Who are the "un-booable" characters of the AFL?

Can one of you come up with an original argument - it is ironic because there is a lot of blanket denial that any and all boos directed to him across time have have never, ever been motivated by racism

I'm not the one who has a problem with either race or booing. I go to the football with my son and my wife to watch the football. If folks are booing, good luck to them. They pay their money, then can boo their heads off. Same with Selwood, Thomas, Watson, Ballantyne, Burgoyne and Cotchin, I don't care. Swear or make a sexist or racist comment around my family, we have a problem I do care about.

I'm certainly not going to pass judgement on others who I have no actual idea about their motivations to boo. I will defend their right to boo though. But I do care about bigots like yourself who make factually incorrect assertions about "Us whiteboys" like you speak on behalf of all white males. The true irony is you're singling people out on the base of the color of their skin and labeling/bullying them. In my view of the world, you're the racist!

I'm not the one who has a problem with either race or booing. I go to the football with my son and my wife to watch the football. If folks are booing, good luck to them. They pay their money, then can boo their heads off. Same with Selwood, Thomas, Watson, Ballantyne, Burgoyne and Cotchin, I don't care. Swear or make a sexist or racist comment around my family, we have a problem I do care about.

I'm certainly not going to pass judgement on others who I have no actual idea about their motivations to boo. I will defend their right to boo though. But I do care about bigots like yourself who make factually incorrect assertions about "Us whiteboys" like you speak on behalf of all white males. The true irony is you're singling people out on the base of the color of their skin and labeling/bullying them. In my view of the world, you're the racist!

Yes Yes - like recognising the first people in the Constitution - indelibly racist. Andrew told me! maybe I should have been more precise - it is an historical fact that white people have had a tendency of admiring black sportsman who do not express opinions. Do you take issue with that?

Why is Adam Goodes booed while other players who have a reputation for being dirty are generally not consistently booed?

I'm the first person to call out racism, but this is bit over the top.

Champions always get booed - Hird got booed, Bucks got booed, Carey got booed, even Judd at times gets booed.

The media's inventing a story that's not there.

Maybe ask Todd Viney and his finger.

You are the king of the golden comebacks - Paul Barnard, Dean Wallis, even your own Dipper were dirty - they were not booed every time they took the field

I'm the first person to call out racism, but this is bit over the top.

Champions always get booed - Hird got booed, Bucks got booed, Carey got booed, even Judd at times gets booed.

The media's inventing a story that's not there.

It might be helpful if someone could outline the various incidents where Goodes has done dirty stuff to Hawks players. Might give some credibility to their oh so pure booing motives

There was an incident with Bruest in last year's grand final where he punched him in the back, conveniently wasn't cited for it.
There was a 2013 incident where he could have broken Gibson's legs.

I myself got tired of his staging and pleading for free kicks and looking like a sook when they would not be paid (started in the late 2000's.... seems to have gotten worse at it 2012-onwards). As I have said over the past week I liked him early on and cheered for him (and even enjoyed Sydney winning the 2005 flag and the 2006 contest with the Eagles). But my opinion changed as his "gameplay" changed.

He also flipped off the Richmond supporters in the late season match last year. Not exactly the kind of behaviour a AOTY should conduct.

it is an historical fact that white people have had a tendency of admiring black sportsman who do not express opinions. Do you take issue with that?

Why is Adam Goodes booed while other players who have a reputation for being dirty are generally not consistently booed?

So now it's a historical fact that white people have a tendency? That is a significant softening in your language in just one post, however again, you do not speak on behalf of this white male, so please do not use the collective "us white boys". I find that extremely offensive, racist and not something I'd tolerate my child being associated around.

I don't know, I have not asked everyone in the crowd why so I wont make a generalization. I would suspect some people don't like him for his staging, some for his dirty tactics like dropping the knees into Gibbo, some for his constant favorable outcomes with the MRP, some for his divisive comments about "Invasion Day", some for calling out a child regarding the "Ape" comment, some because they just think he's a rubbish bloke (for whatever reason) and some merely because it's the pack mentality. All varied reasons, only two even slightly racially motivated. Certainly no justification for making sweeping statements like "All Hawks fans are racists for booing Adam Goodes", or your disgusting "us white boys" remark.

BTW: I hope the Andrew Bolt reference was not implying I'm a conservative, I've never voted Liberal in my life.

There was an incident with Bruest in last year's grand final where he punched him in the back, conveniently wasn't cited for it.
There was a 2013 incident where he could have broken Gibson's legs.

I myself got tired of his staging and pleading for free kicks and looking like a sook when they would not be paid (started in the late 2000's.... seems to have gotten worse at it 2012-onwards). As I have said over the past week I liked him early on and cheered for him (and even enjoyed Sydney winning the 2005 flag and the 2006 contest with the Eagles). But my opinion changed as his "gameplay" changed.

He also flipped off the Richmond supporters in the late season match last year. Not exactly the kind of behaviour a AOTY should conduct.

Thanks Xtreme that's more helpful than the rest of the Bolt arguments we are getting around here - I'm NOT SORRY

You are the king of the golden comebacks - Paul Barnard, Dean Wallis, even your own Dipper were dirty - they were not booed every time they took the field

You asked why Chris Lewis was hated, seriously, he bit someone! I don't think any of the blokes you mentioned stooped to even that level.
Don't ask a question then get shirty because someone dares to challenge your agenda with factual answers.
As for the Hawthorn players, Dipper, Dermie and Matthews were all booed, and had terrible insults thrown at them from the crowd.
WRT Dipper, many of those comments were racial too, but thankfully times have changed.

So now it's a historical fact that white people have a tendency? That is a significant softening in your language in just one post, however again, you do not speak on behalf of this white male, so please do not use the collective "us white boys". I find that extremely offensive, racist and not something I'd tolerate my child being associated around.

I don't know, I have not asked everyone in the crowd why so I wont make a generalization. I would suspect some people don't like him for his staging, some for his dirty tactics like dropping the knees into Gibbo, some for his constant favorable outcomes with the MRP, some for his divisive comments about "Invasion Day", some for calling out a child regarding the "Ape" comment, some because they just think he's a rubbish bloke (for whatever reason) and some merely because it's the pack mentality. All varied reasons, only two even slightly racially motivated. Certainly no justification for making sweeping statements like "All Hawks fans are racists for booing Adam Goodes", or your disgusting "us white boys" remark.

BTW: I hope the Andrew Bolt reference was not implying I'm a conservative, I've never voted Liberal in my life.

I am implying nothing brother but the rhetorical gambits you are using are similar. Your comments on Invasion Day and the "ape" comment (its basicaly unarguable that he did not know she was a child) seem to suggest that some people might be upset with the fact that he has opinions on these issues. It is the rank audacity that he might say something that persons not of his race might find "divisive" (your word) that seems to upset people

I did not want to give the impression that I think that all Hawthorn supporters (including yourself) are racist but it is consistent with the historical pattern that black people who speak out on matters of race are less embraced than those who do not.

I will take it down a notch and say - it would be logical that some of the boos are motivated by racism- conscious or unconscious

You asked why Chris Lewis was hated, seriously, he bit someone! I don't think any of the blokes you mentioned stooped to even that level.
Don't ask a question then get shirty because someone dares to challenge your agenda with factual answers.
As for the Hawthorn players, Dipper, Dermie and Matthews were all booed, and had terrible insults thrown at them from the crowd.
WRT Dipper, many of those comments were racial too, but thankfully times have changed.

Was Dermie booed every time the ball got near him?

Booing is part of the great theatre of sport, always has been, in every sport. There's always "heels" in sports.

Agree, it's what made the VFL fantastic growing up as a kid.
You had the opposition villains and your heroes.
And it didn't matter if your heroes had twice the tribunal record of your villains, it added to the theater.
It's why sport is so plastic and vanilla now, there's no goodies and baddies. (I still can't believe Abbott said that).
Players and coaches have scripted press conferences, everything is so over scrutinized that everyone is too scared to be real.
The game needs character and crowd involvement, not the PC Police telling us who to boo and not too.

Yes Yes - like recognising the first people in the Constitution - indelibly racist. Andrew told me! maybe I should have been more precise - it is an historical fact that white people have had a tendency of admiring black sportsman who do not express opinions. Do you take issue with that?

The recognise movement is very short sighted

The constitution actually allows the government to pay welfare based on race
Changing the constitution, would recognise said people, but it'd also allow the government to remove welfare from these groups

Currently, it also gives said groups tax breaks, freedom from (now defunct) law such as conscription

There are a lot (Goodes included) who have no clue of the ramifications to the indigenous community

But that is a different story

I boo because he's a flog, as do those I know (although, I did hear a racist comment, and told him to keep it to himself)

I'd say less than 1% are racially motivated

Not sure how outsiders see it, but I'd pick Kade Simpson from my team.

Skinny guy that puts in, plays clean, courageous. Consistent performer and has some great games in terrible teams (last week a good example).

I guess he's our Bob Murphy...?

I am implying nothing brother but the rhetorical gambits you are using are similar. Your comments on Invasion Day and the "ape" comment (its basicaly unarguable that he did not know she was a child) seem to suggest that some people might be upset with the fact that he has opinions on these issues. It is the rank audacity that he might say something that persons not of his race might find "divisive" (your word) that seems to upset people

I did not want to give the impression that I think that all Hawthorn supporters (including yourself) are racist but it is consistent with the historical pattern that black people who speak out on matters of race are less embraced than those who do not.

I will take it down a notch and say - it would be logical that some of the boos are motivated by racism- conscious or unconscious

Thank you.

Regarding Australia Day - I personally found Goodes' comments about Invasion Day and the raping and stealing from "his people" extremely offensive. If he had such an issue with the day and therefore the award, maybe he'd have been better served declining the nomination for the award? Instead of using the day to make a divisive comment, Goodes had a great opportunity to acknowledge the past (which thankfully the ALP did attempt to say sorry for) and then use his role as an ambassador to further mend fences. But it appeared Goodes was more intent of being inflammatory, hence it surprises me that he and his supporters are surprised that people felt inflamed and aggrieved. Still should have nothing to do with the footy field though!

Not sure how outsiders see it, but I'd pick Kade Simpson from my team.

Skinny guy that puts in, plays clean, courageous. Consistent performer and has some great games in terrible teams (last week a good example).

I guess he's our Bob Murphy...?
Agreed, not the most talented guy in the league, but gets every ounce of himself and will have no regrets when he retires. Couldn't boo him.

A good test is if a player can leave a club and still be above the boo treatment from former fans.

Daniel Cross and James McDonald come to mind.

I think that has more to do with how they left.

If you are getting old and your team boots you (possibly before your time), then you can't begrudge that player from trying to extend their career somewhere else.

Who are the "un-booable" characters of the AFL?