free kick.

Definitely not a player that I miss, and whilst I wouldn't cheer him, I see no reason that he should be boo'd.

Then problem is not that Goodes speaks out about indigenous issues; it's when, where and how.

Political grandstanding at the expense of a teenager who by most accounts had no idea that that particular insult was also a racist one. I had no idea it was either.

You know, the way people run around these days crying about everything they personally find insulting, in a few decades we're all going to have to have zippers surgery implanted in our mouths, to be unzipped and opened only when required.
We'll only be allowed to wear grey suits, eat grey food, and drive grey cars from our grey houses to our grey places of work, where we'll talk about how grey the sky is today.

Because you can bet someone, somewhere, is going to sue Freo one day because Purple is an evil colour in their religion and he feels insulted seeing it on display at a footy ground. Big hoo-ha, court case where all the lawyers in grey suits clutch brief cases full of grey dollars, and ten pages of bigfooty debate on whether or not it was racist.

Screw Adam Goodes.

Never felt anything about the guy one way or the other until that day he pointed his finger, and now I think he's just another politically motivated peon with an axe to grind - got no time for him at all.
Feel the same way about all the pillocks lining up to tell me it's because he's black. They don't look for racism; they find it. wherever they choose.

Probably not allowed to say that either. Black, I mean. Sorry. "darker hued homo sapiens" , or whatever politi-speek they're using nowadays that means the same goddamned thing except the words you use will get you vilified and sued.

Adam Goodes - Boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!one1I

That zipper suggestion suddenly has a fair bit of merit.

Don't know who is 'unbooable', but do know that Melbourne is a racist little city, a fact perfectly expressed through more or less every supporter base there booing Goodes - Hawthorn and Essendon being the worst. Has nothing to do with staging for frees, and everything to do with the fact he is a proud indigenous man unflinchingly critical of our colonial past. He had every right to make an issue of a teen calling him ape, too. But boo away, you Howard ass lickers, it won't take anything away from his exemplary off field and on field record.

Nice to know you have been able to check with all supporters to find out why they booed.

Fairly sweeping statement with little to no fact to back it up.

But solid rant non-the-less

Lance Franklin and Neville Bruns are the only booable footballers in my time
Does that mean Hawks supporters incited Lethal to smash Bruns' jaw in that fateful game ?

Don't know who is 'unbooable', but do know that Melbourne is a racist little city, a fact perfectly expressed through more or less every supporter base there booing Goodes - Hawthorn and Essendon being the worst. Has nothing to do with staging for frees, and everything to do with the fact he is a proud indigenous man unflinchingly critical of our colonial past. He had every right to make an issue of a teen calling him ape, too. But boo away, you Howard ass lickers, it won't take anything away from his exemplary off field and on field record.

:rolleyes:

Does that mean Hawks supporters incited Lethal to smash Bruns' jaw in that fateful game ?
The broken jaw was unfortunate, sure. But doesn't change the fact Bruns was a complete tosser. And the fact he played no role in stopping the f***ing police (!) charging Lethal over the incident confirms this.

It's not an entirely valid comparison, I'm afraid. How many other indigenous players were AOTY? How many other indigenous players have pointed out a girl in the crowd for a racist comment?

How many other players, indigenous or not, are much dirtier players than Goodes and never get booed?

Those are questions that also have to be asked in order to get a clearer picture.

But nah, this is BF, where apparently someone (not you) can say with 100% confidence "it's not racist", because, well, because they don't reckon it is, and because they typed it.

Get over yourself mate.

You've made that last comment without even a hint of irony. And you come across looking like an idiot because of it.

Get over yourself mate.

You've made that last comment without even a hint of irony. And you come across looking like an idiot because of it.
Show me where I said people booing Goodesy are racist. I'm talking about the methodology here pal, which is laughable on both sides. You just made the exact same point above as me. No-one can read anyone else's mind.

So we claim the proud moments in our history but disown the shameful episodes?

OK, at least we cleared that up.

The person you quoted never made any mention of claiming the "proud monents in our history." His/her point was that he/she shouldn't be made to feel guilty about the deplorable events of the past that had nothing to do with him/her. There is a clear difference between the two.

And he/she is 100% correct.

I didn't boo Goodes on the weekend, but his history of transgressions against Hawthorn players I think is the primary reason other supporters did boo Goodes (that went unpunished at the tribunal). Like you, I can't ask every supporter what their reason was, but to call it racist is utter nonsense considering that other (including other outspoken) aboriginal players represented both teams on the night. Hawthorn supporters also boo Stevie J as an example for the very same reasons.

Racism is a very serious accusation. Also, Goodes has been booed by hawk fans prior to the incident at the Collingwood match so that argument doesn't line up. It is incredible that a supporter base can be smeared so easily in today's media with little to no investigation or right of reply. Bring on the demise of print media if this is the direction it continues to follow.

Who are the "un-booable" characters of the AFL?